CTNF 17/997,474 CTNF 100031 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant’s amendment filed on 02/06/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 13, 25, and 37 have been amended. Dependent claims 3, 8, 15, 20, 27, 32, 39, and 44 have been amended. Claims 2, 14, 26, and 38 have been cancelled. No new claims have been entered. Claims 1, 3-13, 15-25, 27-37, and 39-48 are still pending in this application. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, 25, and 37, under 35 USC § 103, are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 13, 25, and 37 i s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub. No.: US 20210385724 A1, hereafter “Wang”) in view of Gordon (Pub. No.: US 4993014 A, hereafter “Gordon”) . Regarding Claim 1, Claim 13, Claim 25, and Claim 37 Wang teaches an apparatus, method, and medium comprising An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Wang Fig. 4: 101) , comprising: at least one processor (Wang Fig. 6: 628); and at least one memory (Wang Fig. 6: 634) coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions executable by the at least one processor cause the UE to (Wang Fig. 6: 640; Wang teaches a UE with a processor coupled to memory, see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6) : transmit a first session establishment request message (Wang Fig. 4: 401) to a cell (Wang Fig. 4: 301, NUMF) associated with a core network (Wang ¶0034: negotiable USRP Management Function) , the first session establishment request message indicating a first route selection descriptor (Wang ¶0038: step 401 route selection policy may seek to obtain the URSP rules) from a set of route selection descriptors (Fig. 5: 505-515, i.e. route selection policy; Wang teaches a route selection from a NUMF by using descriptors in response to an establishment request message, see Fig. 4, Fig. 5, and ¶0034-¶0038) ; receive (Wang Fig. 4: 415) , in response to the first session establishment request message (Wang Fig. 4: 401) , a session establishment accept message from the cell (Wang Fig. 4: 415) based at least in part on an acceptance (Wang ¶0050: acceptance of URSP rule) of the first route selection descriptor (Wang Fig. 4: 401) by the cell (Wang Fig. 4: 415; Wang teaches receiving an acceptance from the computing device from a session establishment accept message, see Fig. 4 and ¶0050) ; storing (Wang ¶0047: extract) the first route selection descriptor (Wang ¶0047: URSP rules) based at least in part on the received session establishment accept message (Wang ¶0047: UE may extract received URSP rules; Wang teaches a UE extracting received URSP rules from a base station to be used in rule negotiations, see Fig. 4: 417 and ¶0047) ; Wang does not explicitly teach transmit, after going out of service with the cell, a second session establishment request message to the cell, the second session establishment request message indicating the stored first route selection descriptor, wherein the second session establishment request message indicated the stored first route selection descriptor is transmitted based at least in part on reacquiring service with the cell and a determination that the core network is the same when then the service is reacquired. However, Gordon teaches transmit (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: reestablish the connection) , after going out of service with the cell (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: failed trunks out of service) , a second session establishment request message (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: reestablish the connection) , the second session establishment request message (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: selected) indicating the stored first route selection descriptor (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: adequate capacity to carry the redirected connection) , wherein the second session establishment request message indicated the stored first route selection descriptor (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: reestablished by selecting) is transmitted based at least in part on reacquiring service (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: adequate capacity) with the cell (trunk) and a determination (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: network facilities assures) that the core network is the same (Fig. 18: 255, service controller) when then the service is reacquired (Gordon col 12 lines 66 to col 13 lines 9: reestablished; Gordon teaches when an out of service status is triggered, a different method is selected to reestablish connection, which has been determined by the network facilities to have adequate capacity, and the connection point is the same within the core network) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang by way of Gordon, to include an element that teaches a device transmitting an out-session message to transfer information for rout selecting to a judgement module that includes the service information at a receiver, as taught by Gordon in Fig. 18 and column 12 lines 66 to column 13 lines 9, to improve the packet domain of an upper layer control signaling and data transport with easy scalability and allowing dynamic allocation as systems become available or unavailable . