DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 2/2/2026.
In the RCE, Applicant amended claims 1, 14, and 27-30.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-14, filed 2/2/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-10, Applicant recites related portions of the MPEP and recites portions of amended claim 1. Applicant then recites portions of the Xue reference. On page 11, Applicant argues that Xue does not disclose that the UE transmits a capability report. Applicant then discusses the Rai reference, indicating that Rai’s capability report does not discuss the dormancy behavior and related DCI formats. Applicant then concludes that the combination of Xue and Rai does not disclose the amended claims 1, 14, and 27-30.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in detail below, the claim requires the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior when C-DRX is not configured); (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature. Examiner maintains that Rai teaches this missing limitation of reporting support for a feature to the network. Therefore, the combination of Xue and Rai renders the amended claims obvious.
Further, Applicant discusses the support for the amended claim feature on pages 13 and 14. Applicant argues that paragraphs [0056] and [0057] of the published application disclose this amended limitation. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The original disclosure mentioned “capability report” only in [0053] (which is also [0056] of the published application). This capability report is described as follows: “In some cases, a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured. Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field and is able to apply the indicated behavior (e.g., perform switching between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior).” This discloses that the capability report indicates support for the “the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured” and further discloses that this “may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field”. However, this does not provide support for the limitation that the capability report further indicates that the UE “does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1: the original disclosure does not explicitly support the limitation “a capability report indicating that the UE supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and [[a]] the second DCI format”. That is, the original disclosure mentioned “capability report” only in [0053] (which is also [0056] of the published application). This capability report is described as follows: “In some cases, a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured. Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field and is able to apply the indicated behavior (e.g., perform switching between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior).” This discloses that the capability report indicates support for the “the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured” and further discloses that this “may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field”. However, this does not provide support for the limitation that the capability report further indicates that the UE “does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format”.
Claims 14 and 27-30 include similar limitations and are thus similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 2-13 and 15-26 depend from claims 1 and 14, respectively and are thus similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 13-16, 18-20, 22, 23, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US 2022/0264574) in view of Rai et al (US 9,973,951).
Regarding claim 1: Xue discloses a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving from the network entity via the DCI associated with a first DCI format, while the UE is in a first mode associated with continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring, the indication of the change in the dormancy behavior for the one or more SCells or SCell groups (disclosed throughout; see [0055]-[0058], for example; first, [0055] indicates that the network may indicate to a terminal device (the UE) “whether to perform dormancy behavior in an SCell” and that this is indicated “by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, as indicated in [0057], this indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device” – this is interpreted to be “continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring” as the terminal continuously monitors the PDCCH when not in DRX (discontinuous reception); as indicated in [0057], this indication is carried via a DCI using one of a subset of formats (either DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1)); and
applying the indicated change in dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and the second DCI format (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1); further, this also discloses that the change of dormancy is limited to this subset of DCI formats and is not received in all DCI formats that could potentially carry a change of dormancy indication). Specifically, Xue disclose an indication from a network device that indicates to a terminal “whether to perform dormancy behavior” and that this “indication may be carried in a downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1”. This is very similar to the language in [0052] in Applicant’s published application “the UE may receive a particular DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_1 or 1_1) that includes a dormancy indication field for the switch between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior” and [0056] in Applicant’s published application “may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field”.
However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication using one of the subset of DCI formats. Similarly, Xue does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication of the change in dormancy in the first DCI format in accordance with the capability report.
First, the interpretation of the “capability report” claim limitation is that the report indicates support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior when C-DRX is not configured). This feature is implemented using an indication received using one of multiple DCI formats. However, the “capability report” does not indicate a specific format of these multiple formats, only whether the feature is supported. Consider [0056] of Applicant’s published application, which notes that “a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured”. That is, the capability report signaling indicates to the network whether the UE supports a particular function (the function being “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”). Next, [0056] notes that “Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the ‘SCell dormancy indication’ field and is able to apply the indicated behavior”. This does not suggest that the capability report indication includes information identifying which of the DCI formats is supported. Rather, it indicates support for the feature of “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”. The indication of SCell dormancy happens to be included in a particular DCI format (and not in another DCI format), but this format is not indicated via the capability report.
