DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/29/2026 regarding claims 1-6, 8, 22, 26, 27 and 30 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 22, 26, 27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0199763) in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2021/0337584).
As per claim 1:
Matsumura teaches a method of wireless communication (see paragraph [0001], teaches a terminal, radio communication method and a base station in next generation mobile communication systems) in a single-frequency network (SFN) (see paragraph [0132], disclose a UE may be configured/indicated with a new PDCCH transmission mode for HST-SFN PDCCH QCL enhancement), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter/MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception);
receiving a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2).
Matsumura does not teach receiving an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states;
demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states.
Zhang teaches receiving an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states (see paragraph [0166], subsequently, in an optional implementation, the network device may activate, by using higher layer signaling, one or more TCI states in the candidate TCI states of the PDSCH to receive the PDSCH);
demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (see paragraphs [0040], [0320], after the DCI is decoded, at least one of type A/B/C QCL information indicated by the two TCI states may be used to demodulate the PDSCH. Note: The TCI states used for demodulating the PDSCH is less than maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH. That is, according to paragraph [0165], the network may configure a maximum of 128 candidate TCI states used to receive the PDSCH while paragraph [0166] disclosing the one or more TCI states may be active to receive the PDSCH which is a subset of the TCI state list configured by using the RRC signaling. Thus, the activated TCI states are fewer than the maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of one or more TCI States (as disclosed in Zhang) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the terminal device to receive a channel based on at least two reference signal resources, thereby increasing the probability of successfully receiving data (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 2:
Matsumura in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1.
Matsumura does not teach wherein the set of main TCI states comprises one TCI state.
Zhang teaches wherein the set of main TCI states comprises one TCI state (see paragraph [0048], when the quantity of transmission configuration indicator states (TCI state) indicated in the transmission configuration indicator field is 1, determining a second reference signal resource in the at least two second reference signal resources as the target reference signal resource).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of one or more TCI States (as disclosed in Zhang) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the terminal device to receive a channel based on at least two reference signal resources, thereby increasing the probability of successfully receiving data (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 4:
Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an indication that the configuration message comprises a plurality of transmission configuration information (TCI) states (Matsumura, see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter/MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception).
As per claim 5:
Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising receiving an indication of a change in an SFN scheme (Matsumura, paragraph [0132], the UE may be configured/indicated with a new PDCCH transmission mode for HST-SFN PDCCH QCL enhancement).
As per claim 22:
Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see paragraph [0001], teaches a terminal, radio communication method and a base station in next generation mobile communication systems) in a single-frequency network (SFN) (see paragraph [0132], disclose a UE may be configured/indicated with a new PDCCH transmission mode for HST-SFN PDCCH QCL enhancement), the apparatus comprising:
means for receiving (see Figure 9, RF section 222) a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter/MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception);
means for receiving (see Figure 9, RF section 222) a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2).
Matsumura does not teach means for receiving an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states;
means for demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states.
Zhang teaches means for receiving an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states (see paragraph [0166], subsequently, in an optional implementation, the network device may activate, by using higher layer signaling, one or more TCI states in the candidate TCI states of the PDSCH to receive the PDSCH);
means for demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (see paragraphs [0040], [0320], after the DCI is decoded, at least one of type A/B/C QCL information indicated by the two TCI states may be used to demodulate the PDSCH. Note: The TCI states used for demodulating the PDSCH is less than maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH. That is, according to paragraph [0165], the network may configure a maximum of 128 candidate TCI states used to receive the PDSCH while paragraph [0166] disclosing the one or more TCI states may be active to receive the PDSCH which is a subset of the TCI state list configured by using the RRC signaling. Thus, the activated TCI states are fewer than the maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of one or more TCI States (as disclosed in Zhang) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the terminal device to receive a channel based on at least two reference signal resources, thereby increasing the probability of successfully receiving data (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 26:
Matsumura teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- executable code (see paragraph [0261], each function of the user terminal is implemented by allowing certain software (programs) to be read on hardware such as the processor and the memory and allowing the processor to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus), comprising instructions for causing an apparatus to:
receive a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter/MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception);
receive a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2).
Matsumura does not teach receive an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states;
demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states.
Zhang teaches receive an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states (see paragraph [0166], subsequently, in an optional implementation, the network device may activate, by using higher layer signaling, one or more TCI states in the candidate TCI states of the PDSCH to receive the PDSCH);
demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (see paragraphs [0040], [0320], after the DCI is decoded, at least one of type A/B/C QCL information indicated by the two TCI states may be used to demodulate the PDSCH. Note: The TCI states used for demodulating the PDSCH is less than maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH. That is, according to paragraph [0165], the network may configure a maximum of 128 candidate TCI states used to receive the PDSCH while paragraph [0166] disclosing the one or more TCI states may be active to receive the PDSCH which is a subset of the TCI state list configured by using the RRC signaling. Thus, the activated TCI states are fewer than the maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of one or more TCI States (as disclosed in Zhang) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the terminal device to receive a channel based on at least two reference signal resources, thereby increasing the probability of successfully receiving data (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 27:
Matsumura teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- executable code, comprising instructions for causing a network node (see paragraph [0261], each function of the user terminal is implemented by allowing certain software (programs) to be read on hardware such as the processor and the memory and allowing the processor to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus) to:
receive a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter/MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception);
receive a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2).
Matsumura does not teach receive an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states;
demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states.
Zhang teaches receive an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states (see paragraph [0166], subsequently, in an optional implementation, the network device may activate, by using higher layer signaling, one or more TCI states in the candidate TCI states of the PDSCH to receive the PDSCH);
demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (see paragraphs [0040], [0320], after the DCI is decoded, at least one of type A/B/C QCL information indicated by the two TCI states may be used to demodulate the PDSCH. Note: The TCI states used for demodulating the PDSCH is less than maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH. That is, according to paragraph [0165], the network may configure a maximum of 128 candidate TCI states used to receive the PDSCH while paragraph [0166] disclosing the one or more TCI states may be active to receive the PDSCH which is a subset of the TCI state list configured by using the RRC signaling. Thus, the activated TCI states are fewer than the maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of one or more TCI States (as disclosed in Zhang) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the terminal device to receive a channel based on at least two reference signal resources, thereby increasing the probability of successfully receiving data (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
As per claim 30:
Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see paragraph [0001], teaches a terminal in next generation mobile communication systems), comprising:
a processor (see Figure 10, processor 1001);
a transceiver communicatively coupled to processor (see Figure 10, communication apparatus 1004 coupled to processor 1001);
and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (see Figure 10, memory 1002 coupled to processor 1001), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCT states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter/MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception);
receive a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2).
Matsumura does not teach receive an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states;
demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states.
Zhang teaches receive an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as a set of main TCI states (see paragraph [0166], subsequently, in an optional implementation, the network device may activate, by using higher layer signaling, one or more TCI states in the candidate TCI states of the PDSCH to receive the PDSCH);
demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only the set of main TCI states, wherein the set of main TCI states comprises fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (see paragraphs [0040], [0320], after the DCI is decoded, at least one of type A/B/C QCL information indicated by the two TCI states may be used to demodulate the PDSCH. Note: The TCI states used for demodulating the PDSCH is less than maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH. That is, according to paragraph [0165], the network may configure a maximum of 128 candidate TCI states used to receive the PDSCH while paragraph [0166] disclosing the one or more TCI states may be active to receive the PDSCH which is a subset of the TCI state list configured by using the RRC signaling. Thus, the activated TCI states are fewer than the maximum number of candidate TCI states used to receive PDSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the activation of one or more TCI States (as disclosed in Zhang) into Matsumura as a way of enabling the terminal device to receive a channel based on at least two reference signal resources, thereby increasing the probability of successfully receiving data (please see paragraph [0081] of Zhang).
5. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhang and further in view of Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0171611), hereinafter referred to as Matsumura’611.
As per claim 3:
Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
further comprising:
measuring one or more channel parameters corresponding to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states;
and transmitting a channel state information message based on the one or more channel parameters.
Matsumura’611 teaches further comprising:
measuring one or more channel parameters corresponding to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0273], the N TCI states applied to repeated reception may correspond to N best beams measured by the UE. For example, the UE may measure a reference signal received using a large number of beams, and may report a beam report regarding beams having measurement results such as L1-SINR/L1-RSRP in high ranks to the network);
and transmitting a channel state information message based on the one or more channel parameters (paragraph [0273], UE may report information regarding beams having measurement results such as L1-SINR/L1-RSRP in high ranks to the network. Based on the report (for example, the latest reported TCI states (beams)), the base station may indicate for the UE to include N best TCI states as the TCI states for reception of the PDSCH scheduled for the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of measurement results corresponding to the TCI states (as disclosed in Matsumura’611) into both Matsumura and Zhang as a way for the base station to indicate to the UE the best TCI states for receiving the PDSCH (please see paragraph [0273] of Matsumura’611).
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhang and further in view of Ko (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0304018).
As per claim 6:
Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 5 with the exception of:
wherein the change in the SFN scheme comprises a fallback to a single-transmission reception point (TRP) scheme.
Ko teaches wherein the change in the SFN scheme comprises a fallback to a single-transmission reception point (TRP) scheme (see paragraph [0293], the base station configures/indicates/schedules, to the UE, panel switching UL transmission and/or multi-panel simultaneous UL transmission. This STXMP can obtain robustness of PUSCH transmission by transmitting the same transport block via/using the SFN UL transmission and can also obtain an effect of improving a data rate by transmitting different data to a single TRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the panel switching (as disclosed in Ko) into both Matsumura and Zhang as a way of obtaining robustness of PUSCH transmission and also improve data rate transmission (please see paragraph [0293] of Ko).
7. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Zhang and further in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0083208), hereinafter referred to as Zhang’208.
As per claim 8:
Matsumura in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
further comprising:
transmitting information indicating user equipment (UE) support of a SFN scheme switching feature.
Zhang’208 teaches further comprising:
transmitting information indicating user equipment (UE) support of a SFN scheme switching feature (see paragraph [0086] disclose the UE capability information includes support for option 1 (i.e., supporting SFN scheme) and also support for option 2 (i.e., support non-SFN scheme)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the support for SFN scheme and non-SFN scheme (as disclosed in Zhang’208) into both Matsumura and Gerami as a way of using a default beam supporting one or more TCIs (please see paragraph [0080] of Zhang’208).
Conclusion
/PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474