DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application is acknowledged under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Application 63/015,592 filed on 26 April 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 October 2022 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 26 October 2022 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “averaged dimensioned” in claims 8 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “averaged dimensioned” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Paragraph [0087] of the specification discloses “The present method and system can be used with average dimensioned teeth from a general set of teeth or with dimensions from a subject's teeth obtained via scans as discussed with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2.” The applicant defines the “averaged dimensioned teeth” as “a general set of teeth”, which “a general set of teeth” remains relative because it lacks an objective standard for measurement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 19 is directed to a method, which is a process, which is a statutory category of invention. Therefore, claim 19 is directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Claim 19 recite the abstract idea of simulating a one or more attachments configured to move one or more teeth of a group of teeth of a patient to a selected position or location, constituting an abstract idea based on Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations or alternatively Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper. Additionally, the limitations “generating a digital model based at least in part on the information or data related to the group of teeth;” and “generating an aligner or an attachment or information related thereto for the group of teeth;” cover mental process including evaluating a dataset and the model is just a logical result of the evaluation process. Additionally, the limitations “calculating an approximate center of resistance coordinates for the group of teeth using one or more predictors;” and “calculating an approximate parameter value for the at least one tooth for each plane using one or more predictors;” cover mathematical concepts including utilizing an underlying algorithm or statistical model, in this case the one or more predictors, being used to solve a variable, in this case approximate center of resistance coordinates and approximate parameter values. Alternatively, these limitations are a mental process that can be calculated with pencil and paper. Additionally, the limitation “and generate, using at least a finite element analysis, center of rotation coordinates based at least in part of the parameter value for each plane” covers mental process including applying a logical step based on a known parameter. The logical step in this case would be applying a mathematical concept for calculating center of rotation coordinates. Thus, the claim recites the abstract idea of mental process and mathematical concept performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The limitation of “receiving or obtaining information or data related to the group of teeth of a patient;” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). The limitation of “receiving or obtaining information or data related to the group of teeth of a patient;”, alternatively can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in orthodontic technological field, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B: Claim 19 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In claim 1, the “receiving or obtaining information or data related to the group of teeth of a patient; ” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). The limitation of “receiving or obtaining information or data related to the group of teeth of a patient;”, alternatively can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in orthodontic technological field, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Therefore, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated in Section I.B. of the December 16, 2014 101 Examination Guidelines, “[t]o be patent-eligible, a claim that is directed to a judicial exception must include additional features to ensure that the claim describes a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.”
Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application 2019/0282333 A1, hereafter M.
Regarding Claim 1: M discloses a system for simulation of dental aligners or attachments configured to move one or more teeth of a group of teeth of a patient to a selected configuration, comprising:
at least one processor; and memory comprising instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
M [0229] “Data processing apparatus of the invention can be implemented in a computer program product tangibly embodied in a machine-readable storage device for execution by a programmable processor; and data processing method steps of the invention can be performed by a programmable processor executing a program of instructions to perform functions of the invention by operating on input data and generating output. The data processing aspects of the invention can be implemented advantageously in one or more computer programs that are executable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor coupled to receive data and instructions from and to transmit data and instructions to a data storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device.”
determine axial plane values for the group of teeth of the patient;
M [0009] “establishing an initial position of a tooth”
M [0126] “a cone beam x-ray source and a 2D area detector scans the patient's dental anatomy, preferably over a 360 degree angular range and along its entire length, by any one of various methods wherein the position of the area detector is fixed relative to the source … each set of cone beam data being representative of x-ray attenuation caused by the object at a respective one of the source positions.”
M [0159] “the pair of attachments as shown may be positioned on both the buccal and lingual sides in an X-Y plane relative to the tooth.”
determine a coordinate system based at least in part on the determined axial plane values;
M [0054] “The tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment, including translation in all three orthogonal directions, rotation of the tooth centerline in the two orthogonal directions with rotational axes perpendicular to a vertical centerline (“root angulation” and “torque”), as well as rotation of the tooth centerline in the orthodontic direction with an axis parallel to the vertical centerline (“pure rotation”).”
M [0056] “The refinement (subsequent progress) scan is superimposed over the initial one to arrive at a match based upon tooth anatomy and tooth coordinate system.”
determine a crown location for at least one tooth of the group of teeth using the coordinate system;
M [0097] “The initial digital data set, which may include both raw data from scanning operations and data representing surface models derived from the raw data, is processed to segment the tissue constituents from each other (step 120). In particular, in this step, data structures that digitally represent individual tooth crowns are produced.”
