DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 14, 16-18, 21, & 23-34 are under examination on the merits.
The objections to the specification are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The objections to claims 14 & 17-21 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 19 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for scope of enablement is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by La Rosa et al US 2011/0093981 A9 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NCBI reference NC_029259.1 bases 23023957 to 23026670 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 14-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and NCBI reference NC_029259.1, and further in view of Moreira et al (2020) Molecular Biology Reports. 47:2315–2325 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 30 be found allowable, claim 31 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 14, 16, 21, 23-25 & 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 (line 2): “following steps of:” should read --following steps:--.
Claim 14 (lines 3-4): “an encoding gene of a protein RMS1” should read --a gene encoding an RMS1 protein--.
Claim 14 (lines 5-6): “the encoding gene of the protein RMS1mutated” should read --the gene encoding the RMS1 protein mutated--.
Claim 14 (lines 14-15): “the encoding gene of the protein RMS1causes” should read --the gene encoding the RMS1 protein causes--.
Claim 14 (lines 15-16): “the encoding gene of the protein RMS1” should read --the gene encoding the RMS1 protein--.
Claim 14 (line 9): “having” should read --has--.
Claim 16 (lines 2-3): “the encoding gene of the protein RMS1” should read --the gene encoding the protein RMS1--.
Claim 21 (line 11-12): “an encoding gene of sgRNA and an encoding gene of Cas 9 protein” should read --a gene encoding sgRNA and a gene encoding Cas9 protein--.
Claim 21 (line 13): “an encoding gene of a protein RMS1” should read --a gene encoding an RMS1 protein--.
Claim 21 (line 18): “the protein RMS1” should read --the RMS1 protein--.
Claim 21 (line 19): “the encoding gene of sgRNA is shown as in” should read --the gene encoding sgRNA is shown in--.
Claims 23-25 (line 1): “gene edited rice” should read --gene-edited rice--.
Claim 29 (lines 1-2): “an encoding gene of sgRNA and an encoding gene of Cas 9 protein” should read --a gene encoding sgRNA and a gene encoding Cas9 protein--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more.
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 7/25/2025, as applied to claims 19-22. Applicant' s arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 21 is drawn to a method 1) for regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility (line 8). Claim 21 is indefinite as to whether method 1) comprises the limitation provided for method 2) (see rejection below under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)); however, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the plain claim language is that claim 21 method 1) does not require the steps of introducing an sgRNA and Cas 9 gene, screening and identifying mutant rice and identifying photosensitive male sterile characteristics. Thus, a rice plant could be interpreted to regulate its photoperiod-sensitive fertility, which would constitute a natural phenomenon. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no active steps are recited in method 1), and natural rice plants regulate photo-period-sensitive fertility. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because method 1) does not require any active step and no limitation not found in nature.
Applicant urges that amended claim 21 recites active, positive, and practical steps and is directed to more than a natural phenomenon (Remarks, page 9, paragraphs 1-4).
This argument is unpersuasive, because the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 21 requires active steps for method 2) but no active steps for method 1). An amendment to unambiguously require the steps included within method 2) in method 1) would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 14, 16-18, 21, 23-29 & 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 7/25/2025, as applied to claims 14-18 & 21-22. Applicant' s arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 14 (lines 15-16) requires a mutation after position 126 of CDS of the gene encoding the RMS1 protein. Claims 30-34 require mutations at specific positions of “CDS”. Neither the claims nor the specification provides a definition for the acronym CDS. If “CDS” is interpreted to mean the coding sequence, as it is used in paragraphs [0089-0091] of the instant specification, then this limitation would seem to indicate that the recited mutations are required to be at the recited position relative to the first nucleotide of the start codon of the sequence encoding amino acids, which would not be indefinite since claim 14 requires the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1. However, it is not clear that this is what is meant by “CDS” in claims 14 & 30-34. Claim 18 (line 4) provides SEQ ID NO: 3 as an option for a “coding sequence” of the protein RMS1, even though SEQ ID NO: 3 is a genomic DNA sequence comprising introns (instant specification, paragraph [0076]). Because the meaning of CDS is indefinite in claims 14 & 30-34, the scope of the limitation is indefinite. Dependent claims 16-18 are also indefinite. Furthermore, if “CDS” is an abbreviation for the coding region, then “of CDS” in claim 14 (line 15), claim 30 (lines 2, 3), claim 31 (lines 2, 3), claim 32 (line 2), claim 33 (line 2) and claim 34 (line 2) should read --of the CDS--. Claims 30 & 31 (line 4) “129 CDS” should read --129 of the CDS--.
Claim 14 (line 15) and claims 30 & 31 (line 1) recite a “shift mutation”. The instant specification does not define or describe a “shift mutation” in the specification but refers to “frame shift mutation” in paragraphs [0089-0091 & 0112]). It is unclear whether the “shift mutation” of claims 14, 30 & 31 is limited to frame shift mutations or if the term encompasses other types of mutation. Because the scope of the limitation is unclear, claim 14 and dependent claims 16, 17, 18, 30-34 are also indefinite.
Claim 18 requires “a” coding sequence of the protein RMS1 to be “any of” a DNA molecule shown in SEQ ID NO: 2 and a DNA molecule shown in SEQ ID NO: 3. It is unclear if this limitation should be broadly interpreted as requiring a sequence shown in SEQ ID NOs: 2 or 3 or if this limitation should be interpreted as requiring a coding sequence comprising a DNA molecule shown within SEQ ID NO: 2 and also comprising a DNA molecule shown within SEQ ID NO: 3. Because claim 18 has more than one distinct interpretation, the claim is indefinite. Additionally, claim 18 is not written in Markush format, which would require --and-- in order to present a closed group of options. See MPEP 2117(I) for guidance on Markush formatting. If claim 18 should be interpreted as reciting a list of options to select between, --or-- is the appropriate conjunction.
