DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 38-46 are pending. Claims 33-37 and 47-52 have been canceled. Claims 38 and 42 have been amended. Claims 38-41 are being examined in this application. In the response to the restriction requirement, Applicants elected Group I, SEQ ID NO: 32, cholesterol and PEG4. Claims 42-46 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 33-41 under 35 USC 112(a) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 33-41 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia et al. is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claims 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walensky et al. (WO 2021/178714).
With respect to claims 38-39, Walensky et al. teach a structurally-stabilized polypeptide comprising the sequence IQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESL (claim 1), wherein the structurally-stabilized polypeptide further comprises the amino acid sequence DISGINASVVN appended at the N-terminus of the amino acid sequence (claim 9), wherein the structurally-stabilized polypeptide further comprises the amino acid sequence IDLQELGSGSGC appended at the C-terminus of the amino acid sequence (claim 12), and wherein the structurally-stabilized polypeptide further comprises cholesterol (claim 15).
With respect to claims 40-41, Walensky et al. teach that the structurally-stabilized polypeptide further comprises polyethylene glycol (claims 14 and 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This is a new rejection.
Claims 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tripet et al. (WO 2005/077103) in view of Porotto et al. (US 2017/0216448).
Tripet et al. teach a composition comprising a purified peptide of a SARS coronavirus S protein, wherein said peptide is capable of modification of SARS coronavirus infectivity (claim 1), and wherein the peptide is HR-C1 (SEQ ID NO: 40; DLGDISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDLQEL) (claims 5, 16 and 18; para [0022]; Fig. 19), which reads on amino acids 1-36 of instant SEQ ID NO: 32 (DISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDLQELGSGSGC).
Tripet et al. further teach that “[A]ny of the peptides described herein may, additionally, have a non-peptide macromolecular carrier group covalently attached to their amino and/or carboxy termini. Such macromolecular carrier groups may include, for example, lipid-fatty acid conjugates, polyethylene glycol, or carbohydrates” (para [0179]).
Tripet et al. do not teach using the linker GSGSGC to link the peptide with a lipid.
Porotto et al. teach an inhibitor of fusion between a viral membrane from an enveloped virus and a cell membrane, wherein the viral membrane comprises a fusion mediating protein including a C-terminal peptide (claim 1; abstract).
Porotto et al. also teach that a C-terminal extension with the GSGSG linker/spacer sequence and a cysteine residue (i.e. GSGSG-C), allows for conjugation to cholesterol via thiol-reactive reagents (para [0101]).
Porotto et al. further teach that “[T]he importance of the spacer linker between the viral peptide fusion inhibitor and the membrane binding lipid can be demonstrated by observing the changes in the antiviral efficacy first when a spacer is added to a peptide conjugated with a lipid, and second as the size of this spacer increases (para [0123]).
Porotto et al. additionally teach that modulation of lipid moiety and/or PEG linker peptide improved antiviral potency and in vivo biodistribution (para [0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the linker of Porotto et al. (i.e. GSGSG-C) to link the peptide of Tripet et al. with a macromolecular carrier group, such as lipid-fatty acid conjugates, polyethylene glycol, etc. because Porotto et al. teach that GSGSG-C allows for conjugation to cholesterol via thiol-reactive reagents, and further teach that modulation of lipid moiety and/or PEG linker peptide improved antiviral potency and in vivo biodistribution.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the resulting peptide (i.e. instant SEQ ID NO: 32 conjugated to a lipid) to have improved antiviral potency and in vivo biodistribution.
With respect to claim 39, as discussed above, Porotto et al. teach that the lipid is cholesterol.
With respect to claims 40-41, Porotto et al. teach that GSGSG-C is linked to cholesterol via a PEG4 linker (see Table 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 38-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 16-18, 20-21, 23-25, 30, 33, 35, 39, 43 and 46 of copending Application No. 19/020996 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same fusion inhibitor.
‘0096 teaches the lipopeptide of formula A, which comprises the sequence DISGINASVVNIQKEIDRLNEVAKNLNESLIDLQELGSGSG linked via a cysteine residue to PEG-cholesterol (see claim 30).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658