M [0192] “the crown of a tooth 2501 has points 2511 and 2521 in an initial position of a treatment stage of the treatment plan.”
determine an attachment at the crown location for a digital aligner for the group of teeth;
M [0161] “FIGS. 19A-19B illustrate dental attachment positioning for extrusion and intrusion, respectively … The force generated or applied upon the two attachments are different in magnitude (for example, resulting from different local attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown).”
M [0165] “profile of the attachment such as the geometry that would provide the most suitable grip in the direction of the planned tooth movement is determined, as well as the optimal position of the attachment relative to the tooth surface.”
M [0168] “The amount of the attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown may also be correlated with the tooth movement to generate a treatment plan based on the movement of the attachment.”
generate a digital penetration between the digital aligner and the at least one tooth;
M [0131] “add digital wax patches to define cavities or recesses to maintain a space between the aligner and particular regions of the teeth or jaw.”
determine, by at least a finite element analysis, orthodontic data for a center of rotation of the at least one tooth based at least in part on the digital penetration;
M [0116] “The actual motion of the tooth calculated by the finite element analysis is illustrated as placing the tooth in position 64 rather than in the desired position 62.”
M [0161] “When the force from the attachments result in force-lever to the center of rotation that are equally opposite, the tipping torque may be cancelled out, and the resulting force may include extrusion or intrusion translation of the tooth.”
and develop at least one variation to the attachment or the digital aligner based in part on the orthodontic data.
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 2: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate a physical aligner or attachment from the digital aligner with the at least one variation.
M [0147] “a dental aligner may be manufactured or simulated using a computer aided design tool or system, where, a representation of the tooth to be moved is first modeled.”
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 3: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: calculate the center of rotation for the tooth based at least in part on the digital penetration.
M [0116] “The actual motion of the tooth calculated by the finite element analysis is illustrated as placing the tooth in position 64 rather than in the desired position 62.”
M [0161] “When the force from the attachments result in force-lever to the center of rotation that are equally opposite, the tipping torque may be cancelled out, and the resulting force may include extrusion or intrusion translation of the tooth.”
Regarding Claim 4: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate a digital view of the digital aligner in an initial configuration.
M [0106-0107] “Input to the model creation process 300 includes input data 302 describing the teeth and tissues and input data 304 describing the aligner. The input data describing the teeth 302 include the digital models of the teeth; digital models of rigid tissue structures… A finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created”
M [0116] “FIG. 5D shows a planar view of an illustrative model aligner 60 over an illustrative model tooth 62.”
Regarding Claim 5: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate a new digital view of the digital aligner in new configuration after application of the at least one variation.
M [0116] “FIG. 5D shows a planar view of an illustrative model aligner 60 over an illustrative model tooth 62.”
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
M [0147] “a dental aligner may be manufactured or simulated using a computer aided design tool or system, where, a representation of the tooth to be moved is first modeled.”
Regarding Claim 6: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one variation is a shape or a material for a physical aligner corresponding to the digital aligner.
M [0147] “a dental aligner may be manufactured or simulated using a computer aided design tool or system, where, a representation of the tooth to be moved is first modeled.”
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 7: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: apply one or more of a Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) and an optical scan for a subject; and determine the axial plane values for at least the group of teeth from the one or more of the CBCT and the optical scan.
M [0125-0126] “Scanned roots can then be applied to crowns derived from an impression, or used with the existing crowns extracted from Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) data … a cone beam x-ray source and a 2D area detector scans the patient's dental anatomy, preferably over a 360 degree angular range and along its entire length, by any one of various methods wherein the position of the area detector is fixed relative to the source”
Regarding Claim 8: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate averaged dimensioned teeth for a subject; and determine the axial plane values from the averaged dimensioned teeth.
M [0123] “FIG. 7 is an exemplary diagram of a statistical root model. As shown therein, using the scanning processes described above, a scanned upper portion 701 of a tooth is identified. The scanned upper portion, including the crown, is then supplemented with a modeled 3D root.”
M [0009] “establishing an initial position of a tooth”
M [0126] “a cone beam x-ray source and a 2D area detector scans the patient's dental anatomy, preferably over a 360 degree angular range and along its entire length, by any one of various methods wherein the position of the area detector is fixed relative to the source … each set of cone beam data being representative of x-ray attenuation caused by the object at a respective one of the source positions.”
