DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/19/2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
The response filed 06/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 9-14, 17-19, and 23-27 are pending.
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 in the reply filed on 06/23/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 19 and 23-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/23/2025.
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 are treated on the merits in this action.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Duplicate Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k). In the present case, the subject matter of claims 1 and 10, despite a slight change in wording, both claim a nanoparticle composition comprising i) a polymeric nanoparticle, ii) one or more ligands conjugated to the polymeric nanoparticle, and iii) naloxone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassick, Applied Bio Materials, 2, 2019 and Majeti, US 20180214386 A1.
Kassick teaches a nanoparticle composition comprising naloxone and a polymeric nanoparticle (Kassick, entire document, e.g., Abstract, and pp. 3420 and 3426: Conclusion.
Kassick does not expressly teach one or more ligands conjugated to the polymeric nanoparticle.
However, Majeti teaches conjugating ligands to polymeric nanoparticles for drug delivery (Majeti, e.g., Abstract, examples, claims), wherein the ligand is, e.g., gambogic acid, and wherein the ligand promotes penetration across biological barriers, e.g., intestine and blood brain barrier (Majeti, e.g., 0031, claim 7, 0002, 0003, 0004, 0012, 0018) thereby facilitating absorption of the desired bioactive agent (Majeti, e.g., claim 5).
Applicable to claims 1 and 10:
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify nanoparticles as understood from Kassick by conjugating ligands to the nanoparticles using techniques known from Majeti to improve the nanoparticles in the same way with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the transit of the nanoparticles across biological barriers in the intestine and blood brain barrier. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Majeti teaches the technique is effective to modify nanoparticles composed of the same polymers employed in Kassick’s nanoparticles.
Applicable to claims 2 and 17: Kassick teaches polylactide (Kassick, e.g., pg. 3422). Majeti teaches the claimed polymers in claim 4.
Applicable to claims 3-5: Majeti teaches a ratio of drug to polymer of about 1:5, e.g., 0.0242 mmol paclitaxel and 0.0048 mmol plga (Majeti, e.g., 0045). Kassick teaches the ratio is a result effective parameter the skilled artisan would have optimized to achieve a desired naloxone loading in the polymer matrix, e.g., wherein the ratio is 10:1 monomer to naloxone initiator (Kassick, e.g., pg. 3423, c2). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to optimize the ratio between naloxone and polymer to arrive at nanoparticles having a naloxone to polymer ratio ranging from about 1:5 to about 1:10 with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to optimize this ratio based on the express teaching in Majeti with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Applicable to claim 6 and 18: Majeti teaches gambogic acid (Majeti, e.g., 0031-0032 plga-ga).
Applicable to claim 9: Kassick teaches wherein the nanoparticle composition is lyophilized to facilitate isolating the nanoparticle composition (Kassick, e.g., pg. 3420, c2: Preparation of Covalently Linked Naloxone−PLA Nanoparticles, and pg. 3425, c1: Nanoparticle Preparation and Characterization).
Applicable to claim 11: The composition is able to be used orally (Majeti, e.g., 0002 and 0004 and 0029).
Applicable to claims 12-13: Kassick teaches a suspension (Kassick, e.g., pg. 3420, Naloxone Release Rate Determination).
Applicable to claim 14: Kassick teaches a fluffy solid isolated from lyophilization which is a reconstitutable suspension since the solid is redispersible in water.
Accordingly, the subject matter of claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Averick, US 20220152017 and Majeti, US 20180214386 A1.
Averick teaches naloxone polymer nanoparticles (Averick, e.g., Fig. 1, examples 1-4, and claims 1-3 and 16-17).
Averick does not expressly teach one or more ligands conjugated to the polymeric nanoparticle.
However, Majeti teaches conjugating ligands to polymeric nanoparticles for drug delivery (Majeti, e.g., Abstract, examples, claims), wherein the ligand is, e.g., gambogic acid, and wherein the ligand promotes penetration across biological barriers, e.g., intestine and blood brain barrier (Majeti, e.g., 0031, claim 7, 0002, 0003, 0004, 0012, 0018) thereby facilitating absorption of the desired bioactive agent (Majeti, e.g., claim 5).
Applicable to claims 1 and 10:
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify nanoparticles as understood from Averick by conjugating ligands to the nanoparticles using techniques known from Majeti to improve the nanoparticles in the same way with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the transit of the nanoparticles across biological barriers in the intestine and blood brain barrier. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Majeti teaches the technique is effective to modify nanoparticles composed of the same polymers employed in Averick’s nanoparticles.
