Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A letter requesting for an interview has been submitted with the request for continued examination. After communication with Applicant’s representative, Applicant’s representative indicated that an interview was not needed at the moment. Accordingly, no interview was conducted.
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 13 – 14, 18, 21 – 22, and 24 – 25 are pending in this application, wherein claims 1, 6 – 7, 18, and 21 are amended, claims 2 – 5, 9 – 12, 15 – 17, 19 – 20, and 23 are canceled, and claim 25 is new.
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 13 – 14, 18, 21 – 22, and 24 – 25 are currently examined.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/US21/30402, filed May 3, 2021, which claims benefit of domestic application 63/021,206, filed May 7, 2020.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 13 – 15, and 17 – 22 in the previous Office Action, dated March 31, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Daver et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 excluding leukemia from the recited cancers.
The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 13 – 15, 18 – 22, and 24 in the previous Office Action, dated March 31, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Rico has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 excluding leukemia from the recited cancers.
The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5 – 10, 15, and 18 – 22 in the previous Office Action, dated March 31, 2026, on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 – 10 and 13 – 16 of U.S. Patent No. 7399754B2 in view of Shtivelman et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 excluding leukemia from the recited cancers.
The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 13 – 15, and 17 – 22 in the previous Office Action, dated March 31, 2026, on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of copending Application No. 17/788,338 in view of Daver et al. has been considered and is withdrawn as the copending application has been abandoned.
The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 13 – 15, 18 – 22, and 24 in the previous Office Action, dated March 31, 2026, on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 – 17 and 20 of copending Application No. 17/788,338 in view of Rico has been considered and is withdrawn as the copending application has been abandoned.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 18, line 9, “,” immediately after “Y is hydrogen” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 13 – 14, 18, 21 – 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US7399754B2, cited in the PTO-892 on September 10, 2025) in view of Xie et al. (Cancer Science, 2017, Vol. 108, Issue 7, page 1476 – 1484, PTO-892) and Sai et al. (Clinical Cancer Research, 2017, Vol. 23, Issue 13, page 3371 – 3384, PTO-892).
Wu teaches compounds of formula (A):
,
and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compound of formula (A), methods for treating cancer, and the methods for the synthesis (Abstract). In one embodiment, the compound of formula (A) is (Col. 5, lines 10 – 20):
,
which corresponds to the claimed compound of formula (I) of claims 7 – 8 and 21 – 22, where it also satisfies the structure limitations of claims 1, 6, 18, and 25. The pharmaceutical composition is suitable for treating cancers and the related diseases, and may be used alone or in combination with other anti-cancer drugs (Col. 16, lines 7 – 9), wherein the cancer is breast cancer (Col. 16, line 19). The disclosure reads on the limitations “a method of treating cancer”, “administering… effective amount of a compound of formula (I)”, and “breast cancer” of claims 1 and 18 and “pharmaceutically acceptable composition” of claim 18.
However, Wu does not explicitly teach the compound of formula (I) is in combination with a PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody, wherein the PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody is an antibody targeting PD-1 or PD-L1, wherein the antibody targeting PD-1 or PD-L1 is the compounds recited in claims 13 – 14.
Xie et al. teach puquitinib, which is a novel, orally available PI3Kδ inhibitor (Abstract), and disclose the structure of puquitinib in salt form (page 1478, Figure 1(a)):
.
The puquitinib structure disclosed by Xie corresponds to the compound disclosed by Wu. Thus, Xie et al. further establish that the compound disclosed by Wu possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity.
