DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 17/996,017 filed on October 12th, 2022.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 09/02/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 3 – 6, 11 – 14, 19 and 23 are canceled.
Claims 1 – 2, 7 – 10, 15 – 18, and 20 – 22 are pending.
Claims 1 – 2, 7 – 10, 15 – 18, and 20 – 22 are rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination, filed on 12/15/2025, under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office Action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/05/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12 – 17 of the Remarks, filed 11/05/2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 9, and 17, and dependent claims 2, 7 – 8, 10, 15 – 16, 18, and 20 – 22, with the exception of canceled claims 3 – 6, 11 – 14, 19, and 23, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 09/16/2025, particularly as regards the amended limitations, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The reasons were given in the advisory action of 11/13/2025. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. [US 20200344629 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
Applicant argues that Jiang et al fails to disclose or suggest “sending the first signaling information to the base station through a first radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the UE in the idle state re-establishes a connection with the base station” as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Jiang clearly teaches, as acknowledged by the applicant in their arguments,
Jiang discloses "[i]n S204, the UE indicates the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of any one of connection establishment, connection re- establishment and cell handover." See Jiang at para. [0098] (emphasis added). Jiang also discloses "[i]n S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result, and if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result, the UE reports the adopted RSRQ measurement type when reporting the RSRQ measurement result." See id. at para. [0100] (emphasis added). Jiang further discloses "[i]n the step, the UE may report a LoqMeasReport IE through an RRC message, and indicates the RSRQ measurement type in the LoqMeasReport IE." See id. at para. [0101] (emphasis added).
Therefore, Jiang teaches that the UE stores a measurement report in step S204. In step S205 (which was not reproduced in the arguments by the applicant), the base station instructs the UE to report the measurement report. In step S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result. The step that the RSRQ measurement is performed and the adopted RSRQ measurement type is recorded and reported includes the RSRQ measurement type being indicated in the logged measurement report (LogMeasReport) IE which is reported by the UE to the base station through an RRC message. In other words, the RSRQ measurement report comprises the RSRQ measurement type (which was adopted for the measurement) that is indicated in the LogMeasReport IE, and this LogMeasReport IE was reported through an RRC message to the base station by the UE. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that Jiang teaches “sending the first signaling information to the base station through a first radio resource control (RRC) signaling” as recited in amended claim 1.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The acronym RRC in Line 20 is not defined. A definition of the acronym RRC is required for definiteness of the independent claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 8 – 10, 16 – 18, and 20 – 22 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. [US 20170311193 A1] hereinafter Jiang, and further in view of Kim et al. [US 20200344629 A1] hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches an information sending method, performed by user equipment (UE) (Jiang: Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 4, ¶ 91; UE), comprising:
measuring corresponding first camping information according to idle state measurement configuration information configured by a base station, wherein the UE is in an idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 95; wherein in S202, the base station instructs the UE to enable idle-state logged MDT through a message in the RRC message and the base station indicates the RSRQ measurement type to the UE in a connected state through an RRC message. In S203, the UE performs the RSRQ measurement (i.e., first camping information) according to an indication of the base station after entering an idle state, and records the adopted RSRQ measurement type. Therefore, the base station indicates RSRQ measurement type (i.e., idle state measurement configuration information configured by the base station) to the UE in connected state by means of a RRC message, and the UE performs the measurement of the RSRQ according to the indication of the base station after entering an idle state);
sending first signaling information to the base station, wherein the first signaling information indicates that the UE has measured the first camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 19 – 22, ¶ 95 – 101; wherein in S204, the UE indicates to the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of any one of connection establishment, connection re-establishment and cell handover, and in step S206, the UE reports RSRQ measurement result, the adopted RSRQ measurement type (i.e., if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result), and a LogMeasReport IE (i.e., which comprises the RSRQ measurement type) through an RRC message to the base station). Therefore, the first signaling information is the LogMeasReport IE;
receiving second signaling information sent by the base station, wherein the second signaling information indicates the UE to report second camping information required by the base station, and the first camping information comprises the second camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S205, the base station instructs the UE (i.e., the base station sends a second signaling information to the UE) to report the measurement report (i.e., instructing the UE to send the measurement report that comprises the first camping information (the LogMeasReport IE) which comprises the second camping information (the RSRQ measurement type)));