M [0159] “the pair of attachments as shown may be positioned on both the buccal and lingual sides in an X-Y plane relative to the tooth.”
Regarding Claim 9: M discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: determine the attachment at the crown location for the digital aligner using Boolean operations.
M [0153-0154] “the data set associated with the teeth, gingiva and/or other oral tissue or structures may be intentionally altered through, for example, addition, partial or total subtraction, uniform or non-uniform scaling, Boolean or non-Boolean algorithm, or geometric operations, or one or more combinations thereof, for the configuration, modeling and/or manufacturing of the dental appliance that may be optimized for the desired or intended treatment goal … referring to the discussion above regarding attachments, angulation or the attachment as well as the surface configuration of the attachments may be provided to improve upon the movement vector to optimize its application to the desired tooth while minimizing the amount of undesirable or unwanted force vectors that may be counteracting upon the movement vector”
Regarding Claim 10: M discloses a method for simulation of dental aligners or attachments configured to move one or more teeth of a group of teeth of a patient to a selected configuration, comprising:
at least one processor; and memory comprising instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
M [0229] “Data processing apparatus of the invention can be implemented in a computer program product tangibly embodied in a machine-readable storage device for execution by a programmable processor; and data processing method steps of the invention can be performed by a programmable processor executing a program of instructions to perform functions of the invention by operating on input data and generating output. The data processing aspects of the invention can be implemented advantageously in one or more computer programs that are executable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor coupled to receive data and instructions from and to transmit data and instructions to a data storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device.”
determine axial plane values for the group of teeth of the patient;
M [0009] “establishing an initial position of a tooth”
M [0126] “a cone beam x-ray source and a 2D area detector scans the patient's dental anatomy, preferably over a 360 degree angular range and along its entire length, by any one of various methods wherein the position of the area detector is fixed relative to the source … each set of cone beam data being representative of x-ray attenuation caused by the object at a respective one of the source positions.”
M [0159] “the pair of attachments as shown may be positioned on both the buccal and lingual sides in an X-Y plane relative to the tooth.”
determine a coordinate system based at least in part on the determined axial plane values;
M [0054] “The tooth movements will be those normally associated with orthodontic treatment, including translation in all three orthogonal directions, rotation of the tooth centerline in the two orthogonal directions with rotational axes perpendicular to a vertical centerline (“root angulation” and “torque”), as well as rotation of the tooth centerline in the orthodontic direction with an axis parallel to the vertical centerline (“pure rotation”).”
M [0056] “The refinement (subsequent progress) scan is superimposed over the initial one to arrive at a match based upon tooth anatomy and tooth coordinate system.”
determine a crown location for at least one tooth of the group of teeth using the coordinate system;
M [0097] “The initial digital data set, which may include both raw data from scanning operations and data representing surface models derived from the raw data, is processed to segment the tissue constituents from each other (step 120). In particular, in this step, data structures that digitally represent individual tooth crowns are produced.”
M [0192] “the crown of a tooth 2501 has points 2511 and 2521 in an initial position of a treatment stage of the treatment plan.”
determine an attachment at the crown location for a digital aligner for the group of teeth;
M [0161] “FIGS. 19A-19B illustrate dental attachment positioning for extrusion and intrusion, respectively … The force generated or applied upon the two attachments are different in magnitude (for example, resulting from different local attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown).”
M [0165] “profile of the attachment such as the geometry that would provide the most suitable grip in the direction of the planned tooth movement is determined, as well as the optimal position of the attachment relative to the tooth surface.”
M [0168] “The amount of the attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown may also be correlated with the tooth movement to generate a treatment plan based on the movement of the attachment.”
generate a digital penetration between the digital aligner and the at least one tooth;
M [0131] “add digital wax patches to define cavities or recesses to maintain a space between the aligner and particular regions of the teeth or jaw.”
determine, by at least a finite element analysis, orthodontic data for a center of rotation of the at least one tooth based at least in part on the digital penetration;
M [0116] “The actual motion of the tooth calculated by the finite element analysis is illustrated as placing the tooth in position 64 rather than in the desired position 62.”
M [0161] “When the force from the attachments result in force-lever to the center of rotation that are equally opposite, the tipping torque may be cancelled out, and the resulting force may include extrusion or intrusion translation of the tooth.”
and develop at least one variation to the attachment or the digital aligner based in part on the orthodontic data.
