DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument on Page 8 regarding the objection to Claim 39 has been fully considered. The objection to Claim 39 is withdrawn in view of the cancelation of the claim.
Applicant’s argument on Page8 regarding the rejection of Claims 39-40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been fully considered. The rejection of Claims 39-40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the cancelation of the claims.
Applicant’s argument on Pages 8-9 regarding the rejection of Claims 21 and 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Idiyatullin in view of Grodzki has been fully considered but is not persuasive under new grounds of rejection as below.
Regarding the rejection of all remaining corresponding claims, applicant’s argument submitted on Page 9 relies on the supposed deficiencies with respect to the rejection of parent Claims 21 and 29. Applicant’s argument is moot for the same reasons detailed above.
Applicant’s argument on Pages 9-10 regarding the rejection of Claim 36 under 35 35 U.S.C. 103 over Idiyatullin in view of Wang has been fully considered but is not persuasive under new grounds of rejection as below.
Regarding the rejection of all remaining corresponding claims, applicant’s argument submitted on Page 10 relies on the supposed deficiencies with respect to the rejection of parent Claim 36. Applicant’s argument is moot for the same reasons detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 26, 32, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idiyatullin et al. (US 20140213888) in view of Grodzki et al. (US 20140084923) and Shanjani (US 20180000563).
Regarding Claim 21, Idiyatullin teaches an antenna array for receiving radio-frequency signals in a frequency and power range of a magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0034] “Though a whole-body coil 128 is illustrated because such whole-body coils 128 are commonly employed with general-purpose MRI systems, the present invention, as will be described, uses a local RF coil, such as an intra-oral RF coil 140,” [0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may be a resonant dipolar antenna,” and [0058] “The MRI system used with the intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may include a 1.5T, 3T, or 4T MRI scanner, for example, operating at frequencies of 64 MHz, 127 MHz, 170 MHz, respectively.”), the antenna array comprising:
a) a signal conductor configured to receive a radio-frequency signal of a magnetic alternating field, ([0035] “The RF transmitter is responsive to the scan prescription and direction from the pulse sequence server 110 to produce RF pulses of the desired frequency, phase, and pulse amplitude waveform” and [0052] “the coil 140 may be used in a transmit/receive or receive-only configuration. When used for receive only, a body coil, head coil, or other coil may be used as the transmit coil and the above-described coil 140 is used as the receive-only coil. When the above-described coil 140 is used as a transmit/receive coil oriented perpendicular to the B.sub.0 field, the longitudinal component of the B.sub.1 field becomes unusable because it is parallel to the B.sub.0 field and does not excite spins. But at the same time, the transverse component of the B.sub.1 field should be considered. That is, there are transverse components of the B.sub.1 field about the present intra-oral RF coil itself that excite spins in the teeth based on appropriate coil geometry and does not excite spins in the tongue, cheeks, and other soft tissue with high water and lipid content.”), and to transmit the radio-frequency signal to the magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0035] “Responsive magnetic resonance signals detected by the RF coils 128 and/or 140, are received by the RF system 120, where they are amplified, demodulated, filtered, and digitized under direction of commands produced by the pulse sequence server 110.”), wherein the signal conductor comprises a loop shaped in accordance with at least part of a dental arch of an examination object (Figs. 8A-8B and [0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 form the shape and size of an average subject’s maxillary arch.”); and
b) a carrier element mechanically connected to the signal conductor, ([0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 […] is electrically isolated and embedded into a dental bite plate 202 and have a cable 204, such as a coaxial cable, attached thereto.”), wherein the carrier element is shaped in accordance with at least part of a set of teeth of an examination object, (Figs. 8A-8B, [0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 form the shape and size of an average subject’s maxillary arch,” and [0057] “The apertures 214 may be distributed along the first portion 210 and the second portion 212 of the dental bite plate 202 so that the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 align with the subject’s teeth.”), and wherein the carrier element is positively connectable to the set of teeth of the examination object in an application-appropriate position in accordance with an application in order to position the signal conductor on the set of teeth of the examination object ([0049] “the coil 140 (not shown) is disposed extra-orally over the check in the molar region 160 of a patient, parallel to the B.sub.0 field 166 (indicated by the arrow orientated upward), in order to obtain diagnostic images of the teeth and structures of interest in the upper jaw 162 and the lower jaw 164.”).