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-12, 20-24, 32-36, 44-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub. No.: US 20210385724 A1, hereafter “Wang”) , in view of Gordon (Pub. No.: US 4993014 A, hereafter “Gordon”) , further in view of Bharatia (Pub. No.: US 20200221527 A1, hereafter “Bharatia”) . Regarding Claim 8, Claim 20, Claim 32, and Claim 44 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Wang in view of Gordon does not explicitly teach identify, prior to going out of service with the cell, a first registration area code and a first node identifier associated with a first network node; and receive, when reacquiring service with the cell, a registration acceptance message that includes an indication of a second registration area code and a second node identifier, wherein determining that the core network remains the same is based at least in part on the first registration area code being the same as the second registration area code and the first node identifier being the same as the second node identifier However, Bharatia teaches identify, prior to going out of service with the cell, a first registration area code (Bharatia ¶0102: old registration area) and a first node identifier associated with a first network node (Bharatia ¶0102: PDU session ID; Bharatia teaches registering an identifier associated with an old registration area) ; and receive, when reacquiring service with the cell (Bharatia ¶0102: registration) , a registration acceptance message that includes an indication of a second registration area code (Bharatia ¶0102: new registration area) and a second node identifier (Bharatia ¶0102: rejected PDU session ID) , wherein determining that the core network remains the same is based at least in part on the first registration area code being the same as the second registration area code (Bharatia ¶0104: UDM selection) and the first node identifier being the same as the second node identifier (Bharatia ¶0104: wireless device registers to the same AMF; Bharatia teaches registering for a different area, and noting when the selection is in the same area, see ¶0102-¶0104) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon with Bharatia, to registering with an associated older area and being aware when it’s the same area, as taught by Bharatia in ¶0102 and ¶0104, to increase coverage area of a second access network. Regarding Claim 9, Claim 21, Claim 33, and Claim 45 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Bharatia further teaches wherein the first session establishment request message (Bharatia Fig. 8: 825) and the second session establishment request message (Bharatia ¶0104: UDM selection) are for a same application (Bharatia ¶0104: registers to the same AMF) , a same subscription (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , or both (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Bharatia teaches two message requests, the second of which can register when it’s the same AMF, see Fig. 8 and ¶0104) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon with Bharatia, to registering with an associated older area and being aware when it’s the same area, as taught by Bharatia in Fig. 8 and ¶0104, to increase coverage area of a second access network. Regarding Claim 10, Claim 22, Claim 34, and Claim 46 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Bharatia further teaches transmit, prior to the first session establishment request message, one or more session establishment request messages (Bharatia Fig. 8: 805) , each session establishment request message of the one or more session establishment request messages (Bharatia Fig. 8: 820) indicating another route selection descriptor from the set of route selection descriptors that is different from the first route selection descriptor (Bharatia Fig. 8: 822; Bharatia teaches before the first session request, establishing the identity session, and the device responding) ; and receive, in response to each session establishment request message of the one or more session establishment request messages (Bharatia Fig. 8: 830) , a session establishment rejection messages (Bharatia Fig. 8: 840) based at least in part on the other route selection descriptors (Bharatia Fig. 8: 825; Bharatia teaches receiving a session establishment, which could be a rejection, based on route selection descriptors, see Fig. 8) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon with Bharatia, to establish identity, establish a session, which is based on a route selection description, and could be a rejection, as taught by Bharatia in Fig. 8, to increase coverage area of a second access network. Regarding Claim 11, Claim 23, Claim 35, and Claim 47 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Bharatia further teaches wherein the first route selection descriptor (Bharatia ¶0225: access traffic steering, e.g. ATSSS rule or route selection policy) comprises a route selection descriptor precedence (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , route selection components (Bharatia Fig. 8: Rule 1) , a session and service continuity mode selection (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , network slice selection assistance information (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , a data network name selection (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , a protocol data unit session type selection (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , a non-seamless offload indication (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , an access type preference (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) , or any combination thereof (Bharatia teaches the route selection behavior based on the network hardware, see Fig. 8 and ¶0225) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon with Bharatia, to have route selection behavior derived from a potential of multiple options, one of which is described in Fig. 8 and ¶0225, to increase coverage area of a second access network. Regarding Claim 12, Claim 24, Claim 36, and Claim 48 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Bharatia further teaches wherein the first session establishment request message (Bharatia Fig. 8: 830) and the second session establishment request message (Bharatia ¶0104: UDM selection) comprise a protocol data unit session establishment request message (Bharatia ¶0091: first message may comprise a PDU session; Bharatia ¶0105: UDM selection may be in a PDU session; Bharatia teaches both messages may be in a PDU session, see Fig. 8 and ¶0104-¶0105) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon with Bharatia, to have the establishment messages using a PDU session, one of which is described in Fig. 8, ¶0091, and ¶0104, to increase coverage area of a second access network . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-7, 15-19, 27-31, 39-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub. No.: US 20210385724 A1, hereafter “Wang”) , in view of Gordon (Pub. No.: US 4993014 A, hereafter “Gordon”) , and further in view of Rune (Pub.: No.: US 20040167988 A1, hereafter “Rune”) . Regarding Claim 3, Claim 15, Claim 27, and Claim 39 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Wang in view of Gordon does not teach start a timer based at least in part on storing the first route selection descriptor; and determine whether the core network remains the same based at least in part on an expiration of the timer. However, Rune Teaches start a timer (Rune ¶0090: route reply timer) based at least in part on storing the first route selection descriptor (Rune ¶0090: route reply; Rune teaches starting a timer based off of a predefined route reply) ; and determine whether the core network remains the same (Rune ¶0096: node checks routing table) based at least in part on an expiration of the timer (Rune ¶0096: route entry timer; Rune teaches checking the route based on the timer result, see ¶0090-¶0096) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon, further with Rune, to have a timer based on the route reply, and checking the route based on the timer result, as taught by Rune in ¶0090 and ¶0096, to improve the scatternet by reducing underused traffic. Regarding Claim 4, Claim 16, Claim 28, and Claim 40 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Rune teaches determine that the core network remains the same (Rune ¶0094: same route request) based at least in part on service being reacquired prior to the expiration of the timer (Rune ¶0095: new route entry timer; Rune teaches checking the route request compared to the route entry timer, see ¶0094-¶0095) , wherein the second session establishment request message indicating the stored first route selection descriptor (Rune ¶0095: hop count) is transmitted prior to the expiration of the timer (Rune ¶0095: new route entry timer; Rune teaches checking the hop count before the new route entry timer expires, see ¶0095) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon, further with Rune, to have a timer based on the route reply, and checking the hop count route before the timer result, as taught by Rune in ¶0095, to improve the scatternet by reducing underused traffic. Regarding Claim 5, Claim 17, Claim 29, and Claim 41 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Rune Teaches determine that the core network has changed based at least in part on service being reacquired (Rune ¶0149: message is received) after the expiration of the timer (Rune ¶0149: route reply timer expires; Rune teaches checking received information in relation to a timer, see ¶0149) ; and transmit a third session establishment request message (Rune ¶0138: route reply) indicating a second route selection descriptor from the set of route selection descriptors (Rune ¶0138: new route) , the second route selection descriptor being different from the first route selection descriptor (Rune ¶0138: different NAPSAs; Rune teaches a route reply based on a new route that are distinctly different, see ¶0138) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon, further with Rune, to checking the information in relation to a timer, and that information being a new and distinct route, as taught by Rune in ¶0095 and ¶0138, to improve the scatternet by reducing underused traffic. Regarding Claim 6, Claim 18, Claim 30, and Claim 42 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Rune Teaches determine a configuration of the timer, wherein a duration of the timer is based at least in part on the configuration (Rune ¶0250: switching includes configuration criteria, e.g., operator preferences; Rune teaches the switching configuration is based on operator configuration) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon, further with Rune, to have the switching configuration based on operator configurations, as taught by Rune in ¶0250, to improve the scatternet by reducing underused traffic. Regarding Claim 7, Claim 19, Claim 31, and Claim 43 Wang in view of Gordon teaches an apparatus, method, and medium, as explained above in Claim 1. Rune Teaches wherein the configuration is based at least in part on an operator deployment for the core network (Rune ¶0250: switching includes configuration criteria, e.g., server preferences; Rune teaches the switching configuration is based on server configuration) . It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Gordon, further with Rune, to have the switching configuration based on server configurations, as taught by Rune in ¶0250, to improve the scatternet by reducing underused traffic. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER whose telephone number is (703)756-4763. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 7:30am - 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey Rutkowski can be reached on (571) 270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415 /Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 2 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 3 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 4 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 5 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 6 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 7 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 8 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 9 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 10 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 11 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 12 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 13 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 14 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 15 Art Unit: 2415 Application/Control Number: 17/997,474 Page 16 Art Unit: 2415