DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed on Oct. 21, 2022. Claims 1-16 are pending and are currently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Lou et al. (Langmuir. 2017 Jan 31;33(4):1097-1104) as evidenced by Roy et al. (ACS Nano. 2022 Jan 25;16(1):192-210).
The base claim 1 is directed to an array for detecting a target particle, comprising:
a substrate with uneven surface,
a lipid bilayer coating the uneven surface, and
plural capturing substances binding to the target particle, wherein the capturing substances are localized in the lipid bilayer with fluidity, and labeled with a signaling material.
Lou et al. teaches a lipid nanopillar array for detecting circulating tumor cells comprising I). a surface with nanopillars substrate (See page 4, paragraph 2); II). a lipid bilayer (SLBs) as a surface coating in quartz nanopillar-based CTC (Circulating tumor cells) capture (See page 3, paragraph 3); III). A lipid coating serves both as an effective passivation layer that helps prevent nonspecific cell adhesion and as a functionalized layer for antibody-based specific cell capture. In addition, the fluidity of lipid bilayers enables antibody clustering that enhances the cell–surface interaction for efficient cell capture (See Abstract), and the lipid bilayer can be easily functionalized by doping lipids with functional groups, such as biotinylated lipid molecules for streptavidin–biotin-based antibody functionalization (See page 3, paragraph 3). Here the description teaches a plural capturing antibodies binding to the target CTC and capturing substance are localized in the lipid bilayer with fluidity and biotinylated labelling as claimed.
As for the “uneven surface”, although Lou et al. does not explicitly use the term “uneven”, a “quartz nanopillar” surface taught by Lou is obviously an uneven surface with a 3D structure. For example, the uneven surface of the quartz nanopillar can be evidenced by a study by Roy et al. Roy et al. teaches that recent studies have used three-dimensional (3D) nanostructures such as nanopillars to imprint well-defined membrane curvatures (the “nano−bio interface”) (See Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Lou et al. teaches the uneven surface comprise s a plurality of pillars by stating that quantification of the fluorescence of several nanopillars shows consistent intensities among all of them (Figure 1d), indicating a conformal lipid bilayer coating on all of the nanopillar surfaces. Furthermore, they used Alexa488-labeled streptavidin (SA-488) to visualize the uniformity of the proteins attached to the supported lipid bilayer (See page 6, paragraph 1; Figure 1, page 12 and below).
Regarding claim 4, it requires a hydrophilic surface. Lou et al. teaches that lipid bilayers are a natural passivation layer. Supported lipid bilayers have been shown to effectively prevent cells from binding to underlying surfaces. They can be easily formed in vitro by applying small unilamellar vesicles (SUVs) to the hydrophilic surface under physiological conditions (See page 3, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lou et al. teaches that the target particle is a MC7 cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (Langmuir. 2017 Jan 31;33(4):1097-1104) as evidenced by Roy et al. (ACS Nano. 2022 Jan 25;16(1):192-210) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4-5 above.
Claim 3 is directed to array for detecting a target particle of claim 2, wherein diameter, height, or interval of the pillar or groove is at least 1.2 times the average diameter of the target particle.
Relevance of Lou et al. is set forth above. However, it does not explicitly point out the diameter, height, or interval of the pillar or groove is at least 1.2 times the average diameter of the target particle. However, Lou et al. teaches that lipid bilayer-coated nanopillar arrays with different diameters and pitch size produced similar results with respect to both the capture efficiency and capture purity of the lipid-coated flat surface (Figure S5, Supporting information and below). Since Lou teaches using the 500 nm diameter, 3 μm spacing, and 1.3 μm height quartz nanopillar to capture MCF7 cells with high purity and efficiency (See e.g., Figure S5 above; Figure 1, above), determining other workable or optimal diameters, spacings, etc. is routine experimentation. One of ordinary skills would be able to test for an optimal condition as claimed to reach 1.2 times ratio between pillar or groove and the particles. Therefore, the claimed “1.2 times” limitation would have been obvious unless there is evidence
showing that they produce unexpected results.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (Langmuir. 2017 Jan 31;33(4):1097-1104) as evidenced by Roy et al. (ACS Nano. 2022 Jan 25;16(1):192-210) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4-5 above. and in view of Hartman et al. (Nanoscale, 2015, 7, 66) and Matsubara et al. (Front Microbial. 2016 Apr 7; 7:468).
Claim 6-7 require the detected particles of claims 5 and 6 are virus and coronavirus, an influenza virus, or a combination, respectively.
Relevance of Lou et al. is set forth above, it is silent on the target particle is virus.