However, Idiyatullin does not explicitly teach wherein at least part of the array of signal conductors is orientable in a perpendicular orientation to a plane of a biting surface on an inner side of teeth of the dental arch or an outside of teeth of the dental arch, and wherein the array of signal conductors is positioned such that the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors encloses the dental arch of the examination object along a free surface of the teeth from the inner side through the biting surface to an outer side of the teeth.
In an analogous magnetic resonance imaging field of endeavor, Grodzki teaches an antenna array for receiving radio-frequency signals in a frequency and power range of a magnetic resonance apparatus, (Abstract “In a magnetic resonance method and apparatus for the acquisition of measurement data of at least one tooth of an examination subject, a pulse sequence is employed that has an echo time TE of less than 0.5 milliseconds, and spatial coding of the acquired measurement data takes place in only two spatial directions. Projection image data are reconstructed from the acquired measurement data. A coil for a magnetic resonance tomography system, which coil is dedicated to dental imaging, has at least one coil element, and each coil element of the coil has an individual acquisition volume that encompasses at least one tooth.”), wherein at least part of the array of signal conductors is orientable in a perpendicular orientation to a plane of a biting surface on an inner side of teeth of the dental arch or an outside of teeth of the dental arch (Figs. 4-5, [0047] “The coil S comprises at least one coil element […] S2 or S2’” and [0056] “The coil elements S3’ of the coil S’ that are arranged inside the row Z of teeth are arranged along an inner curve B2 that likewise follows the row Z of teeth”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Idiyatullin and Grodzki because the combination provides a better signal to noise ratio, as taught by Grodzki in [0012], minimal or no damage to the antenna array if the patient moves or clenches their jaw, and is easily removeable and insertable, as taught by Grodzki in [0052].
However, Idiyatullin combined with Grodzki does not explicitly teach wherein the array of signal conductors is positioned such that the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors encloses the dental arch of the examination object along a free surface of the teeth from the inner side through the biting surface to an outer side of the teeth.
In an analogous intraoral appliance field of endeavor, Shanjani teaches a device which encloses the dental arch of the examination object along a free surface of the teeth from the inner side through the biting surface to an outer side of the teeth ([0114] “The intraoral appliance may comprise an appliance shell including a plurality of teeth receiving cavities,” [0124] “The various embodiments described herein can be used in combination with various types of intraoral appliances worn in a patient's mouth,” and Fig. 5).
Idiyatullin teaches an array the biting surface of the teeth, Grodzki teaches arrays on both the inner and outer sides of the teeth, in which the arrays may be arranged within a device shape (mouthguard style) as taught by Shanjani. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the teachings Idiyatullin and Grodzki with Shanjani because the modification ensures a minimal to no movement coverage of capturing the entirety of the patient’s teeth, as with Idiyatullin the device may shift with movement of the patient, and with Grodzki the inner and outer side coils are not connected (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 22, the modified antenna array of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 21, as discussed above. Furthermore, Idiyatullin teaches wherein the antenna array is configured to emit radio-frequency signals into the examination object in the frequency and power range of the magnetic resonance apparatus ([0035] “RF waveforms are applied by the RF system 120 to the RF coil 128 or the intra-oral RF coil 140, in order to perform the prescribed magnetic resonance pulse sequence.”).
Regarding Claim 23, the modified antenna array of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 21, as discussed above. Furthermore, Idiyatullin teaches wherein the signal conductor is embedded in a material of the carrier element ([0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may be a resonant dipolar antenna, for example, that is electrically isolated and embedded into a dental bite place 202.”).
Regarding Claim 26, the modified antenna array of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 21, as discussed above. Furthermore, Idiyatullin teaches wherein at least part of the array of signal conductors is orientable along a plane of a biting surface of the examination object ([0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 may be covered by insulation (not shown) for patient comfort and protection from the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 when inserted between the upper and lower jaws of a patient in the occlusal plane.”).
Regarding Claim 32, the modified antenna array of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 21, as discussed above. Furthermore, Idiyatullin teaches wherein at least part of the antenna array is configured to be positioned in a position in accordance with the application along part of a gum and/or a hyoid bone of the examination object ([0015] “The intra-oral RF coil is then positioned between the upper and lower jaw in an occlusal plane and orthogonal to a static magnetic field (B.sub.0) of the MRI system.” Where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that because the coil device is inserted intra-orally along the upper and lower jaws, it is positioned along part of a gum of the examination object.).
Regarding Claim 34, Idiyatullin teaches a system, (Abstract “A system and method for producing an image using a radio frequency (RF) coil in a magnetic resonance imaging system (MRI).”), comprising the magnetic resonance apparatus and the antenna array as claimed in claim 21, (discussed above, modified by Grodzki and Shanjani), wherein the magnetic resonance apparatus has a signal link to the antenna array and is configured to receive radio-frequency signals of the antenna array and to produce image data of the set of teeth of the examination object (Figs. 6A-6D and [0045] “In vivo SWIFT imaging data, as seen in FIGS. 6A-6D, can be acquired using the MRI system 100 shown in FIG. 1. The MRI system 100 can include a 4T (90 cm-bore) MRI scanner equipped with Varian DirectDrive.TM. console. The maximum ramp time and field gradient strengths of the gradient system 118 may be 0.4 milliseconds and 40 mT/m, respectively. The intra-oral RF coil 140 is positioned between the teeth of the upper and lower jaws of an average adult in the occlusal plane.”).
Regarding Claim 35, the modified system of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 34, as discussed above. Furthermore, Idiyatullin teaches wherein the magnetic resonance apparatus comprises a plurality of receiver channels having a plurality of signal links to the array of signal conductors ([0036] “The RF system 120 also includes one or more RF receiver channels.”).
Claims 29, 31, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idiyatullin et al. (US 20140213888) in view of Grodzki et al. (US 20140084923) and Borotto et al. (US 20170265978).
Regarding Claim 29, Idiyatullin teaches an antenna array for receiving radio-frequency signals in a frequency and power range of a magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0034] “Though a whole-body coil 128 is illustrated because such whole-body coils 128 are commonly employed with general-purpose MRI systems, the present invention, as will be described, uses a local RF coil, such as an intra-oral RF coil 140,” [0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may be a resonant dipolar antenna,” and [0058] “The MRI system used with the intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may include a 1.5T, 3T, or 4T MRI scanner, for example, operating at frequencies of 64 MHz, 127 MHz, 170 MHz, respectively.”), the antenna array comprising:
a) a signal conductor configured to receive a radio-frequency signal of a magnetic alternating field, ([0035] “The RF transmitter is responsive to the scan prescription and direction from the pulse sequence server 110 to produce RF pulses of the desired frequency, phase, and pulse amplitude waveform” and [0052] “the coil 140 may be used in a transmit/receive or receive-only configuration. When used for receive only, a body coil, head coil, or other coil may be used as the transmit coil and the above-described coil 140 is used as the receive-only coil. When the above-described coil 140 is used as a transmit/receive coil oriented perpendicular to the B.sub.0 field, the longitudinal component of the B.sub.1 field becomes unusable because it is parallel to the B.sub.0 field and does not excite spins. But at the same time, the transverse component of the B.sub.1 field should be considered. That is, there are transverse components of the B.sub.1 field about the present intra-oral RF coil itself that excite spins in the teeth based on appropriate coil geometry and does not excite spins in the tongue, cheeks, and other soft tissue with high water and lipid content.”), and to transmit the radio-frequency signal to the magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0035] “Responsive magnetic resonance signals detected by the RF coils 128 and/or 140, are received by the RF system 120, where they are amplified, demodulated, filtered, and digitized under direction of commands produced by the pulse sequence server 110.”), wherein the signal conductor comprises a loop shaped in accordance with at least part of a dental arch of an examination object (Figs. 8A-8B and [0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 form the shape and size of an average subject’s maxillary arch.”);
b) a carrier element mechanically connected to the signal conductor, ([0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 […] is electrically isolated and embedded into a dental bite plate 202 and have a cable 204, such as a coaxial cable, attached thereto.”), wherein the carrier element is shaped in accordance with at least part of a set of teeth of the examination object, (Figs. 8A-8B and [0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 form the shape and size of an average subject’s maxillary arch,” and [0057] “The apertures 214 may be distributed along the first portion 210 and the second portion 212 of the dental bite plate 202 so that the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 align with the subject’s teeth.”), and wherein the carrier element is positively connectable to the set of teeth of the examination object in an application-appropriate position in accordance with an application in order to position the signal conductor on the set of teeth of the examination object ([0049] “the coil 140 (not shown) is disposed extra-orally over the check in the molar region 160 of a patient, parallel to the B.sub.0 field 166 (indicated by the arrow orientated upward), in order to obtain diagnostic images of the teeth and structures of interest in the upper jaw 162 and the lower jaw 164.”).