Sai et al. teach combining PI3K inhibition with anti-PD1 as viable therapeutic approach for triple negative breast cancer (Abstract). Sai et al. teach that inhibition of PI3K using pan-PI3K inhibitor BKM120 in combination with an anti-PD1 antibody markedly impairs tumor growth and induces tumor regression. Sai et al. further teach that these results support clinical trials combining anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors with pan-PI3K inhibitors for the treatment of cancer. Sai et al. specifically identify pembrolizumab as an anti-PD-1 antibody and atezolizumab as an anti-PD-L1 antibody (page 13, para. 4; page 14, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the compound taught by Wu and further characterized by Xie et al. as a PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Sai et al. for the treatment of breast cancer because Wu teaches the compound for treating breast cancer and further taches that compound may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs. Xie et al. establish that the compound disclosed by Wu possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity. Sai et al. teach PI3K inhibition in combination with immune checkpoint blockade as a therapeutic approach for breast cancer and specifically teach combining PI3K inhibition with anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wu, Xie et al., and Sai et al. because Xie et al. identify the anticancer compound of Wu as a PI3Kδ inhibitor and Sai et al. teach that targeting the PI3K pathway in combination with immune checkpoint blockade provides enhanced antitumor activity in breast cancer. In particular, Sai et al. teach that treatment with the pan-PI3K inhibitor BKM120 in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody marked impairs breast tumor growth and induces tumor regression and further teach that these results support clinical trials combining anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors with PI3K inhibitors for treatment of breast cancer. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the PI3Kδ-inhibiting compound of Wu, as characterized by Xie et al., with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Sai et al. in order to enhance the antitumor effect in treating breast cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the combination because Wu teaches that the claimed compound of formula (I) is useful for treating breast cancer and may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs, while Sai et al. experimentally demonstrate that PI3K inhibition in combination with anti-PD-1 checkpoint blockade markedly impairs breast tumor growth and induces tumor regression. Sai et al. further teach that the results support combining PI3K inhibitors with anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors for treatment of breast cancer. Accordingly, the teachings of the prior art would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation that combining the PI3Kδ-inhibiting compound of Wu with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody would provide an effective treatment for breast cancer.
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 18, 21 – 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US7399754B2, cited in the PTO-892 on September 10, 2025) in view of Xie et al. (Cancer Science, 2017, Vol. 108, Issue 7, page 1476 – 1484, PTO-892) and Kang et al. (Cancer Research, 2019, PTO-892).
Wu teaches compounds of formula (A):
,
and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compound of formula (A), methods for treating cancer, and the methods for the synthesis (Abstract). In one embodiment, the compound of formula (A) is (Col. 5, lines 10 – 20):
,
which corresponds to the claimed compound of formula (I) of claims 7 – 8 and 21 – 22, where it also satisfies the structure limitations of claims 1, 6, and 18. The pharmaceutical composition is suitable for treating cancers and the related diseases, and may be used alone or in combination with other anti-cancer drugs (Col. 16, lines 7 – 9), wherein the cancer is colon cancer (Col. 16, line 19). The disclosure reads on the limitations “a method of treating cancer”, “administering… effective amount of a compound of formula (I)”, and “colon cancer” of claims 1, 18, and 24 and “pharmaceutically acceptable composition” of claim 18.
However, Wu does not explicitly teach the compound of formula (I) is in combination with a PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody.
Xie et al. teach puquitinib, which is a novel, orally available PI3Kδ inhibitor (Abstract), and disclose the structure of puquitinib in salt form (page 1478, Figure 1(a)):
.
The puquitinib structure disclosed by Xie corresponds to the compound disclosed by Wu. Thus, Xie et al. further establish that the compound disclosed by Wu possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity.