Hartman et al. reviews the surface functionalization and applications of nanoparticles tethered to supported lipid bilayers (SLBs). SLBs are synthetic membranes self-assembled on a planar surface (See Introduction), and teaches that lipid vesicles on the nanoscale can also be surface-functionalized, tethered to the bilayer, and tracked by fluorophores on the vesicle surface or enclosed within (See page 68, right column, paragraph 3). Hartman et al. discloses that the viral particle can be detected using the supported lipid bilayers as dynamic platforms for tethered particles by stating that using a fluid bilayer with GM1 to detect the single virus particles that natively attach to the ganglioside lipid from several surface binding sites (See page 70, right column, paragraph 2), which can enhance signal transduction severalfold (See page 72, left column, paragraph 1), and can persist for weeks, and all of these properties enable robust, massive statistical readouts from a single sample of tethered nanoparticles (See page 65, left column, paragraph 1). Fig. 1 of Hartman teaches using the substance of the single streptavidin modified QD in a fluid GM1 bilayer
to detect the virus-like particles (See page 68, left column, Fig. 1 and below). Although Hartman et al. does not specify if the virus is influenzas virus or coronavirus, one skilled in the art can select a virus as needed to test using the lipid bilayers technique for virus detection as taught by Hartman.
Nevertheless, Matsubara et al. teaches a lipid bilayer composed of pep-PE and an unsaturated phospholipid (DOPC) was immobilized on a mica plate; and the interaction between HA and the pep-PE/DOPC membrane was investigated using atomic force microscopy. The results indicate that peptide-conjugated lipids are a useful molecular device for the detection of HA and IFV (See Abstract and Figure 1, page 4 and below). Matsubara et al. also teaches that peptide-conjugated lipids have the potential to detect biomolecules, toxins, viruses, and pathogenic materials. Peptide-conjugated lipids may be useful not only for the diagnosis and surveillance of influenza, but also those of other sugar-related diseases (See page 8, right column).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Lou, Hartman and Matsubara to arrive at an invention as claimed. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hartman teaches that using a fluid bilayer with GM1 can detect the single virus particles (Page 68, right column), and Matsubara teaches that the Peptide-conjugated lipids is useful not only for the diagnosis and surveillance of influenza, but also those of other sugar-related diseases. Lou teaches a method using lipid-nanopillar array for detecting target particle. Furthermore, Hartman and Matsubara teach that the functionalized supported Lipid Bilayers either on glass or mica (see Hartman, page 71; Matsubara, Abstract) can be used to detect the influenza virus. Therefore, there would be a reasonable expectation of success to develop a lipid bilayer-based array to detect virus as claimed.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (Langmuir. 2017 Jan 31;33(4):1097-1104) as evidenced by Roy et al. (ACS Nano. 2022 Jan 25;16(1):192-210) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4-5 above,
Regarding claims 8 -10, they require a kit for detecting a target particle, comprising two or more of the arrays for detecting a target particle of claim 1 (claim 8), and wherein the arrays are for detecting the same target particle (claim 9) or detecting different targets (Claim 10).
Lou et al. teaches that lipid bilayer-coated nanopillar arrays with different diameters and pitch size produced similar results with respect to both the capture efficiency and capture purity of the lipid-coated flat surface (Figure S5) (See page 8, paragraph 1), which indicates that one or more arrays are used and tested. Also, in Lou’s study, they basically focused on MCF7 cells, but they also use the Hela and MDA-MB-231 cells to evaluate the capture and separation efficiencies of the supported lipid bilayers (See e.g., page 5, paragraph 2). Based on the description, it is reasonable to consider that the lipid bilayer-coated nanopillar arrays of Lou can be served as detecting array for the same target particle or a different target particle.
However, Lou et al. is silent on a kit including these arrays and the target.
The concept of packaging components into a kit is well known and routine in the art. Lou teaches using one or more lipid bilayer-coated nanopillar arrays to capture the MF7 cells in promoting both the capture efficiency and capture purity of nanostructure-based CTC-capture (See Abstract). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to package components into a kit. One would be motivated to do this for commercial exploitation of the invention by providing convenience for the end user. Thus, the claimed invention is obvious over Lou et al. research.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (Langmuir. 2017 Jan 31;33(4):1097-1104) as evidenced by Roy et al. (ACS Nano. 2022 Jan 25;16(1):192-210) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and in view of Hartman et al. (Nanoscale, 2015, 7, 66) and Matsubara et al. (Front Microbial. 2016 Apr 7; 7:468) as applied to claims 6-7 above.
Claims 11 and 12 require the target particle is a virus (claim 11) and a coronavirus and/or an influenza virus (claim 12).,
Based on the description above, although Lou teaches an array that can capture cancer cells and is silent on virus detection by the array, Hartman teaches using the substance of the single streptavidin modified QD in a fluid GM1 bilayer to detect the virus-like particles (See page 68, left column, Fig. 1 and below), and Matsubara et al. teaches a lipid bilayer detection for influenza virus. However, these teachings do not teach a kit as claimed.