Claim 21 is drawn to a method for regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility (line 8). It is unclear if the limitation “comprising: introducing an encoding gene of sgRNA …” (lines 10-19) is a limitation only found in method 2) or if claim 21 should be examined under the interpretation that this limitation also applies to method 1). Because there is more than one distinct interpretation of claim 21, it and its dependent claims 23-29 are indefinite.
Claims 14 (lines 16) requires “a reduced activity of protein RMS1 in the mutant rice” and claim 21 (lines 13-14) requires “a protein RMS1 exhibiting a reduced protein activity”. It is unclear from the claims if these limitations require all protein activity to be reduced or if one specific activity of the protein RMS1 may be reduced. In addition, “reduced” is a relative term, and the claims do not specify what the activity is reduced relative to. Multiple distinct interpretations make claims 14 and 21 and dependent claims 16-18, 23-29 & 30-34 indefinite.
Claims 23-25 recite the limitation "the gene edited rice” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 21 recites a mutant rice (line 12) but it is indefinite whether “gene edited rice” refers to the mutant rice or another rice. Dependent claims 26-28 are also indefinite.
Claim 29 recites the step of introducing an encoding gene of sgRNA and an encoding gene of Cas 9 protein into a target rice is implemented by using a CRISPR/Cas9 system. It is unclear whether this limitation requires that the CRISPR/Cas9 system comprises the sgRNA and Cas9 encoding genes or whether this limitation requires that the sgRNA and Cas9 encoding genes are themselves introduced via a CRISPR/Cas9 system. Because the claim language allows two distinct interpretations, the claim is indefinite.
Applicant urges that amendments to the claims are sufficient to bring the claims into compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (Remarks, page 9, paragraphs 5-8).
This argument is unpersuasive, because the amendments introduce new issues of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Improper Dependency
Claims 18 & 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 18 recites a method wherein the coding sequence of the protein RMS1 is a DNA molecule as shown in SEQ ID NO: 3 (lines 4). Claim 14, on which claim 18 depends, requires that the protein RMS1 have the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1 and a mutation after position 126 of CDS of the gene encoding the RMS1 protein. If “CDS” is interpreted to mean the coding sequence, as it is used in paragraphs [0089-0091] of the instant specification, then this limitation would require mutations at the recited position relative to the first nucleotide of the start codon of the sequence encoding amino acids. Claim 18 (line 4) provides SEQ ID NO: 3 as an option for a “coding sequence” of the protein RMS1, even though SEQ ID NO: 3 is a genomic DNA sequence comprising introns (instant specification, paragraph [0076]). SEQ ID NO: 3 is 2623 nucleotides long and would encode 877 amino acids rather than the 345 amino acid-long SEQ ID NO: 1 if it were a coding sequence. Additionally, the sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 3 do not comprise a mutation after position 126 of the coding sequence. Thus, claim 18 fails to include all the limitations of the claim on which it depends.
Claim 31 is drawn to the method according to claim 30 and repeats the limitations of claim 30. Thus, claim 31 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 30. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Written Description/New Matter
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 29 recites “the step of introducing an encoding gene of sgRNA and an encoding gene of Cas 9 protein into a target rice is implemented by using a CRISPR/Cas9 system”. It is indefinite whether this limitation requires that using the CRISPR/Cas9 system entails introducing a CRISPR/Cas9 system which comprises the sgRNA encoding gene and Cas 9 encoding gene of claim 21 or whether the sgRNA encoding gene and Cas 9 encoding gene of claim 21 are themselves introduced into target rice by a CRISPR/Cas9 system.
The second interpretation (using a CRISPR/Cas9 system to introduce the sgRNA and Cas 9 protein) constitutes New Matter not found in the original disclosure. In response to this rejection, Applicant is required to point specifically to support for the concept in the specification or to cancel the new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 & 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Rosa et al US 2011/0093981 A9 (published 4/21/2011, hereafter La Rosa).
Claim 21 is drawn to a method for regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility. Claim 21 is indefinite as to whether method 1) comprises the limitation provided for method 2) (see rejection above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)); however, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is that claim 21 method 1) does not require the steps of introducing an sgRNA and Cas 9 gene, screening and identifying mutant rice and identifying photosensitive male sterile characteristics. Claims 23-29 are drawn to the method of claim 21 further requiring that the gene-edited rice comprises a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, 8, 10, 11, 13 or 14 encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, 9 or 12, or wherein introducing a gene encoding sgRNA and Cas9 is implemented by using a CRISPR/Cas9 system.
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 7/25/2025, as applied to claims 19-22. Applicant' s arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
La Rosa teaches a protein with an amino acid sequence (La Rosa SEQ ID NO: 17267) that consists of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 from Oryza sativa. See alignment below. La Rosa teaches a cDNA (La Rosa SEQ ID NO: 12325) with a nucleic acid sequence that consists of SEQ ID NO: 2. See second alignment below. La Rosa envisions a method of producing a plant containing an overexpressed plant transcription factor comprising transforming said plant with a nucleic acid molecule with a sequence of La Rosa SEQ ID NO: 12325 resulting in overexpression of the plant transcription factor (La Rosa claim 3). La Rosa teaches rice as one crop plant of interest for the method (paragraph [0020]). La Rosa teaches that modification of the activity of transcription factors, which describes the polypeptide with 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (paragraph [0038]), may result in dramatic changes to a plant leading to plants with highly desirable commercial traits (paragraph [0006]).
US-10-438-246-17267
Filing date in PALM: 2003-05-14
Sequence 17267, US/10438246
Publication No. US20110093981A9
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: La Rosa, Thomas J.