Stated another way, claim 1 can be viewed broadly as requiring the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature; (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Rai, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting “UE capability information” comprising a set of “feature group indicator (FGI) bits, each mapped to a particular capability, and each having a value (0 or 1) indicating whether or not the UE has that capability”. This information is transmitted “to inform the eNodeB what capabilities the UE has and does not have”. (See 8:8-22 of Rai, for example). Further, as indicated in 8:23-32, for example, if the UE does not support a particular feature, (such as determining and measuring neighboring coverage per events A4 and A5), then the network (eNodeB) will not perform functions associated with this feature in its communications with the UE. Clearly, the reverse is true – namely, when the UE indicates that it supports a feature, the network implements the functions associated with this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network whether it is capable a particular function (such as receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field). The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not implementing the same functions.
Regarding claim 14: Xue discloses a method of wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
providing, via a DCI associated with a first DCI format to the UE that is in a first mode associated with continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring, the indication of the change in the dormancy behavior for the one or more SCells or SCell groups (disclosed throughout; see [0055]-[0058], for example; first, [0055] indicates that the network may indicate to a terminal device (the UE) “whether to perform dormancy behavior in an SCell” and that this is indicated “by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, as indicated in [0057], this indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device” – this is interpreted to be “continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring” as the terminal continuously monitors the PDCCH when not in DRX (discontinuous reception); as indicated in [0057], this indication is carried via a DCI using one of a subset of formats (either DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1)); and
applying the indicated change in dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and the second DCI format (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1)). Specifically, Xue disclose an indication from a network device that indicates to a terminal “whether to perform dormancy behavior” and that this “indication may be carried in a downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1”. This is very similar to the language in [0052] in Applicant’s published application “the UE may receive a particular DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_1 or 1_1) that includes a dormancy indication field for the switch between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior”.
However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of UE means for receiving from a user equipment (UE) a capability report indicating that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication using one of the subset of DCI formats. Similarly, Xue does not explicitly disclose providing the indication of the change in dormancy in the first DCI format in accordance with the capability report.
First, the interpretation of the “capability report” claim limitation is that the report indicates support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior). This feature is implemented using an indication received using one of multiple DCI formats. However, the “capability report” does not indicate a specific format of these multiple formats, only whether the feature is supported. Consider [0056] of Applicant’s published application, which notes that “a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured”. That is, the capability report signaling indicates to the network whether the UE supports a particular function (the function being “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”). Next, [0056] notes that “Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the ‘SCell dormancy indication’ field and is able to apply the indicated behavior”. This does not suggest that the capability report indication includes information identifying which of the DCI formats is supported. Rather, it indicates support for the feature of “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”. The indication of SCell dormancy happens to be included in a particular DCI format, but this format is not indicated via the capability report.
Stated another way, claim 1 can be viewed broadly as requiring the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature; (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Rai, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting “UE capability information” comprising a set of “feature group indicator (FGI) bits, each mapped to a particular capability, and each having a value (0 or 1) indicating whether or not the UE has that capability”. This information is transmitted “to inform the eNodeB what capabilities the UE has and does not have”. (See 8:8-22 of Rai, for example). Further, as indicated in 8:23-32, for example, if the UE does not support a particular feature, (such as determining and measuring neighboring coverage per events A4 and A5), then the network (eNodeB) will not perform functions associated with this feature in its communications with the UE. Clearly, the reverse is true – namely, when the UE indicates that it supports a feature, the network implements the functions associated with this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network whether it is capable a particular function (such as receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field). The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not implementing the same functions.
Regarding claim 27: Xue discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for receiving (see transceiver 901 of Figure 9, for example) from the network entity via the DCI associated with a first DCI format, while the UE is in a first mode associated with continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring, the indication of the change in the dormancy behavior for the one or more SCells or SCell groups (disclosed throughout; see [0055]-[0058], for example; first, [0055] indicates that the network may indicate to a terminal device (the UE) “whether to perform dormancy behavior in an SCell” and that this is indicated “by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, as indicated in [0057], this indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device” – this is interpreted to be “continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring” as the terminal continuously monitors the PDCCH when not in DRX (discontinuous reception); as indicated in [0057], this indication is carried via a DCI using one of a subset of formats (either DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1)); and
means for applying (see processor 902 of Figure 9, for example) the indicated change in dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and the second DCI format (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1)). Specifically, Xue disclose an indication from a network device that indicates to a terminal “whether to perform dormancy behavior” and that this “indication may be carried in a downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1”. This is very similar to the language in [0052] in Applicant’s published application “the UE may receive a particular DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_1 or 1_1) that includes a dormancy indication field for the switch between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior”.
However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of UE means for receiving from a user equipment (UE) a capability report indicating that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication using one of the subset of DCI formats. Similarly, Xue does not explicitly disclose providing the indication of the change in dormancy in the first DCI format in accordance with the capability report.
First, the interpretation of the “capability report” claim limitation is that the report indicates support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior). This feature is implemented using an indication received using one of multiple DCI formats. However, the “capability report” does not indicate a specific format of these multiple formats, only whether the feature is supported. Consider [0056] of Applicant’s published application, which notes that “a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured”. That is, the capability report signaling indicates to the network whether the UE supports a particular function (the function being “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”). Next, [0056] notes that “Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the ‘SCell dormancy indication’ field and is able to apply the indicated behavior”. This does not suggest that the capability report indication includes information identifying which of the DCI formats is supported. Rather, it indicates support for the feature of “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”. The indication of SCell dormancy happens to be included in a particular DCI format, but this format is not indicated via the capability report.
Stated another way, claim 1 can be viewed broadly as requiring the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature; (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Rai, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting “UE capability information” comprising a set of “feature group indicator (FGI) bits, each mapped to a particular capability, and each having a value (0 or 1) indicating whether or not the UE has that capability”. This information is transmitted “to inform the eNodeB what capabilities the UE has and does not have”. (See 8:8-22 of Rai, for example). Further, as indicated in 8:23-32, for example, if the UE does not support a particular feature, (such as determining and measuring neighboring coverage per events A4 and A5), then the network (eNodeB) will not perform functions associated with this feature in its communications with the UE. Clearly, the reverse is true – namely, when the UE indicates that it supports a feature, the network implements the functions associated with this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network whether it is capable a particular function (such as receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field). The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not implementing the same functions.
Regarding claim 28: Xue discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
means for providing (see transceiver 1001 of Figure 10, for example), via a DCI associated with a first DCI format to the UE that is in a first mode associated with continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring, the indication of the change in the dormancy behavior for one or more SCells or SCell groups (disclosed throughout; see [0055]-[0058], for example; first, [0055] indicates that the network may indicate to a terminal device (the UE) “whether to perform dormancy behavior in an SCell” and that this is indicated “by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, as indicated in [0057], this indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device” – this is interpreted to be “continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring” as the terminal continuously monitors the PDCCH when not in DRX (discontinuous reception); as indicated in [0057], this indication is carried via a DCI using one of a subset of formats (either DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1)); and
means for applying (see processor 1002 of Figure 10, for example) the indicated change in dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and the second DCI format (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1)). Specifically, Xue disclose an indication from a network device that indicates to a terminal “whether to perform dormancy behavior” and that this “indication may be carried in a downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1”. This is very similar to the language in [0052] in Applicant’s published application “the UE may receive a particular DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_1 or 1_1) that includes a dormancy indication field for the switch between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior”.
However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of UE means for receiving from a user equipment (UE) a capability report indicating that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication using one of the subset of DCI formats. Similarly, Xue does not explicitly disclose providing the indication of the change in dormancy in the first DCI format in accordance with the capability report.
First, the interpretation of the “capability report” claim limitation is that the report indicates support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior). This feature is implemented using an indication received using one of multiple DCI formats. However, the “capability report” does not indicate a specific format of these multiple formats, only whether the feature is supported. Consider [0056] of Applicant’s published application, which notes that “a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured”. That is, the capability report signaling indicates to the network whether the UE supports a particular function (the function being “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”). Next, [0056] notes that “Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the ‘SCell dormancy indication’ field and is able to apply the indicated behavior”. This does not suggest that the capability report indication includes information identifying which of the DCI formats is supported. Rather, it indicates support for the feature of “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”. The indication of SCell dormancy happens to be included in a particular DCI format, but this format is not indicated via the capability report.
