DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election in the reply filed on 08/29/2025, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant provided complaint species of formula I and the corresponding formula II:
Examiner did not find prior art on applicant elected species. Therefore, Markush search was extended to the species
, where G1 is,
monocyclic heterocyclic group, L is COO, G2 is
, bicyclic aromatic heterocyclyl group wherein the compound is not
.
The species read on claims 1-4, 6-7, and 14-16.
Claims 5, and 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/29/2025.
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 14-16 are examined on merits.
Current Status of 17/995,914
This office action is in response to the amended claims on 08/29/2025.
Claims 1-13, and 16 are original; and claims 14-15 are previously amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 14-16 are examined on merits.
Priority
The effective filing date is 04/10/2020 since the instant claims find support in provisional application no. 63/008,289.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/10/2022, 11/13/2024 and 05/27/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " X4 is N ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 1. Claim 1 does not contain the limitation “X4”. As drafted, “X4 is N” in claim 4 renders the metes and bounds of claim 4 undefined. Hence renders claim 4 indefinite, since artisan does not know where “X4” is in claim 1.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Dependent claim 4, which contains “X4 is N” fails to properly further limit base claim 1, since claim 1 has no limitations drawn to X4. Thus, claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 112(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 14 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghosh et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 18 (2008) 5684-5688).
Ghosh et.al. discloses
(page 5685, table 1 compound 5) corresponding to compound of formula II and III, where G1 is,
, a monocyclic heterocyclic group wherein X4 is N and R1 is Cl; L is COO wherein X5 is O; and G2 is
, bicyclic aromatic heterocyclyl group, wherein X1 =X2 =CH and X3 is N thus anticipating claims 1-4, 6-7 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Ghosh et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 18 (2008) 5684–5688)
In view of
Chen et.al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Analysis 10 (March 26, 2020) 313-319)
Ghosh et.al teaches compound
(claims 1-4 and 6-7, see 102 rejection) and Ghosh further teaches compound
inhibits SARS-CoV-3CLpro enzymes (page 5685, table 1).
Chen et. al. teaches 3CLpro enzyme is a proven drug discovery target in the case of severe acute respirator syndrome coronavirus (examiner interpret this to include covid-19 (abstract) part.
Although Ghosh teaches
, Gosh does not teach pharmaceutically acceptable salt or method of treating severe acute respiratory syndrome or covid 19.
Chen et. al does not teaches the compound of formula I or formula II and its pharmaceutically acceptable salt or method of treating severe acute respiratory syndrome or covid 19.
A level of ordinary skill in the art is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing pharmaceutical acceptable salts for treatment severe acute respiratory syndrome such as covid 19
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop pharmaceutical acceptable salt of compound
to treat severe acute respiratory syndrome, such as covid-19 because compound
inhibits SARS-CoV-3CLpro enzymes(Ghosh, page 5685, table 1) since 3CLpro enzyme is a proven drug discovery target for severe acute respirator syndrome coronavirus (examiner interpret this to include covid-19 (Chen et.al. abstract). Therefore, it is expected compound
and its pharmaceutical acceptable salt will also be able to treat severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus, such as covid-19 because compound
inhibits SARS-CoV-3CLpro enzymes(Ghosh, page 5685, table 1). Thus, teaching claims 1-4, 6-7 and 14-16.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable as written.
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625