DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 17/997,373, filed 10/28/2022.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-25 in the reply filed on 09/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 26-30 are withdrawn from considered for being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-25 are currently pending examination.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “footprint” in claim 11 is interpreted in accordance with the definition offered in page 9 of the instant specification: “the area of one face of the electrolyte layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2-25 recite “a cell”; however, it is unclear whether a cell is introducing a new cell or referring to the cell introduced in claim 1. Claims 2-25 are interpreted as “the cell”.
Claim 11 recites “the footprint”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim. Claim 11 is interpreted as “a footprint”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-13, 19, 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bouillon (US-20110076568-A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Bouillon teaches an electrochemical cell (Fig. 3G; [0005]) comprising at least the following layers stacked in the following order:
a first electrode layer (Fig. 3G, 18; [0037]),
an electrolyte layer (Fig. 3G, 20; [0037]),
a second electrode layer (Fig. 3G; 22; [0037]),
a current collector layer (Fig. 3G; 26; [0045]),
and a protective cover (Fig. 3G, insulating protection layers 28/30/54; [0056]; [0063]);
the protective cover 54 comprising an electrically-insulating material [0063];
the cell further comprising an electrically-conductive contact pad (Fig. 3G; exposed portion of 52 within opening 60 for contact with 64; [0066-0067]) that is configured to enable connection of the cell (see [0065], wherein 52 is connected to anode) to external devices (see Fig. 3G; and [0065-0067], wherein 64 is a wire, and wherein a wire enables connection external devices),
the contact pad being provided on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON , used to indicate proximity) an external side of the protective cover (Fig. 3D; wherein exposed portion of 52 is in proximity of the top side of 54) that is opposed (wherein top side of 54 is opposed to 26) to the current collector layer 26,
and comprising an exposed surface (Fig. 3G, top surface of exposed portion of 52) that is bounded about its perimeter (see Fig. 3G, wherein exposed portion of 52 is bounded by 54) by the electrically- insulating material 54;
wherein an electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, electrically conductive pathway between current collector layer and contact 64; wherein [0065-0067] describes these elements as electrically connected) is provided between the contact pad (exposed portion of 52) and the current collector layer 26 (wherein at least a portion of the electrically conductive pathway is between exposed portion of 52 and 26; see Fig. 3G),
the electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, electrically conductive pathway between current collector layer and contact 64) extending through the protective cover (Fig. 3G, wherein 64 extends through protective cover 54) and contacting a face of the current collector layer 26 at a connection site (Fig. 3G, shared surface between 52 and 26; [0063], “contacting area”).
Regarding claim 2,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, angled portion of 52 that is along conductive pathway between 26 and 64 that is) extends in a direction that is not perpendicular to the face of the current collector layer (wherein the angled portion of 52 is not perpendicular to the flat, horizontal top surface of 26).
Regarding claim 3,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein at least a portion of the electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, flat, horizontal portion of 52 parallel to surface of 26) is oriented at an angle of 80° or less relative (parallel and thus 0 degrees) to the face of the current collector layer (Fig. 3G, top surface of 26).
Regarding claim 4,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the contact pad (Fig. 3G, uncovered portion of 52) is offset from the connection site (Fig. 3G, shared surface between 36 and 52; [0063], “contacting area”) in a lateral direction (Fig. 3G, to the right of connection site) of the current collector layer 26).
Regarding claim 5,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrically- conductive pathway (Fig. 3G; portion of 52 within opening 60 for contact with 64; [0066-0067]) follows an indirect route between the connection site and the contact pad (Fig. 3G, wherein pathway between 26 and 64 does not form a straight line, and thus is not a direct route to 64).
