DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the reply filed on 12/31/2025 in which claims 55, 56, 58-60, 62-70 and 73 have been amended. Claims 57, 61 and 74 are cancelled. Currently claims 55, 56, 58-60, 62-73 are pending for examination in this application.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 73 recites “the filter material”. This should read “the at least one filter material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 58, 64 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 64 recites the term “significantly” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “significantly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 58 recites “the receptacle opening”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this claimed terminology.
Claim 67 recites the term “substantially” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Dependent claims inherit the rejections from the claims from which they depend on.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55-56, 58-60, 62-64, 66-68 and 72-73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maryyanek et al. (US 4,592,350), hereinafter Maryyanek in view of Arrow-Smith et al. (WO 2016/032343 A1).
Regarding claim 55, Maryyanek discloses: A breathing mask (10) , wherein the breathing mask comprises a mask body (18), a mask bead (32), at least one strap holder (col. 4, lines 27-35), and at least one filter device (14, 16, 22), the mask bead, the at least one strap holder and the at least one filter device being connected to the mask body and/or are part of the mask body (see figure 1), wherein the breathing mask as a whole encloses a nose and mouth of a user (col. 2, lines 4-8), the mask bead partially delimiting a receiving opening for the nose and mouth of the user (see figure 6), wherein the at least one filter device comprises at least one filter receptacle (22) and at least one filter element (14), wherein the mask bead has a bearing region (region of 32 touching the user’s face) embodied as a sealing lip (cross-section of lip can be seen in figure 2) and is configured so that the breathing mask bears against facial skin around at least the nose and mouth of the user with the sealing lip during use and provides a seal in an essentially respiratory-gas-tight manner (col. 3, lines 8-15), and wherein the filter device is at least partially replaceable (col. 2, lines 29-34) and respiratory gas can at least partially flow through it (col. 4, lines 36-42), the filter element comprising at least one filter material (14), wherein the mask bead comprises a nasal bridge region (32 at top of figure 6), a base region (32 at bottom of figure 6), two side regions (side regions shown in figure 6), a mask fitting (where 32 meets remainder of body 18), and a contact region (portion of 32 which contacts the user’s face), the nasal bridge region and the base region being spatially separated from one another by the side regions (see figure 6) and the nasal bridge region and the base region being each connected to both side regions (see figure 6).
Maryyanek does not explicitly disclose wherein a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region and base region than in the side regions, the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions, so that a transition region results which is arranged at least partially in the base region and wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip.
However, Arrow-Smith teaches a patient interface (abstract; figure 17 shows the mask bead 180) wherein a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region (1042; [0198]) and base region (1040, 1048; [0195]) than in the side regions (1046 [0210]), the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions ([0198] [0195] [0210]), so that a transition region (1048) results which is arranged at least partially in the base region (see figure 17; [0210]), wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip (figure 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maryyanek to include a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region and base region than in the side regions, the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions, so that a transition region results which is arranged at least partially in the base region, wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip as taught by Arrow-Smith for the benefit of conforming to the anatomy of the user and thus improving comfort.
Regarding claim 56, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the mask body (18), the filter receptacle (22), and the mask bead (32) define a respiratory gas chamber (chamber within mask 10), which is essentially respiratory-gas-tight during use (col. 3, lines 8-12) and a respiratory gas flow from and/or to the mouth and nose of the user is thus exclusively possible through the filter device (flow into the mask and thus to the mouth and nose is exclusively through 24 and thus through 14, 16, 22; col. 3, lines 8-12; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 58, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the sealing lip, starting from the side regions, the nasal bridge region, and the base region, describes a curve in cross section and an edge of the sealing lip determines a size of an area of the receptacle opening (see figures 2 and 6).
Regarding claim 59, Maryyanek further wherein a wall thickness in a region of the side regions is greater than a wall thickness of the sealing lip (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 60, Maryyanek further discloses wherein a wall thickness of the mask bead decreases continuously from the side regions to the sealing lip (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 62, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the bearing region of the mask bead has corner points (see points shown in annotated figure 6 below which are at corners), which are used for aligning the breathing mask on a face (the examiner notes this limitation is intended use), at the transitions from the nasal bridge region a to the side region and from the base region a to the side region (see figure 6 below).
Regarding claim 63, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the sealing lip, starting from the side regions, the nasal bridge region, and the base region, protrudes in an arc into the receptacle opening of the mask bead (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 64, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the filter receptacle is formed as a surface (surface of 22), thus has a significantly greater dimension in a direction x2 and a direction y2 (forming the triangular shape as shown in figure 1) perpendicular thereto than in a direction z2 perpendicular to a plane E2 spanned by x2 and y2 (the thickness shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 66, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the respiratory gas chamber and the filter device are at least dimensioned in such a way that it is possible to wash out CO2. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is the examiner’s position that Maryyanek discloses all the structural limitations and thus is capable of performing the function of CO2 wash out.
Regarding claim 67, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the filter device is arranged in such a way that a substantially unobstructed flow between mouth/nose and filter device is enabled (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 68, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the filter receptacle defines a plane E2 (plane defined by 22) and the mask bead defines a plane E1 (plane defined by 32), wherein the mask bead is constructed essentially mirror symmetrically (see figure 6), a mirror plane E3 extending through the base region and the nasal bridge region, but not through the side regions, and wherein the plane El intersects the mirror plane E3 and is spanned by at least two connecting lines (Li, L2), the connecting lines (L1, L2) each extending between a point (p1, p2) on an outer side of the bearing region facing toward a face of the user and an associated mirror point (p1', p2'). See annotated figure below.
Regarding claim 72, Maryyanek discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 68 above. Maryyanek does not explicitly disclose wherein the planes El and E2 are perpendicular or at an angle of 90 to 45 degrees to one another (see figure 2).
However, Maryyanek illustrates the planes El and E2 are perpendicular or at an angle of 90 to 45 degrees to one another (figure 2). The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the angle between the planes to be within applicant’s claimed range as this is reasonably taught by the drawings.
Regarding claim 73, Maryyanek further discloses wherein the filter material is configured and designed to filter germs and other microorganisms out of air and/or other gases and to retain them on and/or in the filter material (col. 2, lines 29-34).
Claim(s) 55, 65 and 68-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurtowksi (US 3,137,296), hereinafter Gurtowski, in view of Arrow-Smith et al. (WO 2016/032343 A1).
Regarding claim 55, Gurtowski discloses: A breathing mask (figure 1) , wherein the breathing mask comprises a mask body (1), a mask bead (portion of 1 that interfaces with a user as shown in figure 6), at least one strap holder (6, 6b), and at least one filter device (2, 9, 4, 3, 10, 11, 8), the mask bead, the at least one strap holder and the at least one filter device being connected to the mask body and/or are part of the mask body (see figure 1), wherein the breathing mask as a whole encloses a nose and mouth of a user (see figure 6), the mask bead partially delimiting a receiving opening for the nose and mouth of the user (see figure 6; col. 1, lines 40-45), wherein the at least one filter device comprises at least one filter receptacle (2) and at least one filter element (9), wherein the mask bead has a bearing region (region of 1 touching the user’s face; col. 1, lines 40-45) embodied as a sealing lip (cross-section of lip can be seen in figure 2) and is configured so that the breathing mask bears against facial skin around at least the nose and mouth of the user with the sealing lip during use and provides a seal in an essentially respiratory-gas-tight manner (col. 1, lines 40-45), and wherein the filter device is at least partially replaceable (col. 2, lines 15-20) and respiratory gas can at least partially flow through it (col. 1, lines 8-12), the filter element comprising at least one filter material (9);
wherein the mask bead comprises a nasal bridge region (1 at top of figure 6), a base region (1 at bottom of figure 6), two side regions (side regions shown in figure 6 and figures 1 and 3), a mask fitting (where 1 which interfaces the user meets remainder of body 1), and a contact region (portion of 1 which contacts the user’s face), the nasal bridge region and the base region being spatially separated from one another by the side regions (see figures, 1, 3, 6) and the nasal bridge region and the base region being each connected to both side regions (see figures 1, 3, 6).
Gurtowski does not explicitly disclose wherein a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region and base region than in the side regions, the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions, so that a transition region results which is arranged at least partially in the base region and wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip.
However, Arrow-Smith teaches a patient interface (abstract; figure 17 shows the mask bead 180) wherein a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region (1042; [0198]) and base region (1040, 1048; [0195]) than in the side regions (1046 [0210]), the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions ([0198] [0195] [0210]), so that a transition region (1048) results which is arranged at least partially in the base region (see figure 17; [0210]), wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip (figure 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gurtowski to include a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region and base region than in the side regions, the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions, so that a transition region results which is arranged at least partially in the base region, wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip as taught by Arrow-Smith for the benefit of conforming to the anatomy of the user and thus improving comfort [0182] [0198].
Regarding claim 65, Gurtowski discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 55 above. Gurtowksi does not explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of an area of the receptacle opening of the mask bead to an area of the filter device through which flow occurs is from 2:1 to 1:2, an area of the filter device through which respiratory gas flows being at least 16 cm2.
