DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the inorganic substance" in claim 47. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. When components are introduced in claim 35 with the phrase “at least one” preceding them, any further recitation of the components in dependent claims must have the phrase “at least one” preceding them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-43 and 47-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (JP 2011-201946A).
Regarding claims 35-38, 47 and 50-51: Nagano et al. teach a composition comprising polylactic acid and 0.2 parts by weight of a stabilizing agent [Examples]; the stabilizing agent comprising of sodium sulfite and 9,10-dihydro-9-oxa-10-phosphaphenathrene-10-oxide [Examples; Claims]. Nagano et al. teach that PEP-8: Distearyl pentaerythritol diphosphite can be used interchangeably with 9,10-dihydro-9-oxa-10-phosphaphenathrene-10-oxide [Examples; Table 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mixture of sodium sulfite and Distearyl pentaerythritol diphosphite as the stabilizer in Nagano et al.
Regarding claims 39-40, 42 and 43: Nagano et al. teach the claimed additives, and it would have been obvious to add one of the additives of Nagano et al. for its intended purpose [0118]. It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of additive within the claimed amount. For example, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of pigment for the desired color. It is a result effective variable. For claim 43, Nagano et al. teach the claimed amount of polylactic acid and additive composition [Examples].
Regarding claim 41: Nagano et al. teach 0 parts by weight of plasticizer, filler and/or reinforcing material [Examples].
Regarding claims 48-49: The inorganic sulfite is selected from the options of claim 35.
Regarding claim 52: When using a mixture of stabilizers, the skilled artisan would immediately envisage a 1:1 mixture.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has alleged that Nagano et al. fail to teach the claimed phosphorus compound. This is not persuasive because Nagano et al. teach PEP-8: Distearyl pentaerythritol diphosphate [Examples; Table 1]. Furthermore, Nagano et al. teach sodium sulfite [Claims].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763