Regarding claim 6,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G; exposed portion of 52 within opening 60 for contact with 64; [0066-0067]) changes direction through an angle in the range 80-100 (Fig. 3G, wherein 52 along electrically conductive pathway bends at a 90 degree angle) between the connection site (Fig. 4G, shared surface between 36 and 52) and the contact pad (Fig. 3G; exposed portion of 52 within opening 60 for contact with 64; [0066-0067])
Regarding claim 7,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the electrically-conductive pathway follows a zigzag route (Fig. 3G, wherein 52 along conductive pathway has a zig-zag shape) between the connection site (shared surface of 26 and 52) and the contact pad (exposed portion of 52).
Regarding claim 8,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrically- conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, electrically conductive pathway between 26 and 64, along 52) and the contact pad (exposed portion of 52) are integrally formed (see Fig. 3D, integrally formed of 52).
Regarding claim 9,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein at least one of the electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, electrically conductive pathway between 26 and 64, along 52) and the contact pad (exposed portion of 52) comprises aluminium [0063].
Regarding claim 11,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the contact pad (exposed portion of 52) is located within the footprint of the cell (wherein at least a portion of the exposed portion of 52 is within overlaps with and is thus within the perimeter of the electrolyte layer 20), the footprint of the cell (perimeter of 20) being bounded by the perimeter of the electrolyte layer 20.
Regarding claim 12,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the connection site (shared surface between 26 and 52; [0063]) is offset (wherein at least a portion of 18 is to the left of the shared surface of 26 and 52) from the first electrode layer18 in a lateral direction (Fig. 3G, left of shared surface) of the first electrode layer 18.
Regarding claim 13,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first electrode 18 is a cathode [0037].
Regarding claim 19,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the protective cover (Fig. 3G, insulating protection layers 28/30/54; [0056]; [0063]) comprises an electrically-insulating [0048] passivation [0048] layer 28/30 immediately adjacent to the current collector layer (Fig. 3D, wherein 28/30 is immediately adjacent to and contacting 26).
Regarding claim 20,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 20), wherein at least one further electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, electrically-conductive pathways between 16 and 62, and pathway between 26 and 54; where at least two pathways is a plurality) is provided between the contact pad (exposed portion of 52) and the connection site (shared surface 26 and 52).
Regarding claim 21,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the cell comprises a plurality of electrically-conductive pathways (Fig. 3G, electrically-conductive pathways between 16 and 62, and pathway between 26 and 54; where at least two pathways is a plurality) each pathway being associated with a respective connection site (connection site between 16 and 58 as well as between 26 and 52, respectively) at which the pathway contacts the current collector layer (Fig. 3G, 26/16), and each pathway extending through the protective cover (Fig. 3G, wherein each pathway extends through 28/30/54) to reach one of one or more contact pads (flat, exposed portions of 52 and 62 for connection to 64 and 62 respectively) that are provided on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON , used to indicate proximity) the side of the protective cover (Fig. 3G, top side of 54 in the proximity of contact pads) that is opposed (see Fig. 3G, opposed to 26) to the current collector layer 26.
Regarding claim 22,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the cell comprises a plurality of contact pads (flat, exposed portions of 52 and 62 for connection to 64 and 62 respectively) provided on (see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/ON , used to indicate proximity) the side of the protective cover (Fig. 3G, top side of 54 in the proximity of contact pads) that is opposed to the current collector layer (Fig. 3G, opposed to 26), each of the plurality of contact pads being associated with a respective electrically-conductive pathway (Fig. 3G, electrically-conductive pathways between 16 and 62, and pathway between 26 and 54; where at least two pathways is a plurality) that extends between the respective contact pad (flat, exposed portions of 52 and 62 for connection to 64 and 62 respectively) and the current collector layer (Fig. 3G, 26 and 16, respectively).
Regarding claim 23,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the footprint of the cell is less than 500 mm2 ([0008];[0044], wherein the resulting area of the provided dimensions is less than 500 mm2).
Regarding claim 24,
Bouillon teaches an electrochemical cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrochemical cell is a solid state electrochemical cell.
Regarding claim 25,
Bouillon teaches an electrochemical cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the electrochemical cell [0003] is a lithium-ion cell [0003].