The concept of packaging components into a kit is well known and routine in the art. Hartman et al. teaches using surface functionalization and applications of nanoparticles tethered to supported lipid bilayers (SLBs) to detect viral particles to enhance signal transduction and Matsubara et al. teaches using a lipid bilayer composed of pep-PE and an unsaturated phospholipid (DOPC) to detect a target of influenzas virus for a convenient surveillance application tool. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to package components into a kit. One would be motivated to do this for commercial exploitation of the invention by providing convenience for the end user. Thus, the claimed invention is obvious over Lou et al. research.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (Langmuir. 2017 Jan 31;33(4):1097-1104) as evidenced by Roy et al. (ACS Nano. 2022 Jan 25;16(1):192-210) in view of Hartman et al. (Nanoscale, 2015, 7, 66) and Matsubara et al. (Front Microbial. 2016 Apr 7; 7:468) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4-12 above.
The base claim 13 is directed to a method of detecting a target particle, comprising:
contacting a sample with the array for detecting target particle of claim 1
or a kit for detecting target particles comprising a plurality of the arrays; and measuring a signal generated from the array or the kit.
Based on the description above, Lou et al. teaches a method for generating a lipid-based functionalization of nanopillars array for detecting the target cancel cells (See Abstract). Lou et al. teaches that the lipid-based functionalization of nanopillars consists of three steps (illustrated in Figure 1a): (1) the formation of a supported lipid bilayer on freshly cleaned quartz by the spontaneous rupture of small unilamellar vesicles that are composed of phosphatidylcholine doped with 1 mol % biotinylated phosphor ethanolamine (biotin-DOPE, Avanti); (2) the binding of streptavidin (SA) on biotinylated lipids; and (3) the binding of biotinylated antibody on an SA-bound supported lipid bilayer. The whole incubation process takes <75 min, which is much faster than covalent methods (~4 h). Visualizing the supported lipid bilayer by adding 0.5 mol % of fluorescence-labeled lipids (See page 6, paragraph 1), which teaches that the signal measurement.
As for a kit, Lou et al. does not explicitly point out a kit. However, the concept of packaging components into a kit is well known and routine in the art. For example, Lou et al. teaches a detailed method for making a fabrication of Quartz Nanopillar Arrays, preparing the Lipid Vesicles, sample isolation and Fluorescence Recovery (See Experimental section), where the Quartz Nanopillar Arrays can be used to detect the circulating tumor cells (CTC) (See Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to package components into a kit. One would be motivated to do this for commercial exploitation of the invention by providing convenience for the end user. Thus, the claimed invention is obvious over Lou et al. research.
Regarding claim 14, Lou et al. teaches the sample is from the human blood sample (See page 5, paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, they require the target particle is virus or coronavirus/an influenza virus.
Relevance of Lou et al. is set forth above, it is silent on the target particle is virus.
Hartman et al. reviews the surface functionalization and applications of nanoparticles tethered to supported lipid bilayers (SLBs). SLBs are synthetic membranes self-assembled on a planar surface (See Introduction), and teaches that lipid vesicles on the nanoscale can also be surface-functionalized, tethered to the bilayer, and tracked by fluorophores on the vesicle surface or enclosed within (See page 68, right column, paragraph 3). Hartman et al. discloses that the viral particle can be detected using the supported lipid bilayers as dynamic platforms for tethered particles by stating that using a fluid bilayer with GM1 to detect the single virus particles that natively attach to the ganglioside lipid from several surface binding sites (See page 70, right column, paragraph 2), which can enhance signal transduction severalfold (See page 72, left column, paragraph 1), and can persist for weeks, and all of these properties enable robust, massive statistical readouts from a single sample of tethered nanoparticles (See page 65, left column, paragraph 1). Fig. 1 of Hartman teaches using the substance of the single streptavidin modified QD in a fluid GM1 bilayer to detect the virus-like particles (See page 68, left column, Fig. 1 and below). Although Hartman et al. does not specify if the virus is influenzas virus or coronavirus, one skilled in the art can select a virus as needed to test the lipid
bilayers technique taught by Hartman.
Nevertheless, Matsubara et al. teaches a lipid bilayer composed of pep-PE and an unsaturated phospholipid (DOPC) was immobilized on a mica plate; and the interaction between HA and the pep-PE/DOPC membrane was investigated using atomic force microscopy. The result indicate that peptide-conjugated lipids are a useful molecular device for the detection of HA and IFV (See Abstract and Figure 1, page 4 and below). Matsubara et al. also teaches that peptide-conjugated lipids have the potential to detect biomolecules, toxins, viruses, and pathogenic materials. Peptide-conjugated lipids may be useful not only for the diagnosis and surveillance of influenza, but also those of other sugar-related diseases (See page 8, right column).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings from Lou, Hartman and Matsubara to arrive at an invention as claimed. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hartman teaches that using a fluid bilayer with GM1 can detect the single virus particles, and Matsubara teaches that the Peptide-conjugated lipids is useful not only for the diagnosis and surveillance of influenza, but also those of other sugar-related diseases. Loud teaches a method using lipid-nanopillar array for detecting target particle, Hartman and Matsubara teach that the functionalized supported Lipid Bilayers either on glass or mica (see Hartman, page 71; Matsubara, Abstract) can be used to detect the influenza virus. Therefore, there would be a reasonable expectation of success to develop a lipid bilayer-based array to detect virus as claimed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUIXUE WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671