DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/21/22 and 09/18/24 are being considered by the examiner.
LIST OF REFERENCES USED
REFERENCE 1 — US 5,099,223 (Safety device forming a safety gate for cable installations transporting skiers). Notable numerals: post 2; flexible crossbar 4; releasable small bar 15; electrical contacts 18; base plate 6 with spikes 7, 8; yoke/pin 9, 10; spring 17; conductive bush 31; contacts 32, 33; tension rod 27; spring 29.
REFERENCE 2 — EP 2 052 942 (Device/method for controlling and/or monitoring a barrier system with a pivotable barrier arm and remote controls). Notable numerals: barrier arm 25; support post 21; drive motor 30; rotation transmission member 31; energy storage 35; control module 36; switch 37; voltage supply 11; remote controls 51, 52, 53; relays K1–K4; switches K1.1, K1.2, K2.1, K2.2, K3.1, K4.1.
REFERENCE 3 — CN 109050539B (Platform door linkage control system for urban rail). Notable numerals: PSC controller 103; CI controller 201; first relay cabinet 104; interface cabinet 202; second relay cabinet 203; door opening relay 207; door closing relay 208; DCU controller 12; door motor 110; platform door status relay 106; reset relay 205; audible/visual alarms 115 and 16; timer 23; interlock release trigger module 17; manual switch 18; redundant network ports 14, 22.
REFERENCE 4 — EP 0 443 052 (Barrier for individual parking spaces with solar-powered DC drive and radio remote). Notable numerals: post 2; barrier arm 3; drive unit 5 with electric motor 18; accumulators 6; radio receiver in post 2 actuated by handheld transmitter; antenna rod 20 with holders 21; base plate 16; predetermined breaking point 15; solar cells 4.
REFERENCE 5 — US 2020/0014888 A1 (Camera plus evaluation module determining door open/closed state and transmitting a door-status signal to a controller). Notable elements: imaging assembly; evaluation module configured to detect door-open; controller receiving door-status signal.
REFERENCE 6 — CN 101105097 A (Platform screen door control using a camera and signal-processing evaluation to recognize door/scene state and generate control instructions). Notable elements: CMOS camera; signal processor/evaluation unit; controller instructions based on image recognition.
REFERENCE 7 — Doppelmayr “Information & Communications Technology (ICT)” brochure (ropeway CCTV with operator display units including Connect screens; cameras for stations/lines/towers; camera feeds integrated to operator displays). Notable elements: CCTV cameras; operator display unit; transmission to operation consoles.
REFERENCE 8 — Doppelmayr “Video Management System / Ropeway Operation Center (ROC)” product sheet (station-area CCTV images transmitted to a central ROC; auto-display of relevant camera views upon safety sensor activation). Notable elements: VMS; ROC displays; event-triggered camera pop-ups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIMS 1, 2, 4, 5, AND 8 ARE REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2.
Independent claim 1 is addressed first, followed by its dependents as grouped.
───────
A cableway station for at least one cableway in which station at least one openable safety barrier is provided, wherein a sensor for detecting an opening state of the at least one safety barrier is provided in the cableway station, said sensor transmitting a sensor signal to a control unit of a cableway drive as a function of the opening state, wherein the control unit controls the cableway drive as a function of the obtained sensor signal, wherein the control unit is provided to stop the cableway drive or to reduce a drive speed of the cableway drive when a sensor signal corresponding to an open position of the safety barrier is received, wherein the safety barrier has a remotely-operable actuating unit which can be controlled by means of a remote control unit in order to reset the safety barrier from the open position, in which the cableway drive is stopped or the drive speed is reduced, into a closed position, in which the cableway drive can be activated again or the drive speed can be increased again.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
Cableway station with openable safety barrier: Reference 1 is expressly in the field of cable installations transporting people (ski tows, chairlifts) and discloses a safety device forming a “safety gate” with a crossbar 4 mounted on a post 2 to detect improper passage and shut down the installation.
