DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-16, 18 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9, 14-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellman et. al US 20140376094 (hereinafter “Bellman”) of record, in view of Harris et. al US Patent 5,344,916 (hereinafter “Harris”) of record and Lim et. al US 20200061981 (hereinafter “Lim”).
Regarding claim 1, Bellman teaches a polyimide-based film used for a display device comprising:
a polyimide-based substrate (Bellman fig. 18 – 510, see also abstract and para. 0082 – substrate 110 may include polyetherimide); and
a first coating layer (Bellman fig. 18 – 531A, specifically the seventh layer up from 510) disposed on the polyimide-based substrate (Bellman fig. 18 shows all layers of 531A being disposed on 510),
wherein the film has a reflectance oscillation ratio
O
r
, calculated using the following Equation 1, of 1.0 or less (see annotated Bellman fig. 19 below for covered wavelength ranges), and a reflectance graph slope
G
r
, calculated using the following Equation 2, of 0.122 or less, based on a reflectance graph obtained by measuring reflectance in a wavelength range of 380 nm to 780 nm (Bellman fig. 19 measures from 350 to 1050 nm, encapsulating the entire range within):
<Equation 1>
O
r
=
O
m
1
*
O
m
2
-
O
m
1
-
O
m
2
/
M
i
n
O
m
1
,
O
m
2
(Bellman fig. 19 – where
O
m
1
≈ 0.5 and
O
m
2
≈ 0.7 as calculated using Equation 3 in each wavelength range, so
O
r
≈ -1.8)
<Equation 2>
G
r
=
R
m
1
-
R
m
2
/
R
m
2
(Bellman fig. 19 – where the slope of the graph between the middle points of
R
m
1
≈ 0.1, and
R
m
2
≈ 0.1 as calculated, so
G
r
≈ 0)
wherein in Equation 1,
O
m
1
is a mean
O
m
of reflectance oscillation values in a wavelength range of 500 nm to 550 nm, and
O
m
2
is a mean
O
m
of reflectance oscillation values in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 780 nm,
wherein the means
O
m
1
and
O
m
2
of reflectance oscillation values are calculated using the following Equation 3, and Min(
O
m
1
,
O
m
2
) is a smaller mean
O
m
of the means
O
m
1
and
O
m
2
of reflectance oscillation values,
wherein in Equation 2,
R
m
1
is an arithmetic mean of a reflectance corresponding to a first peak
P
1
and a reflectance corresponding to a first valley
V
1
in a wavelength range of 500 nm to 780 nm in the reflectance graph, and
R
m
2
is an arithmetic mean of a reflectance value corresponding to a final peak
P
f
and a reflectance value corresponding to a final valley
V
f
in the wavelength range of 500 nm to 780 nm in the reflectance graph (see Bellman fig. 19 below for the wavelength range and middle points between the first and final peaks and valleys),
<Equation 3>
O
m
=(1/n)*Σ(
O
k
)
wherein in Equation 3,
O
k
is an oscillation value in the corresponding wavelength range, and n is a number of oscillation values in the corresponding wavelength range, and wherein each of the oscillation values is a difference in reflectance values corresponding to a pair of a peak
P
k
and a valley
V
k
adjacent to each other,
wherein the peak (
P
k
=
P
i
,
P
2
,
P
3
, ...,
P
n
) and the valley (
V
k
=
V
i
,
V
2
,
V
3
, ...,
V
n
) are repeatedly appear in the reflectance graph of the film as the wavelength increases within a specific wavelength range (see Bellman fig. 19 above – peaks and valleys used are labeled above, and the repeating peaks and valleys are shown in the graph).
Bellman does not teach a swelling layer, however Bellman does teach the first coating layer (531A).
In a similar field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein the polyimide-based substrate comprises a swelling layer (Lim para. 0013 and 0065 – the hard coating composition) and a residual substrate layer (Lim para. 0013 and 0065 – the polyimide-based substrate),
wherein the swelling layer (the hard coating composition) disposed between the residual substrate layer (polyimide-based substrate) and the first coating layer (Lim para. 0065 – since the hard coating composition is placed on top of the polyimide-based substrate, any layers on top of the substrate would have the hard coating composition between it and the polyimide-based substrate) for the purpose of suppressing the generation of interference fringes (Lim para. 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a swelling layer and a residual layer as taught by Lim in the polyimide-based film of Bellman in order to suppress the generation of interference fringes (Lim para. 0013).
