DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 8/12/2025.
Claims 18-21 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 13, 16-17, 26, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2020/0314713 A1); in view of Tseng et al. (US 2021/0022055 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16; Jung discloses receiving, from a serving cell of the UE, control signaling that indicates priority information for a set of V2X frequencies supported by the one or more cells (the UE 1f-01may receive RRC connection release message including cell reselection priority information (cellReselectionPriorities) from a gNB; the UE may apply frequency priority information included in the RRC connection release message for cell reselection; the UE may be configured to perform NR V2X sidelink communication through a specific frequency and to perform LTE V2X sidelink communication through another specific frequency; see paragraphs [0066], [0131] - [0132], [0151], [0165] and Fig. 6); measuring one or more parameters of a target cell of the one or more cells that support the V2X communications (the UE may perform a cell selection procedure to find a suitable NR cell; the UE may perform intra-frequency measurement, inter-frequency measurement based on measurement rules; the measurement rules may enable measurement to be performed based on frequency priorities; see paragraphs [0133], [0146], [0148] and Fig. 6); and performing a cell reselection procedure to establish connectivity with the target cell using a first V2X frequency of the set of V2X frequencies based at least in part on the priority information and the measured one or more parameters (the UE may select a target cell to be finally reselected by applying cell resection criteria according to the frequency priorities based on a measurement value; see paragraphs [0147], [0149] and Fig. 6).
Jung discloses receiving a control signaling including cellReselectionPriorities information for a set of V2X frequencies of one or more cells to perform cell reselection process.
Jung does not explicitly disclose the control signal indicating one or more cells, from among a set of neighboring cells, that support V2X communication.
Tseng discloses control signaling that indicates one or more cells, from among a set of neighboring cells, that support vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications (a UE may receive a command indicating target cells that support LTE V2X service and/or NR sidelink service; see paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung and Tseng to have the control signal indicating one or more cells, from among a set of neighboring cells, that support V2X communication to support communication system with different radio access technologies (see paragraphs [0035] of Tseng).
Specifically for claim 16; Jung discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0022] and Fig. 8), comprising: one or more processors (controller; see Fig. 8), one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (storage unit; see Fig. 8); and storing instructions executable by the one or more processors (a program may include instructions to perform the method; see paragraph [0252]).
Regarding claims 11 and 17; Jung discloses determining priority information for a set of V2X frequencies supported by the set of one or more cells (the gNB may transmit RRC connection release message including cell reselection priority information (cellReselectionPriorities) to a UE; the UE may be configured to perform NR (NR cell) V2X sidelink communication through a specific frequency and to perform LTE (LTE cell) V2X sidelink communication through another specific frequency; the UE may apply frequency priority information included in the RRC connection release message for cell reselection; see paragraphs [0131] – [0132], [0151], [0165] and Fig. 6); and transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling that indicates the set of one or more cells that support V2X communications and the priority information for the set of V2X frequencies supported by the set of one or more cells (the gNB may transmit RRC connection release message including cell reselection priority information (cellReselectionPriorities) to a UE; the UE may apply frequency priority information included in the RRC connection release message for cell reselection; see paragraphs [0131] – [0132], [0151], [0165] and Fig. 6).
Jung discloses receiving a control signaling including cellReselectionPriorities information for a set of V2X frequencies of one or more cells to perform cell reselection process.
Jung does not explicitly discloses determining one or more cells, from among a set of neighboring cells, that support V2X communication.
Tseng discloses determining a set of one or more cells that support vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications (a base station determines target cells that support LTE V2X service and/or NR sidelink service; see paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung and Tseng to determine one or more cells, from among a set of neighboring cells, that support V2X communication to support communication system with different radio access technologies (see paragraphs [0035] of Tseng).
