DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-16, 18-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Faccin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0105064).
Consider claim 1; Faccin discloses a communication control apparatus comprising:
a service request detection processor that detects a request for service from a wireless communication device [“…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4)];
a service quality determination processor that determines that a service quality required by the service is not achieved by a first base station to which the wireless communication device is connected [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], wherein the first base station is configured for the service [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)]; and
a service request transmission processor that transmits a request for the service to a second base station that can achieve the service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], in response to the service quality not being achieved by the first base station [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], wherein the first base station is a flying non-terrestrial base station belonging to a home network for the wireless communication device [“…perform a handover of the wireless communication device700 from a first base station in a first RAN to a second base station in a second RAN.” (par. 109, lines 3-5) “…the first RAN may be a terrestrial RAN and the second RAN may be a non-terrestrial RAN.” (par. 109, lines 7-9)], and the second base station is a terrestrial base station belonging to a roaming network for the wireless communication device [“…perform a handover of the wireless communication device 700 from a first base station in a first RAN to a second base station in a second RAN.” (par. 109, lines 3-5) “…the first RAN may be a terrestrial RAN and the second RAN may be a non-terrestrial RAN.” (par. 109, lines 7-9)], and wherein the service quality is related to a propagation delay between the wireless communication device and the flying non-terrestrial base station as the first base station [“…when messages are exchanged between the UE412 and the CN 418 via the non-terrestrial RAN 404, each satellite leg on which a message is sent can introduce an additional propagation delay. For example, propagation delays may be experienced on the ground-to-satellite leg from the UE 412 to the satellite 410a (par. 65, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 2; Faccin discloses the service request detection processor [“…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4)], the service quality determination processor [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], and the service request transmission processor [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)] are provided in at least one of the first base station and a core network to which the first base station is connected [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10)], the service request detection processor detects a request for the service transmitted by the wireless communication device to the first base station [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4)], the service quality determination processor determines that the first base station does not achieve the service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], and the service request transmission processor transfers a request for the service from the first base station to the second base station [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], in response to the first base station not achieving the service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)].
Consider claim 3; Faccin discloses the service request detection processor [“…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4)], the service quality determination processor, and the service request transmission processor are provided in the wireless communication device [“if signal quality from a neighboring cell exceeds that from the serving cell for a given amount of time, the UE may undertake a handoff or handover from the serving cell to the neighboring (target) cell.” (par. 53, lines 11-15)].
Consider claim 4; Faccin discloses the service quality determination processor is provided in the application layer that provides an application to the wireless communication device through the first base station [“if signal quality from a neighboring cell exceeds that from the serving cell for a given amount of time, the UE may undertake a handoff or handover from the serving cell to the neighboring (target) cell.” (par. 53, lines 11-15) “One or more processors 704 in the processing system may execute software. Software shall be construed broadly to mean …applications, software applications…” (par. 98, lines 1-4)], and determines that the service quality is not achieved by the first base station depending on the status of an application executed in the application layer [“if signal quality from a neighboring cell exceeds that from the serving cell for a given amount of time, the UE may undertake a handoff or handover from the serving cell to the neighboring (target) cell.” (par. 53, lines 11-15) “One or more processors 704 in the processing system may execute software. Software shall be construed broadly to mean …applications, software applications…” (par. 98, lines 1-4)].
Consider claim 5; Faccin discloses a response reception processor that receives a response from the second base station to a request for the service [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)]; and a connection control processor that changes the connection destination of the wireless communication device from the first base station to the second base station based on the response that the second base station can achieve the service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)].
Consider claim 6; Faccin discloses the wireless communication device is in an overlapping area of a first communication cell provided on the ground by the first base station and a second communication cell provided on the ground by the second base station [“…a base station 318 is shown in the small cell 308 (e.g. a microcell, picocell, femtocell, home base station, home Node B, hoe eNode B etc.) which may overlap with one or more macrocells” (par. 47, lines 9-13)].
Consider claim 7; Faccin discloses the first base station and the second base station belong to different mobile communication networks [“each of the terrestrial RAN 402 and the non-terrestrial RAN 404 may be associated with a respective geographical area.” “The terrestrial RAN 402 may further be coupled to a core network (CN)…” (par. 59, lines 16-17) “…the non-terrestrial RAN 404 may include a satellite 410a operating as a base station (e.g. gNB) to serve one or more UEs 412 within a satellite coverage area” (par. 60, lines 1-4)].
