CTFR 17/996,755 CTFR 85616 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/03/2026 regarding claims 1-8, 22, 26, 27 and 30 in the remarks are fully considered but moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection. Response to Amendments Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 2. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim (s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 22, 26, 27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0199763) in view of Gerami (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0180276) . As per claim 1: Matsumura teaches a method of wireless communication (see paragraph [0001], teaches a terminal, radio communication method and a base station in next generation mobile communication systems) in a single-frequency network (SFN) (see paragraph [0132], disclose a UE may be configured/indicated with a new PDCCH transmission mode for HST-SFN PDCCH QCL enhancement) , the method comprising: receiving a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter /MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception) ; receiving a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2 ). Matsumura does not teach demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states . Gerami teaches demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset (paragraph [0092], disclose based on the pointer , the UE knows which large-scale parameter estimate to use when performing PDSCH DMRS channel estimation and PDSCH demodulation . Said pointer is an index to one or two active TCI states for the scheduled UE. Note: Examiner is reading said two active TCI states as said subset ) of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states (paragraph [0092] disclose UE can be configured with a number of active TCI states such as four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states . Note: Examiner is reading said active TCI states as said main TCI states especially since the PDSCH is demodulated based on the configured active TCI states , please see paragraphs [0091], [0092] ) , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (as explained earlier in paragraph [0092], the UE can be configured with four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states and thus fewer states than the plurality of TCI states ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami). As per claim 2: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 1 . Matsumura does not teach wherein the subset of the TCI states comprises one TCE state . Gerami teaches wherein the subset of the TCI states comprises one TCE state (paragraph [0092], pointer to one or two active TCI states ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami). As per claim 4: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an indication that the configuration message comprises a plurality of transmission configuration information (TCI) states (Matsumura, see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter /MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception). As per claim 5: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising receiving an indication of a change in an SFN scheme (Matsumura, paragraph [0132], the UE may be configured/indicated with a new PDCCH transmission mode for HST-SFN PDCCH QCL enhancement). As per claim 7: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 1 . Matsumura does not teach further comprising receiving an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as the subset of TCI states . Gerami teaches further comprising receiving an indication identifying one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states as the subset of TCI states (see paragraph [0092], disclose DCI used for PDSCH scheduling may include pointer to one or more two active TCI states for the scheduled UE). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami). As per claim 22: Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see paragraph [0001], teaches a terminal, radio communication method and a base station in next generation mobile communication systems) in a single-frequency network (SFN) (see paragraph [0132], disclose a UE may be configured/indicated with a new PDCCH transmission mode for HST-SFN PDCCH QCL enhancement) , the apparatus comprising: means for receiving (see Figure 9, RF section 222) a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter /MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception) ; means for receiving (see Figure 9, RF section 222) a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2 ). Matsumura does not teach and means for demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states . Gerami teaches and means for demodulating the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset (paragraph [0092], disclose based on the pointer , the UE knows which large-scale parameter estimate to use when performing PDSCH DMRS channel estimation and PDSCH demodulation . Said pointer is an index to one or two active TCI states for the scheduled UE. Note: Examiner is reading said two active TCI states as said subset ) of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states (paragraph [0092] disclose UE can be configured with a number of active TCI states such as four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states . Note: Examiner is reading said active TCI states as said main TCI states especially since the PDSCH is demodulated based on the configured active TCI states , please see paragraphs [0091], [0092] ) , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (as explained earlier in paragraph [0092], the UE can be configured with four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states and thus fewer states than the plurality of TCI states ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami). As per claim 26: Matsumura teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- executable code (see paragraph [0261], each function of the user terminal is implemented by allowing certain software (programs) to be read on hardware such as the processor and the memory and allowing the processor to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus) , comprising instructions for causing an apparatus to: receive a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter /MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception) ; receive a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2 ) . Matsumura does not teach demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states . Gerami teaches demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset (paragraph [0092], disclose based on the pointer , the UE knows which large-scale parameter estimate to use when performing PDSCH DMRS channel estimation and PDSCH demodulation . Said pointer is an index to one or two active TCI states for the scheduled UE. Note: Examiner is reading said two active TCI states as said subset ) of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states (paragraph [0092] disclose UE can be configured with a number of active TCI states such as four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states . Note: Examiner is reading said active TCI states as said main TCI states especially since the PDSCH is demodulated based on the configured active TCI states , please see paragraphs [0091], [0092] ) , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (as explained earlier in paragraph [0092], the UE can be configured with four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states and thus fewer states than the plurality of TCI states ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami). As per claim 27: Matsumura teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- executable code, comprising instructions for causing a network node (see paragraph [0261], each function of the user terminal is implemented by allowing certain software (programs) to be read on hardware such as the processor and the memory and allowing the processor to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus) to: receive a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter /MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception) ; receive a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2 ) . Matsumura does not teach demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states . Gerami teaches demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset (paragraph [0092], disclose based on the pointer , the UE knows which large-scale parameter estimate to use when performing PDSCH DMRS channel estimation and PDSCH demodulation . Said pointer is an index to one or two active TCI states for the scheduled UE. Note: Examiner is reading said two active TCI states as said subset ) of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states (paragraph [0092] disclose UE can be configured with a number of active TCI states such as four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states . Note: Examiner is reading said active TCI states as said main TCI states especially since the PDSCH is demodulated based on the configured active TCI states , please see paragraphs [0091], [0092] ) , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (as explained earlier in paragraph [0092], the UE can be configured with four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states and thus fewer states than the plurality of TCI states ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami). As per claim 30: Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (see paragraph [0001], teaches a terminal in next generation mobile communication systems) , comprising: a processor (see Figure 10, processor 1001 ) ; a transceiver communicatively coupled to processor (see Figure 10, communication apparatus 1004 coupled to processor 1001 ) ; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (see Figure 10, memory 1002 coupled to processor 1001 ) , wherein the processor is configured to: receive a configuration message comprising a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state parameters corresponding to a plurality of TCT states (see paragraph [0248], disclose receiving information for example configuration/indication, RRC parameter /MAC CE/DCI indicating a plurality of TCI states for a same DMRS port for physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception) ; receive a downlink traffic channel (see Figure 2B, paragraphs [0084]-[0085], supports HST-SFN scenario where two DL data , may be transmitted in the multiple PDSCH transmission based on multi DCI. Figure 2B shows UE receiving PDSCHs from TRP#1 and TRP#2 ) . Matsumura does not teach demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states . Gerami teaches demodulate the downlink traffic channel based on only a subset (paragraph [0092], disclose based on the pointer , the UE knows which large-scale parameter estimate to use when performing PDSCH DMRS channel estimation and PDSCH demodulation . Said pointer is an index to one or two active TCI states for the scheduled UE. Note: Examiner is reading said two active TCI states as said subset ) of the plurality of TCI states identified as a set of main TCI states (paragraph [0092] disclose UE can be configured with a number of active TCI states such as four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states . Note: Examiner is reading said active TCI states as said main TCI states especially since the PDSCH is demodulated based on the configured active TCI states , please see paragraphs [0091], [0092] ) , the subset of the plurality of TCI states comprising fewer TCI states than the plurality of TCI states (as explained earlier in paragraph [0092], the UE can be configured with four active TCI states from a list of 64 total configured TCI states and thus fewer states than the plurality of TCI states ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of a select number of TCI states to PDSCH (as disclosed in Gerami) into Matsumura as a way of supporting resource configuration for repeatedly transmitting PDSCH over different TRPs and TCI states in consecutive slots (please see paragraph [0111] of Gerami). Thus, implementing such resource configuration or other similar resource configuration can help reduce latency (please see paragraph [0112] of Gerami) . 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Gerami and further in view of Matsumura (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0171611), hereinafter referred to as Matsumura’611 . As per claim 3: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of: further comprising: measuring one or more channel parameters corresponding to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states; and transmitting a channel state information message based on the one or more channel parameters . Matsumura’611 teaches further comprising: measuring one or more channel parameters corresponding to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states (see paragraph [0273], the N TCI states applied to repeated reception may correspond to N best beams measured by the UE. For example, the UE may measure a reference signal received using a large number of beams, and may report a beam report regarding beams having measurement results such as L1-SINR/L1-RSRP in high ranks to the network) ; and transmitting a channel state information message based on the one or more channel parameters (paragraph [0273], UE may report information regarding beams having measurement results such as L1-SINR/L1-RSRP in high ranks to the network. Based on the report (for example, the latest reported TCI states (beams)), the base station may indicate for the UE to include N best TCI states as the TCI states for reception of the PDSCH scheduled for the UE). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the reporting of measurement results corresponding to the TCI states (as disclosed in Matsumura’611) into both Matsumura and Gerami as a way for the base station to indicate to the UE the best TCI states for receiving the PDSCH (please see paragraph [0273] of Matsumura’611) . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Gerami and further in view of Ko (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0304018) . As per claim 6: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 5 with the exception of: wherein the change in the SFN scheme comprises a fallback to a single-transmission reception point (TRP) scheme . Ko teaches wherein the change in the SFN scheme comprises a fallback to a single-transmission reception point (TRP) scheme (see paragraph [0293], the base station configures/indicates/schedules, to the UE, panel switching UL transmission and/or multi-panel simultaneous UL transmission. This STXMP can obtain robustness of PUSCH transmission by transmitting the same transport block via/using the SFN UL transmission and can also obtain an effect of improving a data rate by transmitting different data to a single TRP ). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the panel switching (as disclosed in Ko) into both Matsumura and Gerami as a way of obtaining robustness of PUSCH transmission and also improve data rate transmission (please see paragraph [0293] of Ko) . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Gerami and further in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0083208) . As per claim 8: Matsumura in view of Gerami teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of: further comprising: transmitting information indicating user equipment ( UE ) support of a SFN scheme switching feature . Zhang teaches further comprising: transmitting information indicating user equipment ( UE ) support of a SFN scheme switching feature (see paragraph [0086] disclose the UE capability information includes support for option 1 (i.e., supporting SFN scheme) and also support for option 2 (i.e., support non-SFN scheme)). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the support for SFN scheme and non-SFN scheme (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Matsumura and Gerami as a way of using a default beam supporting one or more TCIs (please see paragraph [0080] of Zhang). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PRINCE AKWASI MENSAH whose telephone number is (571)270-7183. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL THIER can be reached at 571-272-2832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH Examiner Art Unit 2474 /PRINCE A MENSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2474 /Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 3 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 4 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 5 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 6 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 7 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 8 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 9 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 10 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 11 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 12 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 13 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 14 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 15 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 16 Art Unit: 2474 Application/Control Number: 17/996,755 Page 17 Art Unit: 2474