APPLICANT: Lutfiyya, Linda L.
APPLICANT: Zhou, Yihua
APPLICANT: Kovalic, David K.
APPLICANT: Barbazuk, Brad
APPLICANT: Li, Ping
APPLICANT: Wu, Wei
APPLICANT: Boukharov, Andrey A.
TITLE OF INVENTION: Nucleic Acid Molecules and Other Molecules Associated with
TITLE OF INVENTION: Transcription in Plants and Uses Thereof for Plant Improvement
FILE REFERENCE: 38-21(53333)B
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/438,246
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2003-05-14
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 33516
SEQ ID NO 17267
LENGTH: 345
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Oryza sativa
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Clone ID: TF_OSC401316j.C1.p15.fg
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1821; Length 345;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 345; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGRSPCCEKEGLKKGPWTPEEDQKLLAYIEQHGHGCWRSLPSKAGLQRCGKSCRLRWTNY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGRSPCCEKEGLKKGPWTPEEDQKLLAYIEQHGHGCWRSLPSKAGLQRCGKSCRLRWTNY 60
Qy 61 LRPDIKRGKFSLQEEQTIIQLHALLGNRWSAIA THLPKRTDNEIKNYWNTHLKKRLAKMG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 LRPDIKRGKFSLQEEQTIIQLHALLGNRWSAIA THLPKRTDNEIKNYWNTHLKKRLAKMG 120
Qy 121 IDPVTHKPRSDVAGAGGGGGGAAGGAAGAQHAKAAAHLSHTAQWESARLEAEARLAREAK 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 IDPVTHKPRSDVAGAGGGGGGAAGGAAGAQHAKAAAHLSHTAQWESARLEAEARLAREAK 180
Qy 181 LRALAASATPGAPHLPAPPASAAAAAAAHGLDSPTSTLSFSESAVLATVLEAHGAAAAAA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LRALAASATPGAPHLPAPPASAAAAAAAHGLDSPTSTLSFSESAVLATVLEAHGAAAAAA 240
Qy 241 ARAAMQPMQAYDEACKDQHWGDVDAADVGFPGAGAGFTGLLLEGSLNQIPRPAGRDAEAD 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 ARAAMQPMQAYDEACKDQHWGDVDAADVGFPGAGAGFTGLLLEGSLNQIPRPAGRDAEAD 300
Qy 301 GEFQETEEEKNYWNSILNLVNSSSAPMSTAVVVPASHAYSPAPDF 345
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 GEFQETEEEKNYWNSILNLVNSSSAPMSTAVVVPASHAYSPAPDF 345
US-10-438-246-12325
Filing date in PALM: 2003-05-14
Sequence 12325, US/10438246
Publication No. US20110093981A9
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: La Rosa, Thomas J.
APPLICANT: Lutfiyya, Linda L.
APPLICANT: Zhou, Yihua
APPLICANT: Kovalic, David K.
APPLICANT: Barbazuk, Brad
APPLICANT: Li, Ping
APPLICANT: Wu, Wei
APPLICANT: Boukharov, Andrey A.
TITLE OF INVENTION: Nucleic Acid Molecules and Other Molecules Associated with
TITLE OF INVENTION: Transcription in Plants and Uses Thereof for Plant Improvement
FILE REFERENCE: 38-21(53333)B
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/438,246
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2003-05-14
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 33516
SEQ ID NO 12325
LENGTH: 1038
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Oryza sativa
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Clone ID: TFbOSC401316j.C1.o15.fg
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1038; Length 1038;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1038; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGGGGCGATCGCCGTGCTGCGAGAAGGAGGGGCTCAAGAAGGGGCCATGGACGCCGGAG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 ATGGGGCGATCGCCGTGCTGCGAGAAGGAGGGGCTCAAGAAGGGGCCATGGACGCCGGAG 60
Qy 61 GAGGACCAGAAGCTGCTGGCCTACATCGAGCAGCACGGCCACGGCTGCTGGCGCTCGCTA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GAGGACCAGAAGCTGCTGGCCTACATCGAGCAGCACGGCCACGGCTGCTGGCGCTCGCTA 120
Qy 121 CCCTCCAAGGCCGGGCTGCAGCGGTGCGGCAAGAGCTGCCGACTCCGGTGGACGAACTAC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 CCCTCCAAGGCCGGGCTGCAGCGGTGCGGCAAGAGCTGCCGACTCCGGTGGACGAACTAC 180
Qy 181 CTCCGGCCGGACATCAAGAGGGGCAAGTTCAGCCTGCAGGAGGAGCAGACCATCATCCAG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CTCCGGCCGGACATCAAGAGGGGCAAGTTCAGCCTGCAGGAGGAGCAGACCATCATCCAG 240
Qy 241 CTCCACGCCCTTCTCGGCAACAGGTGGTCGGCGATCGCGACGCACCTGCCGAAGCGCACG 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 CTCCACGCCCTTCTCGGCAACAGGTGGTCGGCGATCGCGACGCACCTGCCGAAGCGCACG 300
Qy 301 GACAACGAGATCAAGAACTACTGGAACACGCACCTAAAGAAGCGGCTGGCCAAGATGGGG 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 GACAACGAGATCAAGAACTACTGGAACACGCACCTAAAGAAGCGGCTGGCCAAGATGGGG 360
Qy 361 ATCGACCCGGTCACGCACAAGCCGCGCTCCGACGTGGCCGGCGCGGGCGGCGGCGGCGGA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 ATCGACCCGGTCACGCACAAGCCGCGCTCCGACGTGGCCGGCGCGGGCGGCGGCGGCGGA 420
Qy 421 GGTGCGGCCGGCGGCGCGGCGGGCGCGCAGCACGCCAAGGCCGCGGCGCACCTCAGCCAC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 GGTGCGGCCGGCGGCGCGGCGGGCGCGCAGCACGCCAAGGCCGCGGCGCACCTCAGCCAC 480
Qy 481 ACGGCGCAGTGGGAGAGCGCGCGGCTCGAGGCGGAGGCGCGCTTGGCTCGGGAGGCCAAG 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 ACGGCGCAGTGGGAGAGCGCGCGGCTCGAGGCGGAGGCGCGCTTGGCTCGGGAGGCCAAG 540
Qy 541 CTGCGCGCGCTCGCGGCCTCCGCGACCCCGGGCGCGCCGCACCTCCCGGCACCCCCCGCG 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 CTGCGCGCGCTCGCGGCCTCCGCGACCCCGGGCGCGCCGCACCTCCCGGCACCCCCCGCG 600
Qy 601 TCGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCTCACGGCCTCGACTCGCCGACGTCCACGCTGAGCTTC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 TCGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCTCACGGCCTCGACTCGCCGACGTCCACGCTGAGCTTC 660
Qy 661 TCGGAGAGCGCGGTGCTCGCCACCGTGCTGGAGGCGCACGGCGCCGCCGCCGCGGCGGCC 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 TCGGAGAGCGCGGTGCTCGCCACCGTGCTGGAGGCGCACGGCGCCGCCGCCGCGGCGGCC 720
Qy 721 GCGCGCGCCGCCATGCAGCCCATGCAGGCGTACGACGAGGCGTGCAAGGACCAGCACTGG 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 GCGCGCGCCGCCATGCAGCCCATGCAGGCGTACGACGAGGCGTGCAAGGACCAGCACTGG 780
Qy 781 GGCGACGTCGACGCCGCCGACGTGGGCTTCCCCGGCGCCGGAGCGGGGTTCACGGGCCTA 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 GGCGACGTCGACGCCGCCGACGTGGGCTTCCCCGGCGCCGGAGCGGGGTTCACGGGCCTA 840
Qy 841 CTCCTCGAAGGCTCCTTGAACCAGATCCCGAGGCCGGCGGGGAGAGACGCGGAAGCCGAC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 CTCCTCGAAGGCTCCTTGAACCAGATCCCGAGGCCGGCGGGGAGAGACGCGGAAGCCGAC 900
Qy 901 GGCGAGTTCCAGGAGACCGAGGAGGAGAAGAACTACTGGAACAGCATACTGAACCTGGTG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 GGCGAGTTCCAGGAGACCGAGGAGGAGAAGAACTACTGGAACAGCATACTGAACCTGGTG 960
Qy 961 AACTCCTCGTCGGCACCTATGTCGACGGCCGTGGTTGTGCCCGCCTCCCACGCGTACTCG 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 AACTCCTCGTCGGCACCTATGTCGACGGCCGTGGTTGTGCCCGCCTCCCACGCGTACTCG 1020
Qy 1021 CCGGCGCCGGACTTCTGA 1038
||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 CCGGCGCCGGACTTCTGA 1038
Before the time of filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of La Rosa to produce a rice plant comprising an overexpressed plant transcription factor as in La Rosa Claim 3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to overexpress a DNA molecule of La Rosa SEQ ID NO: 12325 (consisting of the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 2) in rice, because modifying activity of transcription factors may result in a plant with highly desirable commercial traits. One of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success, because transformation of rice with transgenic constructs was routine in the art prior to the filing of the instant application.
Claim 21 method 1) requires regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility. Overexpression of La Rosa SEQ ID NO: 12325 in a rice plant reads on regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility, because by expressing the wildtype protein in a plant, photoperiod-sensitive fertility would be suppressed. Thus, claim 21 is obvious over La Rosa.
Claims 23-25 are drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein the gene edited rice comprise a nucleotide sequence encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, 9 or 12 and claims 26-28 further require that the nucleotide sequence encoding the amino acid sequence has the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, 8, 10, 11, 13 or 14. Claim 29 requires that the step of introducing a gene of sgRNA and Cas 9 is implemented by using a CRISPR/Cas9 system. Although La Rosa does not teach an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, 9 or 12 or a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, or 14, under the interpretation of claim 21 method 1) above, gene edited rice is not required for method 1) of claim 21. Thus, claims 23-28 are obvious over La Rosa.
Likewise, although La Rosa does not teach introduction of a sgRNA and Cas 9 gene using a CRISPR/Cas9 system to obtain a mutant rice exhibiting reduced protein activity, these limitations are not required for claim 21 method 1) under the interpretation presented above. Thus claim 29 is obvious over La Rosa.
Applicant urges that because La Rosa is silent about the use of SEQ ID NO: 12325 in regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility or producing a photosensitive male sterile rice, La Rosa is not sufficient to teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art a method of regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility or teaching or suggesting methods for breeding a photosensitive male sterile rice by causing frame shift mutations after position 126 of CDS of the protein RMS1 by using a Crispr/Cas9 system (Remarks, page 11, paragraphs 5).
This argument is unpersuasive, because claim 21 does not require a frame shift mutation after position 126 of CDS and is indefinite as to whether method 1) requires a Crispr/Cas9 system. Under the interpretation that the steps of introducing a gene encoding an sgRNA and Cas 9 protein into a target rice, screening and identifying mutant rice, and identifying photosensitive male sterile characteristics (claim 21, lines 10-19) describe the method of option 2) and not the method of option 1), claim 21 remains obvious over Rosa because expressing the wildtype RMS1 protein in a plant would function to suppress photoperiod-sensitive fertility even if the effect on photoperiod-sensitive fertility of a knockout of the protein’s activity was unknown at the filing of the instant application.
Claim(s) 21 & 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (2014) Journal of Huazhong Agricultural University. 33(4) (published July 2014, hereafter Chen. Machine translation appended to original document) in view of NCBI reference NC_029259.1 bases 23023957 to 23026670 (published 8/7/2018, hereafter NCBI reference NC_029259.1).
Due to Applicant' s amendment of the claims, the rejection is modified from the rejection as set forth in the Office action mailed 7/25/2025, as applied to claims 14, 15 & 18-22. Applicant' s arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 21 & 23-29 are summarized above.
Chen teaches rice plants transformed with an interference vector comprising the cDNA sequence of OsMYB106 to generate rice plants where the expression level was successfully inhibited (page 8, right column, lines 11-18 of translation). Plants transformed with the MYB106 RNAi construct had sterile pollen (figure 4D; page 11, left column, lines 35-39) and reduced fertility (table 1). Chen teaches observing T0 and T1 transgenic rice plants to record their phenotype (page 10, left column, lines 6-10; table 1). Chen teaches that the OsMYB106 gene is (LOC_Os08g33660) (page 8, lines 7-9). Chen teaches that MYB transcription factors play an important role in plant growth, development and basal metabolism and regulate plant responses to biological and non-biological factors (page 7, left column, paragraph 2).
Chen does not teach the sequence of the MYB106 gene encoding a rice protein as having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. Chen does not teach introducing an sgRNA gene or a Cas 9 gene into a target rice to obtain a mutant rice, screening and identifying the mutant rice exhibiting a reduced protein activity, or identifying photosensitive male sterile characteristics of the mutant rice.
NCBI reference NC_029259.1 teaches a genomic sequence from Oryza sativa encoding a MYB106 transcription factor (see section CDS, product). This genomic region comprises a sequence with 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 3. See first alignment below. This genomic region encodes a protein with 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. See second alignment below.
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
4844 bits(2623)
0.0
2623/2623(100%)
0/2623(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 GGCctctctctctctctctctctctctcacacacacacacactctcacTGACTCTGCTGC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 66 GGCCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCTCACACACACACACACTCTCACTGACTCTGCTGC 125
Query 61 TGCATTAGTCACTCGCAGAGAGCCACAGCTCCCTGCAAAGAAGATCTCTCGTAGTGAATT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 126 TGCATTAGTCACTCGCAGAGAGCCACAGCTCCCTGCAAAGAAGATCTCTCGTAGTGAATT 185
Query 121 GCCTCGATCACGTACTACTACACATAGACCTACTACTTGAGCCCGAGAGAAGAGGAGAGG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 186 GCCTCGATCACGTACTACTACACATAGACCTACTACTTGAGCCCGAGAGAAGAGGAGAGG 245
Query 181 AGGAAGAACCAGAGGGCGTCGAAGATCATCGGGGAGGAGTTTTCCTAGAGCTCGCTGCTG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 246 AGGAAGAACCAGAGGGCGTCGAAGATCATCGGGGAGGAGTTTTCCTAGAGCTCGCTGCTG 305
Query 241 CTGTTGCTTTTCTCCGGCGATGGGGCGATCGCCGTGCTGCGAGAAGGAGGGGCTCAAGAA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 306 CTGTTGCTTTTCTCCGGCGATGGGGCGATCGCCGTGCTGCGAGAAGGAGGGGCTCAAGAA 365
Query 301 GGGGCCATGGACGCCGGAGGAGGACCAGAAGCTGCTGGCCTACATCGAGCAGCACGGCCA 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 366 GGGGCCATGGACGCCGGAGGAGGACCAGAAGCTGCTGGCCTACATCGAGCAGCACGGCCA 425
Query 361 CGGCTGCTGGCGCTCGCTACCCTCCAAGGCCGGTAAGCGCCGCTTATCTAGCTTAAATTT 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 426 CGGCTGCTGGCGCTCGCTACCCTCCAAGGCCGGTAAGCGCCGCTTATCTAGCTTAAATTT 485
Query 421 CTTCTCAACCTCTGCAATCCTAGCTGCAATGTTCGGTCGAGGCGATCGATCCTCGAGGCT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 486 CTTCTCAACCTCTGCAATCCTAGCTGCAATGTTCGGTCGAGGCGATCGATCCTCGAGGCT 545
Query 481 GGCTACTCTCTGAACTCTGATCTGAGGTGCATGCAAACCGTGACAATCGTGTGCAGGGCT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 546 GGCTACTCTCTGAACTCTGATCTGAGGTGCATGCAAACCGTGACAATCGTGTGCAGGGCT 605
Query 541 GCAGCGGTGCGGCAAGAGCTGCCGACTCCGGTGGACGAACTACCTCCGGCCGGACATCAA 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 606 GCAGCGGTGCGGCAAGAGCTGCCGACTCCGGTGGACGAACTACCTCCGGCCGGACATCAA 665
