DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 78-97 are pending.
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 78-89,91 and 92 in the reply filed on 10/21/25 is acknowledged.
3. It is noted that that claims 86-89 have been inadvertently assigned to the elected Group I rather than to non-elected group II, that is drawn to method for producing a recombinant polypeptide. Accordingly, claims 86-89 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
3. Claims 86-90, 93-97 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 78-85, 91 and 92 read on a recombinant polypeptide and a pharmaceutical composition comprising said polypeptide are under consideration in the instant application.
4. Claim 92 (b ) and (c ) is objected to as recited non-elected subject matter, i.e. recombinant nucleic acid and recombinant cells that are drawn to non-elected claims of Group II.
Appropriate correction is required.
6. Claims 78-85,91 and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is in possession of : a recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80
Applicant is not in possession of : any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 .
The claimed invention is drawn to a genus of polypeptide however, structural identifying characteristics of the genus are not disclosed. There is no evidence that there is any per se structure/function relationship between the disclosed a recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 and any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80.
In determining that the Specification did not support the claimed any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 the Specification disclosure is considered. The specification fails to disclose a complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 and maintained the same functions as a recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 . Thus the skilled artisan could not envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus polypeptide until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Absent a recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the Specification does not provide adequate written description support of the claimed genus.
Given the well known fact that even a single amino acid substitution or what appears to be an inconsequential chemical modification or will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristic of a protein the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 broadly encompassed by the claimed invention.
On 22 February 2018, the USPTO provided a Memorandum clarifying the Written Description Guidelines for claims drawn to antibodies, which can be found at www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf. That Memorandum indicates that, in compliance with recent legal decisions, the disclosure of a fully characterized antigen no longer is sufficient written description of an antibody to that antigen. Accordingly, the instant claims have been re-evaluated in view of that guidance.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615. “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.”
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (noting the technical challenges in developing fully human antibodies of a known human protein).
Further, the Court has interpreted 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, to require the patent specification to “describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc, 63 USPQ2d 1609 and 1618 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
In evaluating whether a patentee has fulfilled this requirement, our standard is that the patent’s “disclosure must allow one skilled in the art ‘to visualize or recognize the identity of’ the subject matter purportedly described.” Id. (quoting Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed Cir. 1997)).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483.
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "the written description requirement can in some cases be satisfied by functional description," it has made clear that "such functional description can be sufficient only if there is also a structure-function relationship known to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Wallach, 378 F.3d 1330, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also, Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 964 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that the written description requirement would be satisfied "if the functional characteristic of preferential binding ... were coupled with a disclosed correlation between that function and a structure that is sufficiently known or disclosed"); Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 782 F.3d 1367, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding that an "adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products").
Here, the specification provides a functional description of the claimed recombinant polypeptide i.e., that it is recombinant polypeptide of SEQ ID Nos 1 or 2 with specific amino acid substantiation but the specification does not identify any disclosure of a correlation between the claimed function (IL-12p40 polypeptide) and the structure of the polypeptide that perform that function.
Federal Circuit clarification of the law of written description as it applies to antibodies. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called "newly characterized antigen" test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the "newly characterized antigen" test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.
Also, it is noted that the Court has held that the disclosure of screening assays and generalclasses of compounds was not adequate to describe compounds having the desired activity: without disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, or small organic molecules have the desired characteristic, the claims failed to meet the description requirement of § 112.
See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., lnc., 69 USPQ2d 1886,1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Here, the problem here is that the instant specification fails to provide a disclosure of which amino acids are required for the claimed genus of any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations that retain the appropriate structural and functional attributes encompassed by the claimed methods.
Given the claimed broadly class of polypeptide and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed genus of any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations encompassed by the claimed methods, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claims AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014)
And the specification at best describes plan for making a genus of any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations
then identifying those that satisfy claim limitations, but mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient.
Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Therefore, there is insufficient written description for the genus of any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations claimed at the time the invention was made and as disclosed in the specification as filed under the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Applicant has been reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115.)
A skilled artisan cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus that exhibit this functional property.
Meeting the written description threshold requires showing that the applicant was in “possession” of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563-1564. Support need not describe the claimed subject matter in exactly the same terms as used in the claims. Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1038 (Fed. Cir. 1995). This support cannot be based on obviousness reasoning – i.e., what the written description and knowledge in the art would lead one to speculate as to modifications the inventor might have envisioned, but failed to disclose. Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Ariad points out, the written description requirement also ensures that when a patent claims
a genus by function, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function - a problem that is particularly acute in biological arts." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1352-3.
The USPTO has released a Memo on the Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, 02/22/2018.
See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf.
The Memo clarifies the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) concerning the written description requirement for claims drawn to antibodies, including the following.
“In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional”.
In contrast to applicant’s reliance upon the description of a recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of SEQ ID Nos: 1 or2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations in the specification, there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations to demonstrate possession.
Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
“When a patent claims a genus using functional language to define a desired result, the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus.” See Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
“A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus.” See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69.
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), the following is noted.
To show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358).
This it is the Examiner’s position that one of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genus of any recombinant polypeptide comprising polypeptide of having at least 95 % sequence identity to SEQ ID Nos: 1 or 2 and further comprising one or more of animo acid substitution at specific position as recited in claims 78-80.
8. Claims 78-85,91 and 92 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by WO2016048903 (IDS).
WO’903 teaches and claims mutant IL12 proteins of SEQ ID NO:2, and a pharmaceutical composition comprising said polypeptide, which is 100% identical to present SEQ ID NO:1. ( see sequence alignment) WO’903 sets forth a protein including a D40A mutation relative WO’903 SEQ ID NO:2. This is the same mutation recited in present claims 78 80, part c), and encompassed by claims 78-79.
Claims 81-85 are included because said functional properties would be an inherent properties of the reference mutant IL12 proteins of SEQ ID NO:2 because it is 100% identical to the instantly claims SEQ ID NO: 1 having D40A mutation.
9. The reference teaching anticipates the claimed invention.
10. No claim is allowed.
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Daniel Kolker can be reached on 571/ 272-3181
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644