reporting the second camping information to the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 101; wherein in S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result, and if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result, the UE reports the adopted RSRQ measurement type when reporting the RSRQ measurement result (i.e., the UE reports the second camping information)), wherein the second camping information is used by the base station to adjust a camping configuration of the UE when re-entering the idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 101 – 106; wherein in S207, the base station reports the RSRQ measurement result reported by the UE to a TCE, and if the UE reports the RSRQ measurement type, reports the RSRQ measurement type adopted by the UE when reporting the RSRQ measurement result, and in S208, a network optimization platform (which is also referred to as a network manager) performs network optimization according to the RSRQ measurement result and corresponding RSRQ measurement type collected by the TCE. And when a different RSRQ measurement type is applied to cell selection, cell reselection, cell handover or the like, the set offset is added to an initially configured radio network parameter value at first, and then the radio network parameter value is adopted. Therefore, the information used by the base station to adjust a camping configuration of the UE when re-entering the idle state is the second camping information, and the second camping information is used to adjust a camping configuration, based on the information provided to the base station by the UE);
receiving idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station based on the second camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 92; wherein a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that after the base station receives the RSRQ measurement result and RSRQ measurement type from the UE (i.e., the second camping configuration information), and upon determining, after the network optimization process, that the UE needs to be adjusted, in the event of connection re-establishment, the base station will send idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station to the UE, and this idle state camping configuration information will be based on the second camping information previously sent by the UE to the base station); and
adjusting camping in the idle state according to the idle state camping configuration information when the UE re-enters the idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 92; wherein a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that in the event of connection re-establishment, after the base station sends idle state camping configuration information (configured by the base station) to the UE, the UE will go through the process of adjusting and/or measuring based on the configuration information received from the base station (i.e., repeating the process from step 202 as described in Fig. 2)).
Thus, when the UE re-enters idle state, the processes as described in Figure. 2 of Jiang et al. will be repeated. Therefore, when the UE reenters the idle state after reporting the RSRQ measurement results as shown in step S206 (i.e., the second camping information), the base station will send idle state camping configuration information to the UE based on the reported results (i.e., based on the second camping information previously reported by the UE) and the UE will subsequently adjust the camping in the idle state according to the idle state camping configuration information (which is based on the second camping information) received from the base station;
wherein the sending the first signaling information to the base station comprises:
sending the first signaling information to the base station through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the UE in the idle state re-establishes a connection with the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 98 – 101; wherein the UE indicates the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of connection re-establishment and the UE reports a LogMeasReport IE through an RRC message).
Jiang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC signaling is one of: RRC connection reconfiguration complete signaling, RRC connection reestablishment complete signaling, RRC connection resume complete signaling, RRC reconfiguration complete signaling, RRC reestablishment complete signaling, or RRC resume complete signaling.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches wherein the first RRC signaling is one of: RRC connection reconfiguration complete signaling or RRC reconfiguration complete signaling (Kim: Fig. 1E, ¶ 184, ¶ 467; wherein the UE was in an RRC idle/inactive state and after reestablishing a connection with the gNB, the UE “may transmit an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RRC connection reconfiguration complete teachings of Kim into the Jiang teachings in order to ensure that the base station has successfully updated the UE with the needed radio configurations for reestablishing connection, which in turn helps in maintaining and improving the quality of the radio link, and in handling of reconfiguration errors.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the idle state measurement configuration information comprises at least one of:
a measurement start time;
a measurement end time;
a measurement duration;
a radio access technology (RAT) to be measured;
a frequency to be measured;
a cell to be measured;
a quality of a cell to be measured;
a RAT where the UE camps;
a cell where the UE camps;
a duration of a RAT where the UE camps;
a duration of a cell where the UE camps;
a quality of a cell where the UE camps (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 100; wherein the idle state measurement configuration information comprises the Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement type); or
a measurement time interval of the UE.
