DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 19 October, 2022, is a national stage application of PCT/EP2021/060082, filed 19 April, 2021, which claims foreign benefit of application EP20170542.3, filed 21 April, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 October, 2022 and 25 April, 2025 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 19 October, 2022, in the matter of Application N° 17/996,550. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 1-11 have been amended. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, Claims 1-11 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: clarity of option “V”. The claim language defining Markush group V contains multiple alternative clauses separated by “or,” which may obscure the intended grouping of alternatives. Applicant is requested to clarify the structure of the alternatives, for example by separating the alternatives into subparagraphs or otherwise improving punctuation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the phrase “comprising allowing a compound of formula (I) according to Claim 1 or an agrochemical formulation thereof is allowed to act…” which contains inconsistent verb structure and therefore renders the scope of the method unclear.
Applicant might amend the claim to read “A method for controlling one or more animal pests, comprising allowing a compound of formula (I) according to Claim 1 or an agrochemical formulation thereof to act on the animal pests and/or a habitat thereof.”
Or alternatively, “A method for controlling one or more animal pests, comprising applying a compound of formula (I) according to Claim 1 or an agrochemical formulation thereof to the animal pests and/or a habitat thereof.”
Claim 11 recites the phrase “for controlling one or more animal pests” appears to recite an intended use rather than a structure limitation of the claimed product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosrin et al. (US 10,772,332 B2, linked to WO 2018/141954 A1, both cited in IDS), hereinafter Mosrin, and further in view of Meanwell (Top Med Chem. 2015. 9: 283–382.)
Reference shares same Applicant and multiple inventors with instant application.
Regarding Claims 1-7 and 11, Mosrin teaches 2-(het)aryl-substituted fused heterocycle derivatives of the formula (I), to the use thereof as acaricides and/or insecticides for controlling animal pests to include Compound I-001 (‘332, Col 105, Table 3, Example I-001), shown top right, which significantly overlaps the instant Formula I, shown middle right, wherein A1 is N, A2 is =CR4b, wherein R4b is methyl, A3 is N, Y is O, R1 is ethyl, R2 is H, R3 is H, R5 is CF3, R6 is H, n is 2, and V is a phenyl group substituted with Cl.
While Mosrin fails to exemplify that the instant X can be other than N, Mosrin does suggest additional options in its genus of Formula I (‘332, Col 2, Lines5-17), shown bottom right, wherein A2 (equivalent to the instant X) is N(R6), O, or S.
This differs from the instant X which allows for O or S only.
However, Meanwell teaches the immense utility of heterocycles resides in their typically facile synthetic accessibility combined with the versatility to project a range of vectors while the electronic properties of the ring can readily be modulated by the introduction of additional heteroatoms and substituent selection (2015, Pg. 291, §2.3 and Pg. 295, Fig. 4 and Table 3.)
Regarding Claims 8-9, Mosrin teaches formulations and use forms prepared therefrom as pesticides (‘322, Col 53, Lines 2-3), the formulations, in addition to one or more compounds of the formula (I), optionally comprise further active agrochemical ingredients (‘322, Col 53, Lines 30-32.)
Regarding Claim 10, Mosrin teaches methods for controlling animal pests, in which compounds of the formula (I) are allowed to act on animal pests and/or their habitat (‘322, Col 45, Lines 39-41.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mosrin’s compound by selecting oxygen or sulfur for the heteroatom at position A2/X. The selection of oxygen or sulfur from the small, finite set of heteroatom options explicitly taught by Mosrin would have constituted no more than routine optimization of a known compound scaffold using well-established medicinal chemistry principles, as taught by Meanwell, and would have been expected to yield predictable variants of the same therapeutically active compounds with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2, 4 and 8-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,745,398.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose compounds having the same core scaffold and therapeutic use as the presently claimed compounds. Selection of specific substituent options disclosed in the patented claims result in compounds that fall within the scope of the presently claimed genus (e.g., R2 is Q-51, V is V-95, and X is H-4, etc.) Accordingly, the presently claimed compounds represent no more than obvious variations of the patented compounds because they arise from routine selection of substituents expressly taught in the patented genus for the same purpose.
Additionally, Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 3 and 5-7 of the same U.S. Patent No. 10,745,398 in view of Meanwell (Top Med Chem. 2015. 9: 283–382.)
To the extent that the presently claimed compounds differ from the patented compounds in the identity of a heteroatom at instant position X within the bicyclic ring, the substitution of heteroatoms such as N, O or S at a given position in a heterocycle is a recognized form of bioisosteric modification routinely employed in medicinal chemistry to generate closely related analogs with similar biological activity (Meanwell, 2015, Pg. 291, §2.3 and Pg. 295, Fig. 4 and Table 3.) Because the patented claims already teach the scaffold and therapeutic use of the compounds and identify the heteroatom position as a site of permissible variation, it would have been obvious to substitute one heteroatom for another such as replacing nitrogen with oxygen or sulfur to obtain the presently claimed compounds.
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,772,332.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims disclose compounds having the same core scaffold and therapeutic use as the presently claimed compounds. Selection of specific substituent options disclosed in the patented claims result in compounds that fall within the scope of the presently claimed genus (e.g., A2 is O or S, R2 is Q-52, etc. in the patented positions) Accordingly, the presently claimed compounds represent no more than obvious variations of the patented compounds because they arise from routine selection of substituents expressly taught in the patented genus for the same purpose.
Additionally, Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 3-10 of the same U.S. Patent No. 10,772,332 in view of Meanwell (Top Med Chem. 2015. 9: 283–382.)
To the extent that the presently claimed compounds differ from the patented compounds in the identity of a heteroatom at position A2, the substitution of heteroatoms such as N, O or S at a given position in a heterocycle is a recognized form of bioisosteric modification routinely employed in medicinal chemistry to generate closely related analogs with similar biological activity (Meanwell, 2015, Pg. 291, §2.3 and Pg. 295, Fig. 4 and Table 3.) Because the patented claims already teach the scaffold and therapeutic use of the compounds and identify the heteroatom position as a site of permissible variation, it would have been obvious to substitute one heteroatom for another such as replacing nitrogen with oxygen or sulfur to obtain the presently claimed compounds.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/559,710 in view of Meanwell (Top Med Chem. 2015. 9: 283–382.)
The copending and instant claims disclose compounds having the same core scaffold and therapeutic use as the presently claimed compounds differing primarily in the identity of a heteroatom at position ‘710’s A2 (equivalent to the instant position X), the substitution of heteroatoms such as N, O or S at a given position in a heterocycle is a recognized form of bioisosteric modification routinely employed in medicinal chemistry to generate closely related analogs with similar biological activity (Meanwell, 2015, Pg. 291, §2.3 and Pg. 295, Fig. 4 and Table 3.) Because the copending claims already teach the scaffold and therapeutic use of the compounds, it would have been obvious to substitute one heteroatom for another as taught by Meanwell, to obtain the presently claimed compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Communication
/D.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627