DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 03/30/2026 in which claims 1-12 were amended, new claim 13 was added, has been entered.
Claims 1-10, 12-13 are under examination on the merits.
Specification
(Previous objection, withdrawn) Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Objections
(Previous objections, withdrawn as to claims 1-3, 6-10, 12) Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3, 6-10, 12 have overcome previous objections to those claims.
(New objections, necessitated by amendment as to claims 1, 3, 6, 8) Claims 1, 3, 6, 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On claims 1 and 6 the recitation of “for detecting SARS-CoV-2 antigen protein” on line 1 should read “for detecting a SARS-CoV-2 antigen protein”. Further recitations referring to the same SARS-CoV-2 antigen protein should include the definite article “the”. Further, the recitation of “wherein the receptor and antibody” should read “wherein the receptor and the antibody”.
On claims 3 and/or 8 the recitation of 1) “wherein the antibody capable of specifically binding to antigen protein” should read ““wherein the antibody capable of specifically binding to the antigen protein”; 2) “an antibody that recognize” should read “an antibody that recognizes”; 3) “wherein the antibody capable of specifically binding to the antigen protein comprise” should read ““wherein the antibody capable of specifically binding to the antigen protein comprises”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 1-10, 12) Claims 1-10, 12 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims as submitted on 03/30/2026.
Applicant’s amendment to the instant claims filed on 03/30/2026 has overcome the previous rejections to claims 1-10, 12.
(New rejection, necessitated by amended as to claims 1-10, 12-13) Claims 1-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims as submitted on 03/30/2026.
Amended claims 1 and 6 recite “an antibody capable of specifically binding to SARS-CoV-2 spike antigen protein and conjugated to a visibly identifiable nanostructure” and “an antibody capable of specifically binding to the antigen protein and conjugated to a visibly identifiable nanostructure”, respectively. These recitations appears to have a grammatical error which renders the claims unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what is conjugated to a visibly identifiable nanostructure, the antibody or the antigen. The dependent claims do not provide additional clarity. For purposes of compact prosecution and applying prior art, claims 1, 6 were herein interpreted as referring to the antibody or the antigen conjugated to a visibly identifiable nanostructure. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art will not know the metes and bounds of the claim.
(New rejection, necessitated by amended as to claims 3 and 8) Claim 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 3 and 8 recite “wherein the antibody capable of specifically binding to the antigen protein comprise any one selected from the group consisting of an antibody that recognize any one of S1, RBD (Receptor binding domain) and RBM (Receptor binding motif) as an antigen”. However, claim 1 as amended requires that the receptor and the antibody bind to the antigen protein at different locations. The RBM and the RBD of a spike protein lie within the S1 domain of the spike protein and, as their names indicate, are locations where the ACE2 receptor binds, therefore the recitation indicated above requiring that the antibody recognizes the S1 domain, the RBD or the RBM fails to include the limitation in claim 1 which requires that the receptor and the antibody bind to the antigen protein at different locations. For purposes of compact prosecution and applying prior art, claims 3 and 8 were herein interpreted consistent with independent claim 1 as referring to an antibody capable of specifically binding to an antigen protein, with the receptor and the antibody binding to the antigen protein at different locations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claims 1-10, 12, expanded as to new claim 13) Claims 1-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PG Pub 20210190797 A1 to Messing et al. filed on 02/19/2020. See PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
See claims 1-10, 12-13 as submitted on 03/30/2026.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, it is noted that the amended claims recite two new limitations. First, the limitation of an antibody capable of specifically binding to the antigen protein, wherein a visibly identifiable nanostructure is conjugated to the antibody or the antigen (see also rejections under 35 USC § 112 (b) above); and second, “wherein the receptor and antibody bind to the antigen protein at different locations, respectively”. However these limitations are already taught by Messing et al as outlined below. To reiterate, Messing et al. teach compositions for detecting SARS-CoV-2 and/or diagnosing SARS-CoV-2 infection comprising a lateral flow immunoassay with the following elements (Abstract, ¶¶ [0032], [0083], [0021]-[0024]):