Kang et al. teach YH25248, a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor, for the treatment of cancer (Title). Kang et al. teach that YH25248 significantly inhibitor tumor growth in a CT26 colon carcinoma mouse model and reduces regulatory T cells while increasing CD8+ T cells. Kang et al. further teach that, in the CT26 colon carcinoma model, YH25248 in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody results in substantially greater tumor growth inhibition and supports the use of PI3Kδ inhibitors in combination with immune checkpoint inhibitors to increase therapeutic response rates. In this model, YH25248 shows synergistic efficacy with an anti-PD-L1 antibody (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the compound taught by Wu and further characterized by Xie et al. as a PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Kang et al. for the treatment of colon cancer because Wu teaches the compound for treating colon cancer and further teaches that compound may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs. Xie et al. establish that the compound disclosed by Wu possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity. Kang et al. teach that a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody provides enhanced antitumor efficacy in a CT26 colon carcinoma model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wu, Xie et al., and Kang et al. because Xie et al. identify the anticancer compound of Wu as a PI3Kδ inhibitor and Kang et al. teach that selective PI3Kδ inhibition in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody exhibits synergistic antitumor efficacy in CT26 colon carcinoma model. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the PI3Kδ inhibiting compound of Wu, as characterized by Xie et al., in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Kang et al. in order to obtain enhanced antitumor effect in treating colon cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wu teaches that the claimed compound of formula (I) is useful for treating colon cancer and may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs, while Kang et al. demonstrate synergistic antitumor efficacy when a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor is combined with an anti-PD-L1 antibody in a CT26 colon carcinoma model. Accordingly, the teachings of the prior art would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation that combining the PI3Kδ-inhibiting compound of Wu with an anti-PD-L1 antibody would provide an improved effective treatment for colon cancer.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed July 30, 2026, have been considered. To the extent Applicant’s arguments are directed to the prior rejections based on Wu in view of Daver et al. and Wu in view of Rico, the arguments are moot because those rejections have been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s arguments concerning motivation to combine, reasonable expectation of success, and unexpected results remain relevant to the present rejection and are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to provide a sufficient reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the compound of Wu with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody and that the mere fact that individual agents are useful for treating cancer is insufficient to establish a reason to combine them. However, the argument is not persuasive. The present rejection does not rely merely on the independent anticancer activity of the individual agents. Instead, Xie et al. establish that the compound disclosed by Wu possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity, while Sai et al. and Kang et al. provide specific teachings for combining PI3K inhibition with immune checkpoint blockade for the treatment of cancer, as discussed in the respective rejections above. Accordingly, the present rejections provide an articulated reason for making the claimed combinations.
Applicant argues that cancer combination therapies are unpredictable and that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably expected the claimed combination to successfully treat cancer. Applicant further argues that potential differences in mechanism of action, dosing, toxicity, and drug interactions would have created uncertainty regarding the effectiveness of the claimed combination. However, the argument is not persuasive. A reasonable expectation of success does not require absolute predictability or an expectation of the precise degree of therapeutic enhancement. Wu teaches that the claimed compound of formula (I) is useful for treating cancer and may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs, Xie et al. establish that the compound possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity, and Sai et al. and Kang et al. specifically teach combining PI3K inhibition with PD-1 or PD-L1 checkpoint blockade to obtain enhanced anticancer activity. Accordingly, the teachings of the prior art would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation that the claimed combination would provide an effective anticancer treatment. A reasonable expectation of success does not require predictability of the precise magnitude of the therapeutic response.
Applicant argues that Example 1 of the specification demonstrates unexpected synergistic antitumor activity resulting from the combination of Compound A and an anti-PD-1 antibody in a CT-26 colon cancer model. Applicant contends that the demonstrated synergy constitutes objective evidence of nonobviousness. However, the argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Kang et al. teach that a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with immune checkpoint blockade exhibits synergistic antitumor efficacy in a CT26 colon carcinoma model. Xie et al. further establish that the compound disclosed by Wu possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity. Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the prior art already taught that combining selective PI3Kδ inhibition with immune checkpoint blockade would provide synergistic antitumor activity in the same type of colon cancer model relied upon by Applicant. Accordingly, although the results presented in Example 1 have been considered, the asserted synergistic effect does not establish a result that would have been unexpected in view of the prior art.
