Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/027453 (04/15/2021) which has PRO 63/011,231 (04/16/2020).
Status
Claims 1-24, 27 are pending.
Rejections not reiterated in this action are withdrawn.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gil et al. (WO2018215795).
Regarding claims 1-6, Gil teaches administration of a therapeutically effective amount of eltrombopag to treat Alzheimer’s disease, inflammatory bowel disease, and glaucoma (claim 23-28). Regarding claims 7-8, 10, Gil further teaches combinations with anti-cancer agents (p. 35, 53). Regarding claims 11-14, Gil further teaches administration following anti-cancer therapy (p. 35: “after the other treatment the agent can eliminate cancer cells that have been pushed to senescence”; p. 9, Fig 13). Regarding claims 15-16, Gil further teaches the subject is a human (p. 31). Regarding claim 17-18, Gil further teaches therapeutic administration orally (p. 50-52).
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gil et al. (WO2018215795).
Gil anticipates claims 1-8 and 10-18 as above, incorporated herein, and also renders these claims obvious as one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily considered utilizing the same therapeutics to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 9, 19-23, although Gil teaches combination with the anti-cancer therapeutics, Gil does not specifically recite a single embodiment of eltrombopag with navitoclax. However, Gil does teach navitoclax (also known as ABT-263 – see page 8 of instant Specification)(Gil p. 3, 9-10) for the same purpose. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980); See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claims 24, 27, Gil further teaches treatment following doxorubicin induced cardiotoxicity (p. 25-26, 35-36, 56-57).
With each of the above claims rejected under 35 USC 103, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of teachings of the primary reference in with the secondary reference all of which are in the same field of endeavor. Through the combined teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626