Sensor detecting opening state and transmitting a sensor signal to a control unit of a cableway drive; control unit stops or reduces speed: In Reference 1, the releasable member (small bar 15) is held by a retention member with electrical contacts 18; when the crossbar 4 is forced, small bar 15 is released and the electrical connection at contacts 18 opens. This break in electrical continuity is the “sensor signal” indicating an “open” state of the gate. Reference 1 explains that the installation is then shut down. Thus, the combination of bar 4, member 15, and contacts 18 functions as the claimed “sensor” and control interface to the installation drive, stopping the drive upon detection of the open position. “Reduce speed” is an alternative; stopping is explicitly disclosed in Reference 1 and satisfies the disjunctive “stop the cableway drive or reduce” limitation.
Remotely-operable actuating unit controlled by a remote control unit to reset the barrier from open back to closed so operation can resume: Reference 1 allows immediate rearming by re-coupling the bar, but does not include remote actuation of the gate to re-close. Reference 2, however, teaches a barrier arm 25 with an actuating unit comprising motor 30 controlled by control module 36 and switches 37. Remote controls 51, 52, 53 actuate relays K2, K3, K4 to drive motor 30 to move the barrier between open and closed positions (e.g., the state shown in the circuit of Fig. 6A leads to motion from active to passive). Applying Reference 2’s remotely-operable actuating unit (30, 36, 37; remote controls 51–53) to the safety gate of Reference 1 yields the claimed barrier having a remotely-operable actuating unit that resets the barrier from open to closed, allowing the cableway drive to be activated or speed increased. The combination requires only substituting the manual rearm of Reference 1 with the motorized, remotely operated re-closing provided by Reference 2.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 1
A person of ordinary skill in the art of ropeway station safety would have combined Reference 1’s cableway safety gate that stops the installation upon opening with Reference 2’s remotely operable actuating unit for barriers to achieve predictable benefits: faster and safer restoration of normal operation without dispatching personnel to manually reset the gate, reduced station dwell times, and alignment with the well-documented industry trend toward increased automation of transport systems. Reference 2 teaches remote control 51–53 specifically to ensure that a barrier reaches a safe position and can be moved between positions without on-site intervention, which is directly applicable to the post-event reset of a cableway safety gate. Substituting manual rearm with motorized remote reset in the context of a safety interlock is a routine design choice yielding the expected result of quicker restart. No change in principle of operation occurs.
───────
The cableway station according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured, after the remote reset of the safety barrier from the open position into the closed position by the actuating unit, to automatically activate the cableway drive again or to increase the drive speed again when a sensor signal corresponding to the closed position is received.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
Reference 1 already ties installation operation to the continuity state at contacts 18. Reference 2 provides position sensing and switch logic in control module 36, 37 that changes state when the barrier reaches the target position (e.g., the circuit at 5B and 6B shows relays returning to a “stop” state once the active position P2 or passive position P1 is reached). It would have been straightforward for a skilled control engineer to configure the ropeway control such that, upon receiving a sensor signal indicating the gate has returned to “closed,” the system automatically re-enables the drive or increases speed in accordance with the same interlock logic, thereby eliminating an extra manual start step. This is a conventional interlock pattern used across safety systems.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 2
Automating restart upon verified closure reduces operator workload and minimizes downtime while preserving safety. Reference 2 teaches state-dependent switching based on sensor-detected positions, which naturally extends to triggering state transitions (e.g., from “stop” to “run”) when the “closed” state is sensed. Implementing such auto-restart interlock behavior in the ropeway controller is a routine optimization producing predictable results that a skilled artisan would have adopted.
───────
The cableway station according to claim 1, wherein the actuating unit of the safety barrier can be controlled wirelessly and/or by wire via at least one stationary and/or portable remote control unit, wherein preferably at least one stationary and/or portable remote control unit is arranged in the cableway station, preferably in an operation room, and/or outside the cableway station, preferably in a central operation room for several cableway stations.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
Reference 2 expressly teaches remote control units 51, 52, 53 commanding the actuating unit (motor 30 via control module 36 and switches 37). These remote controls are implemented as control electronics connected by lines and readily accommodate wired or wireless signaling. Reference 2’s remote architecture is agnostic to whether the remote unit is stationary or portable. Integrating such remote control into a ropeway station fits the “operation room” placement. Reference 2’s disclosure of remote control over barriers also lends itself to centralized supervision, and placing a stationary remote in an operation room or a central operation room is a straightforward deployment choice in transport installations.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 4
Selecting wired or wireless links and locating stationary or portable remotes in the station operation room or a central room are obvious configuration choices driven by site layout and operations practices. Using remote control architecture like 51–53 from Reference 2 across multiple gates or stations is a predictable extension to centralize operations and reduce staffing, a goal already recognized in automated transport control.
───────
The cableway station according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is connected to the control unit in a wireless or wired manner.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
Reference 1 shows a wired connection of the sensor function (contacts 18) to the installation control. Reference 2’s control module 36 with remote controls also demonstrates both signal wiring and the design context in which wireless or wired telemetry may be used for remote command and status. It would have been routine to implement either wired or wireless connection between the gate’s position sensor and the control unit depending on installation constraints.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 5
Choosing between wired and wireless signal transmission from a sensor to a controller is a routine engineering option. Both references show signal interfacing to controllers; adopting either physical layer to meet site requirements is an obvious design choice producing predictable results.
───────
The cableway station according to claim 1, wherein a mechanical contact switch, inductive sensor, capacitive sensor, light barrier, laser sensor, magnetic sensor, or ultrasonic sensor arranged in the region of the safety barrier is provided as the sensor.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2
Reference 1 uses electrical contacts 18 at the retention member to indicate the gate’s “open” event. These contacts are a mechanical contact switch inherently arranged in the region of the safety barrier (at the coupling between the small bar 15 and the post 2). Reference 2 recognizes the use of position-detecting sensors as well. Thus, the recited sensor choice is satisfied by the mechanical contact switch taught in Reference 1.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 8
Selecting from among commonplace industrial sensors (mechanical contact, inductive, capacitive, photoelectric, magnetic, ultrasonic) to detect barrier state is a routine matter based on environment and reliability targets. Reference 1 already uses a contact arrangement; retaining or substituting equivalent sensor modalities would have been obvious to achieve the same detection function.
───────
CLAIM 3 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND IN FURTHER VIEW OF REFERENCE 3.
───────
The cableway station according to claim 1, wherein an alarm unit is provided in the cableway station and/or outside the cableway station in order to trigger a preferably visual and/or acoustic alarm, when the open position of the safety barrier is detected by the sensor.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCES 1 + 2 + 3
Reference 1 provides the sensor event (contacts 18 open when bar 4 is forced) that stops the installation. Reference 2 provides remotely controlled barrier actuation. Reference 3 teaches the use of audible and visual alarm devices 115 and 16 connected to the platform door controller to announce open/close events and door state to personnel. Applying Reference 3’s audible/visual alarm practice to the ropeway station safety gate of References 1 and 2 to announce a gate-open event is a straightforward substitution of known annunciation in an analogous passenger-transport station context.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 3
Adding audible/visual alarms to alert staff and riders to a safety gate actuation is an expected safety measure that improves situational awareness and response time, as shown in Reference 3 for platform doors. A skilled artisan would have implemented the same alarm behavior on a ropeway station gate, driven by the same gate-open sensor signal, to achieve predictable safety and operational benefits.
───────
CLAIM 15 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2.