Regarding claim 8, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving the idle state measurement configuration information configured by the base station through a third RRC signaling, wherein the third RRC signaling comprises logged measurement configuration signaling (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 92; wherein the base station may instruct the UE to enable idle-state logged MDT through a Logged Measurement Configuration message in the RRC message (i.e., a third RRC)).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang teaches an information transmission method, performed by a base station (Jiang: Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 4, ¶ 91; base station), comprising:
sending a configured idle state measurement configuration information to user equipment (UE) (Jiang: Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 4, ¶ 91; UE), wherein the idle state measurement configuration information indicates the UE to measure corresponding first camping information according to the idle state measurement configuration information when the UE is in an idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 95; wherein in S202, the base station instructs the UE to enable idle-state logged MDT through a message in the RRC message and the base station indicates the RSRQ measurement type to the UE in a connected state through an RRC message. In S203, the UE performs the RSRQ measurement (i.e., first camping information) according to an indication of the base station after entering an idle state, and records the adopted RSRQ measurement type. Therefore, the base station indicates RSRQ measurement type (i.e., idle state measurement configuration information configured by the base station) to the UE in connected state by means of a RRC message, and the UE performs the measurement of the RSRQ according to the indication of the base station after entering an idle state);
receiving first signaling information sent by the UE, wherein the first signaling information is indicates that the UE has measured the first camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 19 – 22, ¶ 95 – 101; wherein in S204, the UE indicates to the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of any one of connection establishment, connection re-establishment and cell handover, and in step S206, the UE reports RSRQ measurement result, the adopted RSRQ measurement type (i.e., if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result), and a LogMeasReport IE (i.e., which comprises the RSRQ measurement type) through an RRC message to the base station). Therefore, the first signaling information is the LogMeasReport IE;
sending second signaling information to the UE, wherein the second signaling information indicates the UE to report second camping information required by the base station, and the first camping information comprises the second camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S205, the base station instructs the UE (i.e., the base station sends a second signaling information to the UE) to report the measurement report (i.e., instructing the UE to send the measurement report that comprises the first camping information (the LogMeasReport IE) which comprises the second camping information (the RSRQ measurement type)));
receiving the second camping information reported by the UE (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 101; wherein in S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result, and if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result, the UE reports the adopted RSRQ measurement type when reporting the RSRQ measurement result (i.e., the UE reports the second camping information)), wherein the second camping information is used by the base station to adjust a camping configuration of the UE when re-entering the idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 101 – 106; wherein in S207, the base station reports the RSRQ measurement result reported by the UE to a TCE, and if the UE reports the RSRQ measurement type, reports the RSRQ measurement type adopted by the UE when reporting the RSRQ measurement result, and in S208, a network optimization platform (which is also referred to as a network manager) performs network optimization according to the RSRQ measurement result and corresponding RSRQ measurement type collected by the TCE. And when a different RSRQ measurement type is applied to cell selection, cell reselection, cell handover or the like, the set offset is added to an initially configured radio network parameter value at first, and then the radio network parameter value is adopted. Therefore, the information used by the base station to adjust a camping configuration of the UE when re-entering the idle state is the second camping information, and the second camping information is used to adjust a camping configuration, based on the information provided to the base station by the UE);
sending idle state camping configuration information configured based on the second camping information to the UE (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 92; wherein a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that after the base station receives the RSRQ measurement result and RSRQ measurement type from the UE (i.e., the second camping configuration information), and upon determining, after the network optimization process, that the UE needs to be adjusted, in the event of connection re-establishment, the base station will send idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station to the UE, and this idle state camping configuration information will be based on the second camping information previously sent by the UE to the base station), wherein the idle state camping configuration information indicates the UE to adjust camping in the idle state according to the idle state camping configuration information when the UE re-enters the idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 92; wherein a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that in the event of connection re-establishment, after the base station sends idle state camping configuration information (configured by the base station) to the UE, the UE will go through the process of adjusting and/or measuring based on the configuration information received from the base station (i.e., repeating the process from step 202 as described in Fig. 2)).