103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US-20110076568-A1) in view of Flitsch (US-20160054593-A1).
Regarding claim 10,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to teach wherein the electrically- conductive pathway has a thickness in the range 20-2000 nm. Flitsch teaches electrically conductive pathways of less than 25,000 nm ([0079], which overlaps with the claimed range). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Bouillon such that the electrically- conductive pathway has a thickness in the range 20-2000 nm, as Flitsch suggests this scale is suitable for very thin batteries, ideal for the thin film battery of Bouillon, and because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding claim 14,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but f wherein the cell comprises a further contact pad (Fig. 3G, flat portion of 58 for contact with 62; [0066]) that is electrically-connected ([0037], [0066]) to the first electrode (Fig. 3G, 18; [0037], [0066]), but fails to teach wherein an imaginary line extending directly between the contact pad and the further contact pad passes through at least one of the first electrode, the electrolyte, the second electrode, and the current collector layer. Rubloff teaches wherein a cell (see Fig. 3) comprises a further contact pad (Fig. 3, 50; [0053]) that is electrically-connected [0053] to the first electrode (Fig. 3, 20; [0053]), wherein an imaginary line (annotated Fig. 3, imaginary line) extending directly between the contact pad (see annotated Fig. 3, 60; [0053]) and the further contact pad 50 passes through at least one of the second electrode (Fig. 3, 30; [0053]), and the current collector layer (Fig. 3, 90; [0061]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the flat substrate of Bouillon to have pores, as suggested by Rubloff (see uneven substrate in Fig. 3 in which the cell layers are doposed) such that the resulting micro battery has varied elevation, as Rubloff this embodiment provides advantagers in power density and diffusion [0062].
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US-20110076568-A1) in view of Fabien (US-20230076672-A1).
Regarding claim 15,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), but fails to teach wherein the protective cover comprises a plurality of first layers and a plurality of second layers, the first layers each being provided by a polymeric material and the second layers each being provided by one of a metal and a ceramic material, wherein the first and second layers are arranged in a stacked configuration to provide alternating first and second layers. Fabien teaches wherein the protective cover (Fig. 21, 380; [0043], “encapsulation system”) comprises a plurality of first layers ([0044], “first cover layer”) and a plurality of second layers ([0045], “second cover layer”), the first layers each being provided by a polymeric material ([0189], “poly-para-xylylene”) and the second layers each being provided by a ceramic material ([0192], “ceramic”), wherein the first [0044] and second layers [0045] are arranged in a stacked configuration ([0189]-[0195]) to provide alternating ([0045], “at least one first cover layer and at least one second cover layer can be repeated z times”) first [0044] and second layers [0045]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the cover (Fig. 6, 602) of Bouillon with encapsulation system (Fig. 21, 380) of Fabien as Fabien teaches that a cover having the alternating material layers improves the barrier effect [0188] and improves imperviousness of the stack [0197].
Regarding claim 16,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein at least one of the second layers (Fabien, [0045], “second cover layer”) is provided by an electrically-conductive material (Bouillion, see Fig. 3G, wherein conductive pathway penetrates multiple levels, such that the combination results in conductive material penetrating each layer of the cover) and a portion of the electrically-conductive pathway (see rejection of claim 1 above) extends along that second layer ([0031], wherein 604 is patterned along each layer of the cover in view of Fabien as the traces of Bouillon must penetrate outside the cover, such that at least a portion of 604 extends along the second layer).
Regarding claim 17,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein at least one of the first layers (Fabien, [0189]) comprises a poly(p-xylylene) polymer (Fabien, [0189], “poly-para-xylylene”).
Regarding claim 18,
Bouillon teaches a cell according to any one of claims 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), wherein at least one of the first layers comprises a photoresist material ([0187], “epoxy resins” wherein epoxy resins can be used as photoresist material during atomic layer deposition (ALD)), for example a photoresist material [0187] comprising an epoxy resin ([0187], “epoxy resins”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20170301928-A1.
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723