DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 October 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0020] recites “Shottky barrier” in line 13 (see the Pre-Grant Publication No. 20230216432 of the examined application.)
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 of claim 23 recites “a device according to claim 1”, this limitation is improper because claim 1 already discloses the same.
Claims 2-18 recite “The device of claim” in lines 1, “The device of claim” should be changed to “The triboelectric generator and storage device of claim” to avoid problem of insufficient antecedent basic.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the semiconductor substrate" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-18, 23-24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20090066195 from IDS of 17 October 2022).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049) discloses a triboelectric generator and storage device (flexible substrate-based nano-generator), comprising: a first contact member (130) made from a first material (silver, [0029] the first conductive contact 130 and the second conductive contact 132 could include a metal, such as silver); and a second contact member (132) in slidable contact ([0049] By holding the two ends of one fiber, and sliding the other fiber back and forth, a relative brushing motion between the two fibers produced output current due to a coupled piezoelectric-semiconducting properties.) with the first contact member (130), and wherein the second contact member (132) is made from a second material (ZnO, [0029] the first conductive contact 130 and the second conductive contact 132 could include a metal, such as silver. [0036] The materials of the metal strips 330 and 332 are chosen so that one type forms Schottky contact with ZnO and the other form Ohmic contact with ZnO) forming a Schottky barrier with the first material (130, [0031] a Schottky barrier is created between the piezoelectric fine wire 120 and the first conductive contact 130 and the second conductive contact 132.)
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses the first material is a conductor material (silver) or a semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses the first material comprises a metal (silver), a metal alloy, a conducting composite, or a semiconducting material.
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0043], [0049]) discloses the first contact member (130) comprises a tip ([0043]), and wherein the tip ([0043]) of the first contact member (130) is disposed on the second contact member (132) in a point- plane configuration (FIG. 5A and FIG. 5B: 510 and 553 make a point- plane configuration), wherein Schottky contact (Schottky contact with ZnO) exists between the tip of the first contact member (130) and the second contact member (132) ([0043] When these the first type of strand 500 moves laterally relative to the second type of strand 540, the piezoelectric nanowires 510 in the first type of strand 500 bend, thereby generating a voltage potential across them. Contact with the metallic tips 553 creates a Schottky barrier that acts as a diode.)
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses the first contact member (130) comprises a surface, and wherein the surface of the first contact member (130) is disposed on the second contact member (132) in a plane-plane configuration, wherein Schottky contact (Schottky contact with ZnO) exists between the surface of the first contact member (130) and the second contact member (132) ([0036] An alternating plurality of conductive metal contact strips 330 of a first type and conductive metal strips of a second type 332 are then placed on top of the piezoelectric fine wires 320, thereby securing them to the substrate 310. The materials of the metal strips 330 and 332 are chosen so that one type forms Schottky contact with ZnO and the other form Ohmic contact with ZnO.)
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses the surface of the first contact member (130) is a planar surface (330).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses the second contact member (132) includes an insulator (112) on a surface in contact with the first contact member (130) ([[0036] Also as shown in FIG. 3, the entire structure may be packaged inside a thin insulating layer 112 such as a layer of a wax or a flexible polymer to maintain its physical stability during the deformation of the substrate 110 and exposure to the environment.)
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049], [0050]) discloses the second contact member (132) has a thickness of 1- 100 nm, inclusive ([0050] A 100 nm-thick ZnO seed layer was uniformly coated around the fiber using magnetron sputtering.)
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses comprising a second electrode ([0036] The materials of the metal strips 330 and 332 are chosen so that one type forms Schottky contact with ZnO and the other form Ohmic contact with ZnO.) in Ohmic contact with the second contact member (132).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0009], [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses a substrate ([0009] an elongated substrate) on which the second contact member (132) is disposed ([0009] an elongated substrate …. a second conductive contact secures the second end of the fine wire to a second portion of the substrate.)
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0009], [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses the substrate ([0009] an elongated substrate) is made from a semiconductor material ([0049] The double-fiber NG was assembled by entangling a fiber covered with as-grown nanowires around the other fiber covered with gold coated nanowires. By holding the two ends of one fiber, and sliding the other fiber back and forth, a relative brushing motion between the two fibers produced output current due to a coupled piezoelectric-semiconducting properties.), such as, a p-type doped material, an n-type doped material, a conducting polymer, etc.
