DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/10/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 7-8, 14, 20-21, 31, 37-39 and 43 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 14-15, 17-21, 31-32 and 34-43 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-8, 14-15, 17-21, 31-32 and 34-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 14-15, 17-18, 20-21, 31-2, 34-35 and 37-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 23.700-07 V0.3.0 (2020-01)(Hereinafter 3GPP) in view of Stojanovski et al. (US 20220038898 A1) and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 20200145915 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE)(para.6.2.3 Procedures, " .. .the UE discovers and selects a V-SNPN as follows .. "), comprising:
receiving an indication of a list of preferred networks (para. 6.2.3.1," ... For SNPNs indicating support for access using Home SP credentials the UE retrieves the list of supported Home SP IDs and list of supported Roaming Group IDs from the SNPN's SIB.");
wherein the list identifies a priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list);
determining that a transmission from an SNPN identifies an SNPN roaming group identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPN roaming groups or identifies an SNPN identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the VSNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... "); and
registering with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier (para.6.2.3.1, " ... Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure (TS 23.502 [X], clause 4.2.2.2.2). The UE provides to the V-SNPN the SUCI of the Home SP subscription selected as described above. The UE is authenticated by the Home SP.").
However, 3GPP does not clearly teach list that includes a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for network access to a home SP to witch the UE is subscribe and one or more SNPNs to which the UE is not subscribed.
In an analogous art, Stojanovski teaches list that includes a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribe and one or more SNPNs to which the UE is not subscribed (The UE has a subscription with SP #X; the SP #X has an agreement with NPN #A, allowing UEs that have subscription with SP #X to access the services of SP #X via NPN #A; the UE has a stored “Equivalent Home Network” list that contains both SP #X and NPN #A, [0018]; merged list of HPLMN, [0023]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP with Service provider list of Stojanovski to provide a method to support identifiers for a large number of non-public networks to minimize collision likelihood between assigned identifiers in a handover/roaming scenario as suggested, Stojanovski [0003].
However, 3GPP and Stojanovski do not clearly teach wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE.
In an analogous art, Kumar teaches wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE (the communicator (120) of the UE is configured to receive a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport message comprising the SOR information from one of a first visitor public land mobile network (first VPLMN) (200a) and a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (300), [0046] and The SOR information includes a list of operator preferred PLMNs, [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP and Stojanovski with the SOR information of Kumar to provide a method and a user equipment (UE) for managing a steering of roaming (SOR) information in an automatic network selection mode in a wireless communication network as suggested, Kumar [0002].
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs identifies respective roaming group identifiers associated with the one or more SNPN roaming groups and identifies respective SNPN identifiers associated with the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the method of claim 3, wherein registering with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier comprises: registering with the SNPN based at least in part on the list that identifies the priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (Para 6.2.3.1 Based on the acquired information, the UE selects a V-SNPN as follows. Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs further identifies one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to which the UE is not subscribed (para. 5.30.2.2 "NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: -One or multiple PLMN IDs -List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to").
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs comprises: receiving the indication as part of a UE configuration update procedure for the UE (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs comprises: receiving the indication as part of a subscriber identification module over-the-air update procedure (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPP teaches the A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (para.6.2.3 Procedures, " .. .the UE discovers and selects a V-SNPN as follows .. "), comprising: one or more memories (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub, inherently discloses UE includes a memory); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (para. 6.2.1 UE to determine, inherently discloses UE includes a processor), the memory and the one or more processors which are configured, individually or in any combination to:
receive an indication of a list of preferred network (para. 6.2.3.1," ... For SNPNs indicating support for access using Home SP credentials the UE retrieves the list of supported Home SP IDs and list of supported Roaming Group IDs from the SNPN's SIB.");
wherein the list identifies a priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list);
determine that a transmission from an SNPN identifies an SNPN roaming group identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPN roaming groups or identifies an SNPN identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the V-SNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... "); and
register with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier (para.6.2.3.1, " ... Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure (TS 23.502 [X], clause 4.2.2.2.2). The UE provides to the V-SNPN the SUCI of the Home SP subscription selected as described above. The UE is authenticated by the Home SP.").