Stated another way, claim 1 can be viewed broadly as requiring the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature; (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Rai, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting “UE capability information” comprising a set of “feature group indicator (FGI) bits, each mapped to a particular capability, and each having a value (0 or 1) indicating whether or not the UE has that capability”. This information is transmitted “to inform the eNodeB what capabilities the UE has and does not have”. (See 8:8-22 of Rai, for example). Further, as indicated in 8:23-32, for example, if the UE does not support a particular feature, (such as determining and measuring neighboring coverage per events A4 and A5), then the network (eNodeB) will not perform functions associated with this feature in its communications with the UE. Clearly, the reverse is true – namely, when the UE indicates that it supports a feature, the network implements the functions associated with this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network whether it is capable a particular function (such as receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field). The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not implementing the same functions.
Regarding claim 29: Xue discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a receiver (see transceiver 901 of Figure 9, for example) configured to receive from the network entity via the DCI associated with a first DCI format, while the UE is in a first mode associated with continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring, the indication of the change in the dormancy behavior for the one or more SCells or SCell groups (disclosed throughout; see [0055]-[0058], for example; first, [0055] indicates that the network may indicate to a terminal device (the UE) “whether to perform dormancy behavior in an SCell” and that this is indicated “by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, as indicated in [0057], this indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device” – this is interpreted to be “continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring” as the terminal continuously monitors the PDCCH when not in DRX (discontinuous reception); as indicated in [0057], this indication is carried via a DCI using one of a subset of formats (either DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1)); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively (see processor 902 of Figure 9, for example), configured to apply the indicated change in dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and the second DCI format (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1); further, this also discloses that the change of dormancy is limited to this subset of DCI formats and is not received in all DCI formats that could potentially carry a change of dormancy indication). Specifically, Xue disclose an indication from a network device that indicates to a terminal “whether to perform dormancy behavior” and that this “indication may be carried in a downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1”. This is very similar to the language in [0052] in Applicant’s published application “the UE may receive a particular DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_1 or 1_1) that includes a dormancy indication field for the switch between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior” and [0056] in Applicant’s published application “may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field”.
However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication using one of the subset of DCI formats. Similarly, Xue does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication of the change in dormancy in the first DCI format in accordance with the capability report.
First, the interpretation of the “capability report” claim limitation is that the report indicates support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior when C-DRX is not configured). This feature is implemented using an indication received using one of multiple DCI formats. However, the “capability report” does not indicate a specific format of these multiple formats, only whether the feature is supported. Consider [0056] of Applicant’s published application, which notes that “a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured”. That is, the capability report signaling indicates to the network whether the UE supports a particular function (the function being “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”). Next, [0056] notes that “Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the ‘SCell dormancy indication’ field and is able to apply the indicated behavior”. This does not suggest that the capability report indication includes information identifying which of the DCI formats is supported. Rather, it indicates support for the feature of “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”. The indication of SCell dormancy happens to be included in a particular DCI format (and not in another DCI format), but this format is not indicated via the capability report.
Stated another way, claim 1 can be viewed broadly as requiring the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature; (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Rai, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting “UE capability information” comprising a set of “feature group indicator (FGI) bits, each mapped to a particular capability, and each having a value (0 or 1) indicating whether or not the UE has that capability”. This information is transmitted “to inform the eNodeB what capabilities the UE has and does not have”. (See 8:8-22 of Rai, for example). Further, as indicated in 8:23-32, for example, if the UE does not support a particular feature, (such as determining and measuring neighboring coverage per events A4 and A5), then the network (eNodeB) will not perform functions associated with this feature in its communications with the UE. Clearly, the reverse is true – namely, when the UE indicates that it supports a feature, the network implements the functions associated with this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network whether it is capable a particular function (such as receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field). The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not implementing the same functions.