Bellman and Lim do not specify wherein the polyimide-based substrate has an X-axis direction refractive index
N
x
of 1.57 to 1.67, a Y-axis direction refractive index
N
y
of 1.57 to 1.67, and a Z-axis direction refractive index
N
z
of 1.53 to 1.57.
In a similar field of endeavor, Harris teaches wherein the polyimide-based substrate (Harris table 1 – lists multiple polyimides with listed refractive indices which can be used for Harris fig. 2-3 - 30 as disclosed by col. 37 lines 37-44) has an X-axis direction refractive index
N
x
of 1.57 to 1.67 (Harris table 1 – n|| is 1.593), a Y-axis direction refractive index
N
y
of 1.57 to 1.67 (Harris table 1 – n|| is 1.593), and a Z-axis direction refractive index
N
z
of 1.53 to 1.57 (Harris table 1 – nꞱ is 1.568) for the purpose of controlling the magnitude of negative birefringence (Harris col. 4 lines 25-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the polyimide-based substrate has an X-axis direction refractive index
N
x
of 1.57 to 1.67, a Y-axis direction refractive index
N
y
of 1.57 to 1.67, and a Z-axis direction refractive index
N
z
of 1.53 to 1.57 as taught by Harris in the polyimide-based film of Bellman and Lim in order to control the magnitude of negative birefringence (Harris col. 4 lines 25-35).
Regarding claim 2, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1, and Harris further teaches
the substrate is birefringent (Harris col. 4 lines 25-31).
Regarding claim 5, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1, and Bellman further teaches further comprising a second coating layer (Bellman fig. 18 - 540) disposed on the substrate (Bellman fig. 18 – 540 is disposed on 510).
Regarding claim 7, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 3, and Bellman further teaches wherein the first coating layer (531A) is disposed between the substrate (510) and the second coating layer (540, Bellman fig. 18 shows all of 531A disposed between 540 and 510).
Regarding claim 9, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1, and Bellman further teaches further comprising a third coating layer (Bellman fig. 18 – 531c) disposed on the substrate (510, Bellman fig. 18 – shows 531c disposed on 510).
Regarding claim 14, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1, and Bellman further teaches wherein the first coating layer has a thickness of 0.01 to 3.4 μm (Bellman fig. 18 – 531a, specifically the layer shown in the annotated fig. below – table 12 shows the layer has a thickness of 90.07 nm or 0.09007 μm).
Regarding claim 15, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 5, and Bellman further teaches wherein the second coating layer (540) has a thickness of 1 to 14 μm (Bellman fig. 18 – 540, table 12 shows the layer has a thickness of 2000 nm or 2 μm).
Regarding claim 16, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 9, and Bellman further teaches wherein the third coating layer (531c) has a thickness of 1 μm or less (Bellman fig. 18 – 531c, table 12 shows the layer has a thickness of 7.05 nm or 0.00705 μm).
Regarding claim 18, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach a display device comprising:
a display panel (Bellman para. 0002-0005 and 0016); and
the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1 disposed on the display panel (see above rejection to claim 1 under Bellman, Lim, and Harris, see also para. 0002-0005 and 0016).
Claims 4, 6, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellman, Lim, and Harris as cited for claims 1, 5, and 9 rejections above, further in view of Heo et. al US 20200012016 (hereinafter “Heo”) of record.
Regarding claim 4, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1, and Bellman further teaches the first coating layer (531A).
Bellman, Lim, and Harris do not teach wherein the first coating layer has a refractive index
N
1
satisfying the following Equation 4: <Equation 4> 1.455≤
N
1
≤1.633
In the same field of endeavor, Heo teaches wherein the first coating layer (Heo fig. 1 – 12c, see also table 1 – hard coat layer) has a refractive index
N
1
satisfying the following Equation 4:
<Equation 4>
1.455≤
N
1
≤1.633 (Heo para. 0053 and table 1 describe 12c having a refractive index of 1.52 which lies within and thus anticipates the claimed range, and further teaches a range for the refractive index between 1.40 and 1.70, which overlaps the claimed range, then further narrows the range to between 1.45 and 1.60 which lies within the claimed range – which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP §2131.03) for the purpose of enhancing the optical properties of a display device (Heo para. 0073). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a refractive index for a first coating layer within the claimed range in order to enhance the optical properties of a display device (Heo para. 0073).