───────
A method for operating at least one cableway with at least one cableway station in which an openable safety barrier is arranged, wherein an opening state of the safety barrier is monitored, wherein a cableway drive of the at least one cableway is controlled by a control unit as a function of the opening state, wherein the cableway drive is stopped by the control unit or a drive speed of the cableway drive is reduced if the safety barrier is moved from a closed position into an open position, wherein the safety barrier, by means of a remote control unit, is reset from the open position, in which the cableway drive is stopped or the drive speed is reduced, into the closed position, in which the cableway drive can be activated again or the drive speed can be increased again.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCES 1 + 2
Monitoring opening state and controlling the cableway drive as a function of the opening state; stopping or reducing speed when moved open: Reference 1 discloses exactly this control: the gate’s release opens contacts 18 and the installation is shut down. This is the method step of monitoring the state and commanding stop on an open event.
Resetting the barrier from open to closed by a remote control unit; subsequently allowing the drive to be activated or speed increased: Reference 2 teaches remotely commanding motor 30 with remote controls 51–53 (via control module 36, switches 37) to move barrier arm 25 back to its closed position. Combining this with Reference 1’s stop interlock gives the recited remote reset followed by restoring operation in the closed state.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 15
The same motivation as for claim 1 applies to the method: remote re-closing of the safety barrier and automatic resumption of normal operation reduce manual interventions, shorten disruptions, and are an expected automation improvement when integrating motorized barriers into safety interlock systems.
───────
CLAIM 16 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND IN FURTHER VIEW OF REFERENCE 3.
───────
The method according to claim 15, wherein the cableway drive is automatically re-activated by the control unit, or the drive speed of the cableway drive is increased again, when the safety barrier has been reset into the closed position by means of the remote control unit.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCES 1 + 2 + 3
Reference 1 provides the stop interlock on open; Reference 2 provides remote re-closing and position detection; Reference 3 shows state-dependent interlocks in which the controller resumes permissible operations when doors are closed and locked, including reset relays 205 and command relays 207/208. Applying this known control pattern to ropeway drive after the barrier-closed state is sensed yields automatic reactivation or speed increase.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 16
Configuring the controller to automatically transition from “stop” to “run” upon verified closure is a conventional interlock practice, as seen in Reference 3. A skilled artisan would have adopted this automation to reduce operator workload and speed recovery.
───────
CLAIM 17 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND IN FURTHER VIEW OF REFERENCE 3.
───────
The method according to claim 15, wherein, when the safety barrier is opened, a preferably visual and/or acoustic alarm is triggered in the cableway station and/or outside the cableway station.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCES 1 + 2 + 3
Reference 1 provides the open event via contacts 18. Reference 3 teaches audible/visual alarms 115 and 16 to announce door operations to staff and riders. Triggering such alarms on a barrier-open event when integrating remote-actuated barriers per Reference 2 is a straightforward implementation.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 17
Annunciating a safety barrier opening is a well-understood practice to improve safety. Reference 3 demonstrates this in analogous station doors; the same reason to alert exists in ropeway stations.
───────
CLAIM 18 IS REJECTED UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 103 AS BEING UNPATENTABLE OVER REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND IN FURTHER VIEW OF REFERENCES 3 AND 4.
───────
The method according to claim 15, wherein the safety barrier is controlled via a stationary remote control unit preferably arranged in an operation room of the cableway station and/or in a central operation room outside the cableway station for several cableway stations, or via a portable remote control unit, and preferably a mobile telephone or a portable computer.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCES 1 + 2 + 3 + 4
Reference 2 provides remote control units 51–53 and actuating unit 30, 36, 37 for barrier actuation, suitable for stationary placement in an operation room. Reference 3 provides a central controller architecture (PSC controller 103 integrated with CI controller 201 via network ports 14, 22) that coordinates many doors across a system, illustrating central operation room control for multiple stations. Reference 4 teaches portable, handheld remote actuation via a radio receiver in post 2 commanded by a handheld transmitter, showing a portable remote device controlling a barrier’s drive unit 5, motor 18, and accumulators 6. Combining these teachings yields the recited alternatives of stationary operation-room control, central control for several stations, and portable remote control.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 18
It is an obvious deployment choice to provide both fixed operator consoles and portable remote devices for barrier control to improve flexibility and response time. Reference 3 shows centralization across stations; Reference 4 shows portable handsets for barrier actuation. Using both modes together in the ropeway context achieves predictable operational benefits without changing the underlying control functions taught by Reference 2.