Regarding claim 30: Xue discloses an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising:
a transmitter (see transceiver 1001 of Figure 10, for example) configured to provide, via a DCI associated with a first DCI format to the UE that is in a first mode associated with continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring, the indication of the change in the dormancy behavior for the one or more SCells or SCell groups (disclosed throughout; see [0055]-[0058], for example; first, [0055] indicates that the network may indicate to a terminal device (the UE) “whether to perform dormancy behavior in an SCell” and that this is indicated “by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, as indicated in [0057], this indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device” – this is interpreted to be “continuous physical downlink control (PDCCH) monitoring” as the terminal continuously monitors the PDCCH when not in DRX (discontinuous reception); as indicated in [0057], this indication is carried via a DCI using one of a subset of formats (either DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 1_1)); and
one or more processors, individually or collectively (see processor 1002 of Figure 10, for example), configured to apply the indicated change in dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving an indication of a change in dormancy behavior for one or more secondary cells (SCells) or SCell groups using downlink control information (DCI) associated with a first DCI format and does not support receiving the indication of the change in dormancy behavior via at least a second DCI format from multiple DCI formats comprising at least the first DCI format and the second DCI format (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1); further, this also discloses that the change of dormancy is limited to this subset of DCI formats and is not received in all DCI formats that could potentially carry a change of dormancy indication). Specifically, Xue disclose an indication from a network device that indicates to a terminal “whether to perform dormancy behavior” and that this “indication may be carried in a downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or a DCI format 1_1”. This is very similar to the language in [0052] in Applicant’s published application “the UE may receive a particular DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_1 or 1_1) that includes a dormancy indication field for the switch between dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior” and [0056] in Applicant’s published application “may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the “SCell dormancy indication” field”.
However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication using one of the subset of DCI formats. Similarly, Xue does not explicitly disclose receiving the indication of the change in dormancy in the first DCI format in accordance with the capability report.
First, the interpretation of the “capability report” claim limitation is that the report indicates support for a feature (change in dormancy behavior when C-DRX is not configured). This feature is implemented using an indication received using one of multiple DCI formats. However, the “capability report” does not indicate a specific format of these multiple formats, only whether the feature is supported. Consider [0056] of Applicant’s published application, which notes that “a UE capability report signaling may be defined to indicate to the network whether the UE supports the SCell dormancy function when CDRX is not configured”. That is, the capability report signaling indicates to the network whether the UE supports a particular function (the function being “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”). Next, [0056] notes that “Indication of this support may mean that the UE will support receiving the DCI format 0_1 or 1_1 that contains the ‘SCell dormancy indication’ field and is able to apply the indicated behavior”. This does not suggest that the capability report indication includes information identifying which of the DCI formats is supported. Rather, it indicates support for the feature of “SCell dormancy…when CDRX is not configured”. The indication of SCell dormancy happens to be included in a particular DCI format (and not in another DCI format), but this format is not indicated via the capability report.
Stated another way, claim 1 can be viewed broadly as requiring the steps of (1) transmitting to a network entity a capability report indicating support for a feature; (2) receiving a message in accordance with the feature; (3) applying the information in the received message. Xue discloses a UE that supports the feature, receives a message in accordance with the feature, and applying the information in the received message. Xue only differs from this claim in that the UE does not report to the network that it supports the feature.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Rai, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting “UE capability information” comprising a set of “feature group indicator (FGI) bits, each mapped to a particular capability, and each having a value (0 or 1) indicating whether or not the UE has that capability”. This information is transmitted “to inform the eNodeB what capabilities the UE has and does not have”. (See 8:8-22 of Rai, for example). Further, as indicated in 8:23-32, for example, if the UE does not support a particular feature, (such as determining and measuring neighboring coverage per events A4 and A5), then the network (eNodeB) will not perform functions associated with this feature in its communications with the UE. Clearly, the reverse is true – namely, when the UE indicates that it supports a feature, the network implements the functions associated with this feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network whether it is capable a particular function (such as receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field). The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not implementing the same functions.
Regarding claims 2 and 15: Xue discloses the limitations that the first mode corresponds to mode in which connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) is not configured for the UE (as discussed above, see [0057], which indicates that the indication may be sent “[w]hen connected mode (C)-DRX is not configured for the terminal device”).
