The amended claims filed 8/24/26 are acknowledged; claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unnam (WO 2015095886).in view of Hopper (US 20050145388).
CLAIM 1: Unnam discloses a scalable modular fluid separation system (Fig. 5). The system at least comprising a) a first subsea separator (200) with an inlet (on line 52) for receiving well fluids from a separator inlet stream; b) a gas stream outlet (to 54) of the first subsea separator; c) a first liquid stream outlet (to 53) of the first subsea separator; d) a second subsea separator (300) with an inlet in fluid communication with the first liquid steam outlet of the first subsea separator (see Fig. 5); e) a second liquid stream outlet (to 55; see Fig. 4) of the second subsea separator; and f) a third liquid stream outlet (to 59; see Fig. 4) of the second subsea separator. A gas stream is directed from the first subsea separator to a reinjection well, a first liquid stream is directed from the first subsea separator to the second subsea separator, a second liquid stream is directed from the second subsea separator to at least one of a liquid receiving facility and a reinjection well, and a third liquid stream is directed from the second subsea separator to an oil receiving facility is functional language. The invention is directed to a fluid separation system, what happens to the streams after they leave the system does not change the physical structure of the system.
Unnam fails to disclose a gas stream in selective fluid communication with a reinjection well.
Hopper discloses a scalable modular fluid separation system.
Hopper discloses a gas stream in selective fluid communication with a reinjection well (see paragraphs 0042, 0077, 0078).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Unnam to direct the gas to a reinjection well as in Hopper with a reasonable expectation of success as Hopper teaches the reinjection of gas is an appropriate use of gas that has been separated from subsea fluids.
CLAIM 3: Unnam fails to disclose a booster pump is in communication with the gas stream outlet of the first subsea separator, where the booster pump is a dense gas pump.
Hopper discloses a dense gas pump as a booster pump in a gas stream outlet (39, gas pump per paragraph 0091 to pump the dense gas).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the separation system of Unnam with the dense gas pump of Hopper with a reasonable expectation of success as Hopper teaches pump can be used to maintain pressure in the line (paragraph 0091).
CLAIM 4: An inlet manifold (see Unnam Fig. 4, showing manifold for 55), where the inlet manifold is in communication with an inlet for receiving well fluids from a separator inlet stream.
CLAIM 5: The first subsea separator is a subsea 2-phase gas to liquid separator (Unnam, paragraph 0023).
CLAIM 6: The second subsea separator is a subsea 2-phase oil-water separator (Unnam, paragraph 0023) and wherein the second liquid stream outlet is a water stream outlet and the third liquid stream outlet is an oil stream outlet (see Fig. 5).
CLAIM 7: The water stream is directed from the second subsea separator to a water pump (750) where the water stream is boosted by the water pump and the water is directed to a reinjection well (see Fig. 5), and the oil stream is directed from the second subsea separator to an oil pump (450) where the oil stream is boosted by the oil pump and the oil is directed to an oil receiving facility (see Fig. 5).
CLAIM 8: The first liquid stream is directed from the first liquid stream outlet of the first subsea separator to an inlet of the second subsea separator to provide a two stage gas-oil-water separation station where the liquid is separated into: a) a water stream and where the water stream is directed to a water pump where the water stream is boosted by the water pump and the water is directed to a reinjection well, and b) an oil stream and where the oil stream is directed to an oil pump where the oil stream is boosted by the oil pump and the oil is directed to an oil receiving facility (see Fig. 5).
CLAIM 9: The system further comprises: a) several 2-phase subsea separators each with an inlet for receiving well fluids from an associated well (400, see Fig. 5); b) a gas stream piping from a gas stream outlet of each of the 2-phase subsea separators (see Fig. 5); c) a gas reinjection module in communication with the gas stream outlet of the several 2- phase subsea separators (see Fig. 5); d) a liquid stream piping from a liquid stream outlet of each of the 2-phase subsea separators (see Fig. 5); e) a liquid pumping module in communication with the liquid stream outlet of the several 2-phase subsea separators (see Fig. 5); wherein the gas streams are directed from each of the 2-phase subsea separators to a gas reinjection module inlet where each of the gas streams are directed to a booster pump and directed to a reinjection well, and each of the liquid streams are directed from each of the 2-phase subsea separators to a liquid pumping module inlet where each of the liquid streams are directed to a liquid pressure booster and the liquid is directed to one of a liquid receiving facility, an oil receiving facility and a reinjection well (see Fig. 5; discussion above).
CLAIM 10: The gas reinjection module inlet is an inlet manifold, and where the liquid pumping module inlet is an inlet manifold (see Fig. 5, piping making manifold).
