DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 10/25/2022. Claims 1-8 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,5,7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Troxel et al, (Troxel), (USNO.2011/0080139).
As for claim 1, Troxel discloses and shows in Fig. 2 a power storage system in which two or more power storage devices are connected in parallel to one power conversion device by wiring, the power storage system comprising: a detection unit configured to detect voltages of the two or more power storage devices; and a control unit configured to, when the voltages detected by the detection unit reach a predetermined voltage, execute current decrease control for decreasing a predetermined discharge current input to the power conversion device or a predetermined charge current output from the power conversion device, to reduce a difference in the voltages among the two or more power storage devices (par.[0063]).
As for claim 2, Troxel discloses and shows in Fig. 2 the detection unit detects a voltage of a power storage device with smallest impedance (via voltage detection)of the wiring among the two or more power storage devices.
As for claim 5, Troxel discloses and shows in Fig. 2 current decrease control comprises control for stopping the discharging operation or the charging operation of the two or more power storage devices.
As for claim 7, Troxel discloses and shows in Fig. 2 control unit executes control for gradually decreasing the predetermined discharge current or the predetermined charge current in the current decrease control.
As for claim 8, Troxel discloses and shows in Fig. 2 a control method used in a power storage system in which two or more power storage devices are connected in parallel by wiring to one power conversion device, the method comprising:
(A) detecting voltages of the two or more power storage devices; and
(B) when the voltages detected in (A) reach a predetermined voltage, executing current decrease control for decreasing a predetermined discharge current input to the power conversion device or a predetermined charge current output
from the power conversion device, to reduce a difference in the voltages between the two or more power storage devices (par.[0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troxel in view of Sugeno et al, (Sugeno), (USNO.2014/0354212).
As for claim 3, Troxel discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose predetermined voltage comprises a lower limit voltage used in a discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices, and when the voltages detected by the detection unit reach the lower limit voltage, the control unit executes the current decrease control for decreasing the predetermined discharge current in the discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices
Sugeno discloses predetermined voltage comprises a lower limit voltage used in a discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices, and when the voltages detected by the detection unit reach the lower limit voltage, the control unit executes the current decrease control for decreasing the predetermined discharge current in the discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices (par.[0113-0126])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Troxel by using predetermined voltage comprises a lower limit voltage used in a discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices, and when the voltages detected by the detection unit reach the lower limit voltage, the control unit executes the current decrease control for decreasing the predetermined discharge current in the discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices for advantages such as providing the ability to reduce voltage variance (abstract), as taught by Sugeno.
As for claim 4, Troxel in combination with Sugeno discloses the predetermined voltage comprises an upper limit voltage used in a charging operation of the two or more power storage devices, and when the voltages detected by the detection unit reach the upper limit voltage, the control unit executes the current decrease control for decreasing the predetermined charge current in the charging operation of the two or more power storage devices.
As for claim 6, Troxel in combination with Sugeno discloses the control unit resumes the discharging operation with a current smaller than the current used before the discharging operation is stopped, after a certain period of time has elapsed from stopping the discharging operation of the two or more power storage devices, and
resumes the charging operation with a current smaller than the current used before the charging operation is stopped, after a certain period of time has elapsed from stopping the charging operation of the two or more power storage devices (par.[0113-0126])
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859