Thus, when the UE re-enters idle state, the processes as described in Figure. 2 of Jiang et al. will be repeated. Therefore, when the UE reenters the idle state after reporting the RSRQ measurement results as shown in step S206 (i.e., the second camping information), the base station will send idle state camping configuration information to the UE based on the reported results (i.e., based on the second camping information previously reported by the UE) and the UE will subsequently adjust the camping in the idle state according to the idle state camping configuration information (which is based on the second camping information) received from the base station;
wherein the receiving the first signaling information sent by the UE comprises:
receiving the first signaling information sent by the UE through a first RRC signaling, wherein the UE in the idle state re-establishes a connection with the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 98 – 101; wherein the UE indicates the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of connection re-establishment and the UE reports a LogMeasReport IE through an RRC message).
Jiang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC signaling is one of: RRC connection reconfiguration complete signaling, RRC connection reestablishment complete signaling, RRC connection resume complete signaling, RRC reconfiguration complete signaling, RRC reestablishment complete signaling, or RRC resume complete signaling.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches wherein the first RRC signaling is one of: RRC connection reconfiguration complete signaling or RRC reconfiguration complete signaling (Kim: Fig. 1E, ¶ 184, ¶ 467; wherein the UE was in an RRC idle/inactive state and after reestablishing a connection with the gNB, the UE “may transmit an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RRC connection reconfiguration complete teachings of Kim into the Jiang teachings in order to ensure that the base station has successfully updated the UE with the needed radio configurations for reestablishing connection, which in turn helps in maintaining and improving the quality of the radio link, and in handling of reconfiguration errors.
Regarding claim 10, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the idle state measurement configuration information comprises at least one of:
a measurement start time;
a measurement end time;
a measurement duration;
a radio access technology (RAT) to be measured;
a frequency to be measured;
a cell to be measured;
a quality of a cell to be measured;
a RAT where the UE camps;
a cell where the UE camps;
a duration of a RAT where the UE camps;
a duration of a cell where the UE camps;
a quality of a cell where the UE camps (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 100; wherein the idle state measurement configuration information comprises the Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement type); or
a measurement time interval of the UE.
Regarding claim 16, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the sending the configured idle state measurement configuration information to the UE comprises:
sending the idle state measurement configuration information to the UE through a third RRC signaling, wherein the third RRC signaling comprises logged measurement configuration signaling (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 92; wherein the base station may instruct the UE to enable idle-state logged MDT through a Logged Measurement Configuration message in the RRC message (i.e., a third RRC)).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang teaches user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor(Jiang: ¶ 192; processor); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (Jiang: ¶ 191-193; wherein the memory stores the computer program instructions to be executed by the processor);
wherein the processor is configured to:
measure corresponding first camping information according to idle state measurement configuration information configured by a base station, wherein the UE is in an idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 95; wherein in S202, the base station instructs the UE to enable idle-state logged MDT through a message in the RRC message and the base station indicates the RSRQ measurement type to the UE in a connected state through an RRC message. In S203, the UE performs the RSRQ measurement (i.e., first camping information) according to an indication of the base station after entering an idle state, and records the adopted RSRQ measurement type. Therefore, the base station indicates RSRQ measurement type (i.e., idle state measurement configuration information configured by the base station) to the UE in connected state by means of a RRC message, and the UE performs the measurement of the RSRQ according to the indication of the base station after entering an idle state);
send first signaling information to the base station, wherein the first signaling information indicates that the UE has measured the first camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 19 – 22, ¶ 95 – 101; wherein in S204, the UE indicates to the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of any one of connection establishment, connection re-establishment and cell handover, and in step S206, the UE reports RSRQ measurement result, the adopted RSRQ measurement type (i.e., if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result), and a LogMeasReport IE (i.e., which comprises the RSRQ measurement type) through an RRC message to the base station). Therefore, the first signaling information is the LogMeasReport IE;
receive second signaling information sent by the base station, wherein the second signaling information indicates the UE to report second camping information required by the base station, and the first camping information comprises the second camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S205, the base station instructs the UE (i.e., the base station sends a second signaling information to the UE) to report the measurement report (i.e., instructing the UE to send the measurement report that comprises the first camping information (the LogMeasReport IE) which comprises the second camping information (the RSRQ measurement type)));