Specifically for claim 17; Jung discloses an apparatus (a base station; see paragraph [0023] and Fig. 9) for wireless communications at a serving cell, comprising: one or more processors (controller; see Fig. 9), one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (storage unit; see Fig. 9); and storing instructions executable by the one or more processors (a program may include instructions to perform the method; see paragraph [0252]).
Regarding claims 10 and 30; Jung discloses wherein the serving cell and the target cell operate using different radio access technologies (RATs) (the serving cell is a NR cell and the target cell is an LTE cell; see paragraph [0131] and Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 6 and 26; Jung discloses wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message comprising the one or more cells that support V2X communications and the priority information for the set of V2X frequencies supported by the one or more cells (the RRCRelease message may also include cell reselection priority information (cellReselectionPriorities); the UE may perform measurements based on frequency priorities for cell reselection; the UE may be configured to perform LTE V2X sidelink communication through a specific frequency; the UE may be configured to perform NR V2X sidelink communication through a specific frequency; see paragraphs [0132], [0151], [0165] and Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 13 and 32; Jung discloses wherein transmitting the control signaling comprises: transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) connection release message that indicates the set of one or more cells that support V2X communications and the priority information for the set of V2X frequencies supported by the set of one or more cells (the RRCRelease message may also include cell reselection priority information (cellReselectionPriorities); the UE may be configured to perform LTE V2X sidelink communication through a specific frequency; the UE may be configured to perform NR V2X sidelink communication through another specific frequency; see paragraphs [0132], [0151], [0165] and Fig. 6).
Claims 2-3 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in view of Jung2 et al. (US 2020/0229261 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 22; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose performing the cell reselection with a timer.
Jung2 discloses receiving an indication of a duration for a cell reselection timer from the serving cell (the UE receives an RRC release (RRCRlease) message from the NR base station, the RRCRelease may include cell reselection information and a t320 timer value; see paragraph [0322] and [0325]); initiating the cell reselection timer based at least in part on receiving the indication (the UE may drive a t320 timer; see paragraph [0326]); and performing the cell reselection procedure with the target cell prior to expiration of the cell reselection timer (the UE may drive a t320 timer and perform a cell reselection based on the configured cellReselectionPriorities; see paragraph [0326]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Jung2 to perform cell reselection with a timer value to improve system network performance (see paragraph [0006] of Jung2).
Regarding claims 3 and 23; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose performing the cell resection with a timer in a connection release message.
Jung2 discloses wherein receiving the indication of the duration for the cell reselection timer comprises: receiving, from the serving cell, a connection release message that comprises the indication of the duration for the cell reselection timer (the UE receives an RRC release (RRCRlease) message from the NR base station, the RRCRelease may include cell reselection information and a t320 timer value; see paragraph [0322] and [0325]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Jung2 to perform cell reselection with a timer value in a connection release message to improve system network performance (see paragraph [0006] of Jung2).
Claims 4 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in further view of Axmon et al. (US 2021/0153082 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 24; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose the cell reselection procedure is performed based on measurement satisfying a measurement threshold.
Axmon discloses determining that the measured one or more parameters of the target cell satisfy a measurement threshold (when the signal quality or signal strength of the target cell is greater than a threshold; see paragraph [0124]), wherein the cell reselection procedure is performed based at least in part on the measured one or more parameters satisfying the measurement threshold (the target cell can be candidate for cell change (e.g. cell reselection); see paragraph [0124]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Axmon to perform cell reselection procedure based on measurement satisfying a measurement threshold to increase overall network performance (see paragraph [0134] of Axmon).
Claims 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in further view of Tang et al. (US 2021/0076278 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 25; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on a measurement performed.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose the measurement includes RSRP.
Tang discloses wherein measuring the one or more parameters of the target cell of the set of one or more cells comprises: measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) (the measurement module measures each frequency’s reference signal received power for cell reselection evaluation; see paragraph [0027]), a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or any combination thereof associated with at least one cell of the set of one or more cells including the target cell (no patentable weight is given to other elements due to the claim language or).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Tang to measure each frequency’s RSRP in order to perform cell reselection (see paragraph [0027] of Tang).
