DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN107283887) (machine translation) (of record) in view of Zhiquan et al. (CN102229248) (machine translation) (of record), Bo et al. (CN110696397) (machine translation) (of record), Hu et al. (CN109986821) (machine translation) (of record), Janszen et al. (US20100043947), Miyamoto et al. (JP2015202648) (machine translation) (of record) and Tenuissen et al. (US20210008820) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a system of a fully automatic production line, comprising a bead filler extruding and molding process part, a bead molding process part and an automatic logistics part, wherein the bead filler extruding and molding process part, the functional auxiliary part and the bead molding process part are connected in sequence (Fig 1);
the bead filler extruding and molding process part comprises a bead filler complex extruder (“rubber strip extruder” (1)) and an automatic feeder ([0035], in that material is fed into the apex rubber strip extruder), and the bead filler complex extruder is configured to plasticize and then complex a rubber sheet conveyed from the automatic feeder and used for producing a bead filler strip to obtain a required finished product of the bead filler ([0035]-[0036]);
the bead molding process part includes a servo feeding device ([0036] via “conveyor belt for standby”), an attaching drum device ("integrated triangular rubber strip steel ring laminating machine " (4)), a laminating mechanism ("integrated triangular rubber strip steel ring laminating machine" (4), [0040]) connected in sequence; and
the automatic logistics system comprises an articulated robot (“transfer robot” (5)), an automatic bead wire feeding device (“wire ring winding machine” (2)), a bead stacking and conveying device ([0030] via “ring holding device”), and a spacer conveying roller table (“storage shutter vehicle” (7));
While Wang does not explicitly disclose that the system comprises:
a functional auxiliary part, that two automatic logistics systems are provided and arranged at two sides of the bead molding process, respectively and that the functional auxiliary part comprises a receiving and forced-contracting device, a continuous weighing device, a width measuring device, a spiral cooling device, an exhaust line pressing device and an unqualified-product marking device,
the servo feeding device has a delivery device,
wherein each attaching drum device comprises a fixed base, a rotary box and an attaching drum,
wherein each group comprises an attaching chuck device that comprises a first attaching chuck, a second attaching chuck and a rotary switching device, the first attaching chuck and the second attaching chuck are connected to the rotary switching device, and the rotary switching device is configured to rotate 180o horizontally;
wherein each attaching chuck device has a flipping and erecting side where the attaching chuck device cooperates with the corresponding attaching drum device and the bead filler is flipped, erected and formed by a coordinate conversion and a loading and unloading side where the attaching chuck device is butted with an articulated robot,
wherein the attaching drum device is an adjustable mechanical drum to adapt to production of products with various specifications,
that the delivery device absorbs by vacuum a tail part of the bead filler to the attaching drum device to be engaged with a head part of the bead filler,
and that the articulated robot is capable of grabbing a spacer from a spacer placement roller table and placing the spacer on the bead filler and grabbing a bead wire from the automatic bead wire feeding device and placing the bead wire on the first attaching chuck;
wherein the functional auxiliary part is configured to have a constant production speed, the bead molding process part is configured to have a variable production speed; and
wherein a storage device is arranged between the bead molding process part and the functional auxiliary part for a buffer transition of a rubber material to guarantee a continuous production,
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
A) Zhiquan teaches that a bead filler production line can comprise of an functional auxiliary part that comprises a receiving and forced-contracting device (“forced shrinkage device” (4)), a width measuring device (“forced shrinkage device” (4), in that it controls (and indirectly measures) the dimensions of the extruded apex adhesive, including the width), a spiral cooling device (“apex adhesive cooling device” (5)) and an exhaust line pressing device ("apex adhesive storage device "(6), [0021]) for the benefit of preventing deformation of the apex adhesive ([0006], [0009]);
B) Zhiquan teaches that a servo feeding device (“apex adhesive conveying device” (7), [0037]), comprises a delivery device (see Zhiquan Labeled Fig 1 below), and that one would have been motivated to use the delivery device of Zhiquan in Wang as a generally known component of a servo feeding device structure, given that Wang is silent on the specifics of the structure,
C) Bo teaches that a bead filler production line manufacturing process can comprise of an unqualified-product marking device ([0038] via “metal detector) for the benefit of convenient identification of unqualified product for later removal ([0038]);
D) Bo teaches that a bead filler production line manufacturing process can comprise of an attaching drum device (“bonding drum” (3)) that comprises a fixed base, a rotary box and an attaching drum that is an adjustable mechanical drum (Fig 3, 4, [0041]-[0042], in that the bonding drum rotates) for the benefit of allowing for work on a wider variety of tire bead sizes ([0041]);
E) Bo teaches that attaching drum device can work in cooperation with an attaching chuck device (“clamping assembly” (41)), which assists the attaching drum device through coordinate conversion ([0037]) in ensuring the bead filler is flipped, erected and formed ([0041]);
