DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I claims 53-58 directed to an intermediate composite material is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 59-61 are withdrawn from consideration at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53 and 55-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radanitsch et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2015/0360426 in view of Viard et al., WO2019/102136.
Regarding claims 53 and 56, Radanitsch discloses a composite part for wind turbine parts and/or blades wherein the composite comprises a combination of one or more layers of prepreg and dry fibrous material [0001 and 0008]. Paragraph 0037 discloses stacks of prepregs and dry fiber layers. Paragraph 0036 discloses that the prepregs include structural fibers impregnated with epoxy resin [thermosetting resin] [molded portion]. Paragraph 0007 discloses that the prepreg layers are located in relation to one or more resin infusible fibrous reinforcement stack in order to prevent linear distortion between prepreg and the fibrous reinforcement stack. Paragraph 0064 discloses epoxy resin infused in the dry stack.
Radanitsch is silent to at least on stack of layers of dry reinforcing fibers including at least one layer of porous polymeric material inserted between successive layers of dry reinforcing fibers. Viard discloses a composite part including a stack of unidirectional reinforcement fibers that are oriented in different directions with a porous polymer layer disposed between the stacks of fiber reinforcement [abstract, 0058 and 0064] wherein the porous polymer layer includes a thermoplastic. Paragraph 0013 discloses dry fiber reinforcement. Paragraph 0010 discloses novel reinforcement materials for making composite parts in association with an injected or infused resin that retain the beneficial effects on mechanical performance that have been observed when reinforcement materials including a thermoplastic porous layer are used. Radanitsch and Viard are analogous art in that both reference disclose composite parts including a dry stack of fiber layers. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the dry reinforcement stack with a porous thermoplastic film interposed between the fiber layers of Viard as the dry reinforcement stack or Radanitsch for the benefit of enhanced mechanical properties of the composite part.
Regarding claim 55, Radanitsch discloses in paragraph 0035 unidirectional fibers for the dry stack.
Regarding claim 57, Radanitsch discloses in paragraph 0033 discloses that the structural fibers in the prepreg fibers arranged randomly.
Regarding claim 58, paragraph 0037 of Radanitsch discloses that the stack of dry fiber layers may contain 40 layers wherein the stack has a thickness of from 35 to 100 mm.
Claim 54 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant claims an intermediate composite material as recited in claim 53, further including wherein the stack of dry reinforcing fibers has an average thickness of at least 5 mm and the thermoset polymer partially penetrates the thickness of the stack of dry reinforcing fibers to an average penetration depth of at least 2 mm as recited in claim 54. The closest prior art, Radanitsch et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2015/0360426, discloses a composite part for wind turbine parts and/or blades wherein the composite comprises a combination of one or more layers of prepreg and dry fibrous material [0001 and 0008]. Paragraph 0037 discloses stacks of prepregs and dry fiber layers. Paragraph 0036 discloses that the prepregs include structural fibers impregnated with epoxy resin [thermosetting resin] [molded portion]. Paragraph 0007 discloses that the prepreg layers are located in relation to one or more resin infusible fibrous reinforcement stack in order to prevent linear distortion between prepreg and the fibrous reinforcement stack. Paragraph 0064 discloses epoxy resin infused in the dry stack. Radanitsch fails to teach or suggest the limitation in claim 54.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786