Applicant further argues that the amended claims are commensurate in scope with the results demonstrated in Example 1 and relies on In re Clemens for the proposition that evidence relating to a particular species may be sufficient to establish unexpected results for a broader claimed scope. The argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Although evidence concerning a particular species may be relevant to a broader claimed scope, the evidence must be reasonably commensurate in scope with the claims. Example 1 evaluates Compound A in combination with a particular anti-PD-1 antibody in a CT-26 colon cancer model. The claims, however, encompass additional compounds within formula (I), combinations with either anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibodies, and, for claim 1, multiple cancer types. Applicant has not provided sufficient evidence or technical reasoning establishing that the particular results obtained in Example 1 are reasonably representative of the full scope of the claimed combinations. Therefore, Applicant’s evidence has been considered but does not establish unexpected results commensurate with the full scope of the claims. Furthermore, even assuming that the results of Example 1 are commensurate in scope with the claims, the evidence does not establish unexpected results sufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. As discussed above Kang et al. teach that a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with immune checkpoint blockade exhibits synergistic antitumor efficacy in a CT26 colon carcinoma model. Thus, the synergistic antitumor activity relied upon by Applicant was already taught by the prior art. Accordingly, even if the results of Example 1 are considered commensurate in scope with the claims, the asserted synergistic effect does not establish a result that would have been unexpected in view of the prior art and does not outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 13 – 14, 18, 21 – 22, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 – 10 and 13 – 15 of U.S. Patent No. 7399754B2 in view of Xie et al. (Cancer Science, 2017, Vol. 108, Issue 7, page 1476 – 1484, PTO-892) and Sai et al. (Clinical Cancer Research, 2017, Vol. 23, Issue 13, page 3371 – 3384, PTO-892).
‘754B2 claims compounds of the following formula:
,
wherein W is C3 cycloalkyl; Y is H; and Q is
,
wherein B, E, G, R, T, and M are H (claims 1, 5, and 7 – 8). ‘754B2 teaches that W is cyclopropyl (claims 4 and 6 – 7). In one embodiment, the compound is (claims 9 – 10):
.
‘754B2 also claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound (claim 13) and the pharmaceutical composition is suitable for treating cancers, wherein the cancer is breast cancer (claims 14 – 15).
However, ‘754B2 does not explicitly claim the compound of formula (I) is in combination with a PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody, wherein the PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody is an antibody targeting PD-1 or PD-L1, wherein the antibody targeting PD-1 or PD-L1 is the compounds recited in claims 13 – 14.
Xie et al. teach puquitinib, which is a novel, orally available PI3Kδ inhibitor (Abstract), and disclose the structure of puquitinib in salt form (page 1478, Figure 1(a)):
.
The puquitinib structure disclosed by Xie corresponds to the compound disclosed by ‘754B2. Thus, Xie et al. further establish that the compound disclosed by ‘754B2 possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity.
Sai et al. teach combining PI3K inhibition with anti-PD1 as viable therapeutic approach for triple negative breast cancer (Abstract). Sai et al. teach that inhibition of PI3K using pan-PI3K inhibitor BKM120 in combination with an anti-PD1 antibody markedly impairs tumor growth and induces tumor regression. Sai et al. further teach that these results support clinical trials combining anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors with pan-PI3K inhibitors for the treatment of cancer. Sai et al. specifically identify pembrolizumab as an anti-PD-1 antibody and atezolizumab as an anti-PD-L1 antibody (page 13, para. 4; page 14, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the compound taught by ‘754B2 and further characterized by Xie et al. as a PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Sai et al. for the treatment of breast cancer because ‘754B2 teaches the compound for treating breast cancer and further taches that compound may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs. Xie et al. establish that the compound disclosed by ‘754B2 possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity. Sai et al. teach PI3K inhibition in combination with immune checkpoint blockade as a therapeutic approach for breast cancer and specifically teach combining PI3K inhibition with anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of ‘754B2, Xie et al., and Sai et al. because Xie et al. identify the anticancer compound of ‘754B2 as a PI3Kδ inhibitor and Sai et al. teach that targeting the PI3K pathway in combination with immune checkpoint blockade provides enhanced antitumor activity in breast cancer. In particular, Sai et al. teach that treatment with the pan-PI3K inhibitor BKM120 in combination with an anti-PD-1 antibody marked impairs breast tumor growth and induces tumor regression and further teach that these results support clinical trials combining anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors with PI3K inhibitors for treatment of breast cancer. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the PI3Kδ-inhibiting compound of ‘754B2, as characterized by Xie et al., with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Sai et al. in order to enhance the antitumor effect in treating breast cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the combination because ‘754B2 teaches that the claimed compound of formula (I) is useful for treating breast cancer and may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs, while Sai et al. experimentally demonstrate that PI3K inhibition in combination with anti-PD-1 checkpoint blockade markedly impairs breast tumor growth and induces tumor regression. Sai et al. further teach that the results support combining PI3K inhibitors with anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 checkpoint inhibitors for treatment of breast cancer. Accordingly, the teachings of the prior art would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation that combining the PI3Kδ-inhibiting compound of ‘754B2 with an anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody would provide an effective treatment for breast cancer.
