DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE), received on 04/02/2026. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Claims 4 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 26 and 27 have been added. Claims 1-3, 5-14, 20, 22-27 are pending and have been considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 9-10, filed 04/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Wang) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xiang (US-20140233917-A1). Xiang discloses “techniques are described for capturing multi-channel audio data. A device comprising one or more processors may be configured to implement the techniques. The processors may analyze captured audio data to identify audio objects, and analyze video data captured concurrent to the capture of the audio data to identify video objects. The processors may then associate at least one of the audio objects with at least one of the video objects, and generate multi-channel audio data from the audio data based on the association of the at least one of audio objects with the at least one of the video objects” (abstract). Specifically, see the structure of Fig. 3. See updated rejections below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 03/10/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-14, 20, 22-24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jot et al. (US-20170127212-A1), hereinafter Jot in view of Naik et al. (US-20100211199-A1), hereinafter Naik, further in view of Xiang (US-20140233917-A1), further in view of Wang (US-20160314802-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jot discloses a computer-implemented method of audio processing (Abstract, adjusting a relationship between dialog and non-dialog signals [Adjusting a relationship, i.e. volume levels, between two signals tracks to audio processing]), the method comprising:
receiving audio object data ([0032] The term “non-dialog” refers to any remaining or other portion of an audio program [i.e. background music]); wherein the audio object data includes a first plurality of audio objects ([0034] In an example, the audio signals 110 include at least a first object-based audio signal that includes a dialog signal, and a second object-based audio signal that includes a non-dialog signal. The encoder device 120 can be configured to read, add, or modify metadata 113 associated with one or more of the first and second object-based audio signals [One or more second object-based audio signals, i.e. non-dialog signal, tracks to a plurality of audio objects]).
Jot does not disclose:
receiving audio description data.
Naik discloses:
receiving audio description data ([0067] secondary media data, such as voice feedback data, where, [0067] voice feedback data which may include spoken audio data or commentary).
Jot and Naik are considered analogous art within dynamic audio mixing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot to incorporate the teachings of Naik, because of the novel way to apply techniques for reading/modifying metadata associated with song information to be overlayed on top of a playing sound while dynamically adjusting the volume of the audio track to increase audibility of voice feedback, i.e. description (Naik, [0006]) to provide an improved user experience (Naik, [0007]).
Furthermore, the action of performing long-term dialog balance using metadata is disclosed in [0055] of Jot. Thus, it would be predictable to apply these balances to the metadata defined in Naik, i.e. song information metadata, as this falls within a metadata calculation already being performed by Jot.
The combination of Jot and Naik, particularly the addition of Naik’s audio description data and metadata now processed as detailed by Jot further discloses:
calculating a long-term loudness of the audio object data and a long-term loudness of the audio description data ([Fig. 11, 1110], where the global dialog/non-dialog loudnesses are defined: [0017] The long-term dialog balance can generally be associated with an entire duration of an audio program, and in such instances can be considered to be a “global” dialog [Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]).
Jot in view of Naik does not disclose:
wherein calculating the long-term loudness of the audio object data includes:
generating rendered data from the audio object data by performing rendering.
Xiang discloses:
wherein calculating the long-term loudness of the audio object data includes:
generating rendered data from the audio object data by performing rendering ([0042] In any event, rendering units 28 each represent hardware or a combination of hardware and software configured to render audio data 38A-38C from one or more of audio objects 34', 34'').
Jot, Naik, and Xiang are considered analogous art within multichannel audio mixing Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik to incorporate the teachings of Xiang, because of the novel way to use a video capture device in addition to multiple audio capture devices for sound localization, allowing for rendering of audio objects which better localize objects to front channels, enabling improved generation of surround sound audio data as would be applicable to the mixing of audio description with audio data disclosed in Jot in view of Naik (Xiang, [0006]).
Jot further discloses:
wherein calculating the long-term loudness of the audio object data includes:
performing at least one of a Leg (loudness equivalent continuous sound pressure level) ([The examiner would like to note that, due to the disjunctive nature of the claim, this element does not require a mapping]) measurement process, a LKFS (loudness, K-weighted, relative to full scale) measurement process, and a LUFS (loudness units relative to full scale) measurement process on the rendered data ([Fig. 2, Measure Loudness performed using LKFS], [0043] Following the regulations and recommendations, the long-term (or integrated) loudness measure of a digital audio program, expressed in LKFS (Loudness, K-weighted, relative to Full Scale) or LUFS (Loudness Units relative to Full Scale) can be calculated as:, [See equation (1) and Fig. 2. The loudness measure operations of Jot as would be applied to the rendered audio object data of Xiang as Jot discloses object-based audio which would be gathered using the rendering process of Xiang]);
calculating a plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio object data and a plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio description data ([Fig. 11, 1120], [0074] At operation 1120, the method can include monitoring short-term loudness for object-based dialog and non-dialog signals [Applying the techniques discloses in Jot to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]);
reading a first plurality of mixing parameters that correspond to the audio object data ([0034] In an example, the encoder device 120 receives the audio signals 110 and adds respective metadata 113 to the audio signals 110. The metadata 113 can include, among other things, an indication of or information about the audio signal's source, type, genre, loudness, quietness, duration, noise characteristic, frequency content, spatial position, or other information [Adding metadata corresponding to non-audio signals, i.e. audio object data, based on genre, type, spatial position, i.e. mixing parameters, indicates a first plurality of mixing parameters are read from input audio object data]);
generating a second plurality of mixing parameters based on the first plurality of mixing parameters, the long-term loudness of the audio object data, the long-term loudness of the audio description data, the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio object data, and the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio description data ([Fig. 1, 130], [0037] The decoder device 130 can be configured to update or adjust a signal balance between two or more object-based audio signals. In an example, the processor circuit 135 receives a dialog balance setting 136, and then compares the dialog balance setting 136 with a detected or determined dialog balance of the object-based audio signals to be processed by the decoder device 130. If the relationship between the dialog balance setting 136 and the detected or determined dialog balance of the signals meets or exceeds a specified threshold, then the processor circuit 135 can update or adjust a loudness characteristic of one or more of the object-based audio signals 136 [Updating or adjusting the signal balance between two or more audio signals tracks to generation of a second set of mixing parameters, wherein the dialog balance, i.e. loudness, between the two signals is being taken into account to update the signal balance, and loudness can be both short and long term as previously defined. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]);
generating a gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters, the audio object data and the audio description data ([Fig. 8], [Fig. 11, 1116], [0077] Resulting time-varying gain offsets g.sub.D(m) and g.sub.N(m) can then be determined at operation 1124, and then applied to corresponding object waveforms at operation 1116, where, [0071] g.sub.D(m) and g.sub.N(m), such as can be applied respectively to dialog objects and non-dialog objects [A time-varying gain indicates dependence on the audio data which is also time-varying, calculating a gain indicates knowledge of volume which indicates the second plurality of mixing parameters were used to gather the volume data. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination. Further, in view of Figure 8 representing a visualization of a gain adjustment (y-axis) dependent on a difference between dialog and non-dialog audio (x-axis) in view of the audio object of Jot and the audio description of Naik]);
generating mixed audio object data by mixing the audio object data and the audio description data according to the second plurality of mixing parameters ([Fig. 1, 135, 112], [Metadata, input audio, and a dialog balance setting being sent to a processor that outputs audio signals indicates that the output is mixed between the dialog, i.e. audio description, and non-dialog, i.e. audio object, data. It would have been obvious to apply the techniques for generating mixed audio data disclosed in Jot to the audio description data disclosed in Naik]);
wherein the mixed audio object data includes a second plurality of audio objects ([Fig. 1, 112], [0033] The system 100 further includes playback device(s) 150 that receive one or more output signals 112 from the decoder device 130);
wherein the second plurality of audio objects correspond to the first plurality of audio objects mixed with the audio description data according to the second plurality of mixing parameters ([Fig. 1, 135], [Metadata, input audio, and a dialog balance setting being sent to a processor that outputs audio signals indicates that the output corresponds to a first plurality of audio objects, i.e. input signals, mixed with the audio description according to the second plurality of mixing parameters, i.e. the dialog balance setting 136. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]).
Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang does not disclose:
wherein the gain adjustment visualization shows a loudness of the audio object data, a loudness of the audio description data, and a gain to be applied for mixing.
Wang discloses:
wherein the gain adjustment visualization shows a loudness of the audio object data, a loudness of the audio description data, and a gain to be applied for mixing ([Fig. 4, Vt’, V, gt, gl], [0073] The first curve represents a variation curve diagram of a time-varying smooth volume V.sub.t′ of an original voice signal as shown in FIG. 2; the second curve represents a variation curve diagram of a time-varying combined smooth volume of the original voice signal as shown in FIG. 2 [Wang discloses a visualization featuring two audio signals, in view of the audio abject data of Jot and the audio description data of Naik, wherein the visualization also features gain curves which are determined based on the audio signals (see [Fig. 1, S105]) to be applied to the audio signals (see [Fig. 1, S106]), in view of the determined gain adjustment of Jot Fig. 8]).
Jot, Naik, Xiang, and Wang are considered analogous art within dynamic volume control of audio signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang to incorporate the teachings of Wang, because of the novel way to control the rate of change of volume of signals using a smaller scope for improved output voice quality (Wang, [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Jot further discloses:
wherein the long-term loudness of the audio object data is calculated over multiple samples of the audio object data ([0040] In an example, a dialog balance can be deemed valid for a lesser duration than that of an entire audio program, in this example, the dialog balance characteristic can be considered a “long-term” characteristic [Jot discloses a “global balance” which represents loudness for an entire audio program, this indicates long-term, as defined in Jot as a lesser duration than the entire audio, includes multiple samples of a larger audio signal]);
wherein the long-term loudness of the audio description data is calculated over multiple samples of the audio description data ([As Jot discloses dialog and non-dialog objects both having long-term loudness calculations performed (Fig. 11, 1112), it would have been obvious to apply the long-term loudness calculation to the secondary media data, i.e. dialog, disclosed in Naik]);
wherein each of the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio object data is calculated over a single sample of the audio object data ([0040] Even lesser duration dialog balance characteristics, such as corresponding to about 20 milliseconds or less, can be considered a “short-term” characteristic [20ms tracks to a sample or frame of audio data]);
wherein each of the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio description data is calculated over a single sample of the audio description data ([As Jot discloses dialog and non-dialog objects both having short-term loudness calculations performed (Fig. 11, 1120), now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]).