report the second camping information to the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 101; wherein in S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result, and if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result, the UE reports the adopted RSRQ measurement type when reporting the RSRQ measurement result (i.e., the UE reports the second camping information)), wherein the second camping information is used by the base station to adjust a camping configuration of the UE when re-entering the idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 101 – 106; wherein in S207, the base station reports the RSRQ measurement result reported by the UE to a TCE, and if the UE reports the RSRQ measurement type, reports the RSRQ measurement type adopted by the UE when reporting the RSRQ measurement result, and in S208, a network optimization platform (which is also referred to as a network manager) performs network optimization according to the RSRQ measurement result and corresponding RSRQ measurement type collected by the TCE. And when a different RSRQ measurement type is applied to cell selection, cell reselection, cell handover or the like, the set offset is added to an initially configured radio network parameter value at first, and then the radio network parameter value is adopted. Therefore, the information used by the base station to adjust a camping configuration of the UE when re-entering the idle state is the second camping information, and the second camping information is used to adjust a camping configuration, based on the information provided to the base station by the UE);
receive idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station based on the second camping information (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 92; wherein a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that after the base station receives the RSRQ measurement result and RSRQ measurement type from the UE (i.e., the second camping configuration information), and upon determining, after the network optimization process, that the UE needs to be adjusted, in the event of connection re-establishment, the base station will send idle state camping configuration information configured by the base station to the UE, and this idle state camping configuration information will be based on the second camping information previously sent by the UE to the base station); and
adjust camping in the idle state according to the idle state camping configuration information when the UE re-enters the idle state (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 92; wherein a person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that in the event of connection re-establishment, after the base station sends idle state camping configuration information (configured by the base station) to the UE, the UE will go through the process of adjusting and/or measuring based on the configuration information received from the base station (i.e., repeating the process from step 202 as described in Fig. 2)).
Thus, when the UE re-enters idle state, the processes as described in Figure. 2 of Jiang et al. will be repeated. Therefore, when the UE reenters the idle state after reporting the RSRQ measurement results as shown in step S206 (i.e., the second camping information), the base station will send idle state camping configuration information to the UE based on the reported results (i.e., based on the second camping information previously reported by the UE) and the UE will subsequently adjust the camping in the idle state according to the idle state camping configuration information (which is based on the second camping information) received from the base station;
wherein the processor is further configured to:
send the first signaling information to the base station through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the UE in the idle state re-establishes a connection with the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 98 – 101; wherein the UE indicates the base station that the UE stores a measurement report in case of connection re-establishment and the UE reports a LogMeasReport IE through an RRC message).
Jiang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first RRC signaling is one of: RRC connection reconfiguration complete signaling, RRC connection reestablishment complete signaling, RRC connection resume complete signaling, RRC reconfiguration complete signaling, RRC reestablishment complete signaling, or RRC resume complete signaling.
Referring to the invention of Kim, Kim teaches wherein the first RRC signaling is one of: RRC connection reconfiguration complete signaling or RRC reconfiguration complete signaling (Kim: Fig. 1E, ¶ 184, ¶ 467; wherein the UE was in an RRC idle/inactive state and after reestablishing a connection with the gNB, the UE “may transmit an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RRC connection reconfiguration complete teachings of Kim into the Jiang teachings in order to ensure that the base station has successfully updated the UE with the needed radio configurations for reestablishing connection, which in turn helps in maintaining and improving the quality of the radio link, and in handling of reconfiguration errors.
Regarding claim 18, Jiang in view of Kim teaches a base station, comprising:
a processor (Jiang: ¶ 192; processor); and
a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (Jiang: ¶ 191-193; wherein the memory stores the computer program instructions to be executed by the processor); wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang in view of Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (Jiang: ¶ 191-193; wherein the memory (i.e., computer-readable storage media (including, but not limited to, a disk memory, a Compact Disc Read-Only Memory (CD-ROM) and an optical memory) which are examples of non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) stores the computer program instructions to be executed by the processor).
Regarding claim 21, Jiang in view of Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method according to claim 9 (Jiang: ¶ 191-193; wherein the memory (i.e., computer-readable storage media (including, but not limited to, a disk memory, a Compact Disc Read-Only Memory (CD-ROM) and an optical memory) which are examples of non-transitory computer-readable storage medium) stores the computer program instructions to be executed by the processor).
