DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-19, 23-27, 29-32, 34-36, 40-68, and 73-75 have been cancelled.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 37-39 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/31/2025. This claims are not subject to rejoinder for reasons of record.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/27/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(a) because it lacks the appropriate size fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(v). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
The IDS size fee written assertion under 37 CFR 1.98 indicated that no fee was due. This is incorrect. Applicant has cited over 100 references (cumulatively) in the IDSs filed 8/27/2025 and 4/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 69-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Li et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,093,731, of record) in view of Zhan et al. (WO 2020/191289, published 24 September 202, filed 20 March 2020).
As set forth in the prior Office action, Zhan et al. has an inventor in common with the instant application. However, this document is by other than the instant inventive entity. Page 7, paragraph 5, of applicant’s 4/27/2026 included a conspicuous statement according the MPEP 717.02(c) to invoke an exception under 102(b)(2)(C). As such, Zhan et al. is not available as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2).
However, Zhan et al. was published on 24 September 2020. The instant application is not entitled to priority to provisional applications 63/0144,033 (filed 4/22/2020) and 63/014,549 (filed 4/23/2020) for claims 69-71. Basis is not seen in these documents for a sequence that is “at least 95% identical to SEQ ID NO: 95.” As such, the effective filing date for claims 69-71 of the instant application is 4/22/2021 and Zhan et al. remains valid prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Li et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,093,731) discloses canonized IgG-B antibodies against canine IL-31.
The VL of SEQ ID NO: 24 of Li et al. corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 24. It contains the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 8, 9, and 10.
The light chain of SEQ ID NO: 21 of Li et al. corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 21 and contains instant SEQ ID NO: 24.
The VH of SEQ ID NO: 25 of Li et al. corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 25. It contains the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 1, 2, and 3.
SEQ ID NO: 18 corresponds to the heavy chain of the canonized antibody against canine IL-31. SEQ ID NO: 18 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 126 except for a leucine (L) instead of a serine (S) at amino acid position 113 and a leucine (L) instead of a tyrosine (Y) at amino acid position 256. Instant SEQ ID NO: 90 corresponds to amino acids 234-453 of SEQ ID NO: 18 except for a leucine (L) instead of a tyrosine (Y) at amino acid position 23 of SEQ ID NO: 90 (i.e. amino acid position 256 of SEQ ID NO: 18). SEQ ID NO: 18 contains the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NOS: 1, 2, and 3. See at least Example 3 and Table 1. Li et al. discloses that the antibodies could include any canine class, including modifications. See at least column 16, line 58, through column 17, line 25.
Zhan et al. (WO 2020/191289, published 24 September 202, filed 20 March 2020) discloses SEQ ID NO: 198 which is a caninized IgG-B sequence having the mutation L23Y corresponding to the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 95 (i.e. instant SEQ ID NO: 90 having the L23Y mutation as in instant claim 1.). See at least Table 1 and Embodiments 47-49.
It would have been obvious to use the caninized IgG-B Fc sequence having the mutation L23Y (i.e. SEQ ID NO: 198 of Zhan et al.) in the anti-canine IL-31 antibody disclosed by Li et al. Li et al. discloses that any appropriate IgG sequence could be used and Zhan et al. discloses a suitable IgG-B sequence. One would have been motivated to do so to created additional caninized antibodies. The antibody suggested by the combination of Li et al. and Zhan et al. meet the structural limitations of claims 69-71.
The claimed antibodies would have been obvious.
Claims 1, 20-22, 28, 33, 72, and 76-78 are allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa