DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5, in the reply filed 7/28/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 16, the word “acrylamide” is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)/(a)(2)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sonobe et al. (USPN 9,711,785).
In Col. 2, Lines 9-13, Sonobe et al. discloses a negative electrode slurry composition comprising a composition of a styrene-butadiene copolymer binder a having a glass transition temperature (measured in dynamic viscoelasticity) with a single peak at -30°C to 60°C, from 13 to 58 % of a conjugated diene polymer (1,3-butadiene) and 42 to 58% of an aromatic vinyl compound (styrene), with 0.1 to 6 parts by mass of an unsaturated carboxylic acid (itaconic acid), in a liquid medium (water dispersion) (See Col. 3, lines 25-37 and Col. 4, lines 60-63); wherein the number average particle size of the obtained copolymer is preferably 50 to 500 nm (Col. 5, lines 13-18).
As long as the total amount of the styrene unit and 1,3-butadiene unit exceeds 50% by mass of the monomer units of the polymer, and the unsaturated carboxylic acid is 0.1 to 6 parts by mass of the monomer units, in Col. 4, lines 15-45, Sonobe et al. teach other copolymerizable monomers in the styrene-butadiene-unsaturated carboxylic acid copolymer to include acrylonitrile-based monomers; (meth)acrylamide-based monomers; sulfonic acid group-containing monomers; and unsaturated carboxylic acid esters.
In example 1, Sonobe et al. teach other copolymerizable monomers in the styrene-butadiene copolymer to include 0.95 parts of 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate as a hydroxyl group-containing monomer.
Sonobe et al. further discloses that the binder comprising this composition has a glass transition temperature with a single peak at 10°C (Col. 22, Lines 12-14).
While Sonobe et al. doesn’t explicitly disclose the claimed relationship between tanꟘ(100°C)/tanꟘ(Tp), Sonobe et al. discloses a binder with an equivalent composition to that of the instant invention, and with an equivalent glass transition temperature (single peak at 10°C), and thus it is reasonable that the binder composition of Sonobe et al. would satisfy the claimed relationship, as the composition of Sonobe et al. is essentially the same as the claimed composition. The USPTO does not have at its disposal the tools or facilities deemed necessary to make physical determinations of the sort, and in any event, an otherwise old composition is not patentable regardless of any new or unexpected properties. In re Fitzgerald et al , 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Even if assuming that the prior art references do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102, it would still have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the same inventive composition because the disclosure of the inventive subject matter appears within the generic disclosure of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As stated above, while Sonobe et al. doesn’t explicitly disclose any information regarding the tan δ at 100°C, i.e., tan δ (100°C) as claimed Sonobe et al. discloses a binder with an equivalent composition to that of the instant invention, and with an equivalent glass transition temperature (single peak at 10°C), it remains reasonable that the binder composition of Sonobe et al. would satisfy the claimed relationship, as the composition of Sonobe et al. is essentially the same as the claimed composition. The USPTO does not have at its disposal the tools or facilities deemed necessary to make physical determinations of the sort, and in any event, an otherwise old composition is not patentable regardless of any new or unexpected properties. In re Fitzgerald et al , 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Even if assuming that the prior art references do not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 102, it would still have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to arrive at the same inventive composition because the disclosure of the inventive subject matter appears within the generic disclosure of the prior art.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the high degree of crosslinking compared to Sonobe's styrene-butadiene copolymer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification, like the degree of crosslinking, are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding the argument that “Sonobe is open to an unsaturated carboxylic acid, [but] Sonobe does not specifically require an unsaturated carboxylic acid”, it is well settled that anticipatory teachings are not limited to any particular embodiment/example. In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments (even if the embodiments tested by appellant were preferred) do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). The claimed styrene-butadiene copolymer with 0.1 to 6 parts by mass of an unsaturated carboxylic acid is still taught by Sonobe et al. This is clear, even if it is not exemplified.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE