DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 14, 15, 39-56 are pending.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Objection to New Matter added to the Specification
The amendment filed 04/13/2021 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The original specification as filed on 04/16/2020 and reproduced below:
and doesn’t support specification filed on 04/13/2021.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14, 15, 39-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter of instant claims 14, 15, 39-56, is not properly described in the application as filed. In particular, there was no indication in original specification as filed and reproduced below:
on “any method of administration (other than in vitro tubes), any dose of heparin, any carrier or consists essentially of” and therefore raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15, 39, 40, 42-48, 50-56 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quay (US2023/0110614 A1).
Quay discloses a method of treating respiratory viral infection, SARS CoV2, using heparin or heparin in the form of sodium (present in composition 100mg/ml (10,000IU/ml) in a dosage of 10,000 IU, 20,000 IU, 400,000IU etc. (USP unit=IU unit) administered through routes such as via intravenously, subcutaneously, inhaler or nebulizer, nasal spray, continuously or intermittently along with another active agent in same composition or different composition (second composition) comprising active agent, such as peptide, N-acetylcysteine, polyglutamate, carboxy-methyl-cellulose administered separately (since the second composition is given separately, it is given either wholly or partially sequentially with the composition comprising heparin) or composition may contain only one active agent (i.e. consisting essentially of) heparin (entire application, especially abstract, figures, claims, examples, paragraphs 0003-0016, 0031-0036, 0065-0066, 0071-0072, 0075, 0081, 0082-0088, 0090-0256).
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 14, 15, 39, 40, 42-48, 50-56, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15, 39-56 and elected species are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quay (US2023/0110614 A1).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Quay discloses a method of treating respiratory viral infection, SARS CoV2, using heparin or heparin in the form of sodium (present in composition 100mg/ml (10,000IU/ml) in a dosage of 10,000 IU, 20,000 IU, 400,000IU etc. (USP unit=IU unit) administered through routes such as via intravenously, subcutaneously, inhaler or nebulizer, nasal spray, continuously or intermittently along with another active agent in same composition or different composition (second composition) comprising active agent, such as peptide, N-acetylcysteine, polyglutamate, carboxy-methyl-cellulose administered separately (since the second composition is given separately, it is given either wholly or partially sequentially with the composition comprising heparin) or composition may contain only one active agent (i.e. consisting essentially of) heparin (entire application, especially abstract, figures, claims, examples, paragraphs 0003-0016, 0031-0036, 0065-0066, 0071-0072, 0075, 0081, 0082-0088, 0090-0256).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Quay discloses a method of treating respiratory viral infection, SARS CoV2, using heparin or heparin in the form of sodium in a dosage of 10,000 IU, 20,000 IU etc. (same as USP unit) administered through routes, such as via intravenously, subcutaneously, inhaler or nebulizer, continuously along with another active agent in same composition or different composition (second composition) comprising active agent, such as peptide, N-acetylcysteine, polyglutamate, carboxy-methyl-cellulose administered separately or composition may contain only one active agent (i.e. consisting essentially of) heparin, but fails to teach example wherein administration is subcutaneous or intravenous; and heparin as lithium heparin.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference of administration via subcutaneous or intravenous routes -Quay teaches that the composition comprising heparin may be administered through routes, such as subcutaneous or intravenous or nebulizer, or aerosol. However, the cited prior art teaches examples with nebulizer or aerosol. Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that heparin composition may be administered through routes, such as subcutaneous or intravenous or nebulizer, or aerosol as taught by the cited prior art.
With regards to the above difference of lithium heparin -Quay teaches the method using heparin and more specifically sodium heparin. With the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that sodium heparin of the cited prior art may be substituted with other equivalent and commercially available heparin, lithium heparin with a reasonable expectation of success of treating SARS-CoV-2.
Case law has established that it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. KSR Int'I Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Quay discloses a method of treating respiratory viral infection, SARS CoV2, using heparin or heparin in the form of sodium in a dosage of 10,000 IU, 20,000 IU etc. (same as USP unit) administered through routes, such as via intravenously, subcutaneously, inhaler or nebulizer, continuously along with another active agent in same composition or different composition (second composition) comprising active agent, such as peptide, N-acetylcysteine, polyglutamate, carboxy-methyl-cellulose administered separately.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that the composition may be gives through routes such as subcutaneous intravenous etc., and can be made by combination of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks, and amendment, filed on 10/21/2025, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argued that Quay (US 20230110614) is not available as prior art under 102(a)(2) as the subject matter relied on by the office is not supported by provisional applications filed before 04/16/2020 (the date provisional application for instant application was filed):
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected. This is because, please see New Matter rejection, the instant claims filed on 10/21/2025 and instant specification filed on 04/13/2021 is not supported by provisional application filed on 04/16/2020. The instant specification dated 04/13/2021 is after the date of effective filing date of Quay application PCT (03/19/2021).
The rest of applicant’s argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623