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0041], [0049]) discloses the substrate ([0009] an elongated substrate) comprises an organic material, an inorganic material, or an organic/inorganic composite material ([0041] To maintain the high flexibility of the fiber core 512 after applying the seed layer 516 and growing the nanowires 510, a first layer of tetraethoxysilane (TEOS) 514 is infiltrated below the seed layer 516 and a second layer of TEOS 518 is infiltrated above the seed layer 516 near the base of the nanowires 510. The Si--O bonds in TEOS are highly reactive with the OH.sup.- groups on the ZnO surface, and organic chains of the TEOS firmly bind to the body of the aromatic polyamide fiber core 512.)
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0049]) discloses a second electrode in Ohmic contact ([0036] An alternating plurality of conductive metal contact strips 330 of a first type and conductive metal strips of a second type 332 are then placed on top of the piezoelectric fine wires 320, thereby securing them to the substrate 310. The materials of the metal strips 330 and 332 are chosen so that one type forms Schottky contact with ZnO and the other form Ohmic contact with ZnO.) with the substrate ([0009] an elongated substrate).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0033], [0036], [0049]) discloses one or more of the first contact member (130), the second contact member (132), and the substrate ([0009] an elongated substrate) are flexible ([0033] the flexible generator was fabricated by bonding a ZnO piezoelectric fine wire 120 laterally on the substrate 110…. Silver paste was applied at both ends of the ZnO piezoelectric fine wire to fix its two ends tightly on a flexible substrate.)
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0045], [0049]) discloses the first contact member (130) and/or the second contact member (132) is flexible and comprises a semiconducting polymer, a graphene-polymer nanocomposite, or a perovskite material ([0045] the gold coated ZnO nanowires acted as an array of scanning metal tips that deflected the ZnO nanowires rooted at the other strand. A coupled piezoelectric and semiconducting property resulted in the charge creation and accumulation and charge release process….. When there was a relative sliding/deflection between them, the bending of the uncoated ZnO nanowires produced a piezoelectric potential across their width, and the gold coated nanowires acted as the "zigzag" electrode as for the DC nanogenerator).
Regarding claim 23, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0045], [0049], [0050]) discloses a method of generating an electrical potential difference (Wang et al. discloses an apparatus at its normal operation performs a method of generating an electrical potential difference), comprising:
providing a device (flexible substrate-based nano-generators) according to claim 1 and
sliding the first contact member (130), thereby exciting an interface (120) between the first contact member (130) and the second contact member (132), thereby generating a charge ([0030] when the substrate 110 is bent, the piezoelectric fine wire 120 is also bent, thereby inducing a charge differential across the piezoelectric fine wire 120, which results in a voltage potential between the first conductive contact 130 and the second conductive contact 132.) at the interface, the charge tunneling through the second contact member (132) and producing the electrical potential difference between the first contact member (130) and the semiconductor substrate (110 or 310, Zinc Oxide (ZnO) is both a piezoelectric material and a semiconductor.)
Regarding claim 24, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0034], [0036], [0045], [0049], [0050]) discloses the electrical potential difference is output as direct current ([0034] Due to the piezoelectric property of ZnO, a piezoelectric potential field was created along the piezoelectric fine wire 120, which drove the flow of electrons in the external circuit 140.)
Regarding claim 28, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0045], [0049], [0050]) discloses the sliding is linear motion, rotational motion, a combination of linear and rotation motion, other motion ([0010] that relative motion between the first elongated strand and the second elongated strand), or random motion ([0049] a relative brushing motion between the two fibers produced output current due to a coupled piezoelectric-semiconducting properties.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20090066195 from IDS of 17 October 2022) in view of Zhang et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20170054067 from IDS of 17 October 2022).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. (e. g. see [0036]) discloses the insulator (112) but is silent about the insulator is a dielectric material.
However, Zhang et al. (e.g. see [0074]-[0076]) teaches the insulator is a dielectric material (silicon dioxide SiO2 insulating layer 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the insulator of Wang et al. to include “the insulator is a dielectric material” as taught by Zhang et al. for the purpose of regulating and controlling the electric current in semiconductors ([0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. (e. g. see [0029], [0036]) discloses the insulator (112) on the second contact member (132) but is silent about the insulator is an oxide layer.
However, Zhang et al. (e.g. see [0074]-[0076]) teaches the insulator is an oxide layer (silicon dioxide SiO2 insulating layer 20. SiO2 also known as silica, is an oxide material.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the insulator of Wang et al. to include “the insulator is an oxide layer” as taught by Zhang et al. for the purpose of regulating and controlling the electric current in semiconductors ([0074]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. (e. g. see [0029]) discloses the second material (the material of second contact 132), but is silent about the second material comprises silicon, molybdenum disulfide, silicon dioxide, titanium dioxide, aluminum oxide, or a polymer.