CLAIM 12: The scalable modular fluid separation system further comprises: a) several 3-phase subsea separators each with an inlet for receiving well fluids from an associated well (see paragraph 0030); b) a gas stream piping from a gas stream outlet of each of the 3-phase subsea separators (see Fig. 5); c) a gas reinjection module in communication with the gas stream outlet of the several 3- phase subsea separators (Fig. 5); d) a water stream piping from a water stream outlet of each of the 3-phase subsea separators (Fig. 5); e) a water reinjecting module in communication with the water stream outlet of the several 3-phase subsea separators (Fig. 5); f) an oil stream piping from a water stream outlet of each of the 3-phase subsea separators (Fig. 5); g) an oil pumping module (450) in communication with the oil stream outlet of the several 3- phase subsea separators, wherein the gas streams are directed from each of the 3-phase subsea separators to a gas reinjection module inlet where each of the gas streams are directed to a booster pump and directed to a reinjection well, and each of the water streams are directed from each of the 3-phase subsea separators to a water pumping module inlet where each of the water streams are directed to a water pressure booster and the water is directed to a reinjection well, and each of the oil streams are directed from each of the 3-phase subsea separators to an oil pumping module inlet where each of the oil streams are directed to an oil pressure booster and the oil is directed to an oil receiving facility (Fig. 5).
CLAIM 13: The gas reinjection module inlet is an inlet manifold, the water pumping module inlet is an inlet manifold, and where the oil pumping module inlet is an inlet manifold (see Fig. 5).
CLAIM 15: The scalable modular fluid separation system further comprises: a) several two stage gas-oil-water separation stations each with an inlet for receiving well fluids from an associated well (400; Fig. 5); b) a gas stream piping from a gas stream outlet of each of the two stage gas-oil-water separation (Fig. 5); c) a gas reinjection module in communication with the gas stream outlet of the several two stage gas-oil-water separation stations (Fig. 5); d) a water stream piping from a water stream outlet of each of the two stage gas-oil-water separation stations (Fig. 5); e) a water reinjecting module in communication with the water stream outlet of the several two stage gas-oil-water separation stations (Fig. 5); f) an oil stream piping from a water stream outlet from each of the two stage gas-oil-water separation stations (Fig. 5); g) an oil pumping module (450) in communication with the oil stream outlet of the several two stage gas-oil-water separation stations, wherein the gas streams are directed from each of the two stage gas-oil-water separation stations to a gas reinjection module inlet where each of the gas streams are directed to a booster pump and directed to a reinjection well, and each of the water streams are directed from each of the two stage gas-oil-water separation stations to a water pumping module inlet where each of the water streams are directed to a water pressure booster and the water is directed to a reinjection well, and each of the oil streams are directed from each of the two stage gas-oil-water separation stations to an oil pumping module inlet where each of the oil streams are directed to an oil pressure booster and the oil is directed to an oil receiving facility (Fig. 5).
CLAIM 16: The gas reinjection module inlet is an inlet manifold, the water pumping module inlet is an inlet manifold, and where the oil pumping module inlet is an inlet manifold (see Fig. 5).
CLAIMS 2, 11, 14, and 17: The elements of claims 1, 9, 12, and 15 as discussed above.
Unnam does not disclose the use of heat exchangers.
Hopper discloses a scalable modular fluid separation system
Hopper discloses using heat exchangers (paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the separation system of Unnam with the heat exchangers of Hopper with a reasonable expectation of success as Hopper teaches that the maintaining a minimum temperature is important to prevent waxing, asphatines and hydrates from forming in the system (paragraph 0062).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the prior art fails to teach “a gas stream outlet of the first subsea separator and in selective fluid communication with a reinjection well,” as set out in Claim 1. First, it is noted that the reinjection well is not positively claimed in this system claim. The outlet of the separator is positively claimed, but the reinjection well is not and is outside the scope of the preamble. The fluid connections are merely functional language related to the separator. The outlet of the disclosed separator is capable of functioning in the claimed manner. Second, Applicant misstates the test for obviousness. It is not a test of bodily incorporating one reference into another. It is what the references teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, Unnam teaches one of ordinary skill in the art the system involving a subsea separator and Hopper teaches one of ordinary skill in the art what can be done with the gas after it leaves the separator. An obviousness analysis does not need to teach each limitation explicitly, just that each limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant further asserts that the prior art fails to disclose two liquid stream outlets from the second separator. Applicant misstates the rejection. The outlet is identified as “to 59”, not “59”. Unnam discloses a plurality of outlets of the separator. 59 is part of a recirculation, so it requires an initial input, which is an output from the separator.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676