However, 3GPP does not clearly teach list the indication including a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for the network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribed and one or more SNPNs to which the UE is not subscribed.
In an analogous art, Stojanovski teaches list that includes a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), including a home SP to which the UE is subscribed, that have an agreement for the network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribed (The UE has a subscription with SP #X; the SP #X has an agreement with NPN #A, allowing UEs that have subscription with SP #X to access the services of SP #X via NPN #A; the UE has a stored “Equivalent Home Network” list that contains both SP #X and NPN #A, [0018]; merged list of HPLMN, [0023]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP with Service provider list of Stojanovski to provide a method to support identifiers for a large number of non-public networks to minimize collision likelihood between assigned identifiers in a handover/roaming scenario as suggested, Stojanovski [0003].
However, 3GPP and Stojanovski do not clearly teach wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE.
In an analogous art, Kumar teaches wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE (the communicator (120) of the UE is configured to receive a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport message comprising the SOR information from one of a first visitor public land mobile network (first VPLMN) (200a) and a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (300), [0046] and The SOR information includes a list of operator preferred PLMNs, [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP and Stojanovski with the SOR information of Kumar to provide a method and a user equipment (UE) for managing a steering of roaming (SOR) information in an automatic network selection mode in a wireless communication network as suggested, Kumar [0002].
Regarding claim 15, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs identifies respective roaming group identifiers associated with the one or more SNPN roaming groups and identifies respective SNPN identifiers associated with the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more memories and the one or more processors, to register with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier, are configured to: register with the SNPN based at least in part on the list that identifies the priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (Para 6.2.3.1 Based on the acquired information, the UE selects a V-SNPN as follows. Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure).
Regarding claim 18, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs further identifies one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to which the UE is not subscribed (para. 5.30.2.2 "NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: -One or multiple PLMN IDs -List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to").
Regarding claim 20, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein the one or more memories and the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs, are configured to: receive the indication as part of a UE configuration update procedure for the UE (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Regarding claim 21, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the UE of claim 14, wherein the one or more memories and the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs, are configured to: receive the indication as part of a subscriber identification module over-the-air update procedure (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Regarding claim 31, 3GPP teaches the A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE))(para.6.2.3 Procedures, " .. .the UE discovers and selects a V-SNPN as follows .. "), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an indication of a list of preferred networks (para. 6.2.3.1," ... For SNPNs indicating support for access using Home SP credentials the UE retrieves the list of supported Home SP IDs and list of supported Roaming Group IDs from the SNPN's SIB.");
wherein the list identifies a priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list);
determine that a transmission from an SNPN identifies an SNPN roaming group identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPN roaming groups or identifies an SNPN identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the V-SNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... "); and
register with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier (para.6.2.3.1, " ... Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure (TS 23.502 [X], clause 4.2.2.2.2). The UE provides to the V-SNPN the SUCI of the Home SP subscription selected as described above. The UE is authenticated by the Home SP.").
However, 3GPP does not clearly teach the indication including a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for the network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribed and one or more SNPNs to which the UE is not subscribed.
In an analogous art, Stojanovski teaches the indication including a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for the network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribed (The UE has a subscription with SP #X; the SP #X has an agreement with NPN #A, allowing UEs that have subscription with SP #X to access the services of SP #X via NPN #A; the UE has a stored “Equivalent Home Network” list that contains both SP #X and NPN #A, [0018]; merged list of HPLMN, [0023]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP with Service provider list of Stojanovski to provide a method to support identifiers for a large number of non-public networks to minimize collision likelihood between assigned identifiers in a handover/roaming scenario as suggested, Stojanovski [0003].
However, 3GPP and Stojanovski do not clearly teach wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE.
In an analogous art, Kumar teaches wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE (the communicator (120) of the UE is configured to receive a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport message comprising the SOR information from one of a first visitor public land mobile network (first VPLMN) (200a) and a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (300), [0046] and The SOR information includes a list of operator preferred PLMNs, [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP and Stojanovski with the SOR information of Kumar to provide a method and a user equipment (UE) for managing a steering of roaming (SOR) information in an automatic network selection mode in a wireless communication network as suggested, Kumar [0002].