Query 601 GAGGGGCAAGTTCAGCCTGCAGGAGGAGCAGACCATCATCCAGCTCCACGCCCTTCTCGG 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 666 GAGGGGCAAGTTCAGCCTGCAGGAGGAGCAGACCATCATCCAGCTCCACGCCCTTCTCGG 725
Query 661 CAACAGGTGATCGATTACTTCGTTTTCGCATGGATGCATCATGCATACAAGATACGTAGT 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 726 CAACAGGTGATCGATTACTTCGTTTTCGCATGGATGCATCATGCATACAAGATACGTAGT 785
Query 721 GCACAACTCTCCCTCCTGCTAGCTGCTCGCTCGTTCTTCACCTCGCACCCGGAGCACATT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 786 GCACAACTCTCCCTCCTGCTAGCTGCTCGCTCGTTCTTCACCTCGCACCCGGAGCACATT 845
Query 781 TAATTCCGTAATCGCGATGGAACCCTTGATTCTCCTGCACGAATTTTGACTGCTAGTACT 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 846 TAATTCCGTAATCGCGATGGAACCCTTGATTCTCCTGCACGAATTTTGACTGCTAGTACT 905
Query 841 TGTTGCTGACCGGCAGGTCAAGAACACACTAGCCAGTAGCCACCATTCTGCACCGTAGTC 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 906 TGTTGCTGACCGGCAGGTCAAGAACACACTAGCCAGTAGCCACCATTCTGCACCGTAGTC 965
Query 901 TTGGCAGACATTTATGAAAGGGTTATGCAATGCAAGGGTTGGAACACGGAGCTTAGCCAG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 966 TTGGCAGACATTTATGAAAGGGTTATGCAATGCAAGGGTTGGAACACGGAGCTTAGCCAG 1025
Query 961 GGGATGTGTAAATTTCGCAGGCCGTGCTACTTACTTGCTGTCCCCGTACACACCTGCTTC 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1026 GGGATGTGTAAATTTCGCAGGCCGTGCTACTTACTTGCTGTCCCCGTACACACCTGCTTC 1085
Query 1021 AGCATTTTGTCCGTAACAAACCGTACTGTCCATAGATTAACACACAAGCTAGGCTAAAAA 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1086 AGCATTTTGTCCGTAACAAACCGTACTGTCCATAGATTAACACACAAGCTAGGCTAAAAA 1145
Query 1081 TTCTTACGTTAGAACAGAATCATCACTTGTTTTCGTTTTGTTCACACGTAATGCTGCATT 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1146 TTCTTACGTTAGAACAGAATCATCACTTGTTTTCGTTTTGTTCACACGTAATGCTGCATT 1205
Query 1141 GCTCATCTTTTGCCCGTCGAACAACCACGCATTAGCTGTGAGCACAGACCAATCAATGCA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1206 GCTCATCTTTTGCCCGTCGAACAACCACGCATTAGCTGTGAGCACAGACCAATCAATGCA 1265
Query 1201 TGCATCAACAAGGGAAAAAGTGTGAAAAGGTTGGGCAGTGAGAGGCTCGGCCCAGAATTT 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1266 TGCATCAACAAGGGAAAAAGTGTGAAAAGGTTGGGCAGTGAGAGGCTCGGCCCAGAATTT 1325
Query 1261 TCCTTTCTTTTCTCCCATATGATTCGGCATTCAAGCTCGTCATTTAAGGAGGCGAGcccc 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1326 TCCTTTCTTTTCTCCCATATGATTCGGCATTCAAGCTCGTCATTTAAGGAGGCGAGCCCC 1385
Query 1321 cccATCATTGTGGACCAAAACTGGGGTTTGGTCCACTGTTGCCACCTGCCCCTCTTCCCA 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1386 CCCATCATTGTGGACCAAAACTGGGGTTTGGTCCACTGTTGCCACCTGCCCCTCTTCCCA 1445
Query 1381 TTTTGACTCACAGCTTCCGATCATCTCTGCCCTCTGTCTGTACTACGCCACGCACGCCTT 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1446 TTTTGACTCACAGCTTCCGATCATCTCTGCCCTCTGTCTGTACTACGCCACGCACGCCTT 1505
Query 1441 AAATCACACCGCCGATTATTTACGTTTTCAAGAGTGCTGTTTGTTTAATTTTGTCACTGC 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1506 AAATCACACCGCCGATTATTTACGTTTTCAAGAGTGCTGTTTGTTTAATTTTGTCACTGC 1565
Query 1501 GAATGGAGGGCTTTTGACGTGCGATTTTCCTGATCTTTTTTCTTGGCCGGCGTTGGCGTT 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1566 GAATGGAGGGCTTTTGACGTGCGATTTTCCTGATCTTTTTTCTTGGCCGGCGTTGGCGTT 1625
Query 1561 GTTGTTGTTTTGCAGGTGGTCGGCGATCGCGACGCACCTGCCGAAGCGCACGGACAACGA 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1626 GTTGTTGTTTTGCAGGTGGTCGGCGATCGCGACGCACCTGCCGAAGCGCACGGACAACGA 1685
Query 1621 GATCAAGAACTACTGGAACACGCACCTAAAGAAGCGGCTGGCCAAGATGGGGATCGACCC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1686 GATCAAGAACTACTGGAACACGCACCTAAAGAAGCGGCTGGCCAAGATGGGGATCGACCC 1745
Query 1681 GGTCACGCACAAGCCGCGCTCCGACGTggccggcgcgggcggcggcggcggaggtgcggc 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1746 GGTCACGCACAAGCCGCGCTCCGACGTGGCCGGCGCGGGCGGCGGCGGCGGAGGTGCGGC 1805
Query 1741 cggcggcgcggcgggcgcgcagcacgccaaggccgcggcgcacctcagccacacggcgca 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1806 CGGCGGCGCGGCGGGCGCGCAGCACGCCAAGGCCGCGGCGCACCTCAGCCACACGGCGCA 1865
Query 1801 GTGGGAGAgcgcgcggctcgaggcggaggcgcgcttggctcgggaggccaagctgcgcgc 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1866 GTGGGAGAGCGCGCGGCTCGAGGCGGAGGCGCGCTTGGCTCGGGAGGCCAAGCTGCGCGC 1925
Query 1861 gctcgcggcctccgcgaccccgggcgcgccgcacctcccggcaccccccgcgtcggcggc 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1926 GCTCGCGGCCTCCGCGACCCCGGGCGCGCCGCACCTCCCGGCACCCCCCGCGTCGGCGGC 1985
Query 1921 ggcggcggcggcggcTCACGGCCTCGACTCGCCGACGTCCACGCTGAGCTTCTCGGAGAG 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1986 GGCGGCGGCGGCGGCTCACGGCCTCGACTCGCCGACGTCCACGCTGAGCTTCTCGGAGAG 2045