However, Zhang et al. (e.g. see) teaches the second material (42) comprises silicon, molybdenum disulfide, silicon dioxide, titanium dioxide, aluminum oxide, or a polymer ([0038] the movable friction layer 42 is made of polyimide (Kapton) organic polymer material.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the insulator of Wang et al. to include “the second material comprises silicon, molybdenum disulfide, silicon dioxide, titanium dioxide, aluminum oxide, or a polymer” as taught by Zhang et al. for the purpose of reducing manufacturing procedures and increasing the production yield ([0030]).
Since Wang et al. and Zhang et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (insulator for semiconductor circuit), the purpose disclosed by Zhang et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Wang et al.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20090066195 from IDS of 17 October 2022) in view of Tsuge et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20050030264).
Regarding claim 25, Wang et al. does not disclose the direct current output has a current density of 10 to 100 A/m2.
However, Tsuge et al. (e.g. see [0476]) teaches the direct current output has a current density of 10 to 100 A/m2 ([0476] the current passed through EL device 15 had a current density of from 50 to 100 A/m2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application, to modify the flexible nanogenerator of Wang et al. to include “the direct current output has a current density of 10 to 100 A/m2” as taught by Tsuge et al. for the purpose of estimating a wide range of current density to determine the light-emitting surface areas of the pixel electrodes for the respective color ([0476]).
Since Wang et al. and Tsuge et al. are both from the same field of endeavor (controlling current density), the purpose disclosed by Tsuge et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Wang et al.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20090066195 from IDS of 17 October 2022).
Regarding claim 26, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0045], [0049], [0050]) discloses energy harvesting using the direct current output ([0049] a relative brushing motion between the two fibers produced output current due to a coupled piezoelectric-semiconducting properties. The brushing motion between two fibers that produces an electric current typically involves piezoelectricity and/or triboelectricity, the mechanisms behind new forms of energy harvesting.)
Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose storing energy in a battery or capacitor. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date or the priority date of the application to store energy in a battery or capacitor as the backup energy storage systems for multiple devices. Furthermore, it is well known in the art that para-aramid fibers like Kevlar ([0039] of Wang et al. As shown in FIG. 5A a first type of strand 500 may employ a fiber core 512, such as a para-aramid synthetic fiber (such as Kevlar.RTM. 129 fibers, available from Dupont), which has high strength, modulus, toughness and thermal stability.) can store and absorb energy, primarily mechanical impact energy, by dissipating it through fiber stretching, breaking, and network interaction, making them excellent for body armor and protective gear, newer research also modifies them (e.g., with MXene) to store electrical energy in supercapacitors.
Regarding claim 27, Wang et al. (e. g. see FIG. 1A, FIG. 3, [0029], [0031], [0036], [0045], [0049], [0050]) discloses storing energy in the device using the direct current output ([0049] a relative brushing motion between the two fibers produced output current due to a coupled piezoelectric-semiconducting properties. The brushing motion between two fibers that produces an electric current typically involves piezoelectricity and/or triboelectricity, the mechanisms behind new forms of energy harvesting.)
Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose storing energy in the device. However, it is well known in the art that para-aramid fibers like Kevlar ([0039] of Wang et al. As shown in FIG. 5A a first type of strand 500 may employ a fiber core 512, such as a para-aramid synthetic fiber (such as Kevlar.RTM. 129 fibers, available from Dupont), which has high strength, modulus, toughness and thermal stability.) can store and absorb energy, primarily mechanical impact energy, by dissipating it through fiber stretching, breaking, and network interaction, making them excellent for body armor and protective gear, newer research also modifies them (e.g., with MXene) to store electrical energy in supercapacitors.
Examiner’s Note:
In this Office Action, Examiner has cited particular figures, column numbers, paragraph numbers, and line numbers of the prior arts applied in the rejections. However, other figures and passages of the same prior arts may anticipate the claim limitations as well. Therefore, Applicants are respectfully requested to consider the prior arts in their entirety as potentially teaching claimed invention.
For amendment purpose, Applicants are very much appreciated for indicating the portion(s) of the specification which dictates the structure(s) relied on for proper interpretation as well as for verification and determination of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicants’ indication of the specific figures and items of figures which represent features of the invention disclosed in the amended claims, is also expected.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art(s) is/are provided and made of record by the Examiner as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon, the examiner requests that the reference(s) be considered in any subsequent amendments, as the reference(s) is also representative of the teachings of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsiao et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20200358373) discloses a cost-effective and efficient triboelectricity to convert mechanical movement, such as bending, sliding, and contact, into electricity. Power generation from triboelectric nanogenerators (called herein TENG) requires two materials of different dielectric constants and consistent mechanical motion (continuous or sporadic) to induce equal but opposite charges on the surfaces of the triboelectric device.
Contact Information
9 December 2025
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837