Claim 6 — rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and in further view of Reference 5 (and/or Reference 6).
───────
The cableway station according to claim 1, wherein a camera system with at least one camera and with an evaluation unit is provided as the sensor, wherein the at least one safety barrier is arranged in the capture range of the at least one camera, wherein the evaluation unit is configured to evaluate the images captured by the at least one camera in order to detect at least the opening state of the safety barrier and to transmit the sensor signal to the control unit.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCE 1 IN VIEW OF REFERENCE 2 AND IN FURTHER VIEW OF REFERENCE 5/6
Reference 1 discloses a cable installation station safety gate comprising post 2 and crossbar 4, with a releasable small bar 15 and electrical contacts 18 that provide a sensor signal to stop the installation when the gate is opened. Reference 1 therefore teaches the station environment, the openable safety barrier, and a sensor producing a signal corresponding to gate opening to control the ropeway drive.
Reference 2 teaches remote actuation of a barrier by an actuating unit including drive motor 30, control module 36, and switch 37 under control of remote controls 51, 52, 53, enabling movement between open and closed positions. This is consistent with the parent claim 1 context and confirms the practical integration of barrier state sensing and barrier actuation in safety systems.
Reference 5 teaches a camera-based imaging assembly with an evaluation module configured to analyze images and determine whether a door is open, and upon determining an open state to transmit a door-open status signal to a controller. Reference 4 similarly teaches use of a camera with a signal-processing evaluation unit to recognize platform-door status and generate corresponding control instructions for the door controller. These publications teach using a camera plus an evaluation unit “as the sensor” for door/barrier state, with the barrier located within the camera’s field of view (capture range), and generating a status signal transmissible to the control unit.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to substitute the contact-based sensor interface of Reference 1 (contacts 18 at small bar 15) with the camera-and-evaluation-unit sensing of Reference 5 or 6, positioning the safety barrier within the camera’s capture range, and configuring the evaluation module to output the same type of binary state signal indicating whether the barrier is open or closed to the ropeway control. Reference 2’s actuating unit remains unchanged; only the sensing modality is upgraded to camera/evaluation. The resulting combination meets all limitations of claim 6: a camera system with at least one camera and an evaluation unit provided as the sensor; the barrier within the capture range; evaluation of images to detect at least the opening state; and transmission of a sensor signal to the control unit.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 6
Camera-based state detection is a known, predictable alternative to contact or discrete position switches, offering contactless operation, reduced mechanical wear, and the ability to cover multiple barriers with one camera. In station environments, machine-vision sensing is widely used to evaluate door/gate status and trigger control/alarms. Substituting the camera/evaluation module of Reference 5 or 6 for the contact sensor of Reference 1 achieves these known benefits without changing the principle of operation of the safety interlock; therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 20 — rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and in further view of References 7 and 8.
───────
The method according to claim 15, wherein images and/or videos of the safety barrier arranged in the capture range of the camera are captured by at least one camera and are displayed on a display unit preferably arranged in an operation room of the cableway station and/or in a central operation room outside the cableway station.
ANALYSIS — REFERENCES 1 + 2 + 7 + 8
Reference 1 teaches the method context of operating a ropeway with a station safety gate whose opening triggers a stop via contacts 18. Reference 2 teaches remotely actuating and controlling the barrier arm 25 by controller 36/37, consistent with claim 15. References 7 and 8 teach station and central ROC video systems: at least one camera captures images of station areas and displays them on operator display units in the station operation room and on displays in a central operation room (ROC), with automatic presentation of relevant views on safety events.
