DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12 are under examination.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
3. Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Claims 1-10 and 12 are directed to a method and device for presenting an image. As described in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S._, 134 S. Cr. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014), a two-step analysis is required in considering the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter. The first step requires determining if the claimed subject matter is directed to a judicial exception. The instant claims require the converting expression levels of microRNA into image data in a matrix of two dimensions or more, classifying the image data, and generating an image representing the contribution of a specific part of the image data to the classification. However, creating a graphical image of microRNA expression level can be done mentally with a pen and paper. Mental steps are a judicial exception. Dependent claims 2-5, 9, 10 recite additional mental steps or mathematical algorithm (Levenshtein distance).The courts have found mathematical algorithms to be drawn to the judicial exception of an abstract idea (In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The instant claims do not recite an element that reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, an element that applies the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, an element that implements the judicial exception with a particular machine, or an element that effects a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing. The instant claims recite an image generation device and a display unit. However, the instant claims do recite not any structural limitations of the device or display unit. Thus, the instant claims do not recite a particular machine. The instant claims also recite displaying images and acquiring images. These are extra solution data gathering and output steps. Such extra solution steps are not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The second part of the analysis requires determining if the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The instant claims recite the additional elements of a device, display unit, acquiring images and displaying images. However, these elements are well-understood, conventional and routine (Specification, pages 32-34). Reciting such well-understood, routine, and conventional elements do not transform a judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. In addition, the recitation of the specific types of data, to be used in the judicial exception, does not transform the abstract idea into a non-abstract idea. (See buySAFE, Inc. v Google, Inc. 765 F.3d 1350, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1093 (Fed.Cir.2014)). Furthermore, the elements taken as a combination are also well-understood, routine, and conventional, since the elements are merely specifying gathering data and a device to implement to judicial exception. Thus, the instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barry et al. (US 2014/0113978 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 7, and 12, Barry et al. disclose a method and device that includes an imaging unit configured to convert data representing an expression level for each microRNA type into image-rendition data serving as data representing a matrix of two dimensions or more (paragraph [0022]); classification unit configured to perform classification of the image-rendition data (paragraph [0131]); and a contribution-presentation-image generation unit configured to generate a contribution-presentation image representing a contribution of a specific part of the image-rendition data to the classification (paragraphs [0022], [0131], and Fig. 8). In addition, Barry et al. teach generating a grounds-presentation image presenting grounds of the classification in a two dimensional image (paragraph [0022], Fig. 8). Furthermore, Barry et al. teach where device includes a display (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Barry et al. disclose calculating values of the elements of the matrix representing the image-rendition data based on the expression levels of the microRNA types assigned to the elements of the matrix (paragraph [0022] and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Barry et al. disclose a display unit that displays the contribution-presentation image with a typical contribution-presentation image (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Barry et al. disclose where the classification unit classifies the image rendition data in to a healthy class or disease class (paragraph [0131]).
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685