Regarding claim 32, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs identifies respective roaming group identifiers associated with the one or more SNPN roaming groups and identifies respective SNPN identifiers associated with the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list).
Regarding claim 34, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 33, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the one or more processors to register with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier, cause the one or more processors to: register with the SNPN based at least in part on the list that identifies the priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (Para 6.2.3.1 Based on the acquired information, the UE selects a V-SNPN as follows. Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure).
Regarding claim 35, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs further identifies one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to which the UE is not subscribed (para. 5.30.2.2 "NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: -One or multiple PLMN IDs -List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to").
Regarding claim 37, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the one or more processors to receive the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs, cause the one or more processors to: receive the indication as part of a UE configuration update procedure for the UE (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Regarding claim 38, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the one or more processors to receive the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs, cause the one or more processors to: receive the indication as part of a subscriber identification module over-the-air update procedure (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Regarding claim 39, 3GPP teaches the An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for receiving an indication of a list of preferred networks (para. 6.2.3.1," ... For SNPNs indicating support for access using Home SP credentials the UE retrieves the list of supported Home SP IDs and list of supported Roaming Group IDs from the SNPN's SIB.");
wherein the list identifies a priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list);
means for determining that a transmission from an SNPN identifies an SNPN roaming group identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPN roaming groups or identifies an SNPN identifier associated with one of the one or more SNPNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the V-SNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... "); and
means for registering with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier (para.6.2.3.1, " ... Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure (TS 23.502 [X], clause 4.2.2.2.2). The UE provides to the V-SNPN the SUCI of the Home SP subscription selected as described above. The UE is authenticated by the Home SP.").
However, 3GPP does not clearly teach the indication including a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for the network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribed and one or more SNPNs to which the UE is not subscribed.
In an analogous art, Stojanovski teaches the indication including a combination of: one or more standalone non-public network (SNPN) roaming groups wherein each of the one or more SNPN roaming group include a plurality of home service providers (SP’s), that have an agreement for the network access to a home SP to which the UE is subscribed and one or more SNPNs to which the UE is not subscribed (The UE has a subscription with SP #X; the SP #X has an agreement with NPN #A, allowing UEs that have subscription with SP #X to access the services of SP #X via NPN #A; the UE has a stored “Equivalent Home Network” list that contains both SP #X and NPN #A, [0018]; merged list of HPLMN, [0023]) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP with Service provider list of Stojanovski to provide a method to support identifiers for a large number of non-public networks to minimize collision likelihood between assigned identifiers in a handover/roaming scenario as suggested, Stojanovski [0003].
However, 3GPP and Stojanovski do not clearly teach wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE.
In an analogous art, Kumar teaches wherein the indication is received in a downlink non-access stratum transport message as part of a steering of roaming procedure for the UE (the communicator (120) of the UE is configured to receive a downlink non-access stratum (DL NAS) transport message comprising the SOR information from one of a first visitor public land mobile network (first VPLMN) (200a) and a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (300), [0046] and The SOR information includes a list of operator preferred PLMNs, [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP and Stojanovski with the SOR information of Kumar to provide a method and a user equipment (UE) for managing a steering of roaming (SOR) information in an automatic network selection mode in a wireless communication network as suggested, Kumar [0002].
Regarding claim 40, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the apparatus of claim 39, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs identifies respective roaming group identifiers associated with the one or more SNPN roaming groups and identifies respective SNPN identifiers associated with the one or more SNPNs (para.6.4.2.3 "UE is provisioned with E-Sub that contains the network configuration, which is used for SNPN discovery and selection; the network configuration contains the following information for each desired SNPN:- PLMN ID+NID; and - Priority; and optionally - Subscribed SP ID list).
Regarding claim 41, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the apparatus of claim 39, wherein registering with the SNPN based at least in part on determining that the transmission identifies the SNPN roaming group identifier or the SNPN identifier comprises: registering with the SNPN based at least in part on the list that identifies the priority order for the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs (Para 6.2.3.1 Based on the acquired information, the UE selects a V-SNPN as follows. Once the UE has selected a V-SNPN and a Home SP-subscription to use, the UE performs the Registration procedure).