It would have been obvious to add the claimed steps to the method of claim 15: capture images/videos of the barrier within the camera’s capture range using at least one station camera, and display those images on a display unit in the station operation room and/or in a central operation room. These are ordinary operational steps in ropeway CCTV/ROC workflows, integrated with safety-gate events.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE FOR CLAIM 20
Combining camera capture and operator display with barrier-interlock operation enhances safety oversight and is standard in ropeway operations. A person of ordinary skill would implement these steps to allow operators to verify conditions before remotely resetting the barrier, producing predictable improvements in safety and efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed January 21, 2026 has been considered.
STATUS OF CLAIMS AFTER AMENDMENT
Applicant indicates that claims 1–8 and 15–20 are under consideration, that claims 9–14 are canceled, and that claims 3, 4, 7, 8, and 15–20 are amended. The Listing of Claims submitted with the response reflects these cancellations and amendments.
DISPOSITION OF PRIOR REJECTIONS MADE MOOT BY CANCELLATION
The prior rejections of claims 9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 are moot because claims 9 and 11 have been canceled. The prior rejections of claims 10, 12, 13, and 14 (as previously applied) are similarly moot because those claims have been canceled.
DISPOSITION OF THE PRIOR § 112 ISSUES
Applicant asserts that the § 112(b) indefiniteness rejections and the claim objections are moot in view of the amendments. Examiner agrees.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS — 103 REJECTIONS BASED ON DE ARAUJO IN VIEW OF KELLER
Applicant traverses the § 103 rejection of independent claim 1 (and similarly independent claim 15) over De Araujo (US 5,099,223) in view of Keller (EP 2 052 942), asserting, in substance, that (i) the cited references do not disclose a “cable car station/cableway station,” and (ii) the proposed combination would require “substantial redesign,” because De Araujo’s gate uses a releasable member (small crossbar 15) that must be manually reinserted, whereas Keller rotates a barrier arm between open and closed positions.
These arguments are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
CABLEWAY STATION LIMITATION (CLAIMS 1 AND 15)
Independent claim 1 requires “a cableway station for at least one cableway” in which an openable safety barrier is provided, with sensing and control of a cableway drive as a function of barrier state. Independent claim 15 similarly requires a method for operating a cableway with a cableway station in which an openable safety barrier is arranged.
De Araujo expressly relates to safety devices used “in cable installations for transporting people,” particularly skiers, including chairlifts and ski tows, and teaches detecting improper passage and generating “control information” to shut down the installation when the safety gate is activated. In the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, a “cableway station” is a station or area associated with a cable installation where such safety gates are deployed to detect improper passage and to stop the installation. Applicant’s distinction that De Araujo uses the phrase “cable installation” rather than explicitly “cableway station” is not controlling where the disclosed environment and use is the ropeway/chairlift/ski tow station context and the safety gate is installed at a monitored passage associated with the installation.
Moreover, even if applicant’s interpretation were adopted, claim 1 does not require that the “station” be a specific, separately claimed structural building with unique station-only components; it requires that the barrier, sensor, and control functionality be provided “in the cableway station.” De Araujo’s disclosed installation context provides a suitable station environment for the claimed barrier-and-stop interlock arrangement. Applicant’s argument therefore does not overcome the rejection.
“SUBSTANTIAL REDESIGN” ARGUMENT (CLAIMS 1 AND 15)
Applicant argues that Keller’s motorized barrier arm actuation cannot be applied to De Araujo’s safety gate without “significant redesign,” because De Araujo’s small crossbar 15 is released from the retention member and must be reinserted to rearm, while Keller’s barrier arm is rotated between positions.
This argument is not persuasive because it is premised on an unduly narrow assumption that the rejection requires preserving De Araujo’s exact “releasable member” mechanism while also applying Keller’s exact “rotating barrier arm” mechanism without any adaptation.
