DETAILED ACTION
Election of Species and Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election of “compound 17” as the “single composition that selectively inhibits Akt3” in the response filed on October 17th 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5 and 8-22 are pending. Claims 2, 4-5, 12, 15-20, and 22 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed towards nonelected species until a generic claim has been found allowable (Note that claims 2 and 12 are directed towards a composition containing active agents other than compound 17). Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on March 28th 2025, October 8th 2024, May 5th 2024, March 11th 2024, November 22nd 2023, and August 11th 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1 and its dependent claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khleif (U.S. Patent No. 10,342,868 issued on July 9th 2019) in view of Mehta-Shah (Mehta-Shah et al. Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma. JOP 13, 487-492(2017)).
Claims 1, 3, 13-16, and 21 are directed towards the treatment of adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma (ATLL)via the administration of applicant’s elected species,
.
Khleif teaches the same compound (Khleif, col. 12, compound 18) as an AKT3 inhibitor for the treatment of leukemias and lymphomas (Khleif, col. 28).
Khleif does not explicitly state that the leukemia/lymphoma is ATLL, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in treating ATLL with the above compound, because the leukemias/lymphomas treated by Khleif match the characteristic profile with ATLLs. Specifically of interest, Khleif defines the compound as being useful for the treatment of infections, including human T-lymphotrophic virus (HTLV) (Khleif, col. 28). Notably, this infection is described in the art as being the primary cause of ATLL. See Mehta-Shah:
“Adult T-cell lymphoma/leukemia (ATL) is a rare lymphoproliferative neoplasm of mature CD4+ CD25+ T cells caused by infection with the retrovirus human T-lymphotropic virus type 1 (HTLV-1)”
[Mehta-Shah, pg. 487]
“ATL remains a rare T-cell lymphoma caused by infection with HTLV-1.”
[Mehta-Shah, pg. 491]
As one of one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of treating leukemia caused by HTLV-1 infection via administration of applicant’s compound (see Khleif) and would recognize such a leukemia as ATLL (see Mehta-Shah), , claims 1, 3, 13-16, and 21 are prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 requires that the ATLL of claim 1 is caused by HTLV-1, and is prima facie obvious for the same reasons as claim 1.
Claim 9 requires that, in the method of claim 1, the immune suppressive function reduced is either nTreg or iTreg. As Khleif teaches the reduction of each of nTreg and iTreg (Khleif, col. 3), claim 9 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 10 limits the immune suppressive function of nTreg in claim 9 to be the secretion of one or more anti-inflammatory cytokines, which is also taught by Khleif (Khleif, col. 3), rendering claim 10 prima facie obvious.
Claim 11 limits the anti-inflammatory cytokines of claim 10 to IL10, TGF-beta, or a combination thereof. Khleif teaches each of these anti-inflammatory cytokines (Khleif, col. 3), and claim 11 is prima facie obvious.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,292,978. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the reduction of suppressive immune response and treatment of hematologic cancers (thus encompassing ATLL) via administration of a composition that comprises applicant’s elected species.
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,525,049. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the treatment of hematologic cancers (thus encompassing ATLL) via administration of a composition that comprises applicant’s elected species.
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,013,735 in view of Mehta-Shah (Mehta-Shah et al. Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma. JOP 13, 487-492(2017)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the treatment of infectious diseases caused by virus via administration of a composition that comprises applicant’s elected species. Such viruses are said to include HTLV (reference patent, col. 29), which is known in the art to cause ATLL (Mehta-Shah, pg. 487).
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,342,868. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons stated in the above 103 rejection.
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,588,966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the treatment of hematologic cancers (thus encompassing ATLL) via administration of a composition that comprises applicant’s elected species.
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13-16, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,980,878. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches the treatment of hematologic cancers (thus encompassing ATLL) via administration of a composition that comprises applicant’s elected species.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629