DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Claims 1, 3-10 and 13 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2026 is considered and signed IDS form is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 recites “the softening agent is formed of a hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin”. Given that claim 1 already recites “the softening agent is formed of a hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin”, claim 4 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (JP2011123000A cited in IDS) in view of Kodemura (US 6,833,180 B1 cited in IDS) and Baugh et al. (US 2012/0071605 A1), taken in view of evidence by Zeonor (Zeonor 1060R, 2016 cited in IDS) and Plamthottam et al. (5,618,883 cited in IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4 and 7-10, Saito et al. disclose a microchannel chip (assembly) comprising a first resin substrate (shaped product) and a second resin substrate (shaped product), wherein a first channel is formed on a surface of the first resin substrate and a second channel is formed on a surface of the second resin substrate (see Abstract). The first resin substrate can be a square shape or a rectangular shape having thickness of 0.5 to 3 mm, i.e. shaped product having a shape of a flat plate (see paragraphs 0019, 0020). The second resin substrate can be a square shape or a rectangular shape having thickness of 0.5 to 3 mm, i.e. shaped product having a shape of a flat plate (see paragraphs 0027, 0028). Each of the first resin substrate and the second resin substrate can be made if cyclic polyolefin such as Zeonor 1060R (see paragraphs 0021, 0029, 0060). As evidenced by Zeonor, Zeonor 1060R has glass transition temperature of 100 °C (see page 6). The first resin substrate and the second resin substrate can be bonded with an adhesive (joining layer) (see paragraph 0054).
Saito et al. do not disclose the joining layer (adhesive) as presently claimed.
Kodemura discloses an adhesive comprising a cycloolefin polymer having a number average molecular weight of 1000 to 500,000 and a glass transition temperature of at least 100 °C (see Abstract and col. 6, lines 46-47). The adhesive has excellent shelf stability, adhesive property, heat resistance, moisture resistance, low water absorption property, dielectric properties, productivity, mechanical properties and long-term reliability (see col. 1, lines 5-12).
In light of motivation for using adhesive disclosed by Kodemura as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use adhesive of Kodemura to bond the first resin substrate and the second resin substrate in Saito et al. in order to provide excellent shelf stability, adhesive property, heat resistance, moisture resistance, low water absorption property, dielectric properties, productivity, mechanical properties and long-term reliability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Saito et al. in view of Kodemura do not disclose the adhesive (joining layer) comprises a softening agent.
Baugh et al. disclose a polymer composition comprising cyclic olefin polymer having Tg of greater than 60 °C and 0.1 to 50 wt% of a non-functionalized plasticizer (softening agent) having a kinematic viscosity of 3 to 3000 cSt, i.e. 3 to 3000 mm2/s (see Abstract). The non-functionalized plasticizer is a hydrocarbon that contains less than 0.001% of carbons involved in olefinic bonds/unsaturation (see paragraph 0124). Accordingly, the non-functionalized plasticizer is saturated, i.e. hydrogenated product. An example of the non-functionalized plasticizer includes fluid paraffins (i.e. liquid paraffin) having saturates of 99 wt% of higher (i.e. hydrogenated product) (see paragraphs 0147 and 0148). Accordingly, the non-functionalized plasticizer can be hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin. The polymer composition has a combination of high stiffness, impact toughness and thermal stability (see paragraph 0021).
In light of motivation for using 0.1 to 50 wt% of non-functionalized plasticizer (softening agent) such as hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin disclosed by Baugh et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 0.1 to 50 wt% of non-functionalized plasticizer (softening agent) such as hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin of Baugh et al. in the adhesive of Saito et al. in view of Kodemura in order to provide a combination of high stiffness, impact toughness and thermal stability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. disclose the adhesive (joining layer) comprising 5 to 100 wt% of the polycycloolefin and 0.1 to 50 wt% of the softening agent. According to the present claim, the amount of cyclic olefin is 50 to 94 wt% and the amount of softening agent is 6 to 50 wt%. Given that adhesive (joining layer) comprises softening agent and shaped products does not comprise softening agent, the adhesive (joining layer) has a material constitution different form the shaped products.
Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. do not disclose the joining layer (adhesive) having a haze as presently claimed. However, given that the joining layer of Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. is identical to that presently claimed, it is inherent or obvious that the joining layer has a haze as presently claimed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (JP2011123000A cited in IDS) in view of Kodemura (US 6,833,180 B1 cited in IDS) and Baugh et al. (US 2012/0071605 A1), taken in view of evidence by Zeonor (Zeonor 1060R, 2016 cited in IDS) and Plamthottam et al. (5,618,883 cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Oshima et al. (EP 1195397 A1 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. disclose the assembly as set forth above. Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. do not disclose cycloolefin resin has an alkoxysilyl group.
Oshima et al. disclose a cycloolefin resin having an alkoxy silyl groups (see pages 27-28, claim 1). The alkoxysilyl groups provide anti-hygroscopicity and dimensional stability (see paragraph 0032).
In light of motivation for using a cycloolefin resin having an alkoxy silyl groups disclosed by Oshima et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the cycloolefin copolymer having an alkoxy silyl groups in the adhesive (joining layer) of Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. in order to provide anti-hygroscopicity and dimensional stability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (JP2011123000A cited in IDS) in view of Kodemura (US 6,833,180 B1 cited in IDS) and Baugh et al. (US 2012/0071605 A1), taken in view of evidence by Zeonor (Zeonor 1060R, 2016 cited in IDS) and Plamthottam et al. (5,618,883 cited in IDS) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Heukelbach et al. (US 2006/0020084 A1 cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. disclose the assembly as set forth above. Saito et al. in view of Kodemura and Baugh et al. do not disclose a surface of shaped products is subjected to one or more treatments as presently claimed.