However, Idiyatullin does not explicitly teach an array of signal conductors shaped in accordance with at least part of the dental arch, wherein the carrier element encloses the dental arch of the examination object at least along a side of teeth on which the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors is positioned, and the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors is positionable on a side of the carrier element facing the dental arch, and wherein on the side facing the dental arch, the carrier element has a plastic compound which is flexible on contact with the set of teeth of the examination object, without requiring external heating, and upon contact with the set of teeth, forms a positive connection with the set of teeth of the examination object, which reversibly fixes the carrier element to the set of teeth.
In an analogous magnetic resonance imaging field of endeavor, Grodzki teaches an antenna array for receiving radio-frequency signals in a frequency and power range of a magnetic resonance apparatus, (Abstract “In a magnetic resonance method and apparatus for the acquisition of measurement data of at least one tooth of an examination subject, a pulse sequence is employed that has an echo time TE of less than 0.5 milliseconds, and spatial coding of the acquired measurement data takes place in only two spatial directions. Projection image data are reconstructed from the acquired measurement data. A coil for a magnetic resonance tomography system, which coil is dedicated to dental imaging, has at least one coil element, and each coil element of the coil has an individual acquisition volume that encompasses at least one tooth.”), the antenna array comprising:
a) an array of signal conductors shaped in accordance with at least part of the dental arch, (Figs. 4-5),
b) wherein the carrier element encloses the dental arch of the examination object at least along a side of teeth on which the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors is positioned, and the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors is positionable on a side of the carrier element facing the dental arch (Figs. 4-5, [0047] “The coil S comprises at least one coil element […] S2 or S2’” and [0056] “The coil elements S3’ of the coil S’ that are arranged inside the row Z of teeth are arranged along an inner curve B2 that likewise follows the row Z of teeth”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further combine the teachings of Grodzki because the combination provides a better signal to noise ratio, as taught by Grodzki in [0012], minimal or no damage to the antenna array if the patient moves or clenches their jaw, and is easily removeable and insertable, as taught by Grodzki in [0052].
However, Idiyatullin combined with Grodzki does not explicitly teach wherein on the side facing the dental arch, the carrier element has a plastic compound which is flexible on contact with the set of teeth of the examination object, without requiring external heating, and upon contact with the set of teeth, forms a positive connection with the set of teeth of the examination object, which reversibly fixes the carrier element to the set of teeth.
In an analogous dental occlusion monitoring field of endeavor, Borotto teaches wherein on the side facing the dental arch, the carrier element has a plastic compound which is flexible on contact with the set of teeth of the examination object, without requiring external heating, and upon contact with the set of teeth, forms a positive connection with the set of teeth of the examination object, which reversibly fixes the carrier element to the set of teeth ([0054] “One of the key features of the device of the present invention is represented by the use, as a supportive framework for the electronics accountable for analysis and measurement of the dental occlusion and/or the clenching, of a substrate which reversibly deforms upon contact with teeth.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Borotto because the close connection between the device and the teeth positively enhances measurement results of the device, while at the same time being highly comfortable for the subject, as taught by Borotto in [0054].
Regarding Claim 31, the modified antenna array of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 29, as discussed above. Furthermore, Grodzki teaches
a) wherein the carrier element has a recess configured to receive the dental arch and a holding apparatus configured to fix the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors, (Figs. 4 and 5), and
b) wherein the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors is mounted over the recess by means of the holding apparatus, and by way of positioning of the carrier element in accordance with the application on the set of teeth of the examination object, ([0052] “the coil elements are mounted around the teeth in the manner of an easily insertable and easily removable dental retainer.”), is moldable to the set of teeth of the examination object (Claim 9 “coil elements are arranged to follow a curve of a row of teeth of the examination subject.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Idiyatullin and Grodzki because the combination allows for a form-fitting device within the patient’s mouth, resulting in improved signal to noise ratio.