Regarding claim 42, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the apparatus of claim 39, wherein the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs further identifies one or more public land mobile networks (PLMNs) to which the UE is not subscribed (para. 5.30.2.2 "NG-RAN nodes which provide access to SNPNs broadcast the following information: -One or multiple PLMN IDs -List of NIDs per PLMN ID identifying the non-public networks NG-RAN provides access to").
Regarding claim 43, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the apparatus of claim 39, wherein receiving the indication of the one or more SNPN roaming groups and the one or more SNPNs comprises: receiving the indication as part of a UE configuration update procedure for the UE (para.6.2.3.1, "the UE Configuration Update procedure as defined in TS 23.502 clause 4.2.4.2 [X]).
Claims 6, 19 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Stojanovski and further in view of Kumar and Kim et al. (US 20230136425 A1).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining that a transmission from a PLMN identifies a PLMN identifier associated with one of the one or more PLMNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the VSNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... ").
However, 3GPP, Stojanovski and Kumar do not clearly teach wherein the UE is to register with the PLMN instead of the SNPN when the indication assigns a higher priority to the PLMN than a priority assigned to the SNPN.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the UE is to register with the PLMN instead of the SNPN when the indication assigns a higher priority to the PLMN than a priority assigned to the SNPN (When there are several other networks with which the UE can register, service continuity to the network having the highest priority may be considered first, Kim [0378]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP and Stojanovski and Kumar with the priority list of Kim to provide a methods and a system in which the network guarantees service continuity to other networks according to the network configuration situation and at the same time does not cause unnecessary delay time to the user equipment may be required as suggested, Kim [0007].
Regarding claim 19, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the memory and the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that a transmission from a PLMN identifies a PLMN identifier associated with one of the one or more PLMNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the VSNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... ").
However, 3GPP, Stojanovski and Kumar do not clearly teach wherein the UE is to register with the PLMN instead of the SNPN when the indication assigns a higher priority to the PLMN than a priority assigned to the SNPN.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the UE is to register with the PLMN instead of the SNPN when the indication assigns a higher priority to the PLMN than a priority assigned to the SNPN (When there are several other networks with which the UE can register, service continuity to the network having the highest priority may be considered first, Kim [0378]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP, Stojanovski and Kumar with the priority list of Kim to provide a methods and a system in which the network guarantees service continuity to other networks according to the network configuration situation and at the same time does not cause unnecessary delay time to the user equipment may be required as suggested, Kim [0007].
Regarding claim 36, 3GPP as modified by Stojanovski and Kumar teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 35, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine that a transmission from a PLMN identifies a PLMN identifier associated with one of the one or more PLMNs (para. 6.2.1 ," ... a Visited-SNPN (V-SNPN) broadcasts information that enables a UE to determine whether the UE can access the VSNPN ... A V-SNPN may also broadcast the identities of Roaming Groups that the V-SNPN has an agreement with ... ").
However, 3GPP, Stojanovski and Kumar do not clearly teach wherein the UE is to register with the PLMN instead of the SNPN when the indication assigns a higher priority to the PLMN than a priority assigned to the SNPN.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the UE is to register with the PLMN instead of the SNPN when the indication assigns a higher priority to the PLMN than a priority assigned to the SNPN (When there are several other networks with which the UE can register, service continuity to the network having the highest priority may be considered first, Kim [0378]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the registration of 3GPP, Stojanovski and Kumar with the priority list of Kim to provide a methods and a system in which the network guarantees service continuity to other networks according to the network configuration situation and at the same time does not cause unnecessary delay time to the user equipment may be required as suggested, Kim [0007].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Buckley et al. (US 20190268752 A1): A method for steering of roaming (SOR) in wireless communication networks includes sending by a mobile equipment (ME) a registration message to a visited public land mobile network (VPLMN). The ME receives a first message from a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) through the VPLMN. The ME determines that the first message has failed a security check. In response to determining that the first message has failed the security check, the ME sends a second message to the VPLMN, the second message including an indication that the first message has failed the security check.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641