Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hakim and Degen.
Examiner notes Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach wherein the manual pump is arranged and configured to move the bolus of the fluid in order to inhibit blockages within the shunt when the electronic pump cannot create the bolus of fluid. However, this newly added limitation is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the disclosure of Hakim and Degen teaches the structure of the two pumps and it appears that the manual pump of Hakim can perform the intended use function of creating bolus without the electronic pump. There does not appear to be structures that hinder the functioning of the Hakim manual pump from moving fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakim (US 4261341) in view of Degen (US 2018/0056050).
Regarding claim 1, A shunt for draining fluid, comprising:
a first catheter (22, figures 1 and 2);
a manual pump (37, figure 2) fluidly coupled to the first catheter; and
a second catheter (13) fluidly coupled to the manual pump (figure 2),
wherein, during a drainage operation, the shunt arranged and configured such that a fluid is passively pressure-driven through the shunt (col 3, lines 1-20).
Further, the limitation “wherein the manual pump is arranged and configured to move the bolus of the fluid in order to inhibit blockages within the shunt when the electronic pump cannot create the bolus of fluid.” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the manual pump of Hakim can perform the intended use function of creating bolus without the electronic pump since Hakim does not appear to have an electronic pump already. There does not appear to be structures that hinder the functioning of the Hakim manual pump from moving fluid.
Hakim does not disclose an electronic pump fluidly coupled to the first catheter and the manual pump fluidly coupled to the electronic pump and the electronic pump is arranged to move a bolus of the fluid through the shunt.
Degen discloses an implantable shunt for moving fluid and teaches an electronic pump (21, [0030]) fluidly coupled to the first catheter (23, figure 1) and the electronic pump is arranged to move a bolus of the fluid through the shunt ([0030], can naturally be able to move bolus of fluid due to the electromechanical nature of the pump). The combined device would have the manual pump fluidly coupled to the electronic pump since the electric pump is on the distal end of the first catheter in Degen and Hakim has a catheter at the opposite end of the manual pump.
Degen provides an electrical pump in order to prevent clogging and more reliably move fluid ([006]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hakim with the electrical pump of Degen in order to prevent clogging and reliably move fluid.
Regarding claim 2, Hakim does not disclose the device with a control unit that operates the electric pump at preselected time intervals.
Degen further discloses a control unit that operates the electric pump at preselected time intervals ([0009]).
Degen provides an electrical pump with control unit to control the movement of fluid ([0009]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hakim with the electrical pump of Degen in order to prevent clogging and reliably move fluid.
Regarding claim 3, Hakim does not disclose wherein the electric pump moves the bolus of fluid as a pressure wave of the fluid flowing through the shunt at a greater pressure than the fluid being pressure-driven through the shunt.
Degen further discloses the electric pump moves the bolus of fluid as a pressure wave of the fluid flowing through the shunt at a greater pressure than the fluid being pressure-driven through the shunt ([0062]).
Degen provides an electrical pump with control unit to control the movement of fluid ([0009]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hakim with the electrical pump of Degen in order to prevent clogging and reliably move fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Hakim further comprising a one-way valve (19) fluidly coupled to the second catheter.
Regarding claim 5, Hakim discloses wherein the first catheter, the manual pump, the second catheter, and the one-way valve are serially arranged to form the shunt (figures 1-2), but does not disclose the electronic pump in serial arrangement.
The combined device would have the manual pump fluidly coupled to the electronic pump since the electric pump is on the distal end of the first catheter in Degen and Hakim has a catheter at the opposite end of the manual pump.
Degen provides an electrical pump in order to prevent clogging and more reliably move fluid ([006]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Hakim with the electrical pump of Degen in order to prevent clogging and reliably move fluid.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein the first catheter is configured to be arranged within a peritoneal space of a subject in order to drain fluid from the peritoneal space” is treated as a statement of intended use. In this case, the Hakim catheter is capable of being placed in the peritoneal space and thus meets the limitations.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “wherein the second catheter is configured to be arranged within a bladder of the subject in order to fluidly couple the peritoneal space of the subject with the bladder of the subject” is treated as a statement of intended use. In this case, the Hakim catheter is capable of being placed in the bladder and thus meets the limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Hakim discloses the one way valve (19) and the valve is a one way valve wherein the one-way valve inhibits fluid (col 2, lines 25-35), the limitation “within the bladder from flowing through the shunt” is a statement of intended use. In this case, the Hakim valve is capable of preventing fluid from the bladder to move through the shunt.
Regarding claim 9, Hakim discloses wherein the manual pump is arranged and configured to move a bolus of the fluid through the shunt based on a manual activation (col 3, lines 1-20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781