Consider claim 8; Faccin discloses the first base station and the second base station belong to the same mobile communication network [“…a base station 318 is shown in the small cell 308 (e.g. a microcell, picocell, femtocell, home base station, home Node B, hoe eNode B etc.) which may overlap with one or more macrocells” (par. 47, lines 9-13)].
Consider claim 9; Faccin discloses at least one of the first base station and the second base station is a flying non-terrestrial base station [“each of the terrestrial RAN 402 and the non-terrestrial RAN 404 may be associated with a respective geographical area.” “The terrestrial RAN 402 may further be coupled to a core network (CN)…” (par. 59, lines 16-17) “…the non-terrestrial RAN 404 may include a satellite 410a operating as a base station (e.g. gNB) to serve one or more UEs 412 within a satellite coverage area” (par. 60, lines 1-4)].
Consider claim 10; Faccin discloses the non-terrestrial base station is a communication satellite flying in outer space [“each of the terrestrial RAN 402 and the non-terrestrial RAN 404 may be associated with a respective geographical area.” “The terrestrial RAN 402 may further be coupled to a core network (CN)…” (par. 59, lines 16-17) “…the non-terrestrial RAN 404 may include a satellite 410a operating as a base station (e.g. gNB) to serve one or more UEs 412 within a satellite coverage area” (par. 60, lines 1-4)].
Consider claim 11; Faccin discloses a communication control method comprising:
connecting a wireless communication device to a first base station [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3)];
detecting [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]], by the first base station [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]], a request for service from the wireless communication device [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]], wherein the request includes a requested service quality [“if signal quality from a neighboring cell exceeds that from the serving cell for a given amount of time, the UE may undertake a handoff or handover from the serving cell to the neighboring (target) cell.” (par. 53, lines 11-15);
determining [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], by the first base station [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], that the first base station is incapable of implementing the service at the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], wherein the first base station is configured for the service [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)];
transmitting [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], by the first base station [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], in response to the first base station being incapable of implementing the service at the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], a request for the service to a second base station that is capable of the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], wherein the first base station is a flying non-terrestrial base station belonging to a home network for the wireless communication device [“…perform a handover of the wireless communication device700 from a first base station in a first RAN to a second base station in a second RAN.” (par. 109, lines 3-5) “…the first RAN may be a terrestrial RAN and the second RAN may be a non-terrestrial RAN.” (par. 109, lines 7-9)], and the second base station is a terrestrial base station belonging to a roaming network for the wireless communication device [“…perform a handover of the wireless communication device 700 from a first base station in a first RAN to a second base station in a second RAN.” (par. 109, lines 3-5) “…the first RAN may be a terrestrial RAN and the second RAN may be a non-terrestrial RAN.” (par. 109, lines 7-9)], and wherein service quality is related to a propagation delay between the wireless communication device and the flying non- terrestrial base station as the first base station [“…when messages are exchanged between the UE412 and the CN 418 via the non-terrestrial RAN 404, each satellite leg on which a message is sent can introduce an additional propagation delay. For example, propagation delays may be experienced on the ground-to-satellite leg from the UE 412 to the satellite 410a (par. 65, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 12; Faccin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for causing a computer to perform:
detecting [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]], by the first base station [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]], a request for service from the wireless communication device [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]], wherein the request includes a requested service quality [“if signal quality from a neighboring cell exceeds that from the serving cell for a given amount of time, the UE may undertake a handoff or handover from the serving cell to the neighboring (target) cell.” (par. 53, lines 11-15);
determining [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], by the first base station [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], that the first base station is incapable of implementing the service at the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], wherein the first base station is configured for the service [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)];
transmitting [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], by the first base station [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], in response to the first base station being incapable of implementing the service at the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], a request for the service to a second base station that is capable of the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], wherein the first base station is a flying non-terrestrial base station belonging to a home network for the wireless communication device [“…perform a handover of the wireless communication device700 from a first base station in a first RAN to a second base station in a second RAN.” (par. 109, lines 3-5) “…the first RAN may be a terrestrial RAN and the second RAN may be a non-terrestrial RAN.” (par. 109, lines 7-9)], and the second base station is a terrestrial base station belonging to a roaming network for the wireless communication device [“…perform a handover of the wireless communication device 700 from a first base station in a first RAN to a second base station in a second RAN.” (par. 109, lines 3-5) “…the first RAN may be a terrestrial RAN and the second RAN may be a non-terrestrial RAN.” (par. 109, lines 7-9)], and wherein service quality is related to a propagation delay between the wireless communication device and the flying non- terrestrial base station as the first base station [“…when messages are exchanged between the UE412 and the CN 418 via the non-terrestrial RAN 404, each satellite leg on which a message is sent can introduce an additional propagation delay. For example, propagation delays may be experienced on the ground-to-satellite leg from the UE 412 to the satellite 410a (par. 65, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 18; Faccin discloses the service request detection processor detects the request from the wireless communication device already connected to the first base station [“The wireless communication system 100 includes three interacting domains: a core network 102, a radio access network (RAN) 104, and a user equipment (UE) 106.” (par. 31, lines 7-10) “It is to be understood that the radio access network 300 may include any number of wireless base stations and cells.” (par. 48, lines 1-3) “…the UE to transmit a service request to the AMF 420…” (par. 67, lines 3-4]],, and the service request includes a requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], the service quality determination processor determines that the first base station is incapable of implementing the service at the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)], the service request transmission processor transmits the request to the second base station in response to the first base station being incapable of implementing the service at the requested service quality [“When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the network 300 may handover the UE 324 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 324.” (par. 54, lines 22-27)].