Regarding claim 3, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Jot further discloses:
wherein the first plurality of mixing parameters is associated with one of a plurality of genres ([0041] In some embodiments, a user's preferred dialog salience setting can depend on, among other things, a content or genre of the corresponding audio program [A dialog salience, i.e. a mix, associated or dependent on the genre of the audio]);
wherein each of the plurality of genres is associated with a corresponding set of mixing parameters ([0038] In an example, the dialog balance setting 136 can be determined or influenced by a user preference that is input to the decoder device via a second input 133, by device information corresponding to the playback device(s) 150, by the genre information 114, or by other factors [Determining a dialog balance setting based on genre information indicates the genre information affects the mixing parameters]).
Regarding claim 9, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1.
Naik further discloses:
receiving a user input to adjust the second plurality of mixing parameters, prior to generating the mixed audio object data ([0082] In the illustrated example, the secondary media items 114 may be voice feedback announcements, including an artist name 114a, a track name 114b, and an album name 114c. One or more of these announcements 114a, 114b, and 114c, may be played back as voice feedback in response an event, and may be configured via a set of user preferences [Playback of artist, track, or album name, i.e. audio description data, with a user preferences indicates that those preference must be set before the output was generated in order to generate a meaningful output]);
generating a revised gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted according to the user input ([0082] The enhanced media item 110 further includes loudness data 116. The loudness data 116 may include loudness values for each of the primary media item 112 and the secondary media items 114a, 114b, and 114c [The enhanced media item as defined in Fig. 6 containing primary and secondary media data, which has previously been discloses as user configured, indicates the enhanced audio object has a gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the loudnesses, i.e. mixing parameters, according to user input. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]);
wherein the mixed audio object data is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted ([If a user input is a necessary step to this claim, as displayed in the first element, it is inherent that the mixed audio object data is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted as the user adjusting these parameters to receive mixed audio object data is a required step of this method]).
Regarding claim 10, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Naik further discloses:
receiving audio data, wherein the audio data does not include an audio object ([Fig. 8, 112, 114], [Primary/secondary media files which exclusively contain audio/speech data])
converting the audio data into the audio object data ([0082] For example, in one presently contemplated embodiment, respective loudness values may be stored in metadata tags of each primary and secondary media file [Taking audio files and storing loudness values associated with the files in metadata tags indicates the audio is in an object format as shown in Fig. 6 “Enhanced Media Item 110”]);
after generating the mixed audio object data: converting the mixed audio object data to mixed audio data ([Fig. 8, 138], [0088] The mixer 134 may also be implemented via hardware and/or software, and may perform the function of combining two or more electronic signals (e.g., primary and secondary audio signals) into a composite output signal 138 [Combining two or more signals in a sound mixer 134 to output a mixed audio signal 138 indicates that the volume metadata was used to combine the sources into one output signal, dependent of volume metadata, i.e. no longer audio objects]); wherein the mixed audio data corresponds to the audio data mixed with the audio description data ([Primary, i.e. non-dialog, and secondary media files, i.e. audio description, as input resulting in one output indicates a mixed audio output signal corresponding to audio data mixed with audio description data. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]).
Regarding claim 11, Jot discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, controls an apparatus to execute processing including the method of claim 1 ([0103] The software module can be contained in a massed, tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media that can be accessed by a computing device).
Regarding claim 12, Jot discloses an apparatus for audio processing (Abstract, adjusting a relationship between dialog and non-dialog signals), the apparatus comprising:
A processor ([0099] Moreover, in some embodiments, acts or events can be performed concurrently, such as through multi-threaded processing, interrupt processing, or multiple processors or processor cores);
Wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to receive audio object data ([0035] The decoder device 130 can include a processor circuit 135 that is configured to read the metadata 113 from the recovered object-based audio signals),
Jot does not disclose:
Wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to receive audio description data.
Naik discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to receive audio description data ([Fig. 2, 50], [0067] secondary media data, such as voice feedback data, where, [0067] voice feedback data which may include spoken audio data or commentary).
Jot and Naik are considered analogous art within dynamic audio mixing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot to incorporate the teachings of Naik, because of the novel way to apply techniques for reading/modifying metadata associated with song information to be overlayed on top of a playing sound while dynamically adjusting the volume of the audio track to increase audibility of voice feedback, i.e. description (Naik, [0006]) to provide an improved user experience (Naik, [0007]).
Furthermore, the action of performing long-term dialog balance using metadata is disclosed in [0055] of Jot. Thus, it would be predictable to apply these balances to the metadata defined in Naik, i.e. song information metadata, as this falls within a metadata calculation already being performed by Jot.
The combination of Jot and Naik, particularly the addition of Naik’s audio description data and metadata now processed as detailed by Jot further discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to calculate a long-term loudness of the audio object data and a long-term loudness of the audio description data ([Fig. 11, 1110], where the global dialog/non-dialog loudnesses are defined: [0017] The long-term dialog balance can generally be associated with an entire duration of an audio program, and in such instances can be considered to be a “global” dialog [Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]).
Jot in view of Naik does not disclose:
wherein calculating the long-term loudness of the audio object data includes:
generating rendered data from the audio object data by performing rendering.
Xiang discloses:
wherein calculating the long-term loudness of the audio object data includes:
generating rendered data from the audio object data by performing rendering ([0042] In any event, rendering units 28 each represent hardware or a combination of hardware and software configured to render audio data 38A-38C from one or more of audio objects 34', 34'').
Jot, Naik, and Xiang are considered analogous art within multichannel audio mixing Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik to incorporate the teachings of Xiang, because of the novel way to use a video capture device in addition to multiple audio capture devices for sound localization, allowing for rendering of audio objects which better localize objects to front channels, enabling improved generation of surround sound audio data as would be applicable to the mixing of audio description with audio data disclosed in Jot in view of Naik (Xiang, [0006]).
Jot further discloses:
wherein calculating the long-term loudness of the audio object data includes:
performing at least one of a Leg (loudness equivalent continuous sound pressure level) ([The examiner would like to note that, due to the disjunctive nature of the claim, this element does not require a mapping]) measurement process, a LKFS (loudness, K-weighted, relative to full scale) measurement process, and a LUFS (loudness units relative to full scale) measurement process on the rendered data ([Fig. 2, Measure Loudness performed using LKFS], [0043] Following the regulations and recommendations, the long-term (or integrated) loudness measure of a digital audio program, expressed in LKFS (Loudness, K-weighted, relative to Full Scale) or LUFS (Loudness Units relative to Full Scale) can be calculated as:, [See equation (1) and Fig. 2. The loudness measure operations of Jot as would be applied to the rendered audio object data of Xiang as Jot discloses object-based audio which would be gathered using the rendering process of Xiang]);
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to calculate a plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio object data and a plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio description data ([Fig. 11, 1120], [0074] At operation 1120, the method can include monitoring short-term loudness for object-based dialog and non-dialog signals [Applying the techniques discloses in Jot to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]);
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to read a first plurality of mixing parameters that correspond to the audio object data ([0034] In an example, the encoder device 120 receives the audio signals 110 and adds respective metadata 113 to the audio signals 110. The metadata 113 can include, among other things, an indication of or information about the audio signal's source, type, genre, loudness, quietness, duration, noise characteristic, frequency content, spatial position, or other information [Adding metadata corresponding to non-audio signals, i.e. audio object data, based on genre, type, spatial position, i.e. mixing parameters, indicates a first plurality of mixing parameters are read from input audio object data]);
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to generate a second plurality of mixing parameters based on the first plurality of mixing parameters, the long-term loudness of the audio object data, the long-term loudness of the audio description data, the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio object data, and the plurality of short- term loudnesses of the audio description data ([Fig. 1, 130], [0037] The decoder device 130 can be configured to update or adjust a signal balance between two or more object-based audio signals. In an example, the processor circuit 135 receives a dialog balance setting 136, and then compares the dialog balance setting 136 with a detected or determined dialog balance of the object-based audio signals to be processed by the decoder device 130. If the relationship between the dialog balance setting 136 and the detected or determined dialog balance of the signals meets or exceeds a specified threshold, then the processor circuit 135 can update or adjust a loudness characteristic of one or more of the object-based audio signals 136 [Updating or adjusting the signal balance between two or more audio signals tracks to generation of a second set of mixing parameters, wherein the dialog balance, i.e. loudness, between the two signals is being taken into account to update the signal balance, and loudness can be both short and long term as previously defined. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]);
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to generate a gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters, the audio object data and the audio description data ([Fig. 8], [Fig. 11, 1116], [0077] Resulting time-varying gain offsets g.sub.D(m) and g.sub.N(m) can then be determined at operation 1124, and then applied to corresponding object waveforms at operation 1116, where, [0071] g.sub.D(m) and g.sub.N(m), such as can be applied respectively to dialog objects and non-dialog objects [A time-varying gain indicates dependence on the audio data which is also time-varying, calculating a gain indicates knowledge of volume which indicates the second plurality of mixing parameters were used to gather the volume data. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination. Further, in view of Figure 8 representing a visualization of a gain adjustment (y-axis) dependent on a difference between dialog and non-dialog audio (x-axis) in view of the audio object of Jot and the audio description of Naik]);
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to generate mixed audio object data by mixing the audio object data and the audio description data according to the second plurality of mixing parameters ([Fig. 1, 135, 112], [Metadata, input audio, and a dialog balance setting being sent to a processor that outputs audio signals indicates that the output is mixed between the dialog, i.e. audio description, and non-dialog, i.e. audio object, data. It would have been obvious to apply the techniques for generating mixed audio data disclosed in Jot to the audio description data disclosed in Naik]);
wherein the mixed audio object data includes a second plurality of audio objects ([Fig. 1, 112], [0033] The system 100 further includes playback device(s) 150 that receive one or more output signals 112 from the decoder device 130);
wherein the second plurality of audio objects correspond to the first plurality of audio objects mixed with the audio description data according to the second plurality of mixing parameters. ([Fig. 1, 135], [Metadata, input audio, and a dialog balance setting being sent to a processor that outputs audio signals indicates that the output corresponds to a first plurality of audio objects, i.e. input signals, mixed with the audio description according to the second plurality of mixing parameters, i.e. the dialog balance setting 136. It would have been obvious to apply the mixing method discloses in Jot to the secondary media files discloses in Naik]).
Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang does not disclose:
wherein the gain adjustment visualization shows a loudness of the audio object data, a loudness of the audio description data, and a gain to be applied for mixing.
Wang discloses:
wherein the gain adjustment visualization shows a loudness of the audio object data, a loudness of the audio description data, and a gain to be applied for mixing ([Fig. 4, Vt’, V, gt, gl], [0073] The first curve represents a variation curve diagram of a time-varying smooth volume V.sub.t′ of an original voice signal as shown in FIG. 2; the second curve represents a variation curve diagram of a time-varying combined smooth volume of the original voice signal as shown in FIG. 2 [Wang discloses a visualization featuring two audio signals, in view of the audio abject data of Jot and the audio description data of Naik, wherein the visualization also features gain curves which are determined based on the audio signals (see [Fig. 1, S105]) to be applied to the audio signals (see [Fig. 1, S106]), in view of the determined gain adjustment of Jot Fig. 8]).
Jot, Naik, Xiang, and Wang are considered analogous art within dynamic volume control of audio signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang to incorporate the teachings of Wang, because of the novel way to control the rate of change of volume of signals using a smaller scope for improved output voice quality (Wang, [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the apparatus of claim 12.
Naik further discloses:
a display that is configured to display the gain adjustment visualization ([Fig. 2, 24], [0044] The display 24 may also display various system indicators 26 that provide feedback to a user [i.e. a gain adjustment]).
Regarding claim 14, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the apparatus of claim 12.
Jot further discloses:
wherein the long-term loudness of the audio object data is calculated over multiple samples of the audio object data ([0040] In an example, a dialog balance can be deemed valid for a lesser duration than that of an entire audio program, in this example, the dialog balance characteristic can be considered a “long-term” characteristic [Jot discloses a “global balance” which represents loudness for an entire audio program, this indicates long-term, as defined in Jot as a lesser duration than the entire audio, includes multiple samples of a larger audio signal]);
wherein the long-term loudness of the audio description data is calculated over multiple samples of the audio description data ([As Jot discloses dialog and non-dialog objects both having long-term loudness calculations performed (Fig. 11, 1112), it would have been obvious to apply the long-term loudness calculation to the secondary media data, i.e. dialog, disclosed in Naik]);
wherein each of the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio object data is calculated over a single sample of the audio object data ([0040] Even lesser duration dialog balance characteristics, such as corresponding to about 20 milliseconds or less, can be considered a “short-term” characteristic [20ms tracks to a sample or frame of audio data]);
wherein each of the plurality of short-term loudnesses of the audio description data is calculated over a single sample of the audio description data ([As Jot discloses dialog and non-dialog objects both having short-term loudness calculations performed (Fig. 11, 1120), Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]).
Regarding claim 20, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the apparatus of claim 12.
Naik further discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to receive a user input to adjust the second plurality of mixing parameters, prior to generating the mixed audio object data ([0082] In the illustrated example, the secondary media items 114 may be voice feedback announcements, including an artist name 114a, a track name 114b, and an album name 114c. One or more of these announcements 114a, 114b, and 114c, may be played back as voice feedback in response an event, and may be configured via a set of user preferences [Playback of artist, track, or album name, i.e. audio description data, with a user preferences indicates that those preference must be set before the output was generated in order to generate a meaningful output]);
wherein the processor is configured to control the apparatus to generate a revised gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted according to the user input ([0082] The enhanced media item 110 further includes loudness data 116. The loudness data 116 may include loudness values for each of the primary media item 112 and the secondary media items 114a, 114b, and 114c [The enhanced media item as defined in Fig. 6 containing primary and secondary media data, which has previously been discloses as user configured, indicates the enhanced audio object has a gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the loudnesses, i.e. mixing parameters, according to user input. Now with consideration of the techniques discloses in Jot as applied to the audio description signals disclosed in Naik in the resultant combination]);
wherein the mixed audio object data is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted ([If a user input is a necessary step to this claim, as displayed in the first element, it is inherent that the mixed audio object data is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted as the user adjusting these parameters to receive mixed audio object data is a required step of this method]).
Regarding claim 22, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Jot further discloses:
wherein an audio engineer uses the gain adjustment visualization to evaluate gains of a proposed mix ([0042] A fixed dialog gain correction can be applied, if necessary, such as to match a user-specified dialog balance at the playback device(s) 150 [In view of the gain adjustment visualization of Fig. 8, a user-specific dialog balance indicates a certain level of evaluation necessary to adjust the balance and determine where the balance needs to be adjusted, user tracks to an audio engineer]).
Regarding claim 23, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Wang further discloses:
wherein the gain to be applied corresponds to the gain to be applied to reduce the loudness of the audio object data in view of the loudness of the audio description data shown in the gain adjustment visualization ([Fig. 4, gT, gL], [Fig. 6, S602 “Control the Amplitude… according to gt”, S613 “Control a volume”], [Controlling a volume based on gain, wherein the gain controlling a volume is dependent upon the loudness of audio object data and audio description data as previously disclosed in claim 1 to be shown in Fig. 4, (indicating it to be “in view” of the loudness of audio description data), in view of the decreasing gain displayed in Fig. 4, indicating a decreasing gain will result in a reduced loudness of audio object data when the reducing gain is applied to the voice signal ([Fig. 1, S106]), i.e. voice signals track to audio object data in view of the audio object of Jot in view of Naik in view of Xiang]).
