DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Gehrling teaches offloading tasks away from the vehicle, the opposite of what claim 1 recites, and reversing that direction would defeat Gehrling's purpose.
Applicant, on pages 7-8 of the remark, argues that claim 1 recites, inter alia, "shifting performance of the task from a location-agnostic computing device of the distributed computing system to the computing device automatically upon satisfaction of the location criterion" (emphasis added). This limitation provides for a task being performed on a remote, location-agnostic computing device to be shifted to the local computing device, i.e., the device whose location satisfies the location criterion. That is, in claim 1, the direction of shifting runs from the cloud/remote side to the local/mobile side. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, claim 1 merely recites shifting performance of the task from a location-agnostic computing device of the distributed computing system to the computing device automatically upon satisfaction of the location criterion. There is nowhere in the claim recites a remote, the local computing device or the cloud/remote side to the local/mobile side.
Secondly, Applicant’s argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claim because 1 does not recite “a task being performed on a remote, location-agnostic computing device to be shifted to the local computing device,” but instead recites, “shifting performance of the task from a location-agnostic computing device of the distributed computing system to the computing device.”
Thirdly, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a task being performed on a remote, location-agnostic computing device to be shifted to the local computing device) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As mentioned above, claim 1 merely recites to the computing device and a location-agnostic computing device. Therefore, the Examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the computing device and the location-agnostic computing device such as an edge computer and/or at least one cloud computer and a mobile end device respectively. In this case, Gehrling et al. disclose to offload computing from the mobile end device to at least one edge computer and/or at least one cloud computer. In other words, it shifts the computing from the location-agnostic computing device into the computing device. For that reason, the Examiner contends that the combination of references shows all limitations in the claim.
Applicant, on pages 8-9 of the remark, argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Gehrling to operate in the opposite direction, i.e., to push tasks into the vehicle from an external source, because doing so would defeat Gehrling's fundamental purpose. Gehrling is focused on solving the problem that on-board computing power in vehicles is limited. Its disclosure is directed toward solving that problem by moving computational tasks to external resources that have greater capacity. Reversing the direction of Gehrling's offloading would undermine the very rationale for the reference, rendering it unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. A proposed modification that would render the prior art unsatisfactory for its intended purpose cannot support a conclusion of obviousness. MPEP § 2143.01(V). Because Gehrling teaches offloading tasks away from the vehicle rather than shifting tasks to the vehicle, it does not disclose the "shifting performance" limitation of claim 1. Accordingly, Gehrling is deficient and the rejection should be withdrawn. For at least the above reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-8 are not obvious over Awad Alla in view of Gehrling. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejections of claims 1-8 be withdrawn and the claims allowed. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, claim 1 does not recite the vehicle and an external source. It merely recites to the computing device and a location-agnostic computing device. Therefore, the Examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the computing device and the location-agnostic computing device such as an edge computer and/or at least one cloud computer and a mobile end device respectively. In this case, Gehrling et al. disclose to offload computing from the mobile end device to at least one edge computer and/or at least one cloud computer. In other words, it shifts the computing from the location-agnostic computing device into the computing device. For that reason, the Examiner contends that the combination of references shows all limitations in the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no teaching,suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes thatobviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, ormotivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledgegenerally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071,5USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir.1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385(2007).
In this case, Awad Alla et al. disclose that once the vehicle 30 enters the geofenced area 34, the vehicle 30 switches to an autonomous mode and follows the command from the remote server 38 while Awad Alla et al. do not disclose shifting performance of the task from a location-agnostic computing device of the distributed computing system to the computing device automatically upon satisfaction of the location criterion. Gehrling discloses to shift the computing from the location-agnostic computing device into the computing device. Therefore,Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling can be combined to produce Applicant's claimed invention inclaims 1, 9, and 13 as rejected under 35 USC 103(a) shown in the Non-Final Office Actionmailed on 05/28/26.
For claims 9 and 13, the claims have features similar claim 1. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awad Alla et al. (U.S. 10838416) in view of Gehrling et al. (U.S. 11861407).
For claim 1, Awad Alla et al. disclose a method implemented using a processor, comprising:
determining that a location of a computing device of a distributed computing system satisfies a location criterion (at least col. 6, lines 4-39. The computer 32 receives location data, e.g., GPS or local coordinates, of the vehicle 30. The location data may be received from, e.g., GPS sensors of the sensors 60. The computer 32 determines whether the vehicle 30 has entered the geofenced area 34. The computer 32 has the geofenced area 34 stored in memory and determines whether the location data indicates that the vehicle 30 is located inside the geofenced area 34.);
based on satisfaction of the location criterion, identifying a task associated with the location criterion (at least Col. 8, lines 911. If the vehicle 30 has entered the geofenced area 34, the vehicle 30, specifically, the autonomous-vehicle computer 48, switches from the manual mode to the autonomous mode.) However, Awad Alla et al. do not disclose shifting performance of the task from a location-agnostic computing device of the distributed computing system to the computing device automatically upon satisfaction of the location criterion.