Applicable to claims 2 and 17: recited polymers are named in Majeti (claim 4) and Averick, e.g., claim 5.
Applicable to claims 3-5: Averick teaches a naloxone to polymer ratio of 1:10 (Averick, e.g., 0060, table 1). Averick teaches the ratio of naloxone to monomer is a result effective parameter the skilled artisan would optimize for desired drug loading (Averick, e.g., 0030). Majeti teaches a ratio of drug to polymer of about 1:5, e.g., 0.0242 mmol paclitaxel and 0.0048 mmol plga (Majeti, e.g., 0045). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to optimize the ratio between naloxone and polymer to arrive at nanoparticles having a naloxone to polymer ratio ranging from about 1:5 to about 1:10 with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to optimize this ratio based on the express teaching in Averick with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Applicable to claim 6 and 18: Majeti teaches gambogic acid (Majeti, e.g., 0031-0032 plga-ga).
Applicable to claim 9: Averick teaches wherein the nanoparticle composition is lyophilized to facilitate isolating the nanoparticle composition (Averick, e.g., 0034).
Applicable to claim 11: The composition is able to be used orally (Majeti, e.g., 0002 and 0004 and 0029). Averick teaches the nanoparticles in forms suitable for administration (Averick, e.g., 0046-0047), e.g., powder or rehydrated powder. The forms in Averick are capable of being orally administered.
Applicable to claims 12-14: rehydrated powder is a suspension (Averick, e.g., 0047). Averick also teaches an emulsion (Averick, e.g., 0048). Reconstitutable suspension reads on a rehydratable powder (Averick e.g., 0047).
Accordingly, the subject matter of claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-13 of US 10786465 in view of Averick, US 20220152017.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The reference claims are directed to a composition comprising a nanoparticle, wherein the nanoparticle comprises a polymer/copolymer conjugated to gambogic acid.
2. The composition of claim 1, wherein a concentration of the polymer/copolymer may be adjusted to suit a specific target.
3. The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition possesses target specificity.
4. The composition of claim 1, wherein the polymer/copolymer are polylactide, poly(lactide-co-glycolide) or polycaprolactone.
5. The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition facilitates absorption of a desired bioactive.
6. The composition of claim 1, wherein surface expression of the nanoparticle makes the polymer/copolymer conjugated to gambogic acid accessible to respective receptors on a target site.
7. The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition expresses covalently bound ligands to interact non-competitively with receptors on cell membranes for receptor-mediated uptake.
8. The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition comprises a ligand with amine, carboxyl or hydroxyl functionality.
9. The composition of claim 1, wherein the a conjugated polymer/copolymer can form stable nanoparticles via emulsion-diffusion techniques.
10. The composition of claim 1, wherein the gambogic acid is linked to carboxyl end groups of the polymer/copolymer via a linker.
11. The composition of claim 10, wherein the linker is an ethylenediamine linker.
12. The composition of claim 1, wherein the composition includes more than one ligand to tailor a distribution profile of the composition in a subject based on needs of a disease and/or drugs encapsulated.
13. A method of producing the composition of claim 1, the method comprising:
synthesizing a copolymer conjugated with gambogic acid; and
preparing the nanoparticles by utilizing an emulsion-diffusion-evaporation method to entrap a desired bioactive within the nanoparticles.
The reference claims teach the nanoparticles comprising an active agent but do not expressly teach naloxone.
Averick teaches naloxone may be formulated as nanoparticles to improve the steady, effective dose of naloxone for improved opioid overdose reversal over a sustained period while avoiding the effects of opioid withdrawal (Averick, e.g., 0018). Formulating naloxone as nanoparticles in the same polymers used by the nanoparticles of the reference claims enables longer lasting opioid agonist effects effective to rescue from opioid overdose with fewer administrations (Averick, e.g., 0006).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to modify nanoparticles functionalized with gambogic acid claimed by the reference patent with naloxone with a reasonable expectation of success. Since the reference claims nanoparticles for active agents, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to use the ligand functionalized nanoparticles of the reference claims to formulate naloxone with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification to render the nanoparticles of the reference claims useful for improved opioid rescue in the same way suggested by Averick while taking advantage of the improved absorption offered by gambogic acid functionalization. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references teach nanoparticle formulations for active agents.
The additional teachings of Averick enumerated above as they relate to the dependent claims are reiterated here.
Accordingly, the subject matter of claims 1-6, 9-14, and 17-18 would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention, absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/WILLIAM CRAIGO/Examiner, Art Unit 1615