Regarding claim 24, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Naik further discloses:
evaluating, by a user, the gain adjustment visualization, prior to generating the mixed audio object data ([Fig. 10, Feedback Event Detected 162], [Fig. 11, Volume of primary media 112], [0098] the volume setting V may be adjusted at will by the user. At time t.sub.A, a feedback event may be detected which may trigger the ducking of the primary media item 112, [In view of the flow of Fig. 10, receiving feedback based exclusively on the primary media file indicates the feedback is a user evaluation prior to generating mixed audio object data, wherein the adjustment changes the volume, i.e. gain adjustment, as visually represented in Fig. 11. There is no disclosure that the graphical depiction requires two audio tracks and could not be similarly generated for one audio track with an associated volume level, i.e. that which the user listens to before providing original feedback]);
receiving a user input regarding the second plurality of mixing parameters responsive to the user evaluating the gain adjustment visualization ([Fig. 10, Identify Secondary Media Files to Play Based on Feedback Event], [Determining secondary media to be played through user feedback indicates the user feedback to be regarding a second plurality of mixing parameters, i.e. the default volume settings of the selected secondary media, in response to the user listening to the primary media file, i.e. represented through the gain adjustment visualization]);
adjusting the second plurality of mixing parameters in response to the user input ([0099] once the secondary media file 114 is fully faded in and reaches the maximum loudness V, the desired relative loudness difference RLD between the primary 112 and secondary 114 media items is achieved, [Fading in a secondary media file indicates the fading to be a plurality of mixing parameters based on a user input selecting the second media file containing an original mix without fade in]); and
generating a revised gain adjustment visualization corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted according to the user input ([Fig. 11, Volume of Secondary Media File 114], [Generating a gain/volume adjustment based on the second plurality of mixing parameters, i.e. ramping up/down the secondary/primary media tracks respectively, wherein the second media file is added through user input, indicating the revised gain adjustment visualization of Naik to be corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters as represented through the fading in/out of the primary/secondary tracks in view of the gain adjustment visualization of Wang which could take the signals of Naik and produce a visual without a change in functionality to Wang as the signals represented on both plots are the same]),
wherein the mixed audio object data is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted ([0097] Once the loudness of the primary media item is reduced to the ducked level (DL), playback of the secondary media item occurs at step 170. For instance, the primary audio stream and the secondary media stream may be mixed by the mixer 134 to create a composite audio stream 138 in which the primary media item is played at the ducked loudness level (DL) and in which the secondary media item is played at its normal loudness. As indicated by the decision block 172, the playback of the secondary media item may continue (step 170) to completion. Once the playback of the secondary media item is completed, ducking of the primary media item ends and the primary media item may be ducked out, wherein the loudness of the primary media item is gradually increased back to its normal level, [Generating an audio file combining the primary and secondary media items based on the volumes of the two media items indicates the output audio represent in Fig. 11 is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted, i.e. to account for the fading]).
Regarding claim 26, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Xiang further discloses:
wherein the rendered data is associated with a plurality of channels ([0030] These audio objects may then be rendered to one or more channels using decibel differences that better localize the audio objects to one of the front channels, thereby enabling better generation of surround sound or other types of multi-channel audio data).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang, further in view of Wang et al. (US-20210151082-A1), hereinafter Wang2.
Regarding claim 5, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Naik further discloses: wherein the first plurality of mixing parameters includes a maximum delta parameter ([Fig. 11, RLD], [0099] As shown in the graph 176, the secondary media item 114, which may be either a voice feedback or system feedback announcement, is faded in while the primary media item 112 continues to play at the ducked loudness level DL over the interval t.sub.BC, which defines the period of concurrent playback. Further, once the secondary media file 114 is fully faded in and reaches the maximum loudness V, the desired relative loudness difference RLD between the primary 112 and secondary 114 media items is achieved).
Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang does not disclose:
Wherein the first plurality of mixing parameters includes a lookahead parameter and a ramp parameter.
Wang2 discloses:
Wherein the first plurality of mixing parameters includes a lookahead parameter ([0099] It has been noticed that some neighboring sections of audio description may be very close to each other and may have a minimal time separation between them. In such cases, a default value used for a ducking process may cause releasing and attacking segments of audio to be very close to each other. This may create a noticeable and potentially annoying audio effect to a listener. To reduce this potentially annoying audio effect, in some embodiments, an audio description dialog merging module may be implemented. In operation, the gap between neighboring audio description segments is calculated. In the situation of two descriptions with a separation gap of less than 50 ms, the two segments are merged into one event [Merging two audio events to avoid noise caused by adaptive ducking between close events indicates that there is an ability to “lookahead” and stop adaptive mixing when necessary]); and,
A ramp parameter ([Fig. 3C], [0090] In contrast, in the time period or segment between T.sub.3 and T.sub.N−2 the soundtrack volume level has been gradually decreased or increased at the ends of the time period or segment).
Jot, Naik, Xiang, Wang, and Wang2 are considered analogous art within adaptive audio mixing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Wang2, because of the novel way to introduce both ramping and lookahead features to reduce the effect of annoying, negative sound impact on nearby signals being adaptively mixed (Wang2, [0099]).
Regarding claim 6, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang, further in view of Wang2 discloses: the method of claim 5.
Wang2 further discloses:
wherein the lookahead parameter corresponds to maintaining a uniform gain adjustment during an audio pause in the audio description data ([0099] To reduce this potentially annoying audio effect, in some embodiments, an audio description dialog merging module may be implemented. In operation, the gap between neighboring audio description segments is calculated. In the situation of two descriptions with a separation gap of less than 50 ms, the two segments are merged into one event [Merging two audio events to avoid noise caused by adaptive ducking between close events indicates that there is an ability to “lookahead” and stop adaptive mixing when necessary to keep a gain that is sufficient for both events]).
Regarding claim 7, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang, further in view of Wang2 discloses: the method of claim 5.
Wang2 further discloses:
wherein the ramp parameter corresponds to a time period over which a gain adjustment is gradually applied ([Fig. 3C], [0090] In contrast, in the time period or segment between T.sub.3 and T.sub.N−2 the soundtrack volume level has been gradually decreased or increased at the ends of the time period or segment).
Regarding claim 8, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang, further in view of Wang2 discloses: the method of claim 5.
Naik further discloses:
wherein the maximum delta parameter corresponds to a maximum loudness difference between a frame of the audio object data and a corresponding frame of the audio description data ([Fig. 11, RLD], [0099] As shown in the graph 176, the secondary media item 114, which may be either a voice feedback or system feedback announcement, is faded in while the primary media item 112 continues to play at the ducked loudness level DL over the interval t.sub.BC, which defines the period of concurrent playback. Further, once the secondary media file 114 is fully faded in and reaches the maximum loudness V, the desired relative loudness difference RLD between the primary 112 and secondary 114 media items is achieved [Determining the loudness of primary and secondary audio is a method that would have been obvious to apply to the audio objects discloses in Jot]).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang, further in view of Marten (US-20210084381-A1).
Regarding claim 25, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 24.
Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang does not disclose:
iteratively generating the gain adjustment visualization,
Marten discloses:
iteratively generating the gain adjustment visualization ([0035] improve the user preference determination based on a feedback loop including information regarding volume control and/or closed captioning setting habits received from the receiving device 118, mobile device 128 and/or receiving devices and mobile devices of other users, [Wherein the loudness of ambient noise and program audio, see Fig. 6, are compared to determine whether closed captioning should be applied. Considering the user feedback loop of Marten in view of Jot, Naik, and/or Wang (which disclose updating loudnesses of dialog and non-dialog signals) indicating that the user feedback based on volume between two signals of Marten could be applied to the two signals of Jot, Naik, and/or Wang without a change in functionality to these prior arts. Further, consider the gain adjustment visualization of Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Wang, the audio signals of Marten could be applied to the visualization previously disclosed without changing the functionality of the visualization. This indicates an iterative operation consisting of user feedback for generating a gain adjustment visualization]).
Jot, Naik, Xiang, Wang, and Marten are considered analogous art within sound level monitoring. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Marten, because of the novel way to track increases in program audio based on a comparison to a loudness level for activating closed captioning, improving the efficiency and effectiveness of closed captioning system without a user manually needing to turn on captions (Marten, [0003]-[0004]).
Wang further discloses:
evaluating the gain adjustment visualization ([0074] according to various inflection points of the fourth curve g.sub.t and the fifth curve g.sub.L and the variation trend of the inflection points, the volume of a voiced voice signal (signal in pitch period) corresponding to the inflection point is increased suddenly, the volume gain in the inflection point is declined compared to the volume gain at the prior moment. Moreover, it can be known according to the first inflection point of the fourth curve g.sub.t and the fifth curve g.sub.L, the time corresponding to each inflection point of the fourth curve g.sub.t is earlier than the time corresponding to each inflection point of the fifth curve g.sub.L; that is to say, the variation curve diagram of the volume gain g.sub.L determined according to the smooth volume V.sub.t′ at the moment t and the predetermined reference volume falls behind the variation curve diagram of the volume gain g.sub.t determined according to the combined smooth volume, [Identification of inflection points in a generated gain adjustment visualization indicates those inflection points to be based on an evaluation of the overall graph]).