Regarding claims 3 and 16: Xue discloses the limitations that the indication is received via the DCI associated with the first DCI format that includes a dormancy indication field for a switch between a dormancy behavior and a non-dormancy behavior (disclosed throughout; see [0055], for example, which discloses the “1-bit” indicator used to indicated whether “to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell”; further, see [0057]-[0058], for example, which discloses that this can be transmitted via a DCI).
Regarding claims 5 and 18: Xue discloses the limitations that the UE is configured with at least one dormant bandwidth part (BWP) and at least one non-dormant BWP for a SCell associated with the dormancy behavior and non-dormancy behavior when CDRX is not configured for the UE (disclosed throughout; see at least [0055], which discloses “A dormant BWP is configured in the SCell. Then, in the PCell, the terminal device is indicated, by using 1-bit, to switch between the dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell.” (emphasis added); this passage refers to both a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP in the SCell).
Regarding claims 6 and 19: Xue discloses the limitations that the non-dormant BWP comprises a first non- dormant BWP the UE operates in when switched from dormancy behavior to non- dormancy behavior on the associated SCell (disclosed throughout; see at least [0055], for example, which discloses that when the UE switches from dormancy to non-dormancy behavior (the indicator set to ‘1’ in the example), the UE “switches from the dormant BWP to the non-dormant BWP”).
Regarding claims 7 and 20: Xue discloses the limitations that the dormant BWP and first non-dormant BWP are configured separately for SCells (disclosed throughout; see the examples of BWP configuration discussed starting in [0068] and in Figures 3 and 4, for example; the dormant BWP and non-dormant BWPs are configured separately for SCells).
Regarding claims 9 and 22: Xue discloses the limitations that the UE is configured with the same dormant BWP and same non-dormant BWP when CDRX is configured for the UE (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0058], for example, when CDRX is configured, the indication is received in a different DCI format; however, the BWPs are the same in both the CDRX not configured and CDRX configured modes).
Regarding claims 10 and 23: Xue discloses the limitations that the dormancy indication field is present in the DCI associated with the first DCI format only when one or more conditions are met (disclosed throughout; see [0057] and [0058], which discloses the particular DCI formats used for carrying the dormancy indication; see also [0017]-[0023], which indicate that a first configuration information regarding the DCI can comprise one of multiple “categories” of indication information, where one of these categories indicates that “neither first indication information nor second indication information” is present in the DCI, where “the second indication information is used to indicate the terminal device whether to perform a dormancy operation in a secondary cell”; another of the categories indicates that “the downlink control information includes at least one of first indication information or second indication information”; thus, the dormancy indication field is conditionally present in the DCI).
Regarding claims 13 and 26: Xue discloses the limitations of parent claims 2 and 15 as indicated above. Xue further discloses the limitation of applying the change in behavior indicated by the dormancy indication field (disclosed throughout; see the description in [0055], which indicates that this change is implemented by switching to/from a dormant BWP and a non-dormant BWP).
As indicated above, the UE in Xue clearly supports receiving DCI with the dormancy indication field when CDRX is not configured for the UE (see [0055]-[0057] and the rejection above, which clearly indicate that the UE receives an indication of change of dormancy behavior in a subset of DCI formats (formats 0_1 and 1_1) when CDRX is not configured for the UE). However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation of reporting, to the network entity, that the UE supports this feature regarding receiving the dormancy indication when CDRX is not configured.
However, sending a capability report from a UE to the network to indicate whether (or not) the UE supports a newly added feature is well known in the art. Consider Tie, for example, which discloses in [0110] “The terminal-side device reports capability information of the terminal-side device by using signaling. The capability information includes, but is not limited to, a first offset and a BWP switching delay.” and further discloses in [0116] “The capability information reported by the terminal side may further include other information”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the terminal/UE reports to the network that it is capable of receiving the dormancy indication field and performing the functions associated with this indication field. The rationale for doing so would have been to ensure that the network only uses the dormancy indication field for terminals that can actually use it to prevent wasted bandwidth (by unnecessarily sending the information to devices not capable of using it) and also potential confusion where the network and terminal are not aware of the state of particular BWPs that are used to communicate between them.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US 2022/0264574) in view of Rai et al (US 9,973,951) in view of Tie et al (US 2023/0024064).