Query 1981 CGCGGTGCTCGCCACCGTGCTGGAggcgcacggcgccgccgccgcggcggccgcgcgcgc 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2046 CGCGGTGCTCGCCACCGTGCTGGAGGCGCACGGCGCCGCCGCCGCGGCGGCCGCGCGCGC 2105
Query 2041 cgccATGCAGCCCATGCAGGCGTACGACGAGGCGTGCAAGGACCAGCACTGGGGCGACGT 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2106 CGCCATGCAGCCCATGCAGGCGTACGACGAGGCGTGCAAGGACCAGCACTGGGGCGACGT 2165
Query 2101 CGACGCCGCCGACGTGGGCTTCCCCGGCGCCGGAGCGGGGTTCACGGGCCTACTCCTCGA 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2166 CGACGCCGCCGACGTGGGCTTCCCCGGCGCCGGAGCGGGGTTCACGGGCCTACTCCTCGA 2225
Query 2161 AGGCTCCTTGAACCAGATCCCGAGGCCGGCGGGGAGAGACGCGGAAGCCGACGGCGAGTT 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2226 AGGCTCCTTGAACCAGATCCCGAGGCCGGCGGGGAGAGACGCGGAAGCCGACGGCGAGTT 2285
Query 2221 CCAGGAGACCGAGGAGGAGAAGAACTACTGGAACAGCATACTGAACCTGGTGAACTCCTC 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2286 CCAGGAGACCGAGGAGGAGAAGAACTACTGGAACAGCATACTGAACCTGGTGAACTCCTC 2345
Query 2281 GTCGGCACCTATGTCGACGGCCGTGGTTGTGCCCGCCTCCCACGCGTACTCGCCGGCGCC 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2346 GTCGGCACCTATGTCGACGGCCGTGGTTGTGCCCGCCTCCCACGCGTACTCGCCGGCGCC 2405
Query 2341 GGACTTCTGAGCGGAGAAAACCTCGCCGGCATCAAACTTGATTCGATCTCATGACACAGT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2406 GGACTTCTGAGCGGAGAAAACCTCGCCGGCATCAAACTTGATTCGATCTCATGACACAGT 2465
Query 2401 AAATAGTTTAGCAATGATTGTCGAATAAGATGGGACTAATATTAATGTTAGTAATTATTA 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2466 AAATAGTTTAGCAATGATTGTCGAATAAGATGGGACTAATATTAATGTTAGTAATTATTA 2525
Query 2461 ATCACGTTCTTGGGTTAACCTGACAATGCTTTCGATTAAACTTGTGGGCAAGAACTTCAA 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2526 ATCACGTTCTTGGGTTAACCTGACAATGCTTTCGATTAAACTTGTGGGCAAGAACTTCAA 2585
Query 2521 CTGTTCAAGGCTGTATCGACATTTGAAATTCGATGCTTGTTTTGTTCGGTGTTCTTATAG 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2586 CTGTTCAAGGCTGTATCGACATTTGAAATTCGATGCTTGTTTTGTTCGGTGTTCTTATAG 2645
Query 2581 AATGTGTAAAACACTGAAACTACTATCAGAGAATGTAGCATCC 2623
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 2646 AATGTGTAAAACACTGAAACTACTATCAGAGAATGTAGCATCC 2688
Score
Expect
Method
Identities
Positives
Gaps
701 bits(1809)
0.0
Compositional matrix adjust.
345/345(100%)
345/345(100%)
0/345(0%)
Query 1 MGRSPCCEKEGLKKGPWTPEEDQKLLAYIEQHGHGCWRSLPSKAGLQRCGKSCRLRWTNY 60
MGRSPCCEKEGLKKGPWTPEEDQKLLAYIEQHGHGCWRSLPSKAGLQRCGKSCRLRWTNY
Sbjct 1 MGRSPCCEKEGLKKGPWTPEEDQKLLAYIEQHGHGCWRSLPSKAGLQRCGKSCRLRWTNY 60
Query 61 LRPDIKRGKFSLQEEQTIIQLHALLGNRWSAIA THLPKRTDNEIKNYWNTHLKKRLAKMG 120
LRPDIKRGKFSLQEEQTIIQLHALLGNRWSAIA THLPKRTDNEIKNYWNTHLKKRLAKMG
Sbjct 61 LRPDIKRGKFSLQEEQTIIQLHALLGNRWSAIA THLPKRTDNEIKNYWNTHLKKRLAKMG 120
Query 121 IDPVTHKPRSDVAGAGGGGGGAAGGAAGAQHAKAAAHLSHTAQWESARLEAEARLAREAK 180
IDPVTHKPRSDVAGAGGGGGGAAGGAAGAQHAKAAAHLSHTAQWESARLEAEARLAREAK
Sbjct 121 IDPVTHKPRSDVAGAGGGGGGAAGGAAGAQHAKAAAHLSHTAQWESARLEAEARLAREAK 180
Query 181 LRALAASATPGAPHLPAPPASAAAAAAAHGLDSPTSTLSFSESAVLATVLEAHGAAAAAA 240
LRALAASATPGAPHLPAPPASAAAAAAAHGLDSPTSTLSFSESAVLATVLEAHGAAAAAA
Sbjct 181 LRALAASATPGAPHLPAPPASAAAAAAAHGLDSPTSTLSFSESAVLATVLEAHGAAAAAA 240
Query 241 ARAAMQPMQAYDEACKDQHWGDVDAADVGFPGAGAGFTGLLLEGSLNQIPRPAGRDAEAD 300
ARAAMQPMQAYDEACKDQHWGDVDAADVGFPGAGAGFTGLLLEGSLNQIPRPAGRDAEAD
Sbjct 241 ARAAMQPMQAYDEACKDQHWGDVDAADVGFPGAGAGFTGLLLEGSLNQIPRPAGRDAEAD 300
Query 301 GEFQETEEEKNYWNSILNLVNSSSAPMSTAVVVPASHAYSPAPDF 345
GEFQETEEEKNYWNSILNLVNSSSAPMSTAVVVPASHAYSPAPDF
Sbjct 301 GEFQETEEEKNYWNSILNLVNSSSAPMSTAVVVPASHAYSPAPDF 345
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to substitute a DNA molecule of NCBI reference NC_029259.1 encoding a MYB106 protein for the DNA molecule encoding a MYB106 protein used by Chen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute Chen’s MYB106 protein for the NCBI NC_029259.1 MYB106 protein because MYB transcription factors play an important role in plant growth, development and basal metabolism and regulate plant responses to biological and non-biological factors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success, because both proteins were MYB106 proteins from rice. Because reduction of the protein of amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 causes photosensitive male sterile rice, the modified method of Chen to inhibit expression of the MYB106 gene would inherently obtain photosensitive male sterile rice.
