DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and associated arguments filed 9/24/2025 with respect to the previous 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Woods et al. (US 2004/0044383)
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites a system “for treating head and facial pain” in the preamble. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, this recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Furthermore, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus claim. The following principles of law govern apparatus claims:
"To anticipate a claim, a reference must disclose every element of thechallenged claim and enable one skilled in the art to make the anticipatingsubject matter." PPG Indus. Inc. v. Guardian Indus. Corp, 75 F.3d 1558,1566 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
"[T]he patentability of apparatus or composition claims depends onthe claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure." CatalinaMktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801,809 (Fed. Cir.2002).
"It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an oldproduct does not make a claim to that old product patentable." In reSchreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woods et al. (US 2004/0044383, hereinafter Woods).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Woods discloses a neurostimulation system as seen in figures 1 and 5. The system includes a BTE external unit 5 with a housing, and a processor/circuitry disposed, a rechargeable battery 30 disposed in the housing, a primary transmission unit 40 and LEDs 15/16 (par. 0004, 0031, 0041). The system includes an implant unit with a lead 28, an electrode array 27 on the lead and a secondary transmission unit (par. 0031). The processor circuitry establishes a coupling between the primary and secondary transmission units to transmit power and data from the power source to the implant unit via inductive coupling (par. 0005, 0032).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, the battery is rechargeable, so there inherently must be a charging unit.
Regarding claim 3, figure 5 of US 4,532,930, incorporated by reference in par. 0004 of Woods, shows the electrodes evenly spaced on the lead.
Regarding claim 5, the housing is configured for attachment to the subject’s skin using glue, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the external BTE unit of Woods is a remote control for adjustment of the neurostimulation.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the lead of the implant unit can be placed through an incision of 0.5-3.5 cm, and the lead is implanted in the cochlea (which is a tunnel), but is also configured to be placed in a tunnel toward an inion, if so desired by a user. The recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 13, the lead can be located near an occipital nerve, if so desired by a user. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 18, the housing comprises flexible portion 50 and or flexible portion 10 that conforms to a location of the subject’s skin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woods in view of Pilarski et al. (US 2010/0179561, hereinafter Pilarski)
Woods, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but is silent as to the lead having a tine. However, Pilarski also discloses a nerve stimulation device, and thus is analogous art with Woods (par. 0030). Pilarski discloses that the a lead can include a tine that can resist withdrawal/displacement of the lead (par. 0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Woods a tine of the lead as taught by Pilarski that can resist withdrawal/displacement of the lead.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woods in view of Armstrong et al. (US 2011/0288615, hereinafter Armstrong).
Woods, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but is silent as to utilizing an energy harvesting unit for deriving power from thermal or kinetic energy. However, Armstrong also discloses a nerve stimulation device, and thus is analogous art with Woods (par. 0004). Armstrong discloses that the implanted system can be powered using an energy harvesting unit external to the body that harvests energy from heat or motion (par. 0065). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Woods to include an energy harvesting unit for deriving power from thermal or kinetic energy to power the implanted device as taught by Armstrong since such energy sources never run out of power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796