DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1 and 3-9 are currently pending of which claim 9 is withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizaki et al. (US 5,985,944) in view of Sugiura (US 2018/0221528).
Regarding claim 1, Ishizaki discloses a water-absorbent resin composition comprising a water-absorbing resin (column 4, lines 10-15).
Ishizaki teaches that various functions may be imparted to the resin by adding e.g., a deodorant (column 19, lines 40-45), however, does not teach addition of a hydrazide compound where the hydrazide compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of malonic acid dihydrazide, succinic acid dihydrazide, adipic acid dihydrazide, carbohydrazide, isophthalic acid dihydrazide, phthalic acid dihydrazide, terephthalic acid dihydrazide, azelaic acid dihydrazide, sebacic acid dihydrazide, oxalic acid dihydrazide, dodecanedioic acid dihydrazide, oxalyl dihydrazide, and adipodihydrazide where the hydrazide compound is only present on an outer surface of the water-absorbing resin.
Sugiura, in the analogous field of odor absorbing compositions (0001) teaches a deodorant composition including a supported hydrazide compound (0055). The hydrazide compounds including oxalic acid dihydrazide, malonic acid dihydrazide, succinic acid dihydrazide, adipic acid dihydrazide, sebacic acid dihydrazide, isophthalic acid dihydrazide, terephthalic acid dihydrazide, and carbohydrazide (0054). The deodorant composition provided adhered to or bonded to the surface of the material (0062).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the water-absorbing resin composition of Ishizaki to include a deodorant composition having a supported hydrazide compound only on the outer surface of the resin, as taught by Sugiura, for high deodorizing effect with respect to a complex odor (0025).
Regarding claim 3, Sugiura teaches the hydrazide compound in particulate form (0056).
Regarding claim 4, Sugiura teaches the deodorant composition present in an amount of 0.1 to 20 parts by mass based on parts by mass of the total composition (0067), overlapping the claimed content of 0.001 to 10 mass%.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include 0.01 to 20 parts by mass of the deodorant composition of Sugiura in the water-absorbing resin composition of Ishizaki, to realize the deodorizing effect (0062).
Regarding claim 6, Ishizaki teaches the average particle diameter of the water-absorbing resin of 50 to 1000 µm (column 19, lines 50-55), overlapping the claimed 100 to 600 µm.
Regarding the overlapping ranges in claims 4 and 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Ishizaki teaches an absorber comprising the resin composition (column 3, lines 39-48).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizaki in view of Sugiura as applied to claim 1 or 7 above, and further in view of Murakami et al. (WO2018/150992).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ishizaki discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Ishizaki does not teach an angle of spatula of the particulate water-absorbing resin composition is 20 to 38o.
Murakami, in the analogous field of water-absorbent resin compositions (page 1) teaches a composition with a spatula angle of about 30o (Table 2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the composition of Ishizaki to have a low spatula angle of about 30o as taught by Murakami, for better fluidity (page 12).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ishizaki discloses the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above, however, Ishizaki does not teach the absorber held between a liquid-permeable sheet and liquid-impermeable sheet.
Murakami, in the analogous field of water-absorbent resin compositions (page 1), teaches use of the absorber comprising water-absorbent resin composition held between a liquid-permeable sheet and liquid-impermeable sheet (page 11).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the absorber of Ishizaki to be held between a liquid-permeable sheet and liquid-impermeable sheet as taught by Murakami, to make an absorbent article (page 11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/31/2025 have been fully considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the new combination of prior art.
Contact Information
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781