Independent claims 1 and 15 do not require that the safety barrier use a releasable small crossbar that fully detaches and must be manually reinserted. The claims require only an “openable safety barrier,” a sensor that detects the barrier opening state and transmits a signal to a control unit, and a remotely-operable actuating unit that can reset the barrier from open to closed. Those limitations read on a wide range of barrier structures, including pivotable arms, gates, doors, and other openable barriers.
Keller teaches a remotely controllable actuating architecture for moving a barrier between positions using a motor and remote control signals. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized that Keller’s core teaching relevant to claim 1 is remote actuation to place a barrier back into a safe/closed position, not the particular aesthetic or exact mechanical geometry of Keller’s barrier arm. The skilled artisan would reasonably adapt the remote actuation concept to the De Araujo safety gate context in one of at least two predictable ways, each within ordinary skill.
First, the De Araujo safety gate could be modified to use a pivotable barrier member (instead of a fully releasable member) while retaining the known ropeway station safety function of stopping the installation when the barrier is opened/activated. Converting a manually reset safety gate into a motorized, remotely resettable gate is the type of predictable automation substitution addressed by KSR and the rationales in MPEP § 2143, including substituting one known element for another to obtain predictable results and using a known technique (motorized remote actuation) to improve a similar device (ropeway safety gate).
Second, even if one begins from De Araujo’s rearming concept, Keller’s remote actuation teachings would motivate implementing a remotely operable actuator to restore the barrier to the closed/armed condition after activation, replacing the manual reset step. The fact that De Araujo’s disclosed embodiment describes manual rearming does not render remote rearming non-obvious where remote motorized actuation of barriers is taught by Keller, and where the claimed function is simply “reset from open to closed” rather than any specific mechanical process.
Applicant’s “substantial redesign” framing also does not negate obviousness where the modification is a predictable engineering adaptation that achieves the very purpose motivating the combination: reducing downtime and enabling remote reset without sending personnel to the barrier location. The question is not whether some redesign effort exists, but whether there is a reason to combine with a reasonable expectation of success. Here, there is.
Accordingly, the 103 rejections of claims 1 and 15 over De Araujo in view of Keller remain proper. Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the prima facie case.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS TIED TO THE SAME ASSERTED DEFICIENCY (CLAIMS 2, 4, 5, 8; AND CLAIMS 16–19)
Applicant asserts that claims depending from claim 1 and claim 15 are allowable for “at least the same reasons” offered against the independent claims. This is not persuasive because the dependent claims do not cure the asserted deficiency. Rather, they add further limitations. Where the independent claim remains unpatentable, dependent claims are separately evaluated, and they remain unpatentable where the added limitations are taught or suggested by the applied references or additional references cited for those added features.
Applicant’s reliance on a general proposition that dependent claims should be allowable if an independent claim is allowable does not apply where the independent claim is not allowable and where the added limitations are separately shown or suggested.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS — CLAIMS 6, 7, 19, AND 20 (CAMERA/DISPLAY ADDITIONS)
Applicant argues, in substance, that the camera/evaluation references (applied to claim 6) and the CCTV/display references (applied to claims 7 and 20) “do not address” the asserted deficiency of De Araujo in view of Keller.
This argument is not persuasive because it misapprehends the role of the additional references in the combinations.
The additional references were not applied to “fix” the remote-actuation teaching. They were applied for the additional, narrower limitations of the dependent claims, namely camera-based state detection/evaluation and camera image/video display at the station and/or at a central operation room. If the base combination De Araujo in view of Keller teaches the limitations of the independent claim (which it does, as explained above), it is sufficient that the additional reference(s) teach the incremental dependent-claim features. The incremental references are not required to re-teach every element of the independent claim, and they are not required to address applicant’s characterization of a “deficiency” where the deficiency is not found under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, the dependent-claim rejections stand where the incremental camera/evaluation/display features are taught or suggested by the applied additional references, and where there is a recognized motivation to incorporate camera monitoring and operator display into station safety systems for verification, situational awareness, and faster recovery actions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613