In the same field of endeavor, Gehrling et al. disclose shifting performance of the task from a location-agnostic computing device of the distributed computing system to the computing device automatically upon satisfaction of the location criterion (at least Col. 4, lines 41-59. In the case of a vehicle serving as a mobile end device as set forth in the present disclosure, the control unit can be part of the central control unit for the vehicle, or it can be a separate control unit, designed to monitor the network (edge computer and/or cloud computer) within the reception range of the vehicle; monitor the system applications within the vehicle; manage the computing power within the vehicle, and offload computing power from the vehicle to at least one near edge computer and/or at least one remote cloud computer (of the potentially numerous edge and cloud computers).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Awad Alla et al. as taught by Gehrling et al. for purpose of ensuring an efficient utilization of computing capacity among the networked vehicles and an improved execution of possible system applications in the networked mobile end devices.
For claim 4, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Awad Alla et al. disclose the computing device comprises an autonomous vehicle (at least Col. 8, lines 911. If the vehicle 30 has entered the geofenced area 34, the vehicle 30, specifically, the autonomous-vehicle computer 48, switches from the manual mode to the autonomous mode.)
For claim 5, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Awad Alla et al. disclose the location criterion comprises a geo-fence (at least col. 6, lines 4-39. The computer 32 receives location data, e.g., GPS or local coordinates, of the vehicle 30. The location data may be received from, e.g., GPS sensors of the sensors 60. The computer 32 determines whether the vehicle 30 has entered the geofenced area 34. The computer 32 has the geofenced area 34 stored in memory and determines whether the location data indicates that the vehicle 30 is located inside the geofenced area 34.)
For claim 6, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Gehrling et al. disclose detecting a label associated with the computing device, wherein the label indicates that the computing device should perform the task upon entering a space associated with the location criterion (at least Col. 4, lines 41-59. In the case of a vehicle serving as a mobile end device as set forth in the present disclosure, the control unit can be part of the central control unit for the vehicle, or it can be a separate control unit, designed to monitor the network (edge computer and/or cloud computer) within the reception range of the vehicle; monitor the system applications within the vehicle; manage the computing power within the vehicle, and offload computing power from the vehicle to at least one near edge computer and/or at least one remote cloud computer (of the potentially numerous edge and cloud computers).)
For claim 7, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. disclose the method of claim 1. Awad Alla et al. disclose the computing device is a mobile computing device, and the determining includes determining that the mobile computing device has entered a space associated with the location criterion (at least col. 6, lines 4-39. The computer 32 receives location data, e.g., GPS or local coordinates, of the vehicle 30. The location data may be received from, e.g., GPS sensors of the sensors 60. The computer 32 determines whether the vehicle 30 has entered the geofenced area 34. The computer 32 has the geofenced area 34 stored in memory and determines whether the location data indicates that the vehicle 30 is located inside the geofenced area 34.)
For claim 9, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 13, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 18, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. disclose the method of claim 13. Gehrling et al. disclose the computing device is a part of a distributed computing system (at least col. 1, lines 19-24. The present disclosure relates to methods and control units for a mobile end device (e.g. a vehicle) for offloading computational tasks from mobile end device to at least one edge cloud computer and/or at least one cloud computer via a network, a mobile end device (e.g. a vehicle), and a network, preferably a vehicle network, which has numerous networked mobile end devices, e.g. vehicles.)
Claims 2-3, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Awad Alla et al. (U.S. 10838416) in view of Gehrling et al. (U.S. 11861407) and further in view of Pinheiro et al. (U.S. 20200021355).
For claim 2, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. do not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the distributed computing system is a hierarchal distributed system, and the computing device comprises an edge server of the hierarchal distributed computing system, wherein a plurality of endpoint computing devices connect to the edge server.
In the same field of endeavor, Pinheiro et al. disclose the distributed computing system is a hierarchal distributed system, and the computing device comprises an edge server of the hierarchal distributed computing system, wherein a plurality of endpoint computing devices connect to the edge server (at least [0026]. Relay device, Vehicle B serves as a protocol converter, meaning that when Vehicle B receives a message that was transmitted using some RAT or RATs, Vehicle B will convert and retransmit that message in at least one different RAT so that other devices in the group that don't support the original RAT(s) can receive the message. For example, if Vehicle C transmits a BSM using DSRC, Vehicle A would be unable to receive the BSM because Vehicle C only supports LTE and 5G RATs. Vehicle B, acting as relay device, converts the message to either or both LTE and 5G and retransmits the message in the selected RAT(s) so that Vehicle A can receive the message. Of course, as the vehicles move through the area, different devices may be selected as relay devices according to one of three different selection modes: device collaborative, central control, and independent.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Awad Alla et al. as taught by Pinheiro et al. for purpose of retransmitting a message.
