DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt of the Response and Amendment after Non-Final Office Action filed 07/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant has overcome the following rejections by virtue of the amendment or cancellation of the claims and/or persuasive remarks: (1) the objections to the drawings have been withdrawn; (2) the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections of claims 2-3 and 5 have been withdrawn; (3) the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 6 over Müller has been withdrawn; and (4) the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 7 over Müller and Kawamoto has been withdrawn.
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-5, 8-15
Withdrawn claims: 13-15
Previously cancelled claims: None
Newly cancelled claims: 6-7
Amended claims: 1-3, 5, 11
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 1-5, 8-12
Currently rejected claims: 1-5, 8-12
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “direct sugar” in line 2. The present specification defines “direct sugar” as “direct reducing sugar”. Neither the claims nor present specification define what is meant by “direct reducing sugar”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
For the purpose of this examination, the term will be interpreted as being any sugar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Müller (US 5,407,690; previously cited) in view of Kawamoto (US 2015/0289547; IDS citation).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 8, Müller teaches a rice-derived fermented seasoning, wherein the seasoning was produced by fermenting a rice substrate with Zygosaccharomyces rouxii yeast as the fermenting microorganism yeast (column 3, lines 3-5, 10-13). Müller does not teach that the seasoning has the features recited in present claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 as measured in an HPLC under the analysis condition recited in present claim 1. However, Müller teaches fermentation of rice using Zygosaccharomyces rouxii yeast which is the same yeast used to ferment the rice which produced the seasoning of the claimed invention having the HPLC features recited in the present claims (Fig. 1 and [0065] of the present specification). Therefore, the method of Müller is considered to produce liquid seasonings which encompass the claimed HPLC features, especially wherein (1) the claimed HPLC features merely correlate to amounts of specific chemical compounds; (2) neither the present claims nor present specification identify these specific chemical compounds; and (3) the examples of the present specification seem to merely submit a liquid seasoning prepared by the method of Fig. 1 to HPLC analysis in order to obtain the claimed HPLC features. Furthermore, the Office does not have laboratory facilities to test claim limitations drawn toward features of a product as claimed. Accordingly, such HPLC features as recited in present claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 do not serve to distinguish the product as claimed from the prior art and are thus considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Müller teaches that the rice-derived liquid fermented seasoning is pasteurized after fermentation (column 2, lines 43-50). Müller does not teach that the liquid fermented seasoning has protease activity as recited in present claim 1; or that the protease activity at pH 6.0 is at least 5 units/g as recited in present claim 8.
However, Kawamoto teaches a rice-derived liquid fermented seasoning (Fig. 1; [0003]) produced using koji produced by Aspergillus oryzae wherein the koji produces protease enzymes [0030], [0034]. Kawamoto teaches that the seasoning produced using this koji has a protease activity at pH 6.0 of 55 units/g ([0067]; Table 1 under [0081]), which falls within the claimed protease activity range recited in present claim 8. Kawamoto does not teach that the seasoning was pasteurized [0062] so that the protease activity of 55 units/g at pH 6.0 is considered to be the protease activity of an unpasteurized seasoning. Kawamoto discloses that protease is inactivated when fermentation and maturation of the seasoning is performed at 60°C or more [0034].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the seasoning of Müller to have a protease activity at pH 6.0 of 55 units/g as taught by Kawamoto. Since Müller teaches the seasoning is produced by the fermentation of enzyme-containing koji produced by Aspergillus oryzae; and teaches that the rice-derived liquid fermented seasoning is pasteurized after fermentation (column 2, lines 43-50; column 2, line 60 - column 3, line 5) but does not disclose an enzyme produced by the koji, a skilled practitioner would have been motivated to consult an additional reference such as Kawamoto to determine an enzyme produced by Aspergillus oryzae koji. In consulting Kawamoto, the skilled practitioner would find that an unpasteurized seasoning may have a protease enzyme activity at pH 6.0 of 55 units/g. It is known in the art that pasteurization comprises heating a food/beverage to temperatures below 100°C so that the pasteurization disclosed in Müller is considered to encompass temperatures below 100°C. Since protease inactivation occurs when fermentation and maturation of the seasoning is performed at 60°C or more as taught by Kawamoto [0034], a pasteurization temperature of less than 60°C, which is encompassed by a pasteurization temperature range of less than 100°C, would not be expected to decrease the protease enzyme activity of the seasoning at pH 6.0 of 55 units/g, particularly wherein the decrease would result in a protease enzyme activity below 5 units/g as recited in present claim 8. Therefore, the combination of prior art is considered to render the claimed protease activity recited in present claims 1 and 8 obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Müller teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including that the salt content in the fermentation mash used to produce the seasoning comprises about 4 wt.% to about 12 wt.% (column 2, lines 53-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the resulting seasoning to contain about 4 wt.% to about 12 wt.% salt, which falls within the claimed salt concentration.
Regarding claim 10, modified Müller teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the seasoning contains 37 wt.% water (corresponding to 37 L of water) (Kawamoto, [0062]), which falls within the claimed concentration.
Regarding claim 11, modified Müller teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including the seasoning contains 30 wt.% sugar (Kawamoto, Table 1 under [0081]), which falls within the claimed concentration.
Regarding claim 12, Müller teaches the invention as described above in claim 1, including that the fermented raw material of the liquid fermented seasoning includes rice (column 3, lines 10-13).
Response to Arguments
Objections to Drawings: Applicant submitted corrected drawings to fully address the objections. Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of claims 2-3, 5, and 11: Applicant amended claims 2-3 and 5 to fully address the rejections. Therefore, the rejections of claims 2-3 and 5 are withdrawn. Applicant attempted to amend claim 11 to address its rejection but the claim remains rejected as described above.
Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 1-6, 9, and 12 over Müller: Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been fully considered and are not considered to overcome the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant canceled claim 6, thereby mooting its rejection. Applicant argued that the area of peak (C) depends on the existence of alcohol during the fermentation step, wherein the alcohol is provided in the raw materials of used for fermentation and wherein peak (C) is not present when alcohol is present during the fermentation step. Applicant stated that the raw materials of Test blocks 1-3 do not contain alcohol and that very little alcohol is generated during fermentation so that the no processing is required to remove alcohol from the inventive seasoning and that the inventive seasoning is free of alcohol. Applicant argued that Müller discloses that a significant amount of alcohol is generated during fermentation so that the seasoning of Müller would have contained alcohol and thus, would have had little if any peak (C) (Applicant’s Remarks, page 7, 1st paragraph of section 3- page 8, 2nd paragraph).
However, Müller does not disclose that alcohol is used in the raw materials for fermentation. Müller discloses that alcohol is produced during fermentation (column 3, lines 24-25), but Müller does not disclose that a “significant” amount of alcohol is produced, and Applicant has not provided any boundaries in the present specification with which to determine that the amount of alcohol produced during the fermentation of Müller is “significant”. The present specification does not disclose the amount of alcohol produced during fermentation and does not identify the component(s) which comprise(s) peak (C). Therefore, it is not clear how the amount of alcohol produced during the fermentation of the claimed seasoning differs from the amount of alcohol produced during the fermentation of the seasoning of Müller. It is also unclear how the amount of alcohol produced during fermentation relates to the size of peak (C).
Applicant the argued that a comparison between Test blocks 2 and 3 and soy sauce in the present specification shows that the area of peak (A) is proportional to the length of fermentation time. Applicant argued that the seasoning of Müller has a longer fermentation time relative to the fermentation time of the present invention as demonstrated by the Examples and preferred embodiments described in [0049] and [0065] of the present specification. Applicant argued that the seasoning of Müller would have a significantly larger peak (A) so that the ratio of the area of peak (A) to the area of peak (C) would be outside of the range of 0.24 to 2 as now recited by present claim 1 (Applicant’s Remarks, page 8, 3rd paragraph – page 9, 1st paragraph).
However, the present specification does not state how long Test block 2 and Test block 3 underwent fermentation and maturation; the specification at [0072] merely states that Test block 3 had an extended matured period. Therefore, it is unclear as to whether the fermentation and maturation times of Test block 2 and Test block 3 were longer than the times used in Müller. The Examiner points out that [0049] of the present specification discloses that the fermentation and maturation period for the seasoning is for 1-60 days. Müller teaches that the fermentation period for its seasoning is from about 32 days to 13 weeks (column 3, lines 46-53), which overlaps the broad range disclosed by the present specification. Therefore, according to Applicant’s reasoning that fermentation time is solely responsible for the area of peak (A), wherein the fermentation time of Müller overlaps the fermentation time disclosed in [0049] of the present specification, the seasoning of Müller would have produced the same amount of component(s) responsible for peak (A). Since Applicant has not adequately explained why the seasoning of Müller would not have a peak (C) since the raw materials of Müller do not contain alcohol and the seasoning of Müller produces alcohol during fermentation in the same way that the claimed seasoning produced alcohol during fermentation as explained in Examiner’s responses above, Applicant has not provided adequate support demonstrating that the seasoning of Müller would not have a ratio of the area of peak (A) to the area of peak (C) within the range recited in present claim 1.
Applicant then argued that Müller teaches away from a liquid fermented seasoning having protease activity as now recited by present claim 1 as Müller teaches pasteurization of its seasoning. Applicant argued that protease is vulnerable to heat so that pasteurization would have inactivated the protease in the seasoning of Müller (Applicant’s Remarks, page 9, 2nd - 3rd paragraphs).
However, as described in the current grounds of rejections, Müller teaches the seasoning is produced by the fermentation of enzyme-containing koji produced by Aspergillus oryzae; and teaches that the seasoning is pasteurized (column 2, line 60 - column 3, line 5). Kawamoto teaches that koji produced by Aspergillus oryzae produces protease enzymes; and teaches that a seasoning produced from the koji may have a protease activity at pH 6.0 of 55 units/g ([0067]; Table 1 under [0081], [0030], [0034]). Kawamoto discloses that protease is inactivated when fermentation and maturation of the seasoning is performed at 60°C or more [0034]. It is known in the art that pasteurization comprises heating a food/beverage to temperatures below 100°C so that the pasteurization disclosed in Müller is considered to encompass temperatures below 100°C. Since protease inactivation occurs when fermentation and maturation of the seasoning is performed at 60°C or more as taught by Kawamoto [0034], a pasteurization temperature of less than 60°C, which is encompassed by a temperature range of below 100°C, would not be expected to decrease the protease enzyme activity of the seasoning at pH 6.0 of 55 units/g, particularly wherein the decrease would result in a protease enzyme activity below 5 units/g as recited in present claim 8. Therefore, the combination of prior art is considered to render the claimed protease activity recited in present claims 1 and 8 obvious.
Since the combination of prior art has been shown to render the present claims obvious and Applicant’s arguments have been shown to be unpersuasive, the rejections of the claims stand as written herein.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 7-8 and 10-11 over Müller and Kawamoto: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are considered unpersuasive.
Applicant canceled claim 7, thereby mooting its rejection. Applicant argued that claims 8 and 10-11 are allowable by reason of dependency from claim 1 (Applicant’s Remarks, page 9, paragraph under section 4 – page 10, 1st paragraph).
However, present claims 1, 8, and 10-11 are shown to be rendered obvious by the combination of prior art as described in the prior art rejections above. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive, and the rejections of the claims stand as written herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791