Regarding claim 6, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 5.
Bellman, Lim, and Harris do not teach that the second coating layer (Bellman 540) is disposed between the substrate (Bellman 510; Harris 105) and the first coating layer (Bellman 531a). However, Bellman does teach having multiple layers and sub-layers on a substrate (Bellman fig. 18 – multiple layers on 510, see also para. 0147).
In the same field of endeavor, Heo teaches the second coating layer (Heo fig. 1 – 12b) is disposed between the substrate (Heo fig. 1 – 12a) and the first coating layer (Heo fig. 1 – 12c) for the purpose of enhancing the adhesion between the base layer 12a and the hard coat layer 12c (Heo para. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second coating layer disposed between the substrate and the first coating layer in order to enhance adhesion between the base layer and the hard coat layer (Heo para. 0088).
Regarding claim 8, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 5, and Bellman further teaches the second coating layer (540).
Bellman, Lim, and Harris do not teach wherein the second coating layer has a refractive index
N
2
satisfying the following Equation 5: <Equation 5> 1.245≤
N
2
≤1.628
In the same field of endeavor, Heo teaches wherein the second coating layer (Heo fig. 1 – 12b) has a refractive index
N
2
satisfying the following Equation 5:
<Equation 5>
1.245≤
N
2
≤1.628 (Heo para. 0053 and table 1 describe 12b having a refractive index
N
2
of 1.60 which lies within and thus anticipates the calculated range, and further teaches a range for the refractive index between 1.50 and 1.70, which overlaps the claimed range values, and further narrows the range to be between the values 1.53 and 1.58 which lies within the calculated range – which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP §2131.03)) for the purpose of enhancing the optical properties of a display device (Heo para. 0073). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a refractive index for a first coating layer within the claimed range in order to enhance the optical properties of a display device (Heo para. 0073).
Regarding claim 10, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 9, and Bellman further teaches the third coating layer (531c).
Bellman, Lim, and Harris do not teach wherein the third coating layer has a refractive index
N
3
satisfying the following Equation 6: <Equation 6> 1.245≤
N
3
≤1.628
In the same field of endeavor, Heo teaches wherein the third coating layer (Heo fig. 1 – 12e) has a refractive index
N
3
satisfying the following Equation 6:
<Equation 6>
1.245≤
N
3
≤1.628 (Heo para. 0056 and table 1 describe 12e having a refractive index
N
3
of 1.29 which lies within and thus anticipates the calculated range, and further teaches a range for the refractive index between 1.10 and 1.40, which overlaps the claimed range values, and is further narrowed to a range of 1.25 to 1.35 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP §2131.03)) for the purpose of enhancing the optical properties of a display device (Heo para. 0073). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a refractive index for a first coating layer within the claimed range in order to enhance the optical properties of a display device (Heo para. 0073).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellman, Lim, and Harris as cited for claim 1 rejection above, in view of Shioya et. al US 20180341122 (hereinafter “Shioya”) of record.
Regarding claim 11, Bellman, Lim, and Harris teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 1, and Bellman further teaches the first coating layer (Bellman fig. 18 – 531a, specifically the seventh layer above 510).
Bellman, Lim, and Harris do not teach wherein the first coating layer comprises a light-transmissive matrix and particles dispersed in the light-transmissive matrix.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shioya teaches wherein the first coating layer (Shioya para. 0068 – the hard coat film) comprises a light-transmissive matrix and particles dispersed in the light-transmissive matrix (Shioya para. 0068) for the purpose of preventing scratches (Shioya para. 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light-transmissive matrix with particles in order to prevent scratches.
Regarding claim 12, Bellman, Lim, Harris, and Shioya teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 11, and Shioya further teaches wherein the light-transmissive matrix comprises at least one of a siloxane-based resin (Shioya para. 0068 – the hard coat comprises organosiloxane-based resin), an acrylic-based resin, a urethane-based resin, or an epoxy-based resin.
Regarding claim 13, Bellman, Lim, Harris, and Shioya teach the polyimide-based film used for a display device according to claim 11, and Shioya further teaches wherein the particles comprise at least one of zirconia (
Z
r
O
2
), silica (
S
i
O
2
), alumina (
A
l
2
O
3
) (Shioya para. 0068 – the particles are an inorganic oxide), titanium dioxide (
T
i
O
2
), styrene, or acryl.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872