For claim 3, the combination of Awad Alla et al., and Gehrling et al. and Pinheiro et al. disclose the method of claim 2. Pinheiro et al. disclose wherein the task comprises a server application to serve corresponding client applications on the plurality of endpoint computing devices (at least [0026]. Relay device, Vehicle B serves as a protocol converter, meaning that when Vehicle B receives a message that was transmitted using some RAT or RATs, Vehicle B will convert and retransmit that message in at least one different RAT so that other devices in the group that don't support the original RAT(s) can receive the message. For example, if Vehicle C transmits a BSM using DSRC, Vehicle A would be unable to receive the BSM because Vehicle C only supports LTE and 5G RATs. Vehicle B, acting as relay device, converts the message to either or both LTE and 5G and retransmits the message in the selected RAT(s) so that Vehicle A can receive the message. Of course, as the vehicles move through the area, different devices may be selected as relay devices according to one of three different selection modes: device collaborative, central control, and independent.)
For claim 12, the claim has features similar to claim 2. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 2.
For claim 16, the claim has features similar to claim 2. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 2.
For claim 19, the claim has features similar to claim 2. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 2.
For claim 20, the claim has features similar to claim 3. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 3.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Awad Alla et al. (U.S. 10838416) in view of Gehrling et al. (U.S. 11861407) and in view of Liu et al. (U.S. 20150373606).
For claim 8, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. do not disclose the method of claim 1, the shifting comprises transmitting, to the computing device, computer-readable instructions that are executable by the computing device to perform the task.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu et al. disclose the shifting comprises transmitting, to the computing device, computer-readable instructions that are executable by the computing device to perform the task (at least [0111]. If the base station detects that the UE moves into a coverage area of the AP, the load of the AP is low, and various offload conditions are satisfied, according to various assistance information, e.g., a measurement of the base station, a report of the UE, etc., then the base station configures the UE, and instructs the UE to offload a part or all of DRBs/data stream to the WLAN link for transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Awad Alla et al. as taught by Liu et al. for purpose of ensuring the capability of the user transmitting data via an optimized network, and improving the quality of data transmission.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Awad Alla et al. (U.S. 10838416) in view of Gehrling et al. (U.S. 11861407) and in view of Jessen (U.S. 20240046388).
For claim 14, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. do not disclose the computing device of claim 13, wherein the computing device comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”), and the constraint comprises a bounded two-dimensional or three-dimensional space.
In the same field of endeavor, Jessen disclose wherein the computing device comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle (“UAV”), and the constraint comprises a bounded two-dimensional or three-dimensional space (at least claim 5 and 15. To determine that the UAV has arrived at the location; and switch from an autonomous control mode to a manual control mode at least partly in response to the UAV arriving at the location. The location data is based at least partly on one or more geolocation markers along a predefined path.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Awad Alla et al. as taught by Jessen for purpose of switching from an autonomous control mode to a manual control mode.
For claim 15, the combination of Awad Alla et al., Gehrling et al. and Jessen disclose the computing device of claim 14. Awad Alla et al. disclose to download, from another computing device in response to the determination, computer-readable instructions that are executable by the processor to perform the existing task within the constraint (Col. 8, lines 12-28. The computer 32 instructs the vehicle 30 to follow the command received from the remote server 38. The command can include one or more locations to which the vehicle 30 is instructed to travel, and can also include other conditions or requirements associated with the locations, e.g., waiting for a period of time at a location for a passenger before leaving to travel to a different location. The autonomous-vehicle computer 48 can autonomously operate the vehicle 30 to fulfill the command using the propulsion 50, the brake system 52, and the steering system 54. If the computer 32 is located at the remote server 38, the instruction to follow the command can accompany the command itself transmitted to the vehicle 30. If the computer 32 is located in the vehicle 30, the vehicle 30 can enter a mode in which the vehicle 30 will follow commands from the remote server 38.)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Awad Alla et al. (U.S. 10838416) in view of Gehrling et al. (U.S. 11861407) and in view of Fraccaroli (U.S. 20180227959).
For claim 17, the combination of Awad Alla et al. and Gehrling et al. do not disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the location criterion comprises a geo-fence centered about another mobile computing device.
In the same field of endeavor, Fraccaroli discloses the location criterion comprises a geo-fence centered about another mobile computing device (at least [0044], [0047] and [0249].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Awad Alla et al. as taught by Fraccaroli for purpose of providing a response to one or more location-based services applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644