Claims 13-16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faccin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0105064) in view of Dravida et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2007/0008925).
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 11; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the requested service quality comprises 4K, 8K or ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC).
In an analogous art Dravida discloses the requested service quality comprises 4K, 8K or ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) [as disclosed in par. 42 of the applicant’s specification, 4K and 8K refer to virtual reality (par. 63, lines 6-15)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. It is an object of Dravida’s invention to provide a method of seamless interworking of communication between wireless networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including certain types of service, as taught by Dravida, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a wireless network.
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 11; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the service comprises remote control, intelligent transport system (ITS), real-time gaming, V2X messages, power distribution, process automation, discrete automation, or automated driving of a vehicle.
In an analogous art Dravida discloses the service comprises remote control, intelligent transport system (ITS), real-time gaming, V2X messages, power distribution, process automation, discrete automation, or automated driving of a vehicle [it is known in the field of art that online gaming is also real time gaming (par. 63, lines 6-15)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. It is an object of Dravida’s invention to provide a method of seamless interworking of communication between wireless networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including certain types of service, as taught by Dravida, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a wireless network.
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 12; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the requested service quality comprises 4K, 8K or ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC).
In an analogous art Dravida discloses the requested service quality comprises 4K, 8K or ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) [as disclosed in par. 42 of the applicant’s specification, 4K and 8K refer to virtual reality (par. 63, lines 6-15)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. It is an object of Dravida’s invention to provide a method of seamless interworking of communication between wireless networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including certain types of service, as taught by Dravida, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a wireless network.
Consider claim 16, as applied in claim 12; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the service comprises remote control, intelligent transport system (ITS), real-time gaming, V2X messages, power distribution, process automation, discrete automation, or automated driving of a vehicle.
In an analogous art Dravida discloses the service comprises remote control, intelligent transport system (ITS), real-time gaming, V2X messages, power distribution, process automation, discrete automation, or automated driving of a vehicle [it is known in the field of art that online gaming is also real time gaming (par. 63, lines 6-15)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. It is an object of Dravida’s invention to provide a method of seamless interworking of communication between wireless networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including certain types of service, as taught by Dravida, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a wireless network.
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 18; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the requested service quality comprises 4K, 8K or ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC).
In an analogous art Dravida discloses the requested service quality comprises 4K, 8K or ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) [as disclosed in par. 42 of the applicant’s specification, 4K and 8K refer to virtual reality (par. 63, lines 6-15)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. It is an object of Dravida’s invention to provide a method of seamless interworking of communication between wireless networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including certain types of service, as taught by Dravida, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a wireless network.
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 18; Faccin discloses the claimed invention except: the service comprises remote control, intelligent transport system (ITS), real-time gaming, V2X messages, power distribution, process automation, discrete automation, or automated driving of a vehicle.
In an analogous art Dravida discloses the service comprises remote control, intelligent transport system (ITS), real-time gaming, V2X messages, power distribution, process automation, discrete automation, or automated driving of a vehicle [it is known in the field of art that online gaming is also real time gaming (par. 63, lines 6-15)].
It is an object of Faccin’s invention to provide a method of managing communication in terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks. It is an object of Dravida’s invention to provide a method of seamless interworking of communication between wireless networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Faccin by including certain types of service, as taught by Dravida, for the purpose of enhancing a user’s experience in a wireless network.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646