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 11: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate a physical aligner or attachment from the digital aligner with the at least one variation.
M [0147] “a dental aligner may be manufactured or simulated using a computer aided design tool or system, where, a representation of the tooth to be moved is first modeled.”
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 12: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: calculate the center of resistance for the tooth based at least in part on the digital penetration.
M [0116] “The actual motion of the tooth calculated by the finite element analysis is illustrated as placing the tooth in position 64 rather than in the desired position 62.”
M [0182] “For a given movement of a tooth from stage n to stage n+1, the rotation axis through the center of resistance and translation vector corresponding to the given movement is computed at step 820.”
Regarding Claim 13: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate a digital view of the digital aligner in an initial configuration.
M [0106-0107] “Input to the model creation process 300 includes input data 302 describing the teeth and tissues and input data 304 describing the aligner. The input data describing the teeth 302 include the digital models of the teeth; digital models of rigid tissue structures… A finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created”
M [0116] “FIG. 5D shows a planar view of an illustrative model aligner 60 over an illustrative model tooth 62.”
Regarding Claim 14: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate a new digital view of the digital aligner in new configuration after application of the at least one variation.
M [0116] “FIG. 5D shows a planar view of an illustrative model aligner 60 over an illustrative model tooth 62.”
M [0147] “a dental aligner may be manufactured or simulated using a computer aided design tool or system, where, a representation of the tooth to be moved is first modeled.”
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 15: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the at least one variation is a shape or a material for a physical aligner corresponding to the digital aligner.
M [0147] “a dental aligner may be manufactured or simulated using a computer aided design tool or system, where, a representation of the tooth to be moved is first modeled.”
M [0198] “Variations in aligner geometric parameters may result in variations in the points of contact of the aligner and tooth, and control the force system applied to the particular tooth. The variations may be calibrated to control the force system and initiate tooth movement.”
Regarding Claim 16: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: apply one or more of a Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) and an optical scan for a subject; and determine the axial plane values for at least the group of teeth from the one or more of the CBCT and the optical scan.
M [0125-0126] “Scanned roots can then be applied to crowns derived from an impression, or used with the existing crowns extracted from Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) data … a cone beam x-ray source and a 2D area detector scans the patient's dental anatomy, preferably over a 360 degree angular range and along its entire length, by any one of various methods wherein the position of the area detector is fixed relative to the source”
Regarding Claim 17: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: generate averaged dimensioned teeth for a subject; and determine the axial plane values from the averaged dimensioned teeth.
M [0123] “FIG. 7 is an exemplary diagram of a statistical root model. As shown therein, using the scanning processes described above, a scanned upper portion 701 of a tooth is identified. The scanned upper portion, including the crown, is then supplemented with a modeled 3D root.”
M [0009] “establishing an initial position of a tooth”
M [0126] “a cone beam x-ray source and a 2D area detector scans the patient's dental anatomy, preferably over a 360 degree angular range and along its entire length, by any one of various methods wherein the position of the area detector is fixed relative to the source … each set of cone beam data being representative of x-ray attenuation caused by the object at a respective one of the source positions.”
M [0159] “the pair of attachments as shown may be positioned on both the buccal and lingual sides in an X-Y plane relative to the tooth.”
Regarding Claim 18: M discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the instructions that, when executed in part by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: determine the attachment at the crown location for the digital aligner using Boolean operations.
M [0153-0154] “the data set associated with the teeth, gingiva and/or other oral tissue or structures may be intentionally altered through, for example, addition, partial or total subtraction, uniform or non-uniform scaling, Boolean or non-Boolean algorithm, or geometric operations, or one or more combinations thereof, for the configuration, modeling and/or manufacturing of the dental appliance that may be optimized for the desired or intended treatment goal … referring to the discussion above regarding attachments, angulation or the attachment as well as the surface configuration of the attachments may be provided to improve upon the movement vector to optimize its application to the desired tooth while minimizing the amount of undesirable or unwanted force vectors that may be counteracting upon the movement vector”
Regarding Claim 19: M discloses a method for simulation of one or more attachments or aligners configured to move one or more teeth of a group of teeth of a patient to a selected position or location, comprising:
receiving or obtaining information or data related to the group of teeth of a patient;
M [0106-0107] “Input to the model creation process 300 includes input data 302 describing the teeth and tissues and input data 304 describing the aligner. The input data describing the teeth 302 include the digital models of the teeth; digital models of rigid tissue structures… A finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created”
generating a digital model based at least in part on the information or data related to the group of teeth;
M [0052] “uses a patient-specific digital model to plot a treatment plan”
M [0097] “digital models of entire teeth are produced, including measured or extrapolated hidden surfaces and root structures as well as surrounding bone and soft tissue.”
generating an aligner or an attachment or information related thereto for the group of teeth;
M [0165] “profile of the attachment such as the geometry that would provide the most suitable grip in the direction of the planned tooth movement is determined, as well as the optimal position of the attachment relative to the tooth surface”
M [0168] “The amount of the attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown may also be correlated with the tooth movement to generate a treatment plan based on the movement of the attachment.”
calculating an approximate center of resistance coordinates for the group of teeth using one or more predictors;
M [0182] “For a given movement of a tooth from stage n to stage n+1, the rotation axis through the center of resistance and translation vector corresponding to the given movement is computed at step 820”
calculating an approximate parameter value for the at least one tooth for each plane using one or more predictors;
M [0068] “Cross-validation can be used to determine parameter values for a parametric analyzer or model for a non-parametric analyzer.”
and generate, using at least a finite element analysis, center of rotation coordinates based at least in part of the parameter value for each plane.
M [0116] “The actual motion of the tooth calculated by the finite element analysis is illustrated as placing the tooth in position 64 rather than in the desired position 62.”
M [0161] “When the force from the attachments result in force-lever to the center of rotation that are equally opposite, the tipping torque may be cancelled out, and the resulting force may include extrusion or intrusion translation of the tooth.”
Regarding Claim 20: M discloses a method for simulating a series of treatment steps applying a plurality of aligners or attachments configured to move one or more teeth of a group of teeth of a patient to a selected position or configuration, comprising:
receiving information related to an initial configuration of a group of teeth of the patient;
M [0107] “A finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created”
generating an aligner or attachment for the initial configuration;
M [0165] “profile of the attachment such as the geometry that would provide the most suitable grip in the direction of the planned tooth movement is determined, as well as the optimal position of the attachment relative to the tooth surface.”
M [0168] “The amount of the attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown may also be correlated with the tooth movement to generate a treatment plan based on the movement of the attachment.
providing the information related to initial configuration and information related to the aligner or attachment to a finite element model;
M [0106-0107] “Input to the model creation process 300 includes input data 302 describing the teeth and tissues and input data 304 describing the aligner. The input data describing the teeth 302 include the digital models of the teeth; digital models of rigid tissue structures… A finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created”
generating information related to a deformed configuration for the group of teeth using the finite element model;
M [0106-0107] “The input data describing the teeth 302 include the digital models of the teeth; digital models of rigid tissue structures … shape and viscosity specifications… boundary conditions specifying the immovable boundaries of the model elements … finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created.”
generating at least one additional aligner or attachment for the deformed configuration;
M [0165] “profile of the attachment such as the geometry that would provide the most suitable grip in the direction of the planned tooth movement is determined, as well as the optimal position of the attachment relative to the tooth surface.”
M [0168] “The amount of the attachment movement with respect to the tooth crown may also be correlated with the tooth movement to generate a treatment plan based on the movement of the attachment.
providing the information related to the deformed configuration and information related to the additional aligner or attachment to the finite element model;
M [0106-0107] “The input data describing the teeth 302 include the digital models of the teeth; digital models of rigid tissue structures … shape and viscosity specifications… boundary conditions specifying the immovable boundaries of the model elements … finite element model of the initial configuration of the teeth and tissue is created.”
and repeating steps (iv) - (vi) until one or more teeth of the group of teeth reach the selected position or configuration.
M [0068] “The selection of the analyzer or model parameters is performed iteratively until the performance of the analyzer in classifying the test set reaches an optimal point.”
M [0149] “modified or optimized dental appliance may be manufactured through rapid prototyping or other suitable techniques to attain the desired tooth movement. Further, this process may be repeated for the optimization of dental appliance for each treatment stage of the treatment plan such that the aligner performance and therefore, the treatment plan result is improved.”
Conclusion
All Claims are rejected
The prior art made record of and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure
U.S. Patent 8,439,672 B2
U.S. Patent Application 2017/0007365
STT
/SCOTT THANH BINH TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186