Generating and growing the RNAi plants using the modified method of Chen reads on a method for regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility because the reduction in expression of the protein of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 would function to regulate photoperiod-sensitive fertility even if Chen was silent regarding the phenotype.
Claims 23-25 are drawn to the method of claim 21, wherein the gene edited rice comprise a nucleotide sequence encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, 9 or 12 and claims 26-28 further require that the nucleotide sequence encoding the amino acid sequence has the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, 8, 10, 11, 13 or 14. Claim 29 requires that the step of introducing a gene of sgRNA and Cas 9 is implemented by using a CRISPR/Cas9 system.
Although Chen does not teach an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 6, 9 or 12 or a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, or 14, under the interpretation of claim 21 method 1) above, gene edited rice is not required for method 1) of claim 21.
Likewise, although Chen does not teach introduction of a sgRNA and Cas 9 gene using a CRISPR/Cas9 system to obtain a mutant rice exhibiting reduced protein activity, these limitations are not required for claim 21 method 1) under the interpretation presented above. Thus claims 23-29 are obvious over Chen in view of NCBI reference NC_029259.1.
Applicant urges that Chen investigated the gene with the NCBI gene ID Os08g0433400 while the RMS1 gene of the instant specification was identified as NCBI gene ID Os04g0461000, and these loci have sequence similarity of only 55.9% for coding sequences and only 62% for amino terminal sequences (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 6-page 12, paragraph 1).
This argument is unpersuasive to the current rejection, because an amino acid sequence comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 1 was known as a MYB106 gene prior to the filing of the instant application. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to substitute a gene identified as homologous to MYB106 in rice for another gene identified as a MYB106 gene in rice. One of skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation that genes that were both annotated as MYB106 might have similar functions, and one of skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate or knock down a MYB106 transcription factor, because MYB transcription factors were known to play an important role in plant growth, development and basal metabolism and regulate plant responses to biological and non-biological factors.
Applicant urges that Chen does not teach or suggest that OsMYB106 has photosensitive properties or reducing expression level of OsMYB106 can be used for photosensitive male sterile lines and Chen does not use a gene knockout approach to produce a modified RMS1 response (Remarks, page 12, paragraph 2-4).
This argument is unpersuasive to the current rejection, because the motivation to combine references does not need to be Applicant’s own. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to mutate or knock down a MYB106 transcription factor, because MYB transcription factors were known to play an important role in plant growth, development and basal metabolism and regulate plant responses to biological and non-biological factors. The knockdown of a gene encoding an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 would affect photoperiod-sensitive fertility even if Chen is silent with regard to the phenotype. Claim 21 method 1) as interpreted above does not require that a plant with a modified photoperiod-sensitive fertility be identified as such nor does it require a gene knockout.
Applicant urges that NCBI reference NC_029259 is silent about the use of the sequence for regulating rice photoperiod-sensitive fertility or producing photosensitive male sterile rice and does not teach or suggest methods for breeding a photosensitive male sterile rice by causing frame shift mutations after position 126 of CDS (Remarks, page 12, paragraph 5).
This argument is unpersuasive because claim 21 method 1) as interpreted above does not require that a plant with a modified photoperiod-sensitive fertility be identified as such and does not require a frame shift mutation after position 126 of “CDS”. The knockdown of a gene encoding an amino acid sequence of NCBI reference NC_029259, which comprises a sequence identical to SEQ ID NO: 1, would affect photoperiod-sensitive fertility even if NCBI reference NC_029259 is silent with regard to the phenotype.
Applicant urges that La Rosa, Chen, and NCBI reference NC_029259 are not sufficient to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to envision methods of breeding photosensitive male sterile rice by mutating or knocking out or gene editing a gene encoding an RMS1 protein in rice and identifying mutant rice to produce a reduced activity of RMS1 protein (Remarks, page 13, paragraph 1).
This argument is unpersuasive, because claim 21 method 1) as interpreted above does not require breeding photosensitive male sterile rice, knocking out or gene editing a gene encoding an RMS1 protein, or identifying a mutant rice with reduced activity of RMS1 protein.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA L DELEO/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/Anne Kubelik/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663