DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Examiner have withdrawn 112, 102 and 103 rejection on record.
New 102 and 103 rejections are made due to applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Examiner found prior art on Markush search extended species,
where G1 is,
monocyclic heterocyclic group, L is COO, G2 is
bicyclic aromatic heterocyclyl group wherein the compound is not
. Therefore Markush search was not extended to other species.
The species read on claims 1-7, and 14-16.
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/29/2025.
Claims 1-7 and 14-16 are examined on merits.
Current Status of 17/995,914
This office action is in response to the amended claims on 03/24/2026.
Claims 1,4, 7 currently amended; claim 2-3,6 and 16 are original; claims 14-15 are previously presented; and claims 5 and 8-13 are withdrawn.
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn
Claims 1-7 and 14-16 are examined on merits.
Priority
The effective filing date is 04/10/2020 since the instant claims find support in provisional application no. 63/008,289.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/30/2020 and 03/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges the receipt of applicant’s claim amendment and remarks 03/24/2026. Examiner have reviewed these remarks and amendments.
Regarding 112 rejections, applicant amended claim 4 to depend on claim 2 thus overcoming 112 rejections. Thus 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding 102 rejections applicant amended claim 1 to recite the limitation
, thus overcoming 102 rejections. Therefore 102 rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding 103 rejection, applicant amended claim 1 to recite the limitation
, thus overcoming 103 rejections. Therefore 103 rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eltis et.al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry 16 (2008) 5761–577).
Eltis et al discloses compound
where (corresponding to compound of formula I, formula II and formula III of claims 1-3) G1 is,
monocyclic heterocyclic group, L is COO, G2 is
bicyclic aromatic heterocyclyl group wherein the compound is not
., wherein, X1 = N; X2 =CH; X3 is NH; and X5 is O thus anticipating claims 1-7(Table 1, compound 66).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Eltis et.al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry 16 (2008) 5761–577)
In view of
Chen et.al. (Journal of Pharmaceutical Analysis 10 (March 26, 2020, 313-319)
Eltis et al discloses compound
where G1 is,
monocyclic heterocyclic group, L is COO, G2 is
bicyclic aromatic heterocyclyl group wherein the compound is not
., wherein, X1 = N; X2 =CH; X3 is NH; and X5 is O thus anticipating claims 1-7 (page 5762, Table 1, compound 66). Eltis futher teaches
(page 5763, Table 1, compound 66) inhibits SARS 3CLpro (a coronoviral proteinase) (Elitis , page 5762, column 1), partially teaching claims 15-16.
Chen et. al. teaches 3CLpro enzyme is a proven drug discovery target in the case of severe acute respirator syndrome coronavirus (SARS-CoV). (Chen et.al. abstract). Chen et.al. further teaches 3CLPro enzyme in SARS-CoV is preserved severe acute respiratory syndrome corornavirus disease (SAR-CoV-2)(covid-19) (conclusion section page, 318-319) (partially teaching claims 15-16).
Although Eltis et.al teaches compound
which inhibits SARS 3CLpro (a coronoviral proteinase) (Eltis, page 5762, column 1 and page 5763, Table 1, compound 66), Eltis does not teach pharmaceutically acceptable salt or method of treating severe acute respiratory syndrome.
Chen et. al does not teaches the compound of formula I or formula II and its pharmaceutically acceptable salt or method of treating severe acute respiratory syndrome.
A level of ordinary skill in the art is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing pharmaceutical acceptable salts for treatment of severe acute respiratory syndrome such as covid 19.
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop a method of treating severe respiratory syndrome with pharmaceutical acceptable salt of compound
, an inhibitor of SARS 3CLpro (a coronaviral proteinase) (Eltis , page 5762, column 1) because, 3CLpro enzyme is a proven drug discovery target for severe acute respirator syndrome in coronavirus (SAR-CoV), and is preserved in SARS-CoV-2) covid-19 (Chen et.al. abstract & conclusion section page, 318-319). A person skilled in the art would be expected to develop a method of treating SARs with pharmaceutical acceptable salt of compound
(Eltis, page 5762, column 1 and page 5763, Table 1, compound 66) because 3CLpro enzyme is a proven drug discovery target for SAR-CoV(Chen et.al. abstract). Furthermore, since 3CLpro enzyme in SAR-CoV is preserved in SAR-CoV-2 (covid-19) (Chen et.al.conclusion section page, 318-319), a person skilled in the art is expected to use compound
to treat covid-19 by targeting CLpro enzyme. Thus, teaching claims 1-7 and 14-16. Therefore, it would be prima facia obvious for a person skilled in the art to combine teaching of Eltis et.al. with the teaching of Chen et.al to develop pharmaceutical composition for treating severe acute respiratory syndrome.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No claims are allowable as written.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625