Regarding claims 4 and 17: Xue, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 3 and 16 as indicated above. However, Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation that the DCI associated with the first DCI format is received in a slot according to a search space set configuration. However, Tie discloses a similar system that includes sending a dormancy indication in a DCI (see [0104] and [0105], for example). Tie further discloses, in at least [0119], [0120], and [0139], that the DCI configuration includes a search space set indicates the location of a monitoring occasion corresponding to the DCI including a start time at which the DCI format is detected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to indicate to the UE/terminal the location where the dormancy indication may be detected utilizing at least the search space configuration to indicate a monitoring occasion and start time. The rationale for doing so would have been to minimize power consumption by enabling the terminal/UE to efficiently locate the dormancy indication as suggested by Tie.
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US 2022/0264574) in view of Rai et al (US 9,973,951) in view of Wang et al (US 12,225,546).
Regarding claims 8 and 21: Xue discloses the limitations of parent claims 5 and 18 as indicated above. Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 8 and 21 that the UE is configured with at least one of a different dormant BWP or a different non-dormant BWP when CDRX is configured for the UE. However, Wang discloses a system for configuring dormancy behavior in SCells similar to Xue. Wang further discloses in 7:57-8:17 that the network side may “configure two Scell grouping configurations” and that two scenarios include either DRX active or inactive times or a “DCI corresponding to a Wake Up Signal (WUS)” and “the other…from normal DCI” may be configured as “different BWPs”. It would have been obvious to apply this teaching to the scenarios in Xue in which the CDRX is either configured or not configured, respectively. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue such that the UE is configured with at least one different dormant or non-dormant BWP depending upon the CDRX configuration. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the network to have flexibility in configuring the SCells to balance the various implementation factors when configuring the dormancy of SCells suggested in Wang.
Claims 11, 12, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al (US 2022/0264574) in view of Rai et al (US 9,973,951) in view of MediaTek* (R1-2004669 - “Summary#1 for Procedure of Cross-Slot Scheduling Power Saving Techniques”).
* Cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 10/14/2022.
Regarding claims 11 and 24: Xue discloses the limitations of parent claims 10 and 23 as indicated above. Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation that when connected mode DRX is not configured for the UE, the dormancy indication field is only present when the DCI associated with the first DCI format is carried by PDCCH on a primary cell and the UE is configured with at least two downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs) for an SCell. However, MediaTek discloses this on page 19 in the section attributed to Oppo and discussing the “SCell dormancy indication”. This section indicates that the field (SCell dormancy indication) “is only present when this format is carried by PDCCH on the primary cell within DRX Active Time and the UE is configured with at least two DL BWPs for an SCell”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue, which as indicated above discloses the use of the dormancy indication when connected mode DRX (CDRX) is not configured, such that the field is only present when the particular DCI format is carried by the PDCCH and at least two DL BWPs are configured of the UE on an SCell. The rationale for doing so would have been to conserve bandwidth by only including the indicator in the DCI (and increasing the size of the DCI) when the bits can actually be used (such as when at least two BWPs are configured for an SCell so that a BWP switch can be performed if indicated by the dormancy indicator).
Regarding claims 12 and 25: Xue, modified, discloses the limitations of parent claims 11 and 24 as indicated above. Xue does not explicitly disclose the limitation that when connected mode DRX is configured for the UE, the dormancy indication field is only present when the DCI associated with the first DCI format is carried by PDCCH on the primary cell within a DRX active time and the UE is configured with at least two DL BWPs for an SCell. However, MediaTek discloses this on page 19 in the section attributed to Oppo and discussing the “SCell dormancy indication”. This section indicates that the field (SCell dormancy indication) “is only present when this format is carried by PDCCH on the primary cell within DRX Active Time and the UE is configured with at least two DL BWPs for an SCell”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue, which as indicated above discloses the use of the dormancy indication when connected mode DRX (CDRX) is configured, such that the field is only present when the particular DCI format is carried by the PDCCH and at least two DL BWPs are configured of the UE on an SCell. The rationale for doing so would have been to conserve bandwidth by only including the indicator in the DCI (and increasing the size of the DCI) when the bits can actually be used (such as when at least two BWPs are configured for an SCell so that a BWP switch can be performed if indicated by the dormancy indicator).
Conclusion
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 February 18, 2026