F) Hu teaches that a bead chuck device (Fig 1-3) comprises a first attaching chuck (“bonding ring” (40) on the left, Fig 1), a second attaching chuck (“bonding ring” (40) on the right, Fig 1) and a rotary switching device (“rotating base” (20)), the attaching chuck A and the attaching chuck B are connected to the rotary switching device (Fig 1-3), and the rotary switching device is configured to rotate 180o horizontally ([0032]) for the benefit of improved production efficiency ([0032]), in that one attaching chuck can cooperate with the attaching drum, acting as a flipping and erecting side, while the other attaching chuck is used as a loading and unloading side;
G) Wang teaches that the transfer robot (5) is capable of transferring bead rings between stations ([0030]), which would include transferring bead rings to a waiting attaching chuck of Hu, though is silent on structure of the transfer robot;
H) Janszen, which is within the tire manufacturing art, teaches that an articulated robot (“movable robot arm” (24) with “common transfer means” (23)) for use in a bead processing system can be configured to handle bead wires, bead wires with fillers and spacers through the use of “common transfer means” (23) ([0058])) for transport to different work stations (Fig 1) for the benefit of accurate and easy part retention ([0011]) and to enable fast separation of a bead from a spacer ([0058]);
I) Miyamoto, which is within the tire manufacturing art, teaches that a delivery device (“suction pad” (33)) for transporting a bead filler (“bead filler” (12)) uses a vacuum to absorb portions of the bead filler and transport them (Fig 4A-C) for the benefit of ensuring proper positioning ([0009]-[0010]);
J) Tenuissen teaches that a bead filler production line can comprise of an in-line continuous weighing device (“weighing device”) for the benefit of identifying the weighed product to be moved to an appropriate station ([0030]);
K) Janszen, teaches that for the processing of completed bead structure involving the use of spacers (“spacers” (13)), the system can further comprise of a spacer placement roller table (Fig 2, unlabeled conveyor belt located below “spacer” (13), [0077]) for the predictable result of transporting spacers to the system for use with completed beads ([0076]-[0079]);
M) Zhiquan teaches the use of a storage device ("apex adhesive storage device "(6), Fig 10) between the bead molding process part and the functional auxiliary part (Fig 1, 2) for the benefit of preventing unwanted stretching ([0047]);
L) given that the bead molding process part includes the formation and completion of an intermediate part (Wang: “wire ring”, [0017]-[0019]) that cannot be continuously made (as in the wire ring must be completed before being transferred to the next part of the process) and therefore cannot be produced at a constant speed (only an intermittent/variable speed) while the functional auxiliary part handles an endless belt that can be continuously supplied/extruded to it by a “rubber strip extruder” (1) of Wang along with the storage device of Zhiquan allowing for the control of stretching ([0047], and in do so controlling the speed of material leaving) and therefore have the endless belt being produced at a constant speed, it would have been well within a person of ordinary skill in the art’s ability to set the production speeds of the functional auxiliary part to operate at a constant production speed and the bead molding process part to be at a variable production speed;
O) since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)), it would have been obvious to duplicate the number of automatic logistics systems for the purpose of allowing for the operation of the two systems under different conditions depending on the bead filler product desired.
With regards to the limitation that the storage device acts “for a buffer transition of a rubber material to guarantee a continuous production”, such limitation amounts to an intended use for the storage device that does not further structurally define it and it is well settled that “‘recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus’ if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim” (see MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 2, modified Wang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, as set forth above, Zhiquan teaches that the storage device can be configured to meet a requirement of intermittent operation of bead attaching, so that the bead filler extruding and molding process part is configured to operate continuously.
Regarding claim 3, modified Wang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Wang does not explicitly disclose the specific structure of the servo feeding device ([0036] via “conveyor belt for standby”), specifically that the servo feeding device comprises a main pneumatic frame, a traversing assembly, a conveying roller table and a cutting part, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, as Zhiquan teaches such a servo feeding device (“apex adhesive conveying device” (7), [0037]), that comprises all the claimed structures (see Zhiquan Labeled Fig 1 below). One would have been motivated to use the structure of Zhiquan in modified Wang as a generally known structure for a servo feeding device, given that Wang is silent on the specifics of the structure.
[AltContent: textbox (Zhiquan Labeled Fig 1, showing the structure of Zhiquan’s servo feeding device equivalent)]
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Bo teaches that each laminating mechanism comprises a laminating slice roller and a cylinder (Fig 8, with regards to the unlabeled roller components on “clamping assembly” (41)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Zhiquan does not explicitly disclose the production speed settings as claimed and instead only explicitly discloses the prevention of strip stretching, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Furthermore, examiner notes that the extent of stretching of the strip by Zhiquan would impact the speed at which the strip moves through “apex adhesive storage device” (6), and therefore, would include some amount of control over the speed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/John J DeRusso/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744