Regarding Claim 36, Idiyatullin teaches a method for carrying out a magnetic resonance measurement, (Abstract “A system and method for producing an image using a radio frequency (RF) coil in a magnetic resonance imaging system (MRI).”), of a set of teeth of an examination object, (Figs. 8A-8B, [0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 form the shape and size of an average subject's maxillary arch,” and [0057] “The apertures 214 may be distributed along the first portion 210 and the second portion 212 of the dental bite plate 202 so that the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 align with the subject's teeth.”), using an antenna array for receiving radio-frequency signals in a frequency and power range of a magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0034] “Though a whole-body coil 128 is illustrated because such whole-body coils 128 are commonly employed with general-purpose MRI systems, the present invention, as will be described, uses a local RF coil, such as an intra-oral RF coil 140,” [0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may be a resonant dipolar antenna,” and [0058] “The MRI system used with the intra-oral dipolar coil 200 may include a 1.5T, 3T, or 4T MRI scanner, for example, operating at frequencies of 64 MHz, 127 MHz, 170 MHz, respectively.”), the antenna array has a signal conductor configured to receive a radio-frequency signal of a magnetic alternating field, ([0035] “The RF transmitter is responsive to the scan prescription and direction from the pulse sequence server 110 to produce RF pulses of the desired frequency, phase, and pulse amplitude waveform” and [0052] “the coil 140 may be used in a transmit/receive or receive-only configuration. When used for receive only, a body coil, head coil, or other coil may be used as the transmit coil and the above-described coil 140 is used as the receive-only coil. When the above-described coil 140 is used as a transmit/receive coil oriented perpendicular to the B.sub.0 field, the longitudinal component of the B.sub.1 field becomes unusable because it is parallel to the B.sub.0 field and does not excite spins. But at the same time, the transverse component of the B.sub.1 field should be considered. That is, there are transverse components of the B.sub.1 field about the present intra-oral RF coil itself that excite spins in the teeth based on appropriate coil geometry and does not excite spins in the tongue, cheeks, and other soft tissue with high water and lipid content.”), and to transmit the radio-frequency signal to the magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0035] “Responsive magnetic resonance signals detected by the RF coils 128 and/or 140, are received by the RF system 120, where they are amplified, demodulated, filtered, and digitized under direction of commands produced by the pulse sequence server 110.”), and a carrier element mechanically connected to the signal conductor, ([0056] “The intra-oral dipolar coil 200 […] is electrically isolated and embedded into a dental bite plate 202 and having a cable 204, such as a coaxial cable, attached thereto.”), wherein the carrier element is shaped in accordance with at least part of the set of teeth of the examination object, (Figs. 8A-8B and [0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 form the shape and size of an average subject's maxillary arch,” and [0057] “The apertures 214 may be distributed along the first portion 210 and the second portion 212 of the dental bite plate 202 so that the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 align with the subject's teeth.”), and the antenna array is connectable in a predetermined relative position to the set of teeth of the examination object, ([0049] “the coil 140 (not shown) is disposed intra-orally within the buccal vestibule adjacent to the molar teeth 160 of the patient, parallel to the B.sub.0 field 166 (indicated by the arrow orientated upward), in order to obtain diagnostic images of the teeth and structures of interest in the upper jaw 162 and the lower jaw 164.”), the method comprising:
a) orienting the carrier element with the antenna array relative to the set of teeth in an oral cavity of the examination object, wherein a side of the carrier element shaped in accordance with the set of teeth is oriented with the set of teeth of the examination object in a direction facing the set of teeth ([0056] “the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 may be covered by insulation (not shown) for patient comfort and protection from the first wire 206 and the second wire 208 when inserted between the upper and lower jaws of a patient in the occlusal plane.”);
b) connecting the carrier element to the set of teeth of the examination object in a position in accordance with an application by bringing the side of the carrier element shaped in accordance with the set of teeth of the examination object into contact with the set of teeth ([0045] “The intra-oral RF coil 140 is positioned between the teeth of the upper and lower jaws of an average adult in the occlusal plane” and [0062] “The present invention further demonstrates an intra-oral coil 140, that when inserted in between the teeth of the upper 162 and lower 164 jaws”); and
c) carrying out the magnetic resonance measurement of the set of teeth of the examination object, wherein the antenna array detects radio-frequency signals by means of the signal conductor and transmits the radio-frequency signals to a receiver of the magnetic resonance apparatus (Figs. 6A-6D and [0045] “In vivo SWIFT imaging data, as seen in FIGS. 6A-6D, can be acquired using the MRI system 100 shown in FIG. 1. The MRI system 100 can include a 4T (90 cm-bore) MRI scanner equipped with Varian DirectDrive.TM. console. The maximum ramp time and field gradient strengths of the gradient system 118 may be 0.4 milliseconds and 40 mT/m, respectively. The intra-oral RF coil 140 is positioned between the teeth of the upper and lower jaws of an average adult in the occlusal plane.”).