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 18, 21 – 22, and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 – 10 and 13 – 15 of U.S. Patent No. 7399754B2 in view of Xie et al. (Cancer Science, 2017, Vol. 108, Issue 7, page 1476 – 1484, PTO-892) and Kang et al. (Cancer Research, 2019, PTO-892).
‘754B2 claims compounds of the following formula:
,
wherein W is C3 cycloalkyl; Y is H; and Q is
,
wherein B, E, G, R, T, and M are H (claims 1, 5, and 7 – 8). ‘754B2 teaches that W is cyclopropyl (claims 4 and 6 – 7). In one embodiment, the compound is (claims 9 – 10):
.
‘754B2 also claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound (claim 13) and the pharmaceutical composition is suitable for treating cancers, wherein the cancer is colon cancer (claims 14 – 15).
However, ‘754B2 does not explicitly teach the compound of formula (I) is in combination with a PD-1 or PD-L1 antibody.
Xie et al. teach puquitinib, which is a novel, orally available PI3Kδ inhibitor (Abstract), and disclose the structure of puquitinib in salt form (page 1478, Figure 1(a)):
.
The puquitinib structure disclosed by Xie corresponds to the compound disclosed by ‘754B2. Thus, Xie et al. further establish that the compound disclosed by ‘754B2 possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity.
Kang et al. teach YH25248, a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor, for the treatment of cancer (Title). Kang et al. teach that YH25248 significantly inhibitor tumor growth in a CT26 colon carcinoma mouse model and reduces regulatory T cells while increasing CD8+ T cells. Kang et al. further teach that, in the CT26 colon carcinoma model, YH25248 in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody results in substantially greater tumor growth inhibition and supports the use of PI3Kδ inhibitors in combination with immune checkpoint inhibitors to increase therapeutic response rates. In this model, YH25248 shows synergistic efficacy with an anti-PD-L1 antibody (Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the compound taught by ‘754B2 and further characterized by Xie et al. as a PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Kang et al. for the treatment of colon cancer because ‘754B2 teaches the compound for treating colon cancer and further teaches that compound may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs. Xie et al. establish that the compound disclosed by ‘754B2 possesses PI3Kδ inhibitory activity. Kang et al. teach that a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody exhibits synergistic antitumor efficacy in a CT26 colon carcinoma model. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of ‘754B2, Xie et al., and Kang et al. because Xie et al. identify the anticancer compound of ‘754B2 as a PI3Kδ inhibitor and Kang et al. teach that selective PI3Kδ inhibition in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody exhibits synergistic antitumor efficacy in colon cancer. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer the PI3Kδ inhibiting compound of ‘754B2, as characterized by Xie et al., in combination with an anti-PD-L1 antibody as taught by Kang et al. in order to enhance the antitumor effect in treating colon cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘754B2 teaches that the claimed compound of formula (I) is useful for treating colon cancer and may be used in combination with other anticancer drugs, while Kang et al. demonstrate synergistic antitumor efficacy when a selective PI3Kδ inhibitor is combined with an anti-PD-L1 antibody in a CT26 colon carcinoma model. Accordingly, the teachings of the prior art would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation that combining the PI3Kδ-inhibiting compound of ‘754B2 with an anti-PD-L1 antibody would provide an improved effective treatment for colon cancer.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693