Naik further discloses:
receiving the user input ([Fig. 10, Identify Secondary Media Files to Play Based on Feedback Event], [Determining secondary media to be played through user feedback indicates the user feedback to be regarding a second plurality of mixing parameters, i.e. the default volume settings of the selected secondary media, in response to the user listening to the primary media file, i.e. represented through the gain adjustment visualization]),
adjusting the second plurality of mixing parameters ([0099] once the secondary media file 114 is fully faded in and reaches the maximum loudness V, the desired relative loudness difference RLD between the primary 112 and secondary 114 media items is achieved, [Fading in a secondary media file indicates the fading to be a plurality of mixing parameters based on a user input selecting the second media file containing an original mix without fade in]), and
generating the revised gain adjustment visualization ([Fig. 11, Volume of Secondary Media File 114], [Generating a gain/volume adjustment based on the second plurality of mixing parameters, i.e. ramping up/down the secondary/primary media tracks respectively, wherein the second media file is added through user input, indicating the revised gain adjustment visualization of Naik to be corresponding to the second plurality of mixing parameters as represented through the fading in/out of the primary/secondary tracks in view of the gain adjustment visualization of Wang which could take the signals of Naik and produce a visual without a change in functionality to Wang as the signals represented on both plots are the same]),
wherein the mixed audio object data is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been iteratively adjusted ([0097] Once the loudness of the primary media item is reduced to the ducked level (DL), playback of the secondary media item occurs at step 170. For instance, the primary audio stream and the secondary media stream may be mixed by the mixer 134 to create a composite audio stream 138 in which the primary media item is played at the ducked loudness level (DL) and in which the secondary media item is played at its normal loudness. As indicated by the decision block 172, the playback of the secondary media item may continue (step 170) to completion. Once the playback of the secondary media item is completed, ducking of the primary media item ends and the primary media item may be ducked out, wherein the loudness of the primary media item is gradually increased back to its normal level, [Generating an audio file combining the primary and secondary media items based on the volumes of the two media items indicates the output audio represent in Fig. 11 is generated based on the second plurality of mixing parameters having been adjusted, i.e. to account for the fading. Further, generating an overall signal with fading applied to a secondary media file indicates the fading to be performed through iterative adjustment, i.e. transforming the secondary media file, e.g. an original iteration, into that which has had fading applied, i.e. a second iteration of the secondary media file]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang, further in view of Paulus et al. (US-20150348564-A1), hereinafter Paulus.
Regarding claim 27, Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang discloses: the method of claim 1.
Xiang further discloses:
wherein generating rendered data further comprises generating clustered data by performing spatial coding on the audio object data ([Fig. 3, Spatial Audio Rendering Units 60A/B receiving Audio Objects 34A/B containing Augmented Metadata 56A/B], [0049] audio metadata comprises one or more of a location, [0052] Object association unit 26 may generate a variety of audio objects based on a classification of audio objects 34 to one of the three different classes described above. Again, the first class includes those of audio objects 34 having metadata that are associated with one of video objects 32 having metadata. The second class includes those of audio objects 34 that are not associated with any one of video objects 34. The third class includes those of video objects 32 that are not associated with any one of audio objects 34 , [The examiner asserts that each audio object corresponds to a “cluster”. The metadata is used to generate the objects, i.e. clusters, wherein the metadata includes location, indicating spatial coding]), and
rendering the clustered data to generate the rendered data ([0071] That is, spatial audio rendering units 60 may render audio objects 34' using augmented metadata 56 to further refine or otherwise more accurately locate the corresponding one of audio objects 34' so that this one of audio objects 34' can be more accurately reproduced when multi-channel audio data 40 is played).
Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang does not disclose:
wherein performing the spatial coding includes reducing a number of audio objects into a smaller number of clusters.
Paulus discloses:
wherein performing the spatial coding includes reducing a number of audio objects into a smaller number of clusters ([0066] The SAOC encoder 410 receives N audio object signals S1, . . . , SN as the input. Moreover, the SAOC encoder 410 further receives instructions “Mixing information D” how these objects should be combined to obtain a downmix signal comprising M downmix channels X1, . . . , XM, [The examiner asserts that combining objects to be downmixed will reduce a number of channels, i.e. clusters, of objects. [0045] of the instant app reads “the renderer 204 performs rendering by associating a cluster in the clustered data 210 to a channel in the rendered data 212” which indicates each cluster to be representative of a channel]).
Jot, Naik, Xiang, Wang, and Paulus are considered analogous art within multi-channel audio mixing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jot in view of Naik, further in view of Xiang, further in view of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Paulus, because of the novel way to accurately estimate an average loudness or change in average loudness of audio objects in audio mixtures through use of a parametric decoding method which compares loudnesses of default downmixed audio and rendered downmixed audio, reducing the computational requirements associated with the loudness estimation for signal-based concepts (Paulus, [0021]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koppens et al. (US-20160225387-A1) discloses “A method for hybrid speech enhancement which employs parametric-coded enhancement (or blend of parametric-coded and waveform-coded enhancement) under some signal conditions and waveform-coded enhancement (or a different blend of parametric-coded and waveform-coded enhancement) under other signal conditions” (abstract). See Figs. 2, 4-6. See entire document.
Baumgarte (US-20170032793-A1) discloses “An audio encoder encodes a digital audio recording having a number of audio channels or audio objects. A Dynamic Range Control (DRC) processor produces a sequence of encoder DRC gain values, by applying a selected one of a number of DRC characteristics to a group of one or more of the audio channels or audio objects. The encoder DRC gain values are to be applied to adjust the group of audio channels or audio objects, upon decoding them from the encoded digital audio recording” (abstract). See entire document.
Herre et al. (US-20210383820-A1) discloses “An audio analyzer configured to obtain spectral domain representations of two or more input audio signals. Additionally the audio analyzer is configured to obtain directional information associated with spectral bands of the spectral domain representations and to obtain loudness information associated with different directions as an analysis result. Contributions to the loudness information are determined in dependence on the directional information.” (abstract). See [0301] discussion of rendering audio content comprising a multichannel signal. See entire document.
Xiang et al. (US-9761229-B2) discloses “Systems, methods, and apparatus for grouping audio objects into clusters are described” (abstract). See entire document “cluster” and “render” operations.
/THEODORE WITHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2655
/ANDREW C FLANDERS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2655