However, Gurtowski illustrates area of the receptacle opening of the mask bead to an area of the filter device through which flow occurs is from 2:1 to 1:2 (see figures 1 and 3). The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the angle between the planes to be within applicant’s claimed range as this is reasonably taught by the drawings.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Gurtowski to have an area of the filter device through which respiratory gas flows being at least 16 cm2 since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Gurtowski would not operate differently with the claimed dimensions and the device would function appropriately having the claimed dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed.
Regarding claim 68, Gurtowski further discloses wherein the filter receptacle defines a plane E2 (plane defined by 9) and the mask bead defines a plane E1 (plane defined by periphery of 1), wherein the mask bead is constructed essentially mirror symmetrically (see figures 1 and 3), a mirror plane E3 (through 10) extending through the base region and the nasal bridge region (see figures 1 and 3), but not through the side regions (see figures 1 and 3), and wherein the plane El intersects the mirror plane E3 and is spanned by at least two connecting lines (Li, L2), the connecting lines (L1, L2) each extending between a point (p1, p2) on an outer side of the bearing region facing toward a face of the user and an associated mirror point (p1', p2'). See annotated figure below. Similar points exist in figure 1 as well.
Regarding claim 69, Gurtowski discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 68 above. Gurtowksi does not explicitly disclose wherein the planes El and E2 extend essentially in parallel to one another and are spaced apart from one another.
However, Gurtowski illustrates wherein the planes El and E2 extend essentially in parallel to one another and are spaced apart from one another (see figure 6 when mask is worn by user). The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the mask of Gurtowski such that the planes El and E2 extend essentially in parallel to one another and are spaced apart from one another as this is reasonably taught by the drawings.
Regarding claim 70, Gurtowski discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 68 above. Gurtowksi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the planes El and E2 extend essentially perpendicular to the mirror plane E3.
However, Gurtowski illustrates (see figure 6) wherein the planes El and E2 extend essentially perpendicular to the mirror plane E3 (defined by 10 as shown in figure 3). The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the mask of Gurtowski such that the planes El and E2 extend essentially perpendicular to the mirror plane E3 as this is reasonably taught by the drawings.
Regarding claim 71, Gurtowski discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 68 above. Gurtowksi does not explicitly disclose
wherein the plane El is perpendicular to the mirror plane E3 and the plane E2 is inclined at an angle of from 0 to 15 degrees in relation to the plane El and/or the mirror plane E3.
However, Gurtowski illustrates (see figure 6 and/or figure 2) wherein the plane El is perpendicular to the mirror plane E3 (defined by 10) and the plane E2 is inclined at an angle of from 0 to 15 degrees in relation to the plane El and/or the mirror plane E3 (defined by 10). The description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2125. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the mask of Gurtowski such that the planes El and E2 extend essentially perpendicular to the mirror plane E3 as this is reasonably taught by the drawings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the previous rejection of claim 61 which is now incorporated into independent claim 55. Applicant appears to argue that Maryyanek and Arrow-Smith are non-analogous art. To support their position, applicant states that Maryyanek is a dual reusable filter respirator system while Arrow-Smith is a respiratory mask and they have “virtually nothing in common”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Maryyanek is in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention. Arrow-Smith is also a breathing mask, but is specifically drawn to a particular problem [0011] [0039] with which the inventor was concerned: mask seals that adapt to a user’s face to prevent leakage (see page 2 lines 9-12 of applicant’s disclosure). Thus the examiner maintains that Maryyanek and Arrow-Smith are analogous art.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant points to [0210] of Arrow-Smith to state that Arrow-Smith does not teach a transition region is associated with the benefit of conforming to the anatomy of the user and thus improving comfort. The examiner notes that the rejection does not solely rely on [0210]. Arrow-Smith teaches a patient interface (abstract; figure 17 shows the mask bead 180) wherein a wall thickness of the mask bead is less in the nasal bridge region (1042; [0198]) and base region (1040, 1048; [0195]) than in the side regions (1046 [0210]), the wall thickness increasing in the base region toward the side regions ([0198] [0195] [0210]), so that a transition region (1048) results which is arranged at least partially in the base region (see figure 17; [0210]), wherein the wall thickness in the nasal bridge region and the base region at least corresponds to the wall thickness of the sealing lip (figure 17). The benefit of the mask bead taught by Arrow-Smith is the ability to conform to the anatomy of the user and thus improving comfort. This is discussed in previously cited portions of Arrow-Smith (for example in [0198]) and also throughout the disclosure of Arrow-Smith. The examiner also notes that the rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785