DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 264-271 and 277 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 8/21/2023 and 9/4/2024 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claims 264-271 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 264 recites biodegradable polymers 60LP2L20-D27, 10LP10L20-GLL40 and 20LP10L20-GLL-40. It is not clear what these polymers represent. Paragraph 0582 and 0583 discuss these polymers but it is not clear, for example what these such as D27.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 264-265 and 267-271 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berde et al. (US patent 6,238,702), Gullapalli et al. “Polyethylene glycols in oral and parenteral formulations-A critical review”, Shenoy et al. (US 20010012844) and Haitjema et al. (US 20220332900).
Berde et al. (US patent 6,238,702) disclose sterile bupivacaine-polyester microspheres with high loading of anesthetic of a least 20 % (col, 2. Lines 51-60, col. 3, lines 60-62, Example 1 and 3). The formulation is to be injected into a patient and thus would be provided in an injector (syringe) .
Polyethylene glycol is not disclosed.
Gullapalli et al. “Polyethylene glycols in oral and parenteral formulations-A critical review” disclose that polyethylene glycols are frequently employed as vehicles in oral an parenteral dosage forms and have low toxicity, are miscible with aqueous fluids in all proportions (abstract). Compounds with poor aqueous solubility and resulting poor bioavailability and considerable individual variability in the adsorption were shown to provide exceptionally high bioavailability and reduced inter subject variability in plasma concentrations when dosed as solutions or suspensions in PEGs.
Berde et al. does not disclose antioxidant however, Gullapali et al. disclose that the autooxidation reactions in PEG vehicles and the formation of reactive products resulting from these reactions can be minimized effectively by using an antioxidant. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include an antioxidant in the microsphere formulations. One would have been motivated to do so to minimize the formation of reactive products.
Shenoy et al. (US 20010012844) (hereinafter Shenoy et al.) teach improving bioavailability of hydrophobic pharmaceutical agents. These formulations include PEG-400 from 0.01-10 g/mL (abstract and para 0064).
Haitjema et al. (US 20220332900) (hereinafter Haitjema et al.) disclose multiblock copolymers for controlled/sustained release of drug that include 60LP2L20-D27 (see para 0031 and abstract, Table 11, para 0236 and Table 13 and para 0041).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include the multiblock copolymers of Haitjema et al. in the compositions of Berde. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the bioavailability of the hydrophobic (bupivacaine) pharmaceutical agent which PEG copolymers have been shown to do in view of Shenoy et al. and to provide for sustained release of the biologically active compound as disclosed by Haitjema et al. While the shelf life is not disclosed, the combined teachings of the prior art arrive at the structural features of the claimed invention and thus the shelf life properties would necessarily follow.
5. Claims 264 and 266 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berde et al. (US patent 6,238,702), Gullapalli et al. “Polyethylene glycols in oral and parenteral formulations-A critical review”, Shenoy et al. (US 20010012844) and Haitjema et al. (US 20220332900) as applied to claims 264-265 and 267-271 above, and further in view of Andhariya et al. “In vitro-in vivo correlation of parenteral PLGA microspheres: Effect of variable burst release”.
Berde et al. has been discussed supra and does not disclose a diluent. Andhariya et al. “In vitro-in vivo correlation of parenteral PLGA microspheres: Effect of variable burst release” disclose that diluents are used for dispersion of commercial products prior to injection (section 2.5 In vivo release studies of risperidone and LA microspheres). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include a diluent for use in dispersing the microsphere formulation prior to injection.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615