However, Idiyatullin does not explicitly teach wherein on a side facing a dental arch in the position in accordance with the application, the carrier element has a plastic compound, which is flexible on contact with the set of teeth of the examination object, without requiring external heating, and upon contact with the set of teeth, forms a positive connection with the set of teeth of the examination object, which reversibly fixes the carrier element to the set of teeth.
In an analogous dental occlusion monitoring field of endeavor, Borotto teaches wherein on a side facing a dental arch in the position in accordance with the application, the carrier element has a plastic compound, which is flexible on contact with the set of teeth of the examination object, without requiring external heating, and upon contact with the set of teeth, forms a positive connection with the set of teeth of the examination object, which reversibly fixes the carrier element to the set of teeth ([0054] “One of the key features of the device of the present invention is represented by the use, as a supportive framework for the electronics accountable for analysis and measurement of the dental occlusion and/or the clenching, of a substrate which reversibly deforms upon contact with teeth.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Borotto because the close connection between the device and the teeth positively enhances measurement results of the device, while at the same time being highly comfortable for the subject, as taught by Borotto in [0054].
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idiyatullin et al. (US 20140213888) in view of Grodzki et al. (US 20140084923) and Shanjani (US 20180000563), as applied to Claim 21 above, further in view of Durette (US 6681771).
Regarding Claim 33, the modified antenna array of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 21, as discussed above. Furthermore, Idiyatullin teaches wherein the antenna array has at least one electrically conductive shield which is positionable in a position of the antenna array in accordance with the application between the antenna array and a soft tissue of the examination object, and is designed to shield the radio-frequency signal of the magnetic alternating field from a direction of the soft tissue ([0049] “When the coil 140 is positioned intra-orally, the SNR is high and the signal produced in the molar region 160 is still high, but could be shielded out.” It is impliedly taught by Idiyatullin that a shield may be designed to shield the signal from the molar region 160. Such oral protection by shielding exists, as taught by Durette. It would be obvious to modify the teachings of Idiyatullin to specific signal shield in order to improve the signal to noise ratio during imaging.).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idiyatullin et al. (US 20140213888) in view of Grodzki et al. (US 20140084923) and Borotto et al. (US 20170265978), as applied to Claim 36, further in view of Weigl (US 20110038514).
Regarding Claim 38, the modified method of Idiyatullin teaches all limitations of Claim 36, as discussed above. Furthermore, Borotto teaches detaching the carrier element from the set of teeth of the examination object and producing a positive mold of the set of teeth of the examination object on the basis of the plastic compound of the carrier element (Where one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in order to produce a positive mold of the set of teeth of the examination of the object, one would be able to take the deformed substrate from the patient in Borotto and fill or inject the deformed substrate to produce a positive mold (rather than a negative mold, which is what the substrate of Borotto produces. See Weigl [0015].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to further modify with the teachings of Borotto for the same reasons as Claim 36 above.
Conclusion
Nixdorf is cited for teaching an antenna array for receiving radio-frequency signals in a frequency and power range of a magnetic resonance apparatus, (Abstract), the antenna array comprising: a signal conductor configured to receive a radio-frequency signal of a magnetic alternating field and to transmit the radio-frequency signal to the magnetic resonance apparatus, ([0055]), wherein the signal conductor comprises a loop shaped in accordance with at least part of a dental arch of an examination object (Figs. 7-11 and [0042]); a carrier element mechanically connected to the signal conductor, wherein the carrier element is shaped in accordance with at least part of a set of teeth of an examination object, ([0049]), and wherein the carrier element is positively connectable to the set of teeth of the examination object in an application-appropriate position in accordance with an application in order to position the signal conductor on the set of teeth of the examination object ([0049]); and an array of signal conductors shaped in accordance with at least part of the dental arch, (Figs. 7-11 and [0049]), wherein at least part of the array of signal conductors is orientable in a perpendicular orientation to a plane of a biting surface on an inner side of teeth of the dental arch, or an outside of teeth of the dental arch, (Fig. 7), and wherein the array of signal conductors is positioned such that the signal conductor or the array of signal conductors encloses the dental arch of the examination object along a free surface of the teeth from the inner side through the biting surface to an outer side of the teeth (Figs. 7-11 and [0049]).
/MARIA CHRISTINA TALTY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795