Claims 7-8 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in further view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0385710 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 27; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose receiving a SIB message indicating a V2X configuration of a target cell.
Yang discloses receiving a system information message from the target cell based at least in part on receiving the control signaling, the system information message indicating a V2X configuration of the target cell, wherein the cell reselection procedure is performed based at least in part on the V2X configuration (the terminal receives SIB X from a second base station; the SIB X includes resource pool configuration information of a V2X service; cell reselection process is performed after receiving SIB X; see paragraphs [0057] and [0073] - [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Yang to receive a SIB message indicating a V2X configuration of a target cell to meet low latency requirement of the terminal when transmitting service data (see paragraph [0057] of Yang).
Regarding claims 8 and 28; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose receiving a SIB message indicating a V2X configuration of a target cell.
Yang discloses wherein receiving the system information message comprises: receiving a system information block (SIB) within the system information message (the terminal receives SIB X from a second base station; the SIB X includes resource pool configuration information of a V2X service; cell reselection process is performed after receiving SIB X; see paragraphs [0057] and [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Yang to receive a SIB message indicating a V2X configuration of a target cell to meet low latency requirement of the terminal when transmitting service data (see paragraph [0057] of Yang).
Claims 9 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in further view of Hong et al. (US 2022/0077993 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 29; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on frequency priority information of cells received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose the one or more cells comprises the serving cell and the one or more neighboring cells.
Hong discloses wherein the one or more cells that support the V2X communications comprises the serving cell and one or more neighboring cells (the UE measures the serving and neighboring cells to perform cell reselection procedures; see paragraph [0512]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Hong to include both serving cell and neighboring cells in the cell reselection procedures to find a suitable cell (see paragraph [0417] of Hong).
Claims 12 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in further view of Hua et al. (US 2019/0082352 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 31; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose receiving a backhaul message indicating whether the neighboring cell supports V2X communications.
Hua discloses receiving, from a neighboring cell, a backhaul message indicating whether the neighboring cell supports V2X communications (a second base station sends a carrier frequency list of a V2X service to a first base station; see paragraph [0121] and Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Hua to receive a backhaul message indicating whether the neighboring cell supports V2X communications to improve communications efficiency (see paragraph [0004] of Hua).
Claims 14 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; and in further view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0271806 A1).
Regarding claims 14 and 33; Jung discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung and Tseng does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication of a duration for a cell reselection timer in response to a connection request message.
Kim discloses receiving a connection request message from the UE (a base station receives a RRC connection request message from a UE; see paragraph [0286] and Fig. 17); and transmitting, in response to the connection request message, an indication of a duration for a cell reselection timer to the UE (the base station transmits a RRC connection reject message with a cell reselection timer value; see paragraph [0287] and Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng and Kim to transmit an indication of a duration for a cell reselection timer in response to a connection request message to facilitate communication between the base station and the terminal efficiently (see paragraph [0005] of Kim).
Claims 15 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung; in view of Tseng; in view of Kim; and in further view of Jung2.
Regarding claims 15 and 34; the combination of Jung, Tseng and Kim discloses a method of cell reselection based on priority information received.
The combination of Jung, Tseng and Kim does not explicitly disclose transmitting a cell reselection timer via a connection release message.
Jung2 discloses wherein transmitting the indication of the duration for the cell reselection timer comprises: transmitting a connection release message that comprises the indication of the duration for the cell reselection timer to the UE (the UE receives an RRC release (RRCRlease) message from the NR base station, the RRCRelease may include cell reselection information and a t320 timer value; see paragraph [0322] and [0325].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung, Tseng, Kim and Jung2 to perform cell reselection with a timer value to improve system network performance (see paragraph [0006] of Jung2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of a new reference Tseng et al. (US 2021/0022055 A1) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415