Regarding claim 22, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the UE according to claim 17, wherein the idle state measurement configuration information comprises at least one of:
a measurement start time;
a measurement end time;
a measurement duration;
a radio access technology (RAT) to be measured;
a frequency to be measured;
a cell to be measured;
a quality of a cell to be measured;
a RAT where the UE camps;
a cell where the UE camps;
a duration of a RAT where the UE camps;
a duration of a cell where the UE camps;
a quality of a cell where the UE camps (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 91 – 100; wherein the idle state measurement configuration information comprises the Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurement type); or
a measurement time interval of the UE.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al., and Kim et al., as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Lee et al. [US 20170374574 A1] hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the second signaling information sent by the base station comprises:
receiving the second signaling information sent by the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S205, the base station instructs the UE (i.e., the base station sends a second signaling information to the UE) to report the measurement report (i.e., instructing the UE to send the measurement report that comprises the first camping information which comprises the second camping information measured by the UE)); and the reporting the second camping information to the base station comprises; and
reporting the second camping information to the base station (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result, and if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result, the UE reports the adopted RSRQ measurement type when reporting the RSRQ measurement result (i.e., the UE reports the second camping information)).
Jiang in view of Kim does not explicitly teach that the second signaling information was received through a second RRC signaling, wherein the second RRC signaling is located in UE information request signaling and that the second camping information was reported through UE information response signaling.
Referring to the invention of Lee, Lee teaches that when an eNB receives a signal informing that the logged measurement is present from the UE, the eNB requests the UE to report the logged measurement, wherein the request and the report are both sent through RRC messaging (Lee: Fig. 12, ¶ 154 – 155; wherein when the eNB receives a signal informing that the logged measurement is present from the UE, the eNB requests the UE to report the logged measurement (S1233). Requesting the report on the logged measurement is to transmit including the logged measurement report request parameter regarding the information indicating the request in an RRC message. The RRC message may be the UE information request message. When the UE receives the request to report the logged measurement from the eNB, the UE reports the logged measurement to the eNB (S1234). Reporting the logged measurement to the eNB may be to transmit including the logged measurement report including pieces of logged measurement in an RRC message to the eNB. The RRC message may be the UE information report message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RRC messaging as taught by Lee into the Request and reporting teachings of Jiang in view of Kim in order to increase the accuracy of measurement (Lee: ¶ 185).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang in view of Kim teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the sending the second signaling information to the UE comprises:
sending the second signaling information to the UE (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S205, the base station instructs the UE (i.e., the base station sends a second signaling information to the UE) to report the measurement report (i.e., instructing the UE to send the measurement report that comprises the first camping information which comprises the second camping information measured by the UE)); and the receiving the second camping information reported by the UE comprises:
receiving the second camping information reported by the UE (Jiang: Fig. 2, ¶ 95 – 100; wherein in S206, the UE reports an RSRQ measurement result, and if the UE records the RSRQ measurement type corresponding to the RSRQ measurement result, the UE reports the adopted RSRQ measurement type when reporting the RSRQ measurement result (i.e., the UE reports the second camping information)).
Jiang in view of Kim does not explicitly teach that the second signaling information was sent through a second RRC signaling, wherein the second RRC signaling is located in UE information request signaling and that the second camping information was received through UE information response signaling.
Referring to the invention of Lee, Lee teaches that when an eNB receives a signal informing that the logged measurement is present from the UE, the eNB requests the UE to report the logged measurement, wherein the request and the report are both sent through RRC messaging (Lee: Fig. 12, ¶ 154 – 155; wherein when the eNB receives a signal informing that the logged measurement is present from the UE, the eNB requests the UE to report the logged measurement (S1233). Requesting the report on the logged measurement is to transmit including the logged measurement report request parameter regarding the information indicating the request in an RRC message. The RRC message may be the UE information request message. When the UE receives the request to report the logged measurement from the eNB, the UE reports the logged measurement to the eNB (S1234). Reporting the logged measurement to the eNB may be to transmit including the logged measurement report including pieces of logged measurement in an RRC message to the eNB. The RRC message may be the UE information report message).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RRC messaging as taught by Lee into the Request and reporting teachings of Jiang in view of Kim in order to increase the accuracy of measurement (Lee: ¶ 185).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. [US 20240098547 A1]: Method and Apparatus for Measuring Frequency in Wireless Communication System.
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414