Heukelbach et al. disclose the surfaces of the film can be corona or flame treated to prepare for subsequent inscription or printing (see paragraph 0034). Therefore, as taught by Heukelbach et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to subject surface of shaped products of Saito et al. to corona or flame treatment in order to prepare for subsequent inscription or printing, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (JP2011123000A cited in IDS) in view of Mitsui et al. (WO 2017/195697 A1) and Baugh et al. (US 2012/0071605 A1), taken in view of evidence by Zeonor (Zeonor 1060R, 2016 cited in IDS) and Plamthottam et al. (5,618,883 cited in IDS). It is noted that when utilizing Mitsui et al., the disclosures of the reference are based on US 2019/0079379 A1 which is an English language equivalent of the reference. Therefore, the paragraph numbers cited with respect to Mitsui et al. are found in US ‘379.
Regarding claim 13, Saito et al. disclose a microchannel chip (assembly) comprising a first resin substrate (shaped product) and a second resin substrate (shaped product), wherein a first channel is formed on a surface of the first resin substrate and a second channel is formed on a surface of the second resin substrate (see Abstract). The first resin substrate can be a square shape or a rectangular shape having thickness of 0.5 to 3 mm, i.e. shaped product having a shape of a flat plate (see paragraphs 0019, 0020). The second resin substrate can be a square shape or a rectangular shape having thickness of 0.5 to 3 mm, i.e. shaped product having a shape of a flat plate (see paragraphs 0027, 0028). Each of the first resin substrate and the second resin substrate can be made if cyclic polyolefin such as Zeonor 1060R (see paragraphs 0021, 0029, 0060). As evidenced by Zeonor, Zeonor 1060R has glass transition temperature of 100 °C (see page 6). The first resin substrate and the second resin substrate can be bonded with an adhesive (joining layer) (see paragraph 0054).
Saito et al. do not disclose the joining layer (adhesive) as presently claimed.
Mitsui et al. disclose an adhesion layer 160 between a first support member 141 and a second support member 149 (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 0059, 0064). The adhesion layer comprises a resin such as cycloolefin polymer having a number average molecular weight of 1000 to 1000000 and a glass transition temperature of 40 to 150 °C (see paragraph 0177). When the glass transition is lower than 40 °C, the adhesion layer cannot withstand high temperature and high pressure upon joining the first support member and the second support member, and an exfoliation occurs, and when the glass transition temperature is higher than 150 °C, then adhesiveness is poor (see paragraph 0177). The first support member 141 and the second support member 149 each can be made of a cycloolefin resin (see paragraphs 0121, 0124).
In light of motivation for using adhesion layer disclosed by Mitsui et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use adhesion layer of Mitsui et al. to bond the first resin substrate and the second resin substrate in Saito et al. in order to improve adhesion between the first resin substrate and the second resin substrate and prevent exfoliation, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Saito et al. in view of Mitsui et al. do not disclose the adhesive (joining layer) comprises a softening agent.
Baugh et al. disclose a polymer composition comprising cyclic olefin polymer having Tg of greater than 60 °C and 0.1 to 50 wt% of a non-functionalized plasticizer (softening agent) having a kinematic viscosity of 3 to 3000 cSt, i.e. 3 to 3000 mm2/s (see Abstract). The non-functionalized plasticizer is a hydrocarbon that contains less than 0.001% of carbons involved in olefinic bonds/unsaturation (see paragraph 0124). Accordingly, the non-functionalized plasticizer is saturated, i.e. hydrogenated product. An example of the non-functionalized plasticizer includes fluid paraffins (i.e. liquid paraffin) having saturates of 99 wt% of higher (i.e. hydrogenated product) (see paragraphs 0147 and 0148). Accordingly, the non-functionalized plasticizer can be hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin. The polymer composition has a combination of high stiffness, impact toughness and thermal stability (see paragraph 0021).
In light of motivation for using 0.1 to 50 wt% of non-functionalized plasticizer (softening agent) such as hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin disclosed by Baugh et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use 0.1 to 50 wt% of non-functionalized plasticizer (softening agent) such as hydrogenated product of liquid paraffin of Baugh et al. in the adhesive of Saito et al. in view of Mitsui et al. in order to provide a combination of high stiffness, impact toughness and thermal stability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Saito et al. in view of Mitsui et al. and Baugh et al. disclose the adhesive (joining layer) comprising 5 to 100 wt% of the polycycloolefin and 0.1 to 50 wt% of the softening agent. According to the present claim, the amount of cyclic olefin is 50 to 94 wt% and the amount of softening agent is 6 to 50 wt%. Given that adhesive (joining layer) comprises softening agent and shaped products does not comprise softening agent, the adhesive (joining layer) has a material constitution different form the shaped products.
Saito et al. in view of Mitsui et al. and Baugh et al. do not disclose the joining layer (adhesive) having a haze as presently claimed. However, given that the joining layer of Saito et al. in view of Mitsui et al. and Baugh et al. is identical to that presently claimed, it is inherent or obvious that the joining layer has a haze as presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejections are set forth above. All arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejections.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sunaga et al. (US 2017/0326547 A1) disclose a microchannel chip comprising a first substrate 120, a second film 160 ((joining layer) and a second substrate 180, each of which are made of cycloolefin resin (see Abstract, Figure 2C and paragraphs 0023, 0024, 0035, 0041, 0046). The glass transition temperature of the first substrate and the second substrate is greater than the glass transition temperature of the second film (joining layer) (see Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787