a receptor capable of binding to SARS-CoV-2 spike protein comprising ACE2, wherein the ACE2 receptor binds to the receptor binding domain (RBD) in the S1 domain of the spike protein (¶¶ [0005], [0128])
an antibody capable of binding to SARS-CoV-2 spike protein at the S2 domain (¶¶ [0128], [0137], [0139], SEQ ID NO:32)
wherein the antibody is conjugated to a visibly identifiable label comprising a fluorescent, a radioactive, a chemiluminescent label, a heavy metal such as gold label, a nanoparticle, a bead or an enzymatically active label (¶¶ [0158], [0160])
Regarding claims 2 and 7, it is noted that no new limitations were introduced to claims 2 and 7 in the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. As previously explained, Messing et al. teach a receptor capable of binding to SARS-CoV-2 spike protein comprising an ACE2 receptor (¶ [0128]).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, it is noted that no new limitations were introduced to claims 3 and 8 in the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. As previously explained, Messing et al. teach wherein the antibody binding to SARS-CoV-2 spike protein comprises an antibody that recognizes the S2 domain of a spike protein (¶¶ [0128], [0137], [0139], SEQ ID NO:32) (Messing et al. SEQ ID NO: 1; ¶ [0128]). See also rejections under 35 USC § 112 (d) above.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, it is noted that no new limitations were introduced to claims 4 and 9 in the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. As previously explained, Messing et al. teach wherein the nanostructure comprises gold nanoparticles (¶¶ [0076], [0077], [0158]).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, it is noted that no new limitations were introduced to claims 5 and 10 in the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. As previously explained, Messing et al. teach wherein a sample comprises blood (¶ [0025]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, it is noted that no new limitations were introduced to claim 12 in the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. Messing et al. further teach a kit comprising the composition of claims 1 and 6 and directions for use (¶ [0031], [0082]-[0089]). It is further noted that according to MPEP § 2112.01(III), “Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, ** > 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004) < (Claim at issue was a kit requiring instructions and a buffer agent. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated by a prior art reference that taught a kit that included instructions and a buffer agent, even though the content of the instructions differed.). See also In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385-86, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983)( "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability….[T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate." ).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends on page 7 of the Remarks submitted on 03/30/2026:
“Messing is focused on serology (antibody detection), not antigen detection and does not disclose or suggest this combination. Specifically, Messing is directed to serological assays for SARS-CoV-2 infection, primarily detecting antibodies (IgA, IgG, IgM) to the S1 spike protein or RBD, using ELISA, dot blot, western blot, lateral flow, etc., but fails to teach or suggest the combination of a receptor (such as ACE2) and an antibody, both binding to different locations on the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein to detect the antigen. Further, the use of a visibly identifiable nanostructure conjugated to the antibody in the sandwich format for antigen detection is not disclosed in Messing. Accordingly, Messing fails to teach each and every element of claim 1 and claim 6, and any of the remaining claims directly or indirectly referring to claim 1 or 6, as required for anticipation under 35 USC § 102(a)(1).
In response:
The disclosure of Messing et al. is not limited to detection of antibodies, and it extends to SARS-CoV-2 antigens (¶ [0135]). Further, as indicated above, Messing et al. already teach an ACE2 receptor which binds at the S1 domain of a spike protein and an antibody capable of specifically binding to SARS-CoV-2 spike protein at the S2 domain, which constitute different binding locations (¶¶ [0128], [0137], [0139], SEQ ID NO:32). Further, as indicated above, Messing et al. teach the use of a visibly identifiable nanostructure conjugated to the antibody. To conclude, Messing et al. teach each and every element of claims 1 and 6, as well as their dependent claims as explained above in detail.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas J. Visone can be reached on (571)270-0684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARLENE V BUCKMASTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672