DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the original application filed on 10/28/2022.
Claims 1-30 are rejected.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim 29 recites limitations “means for receiving”, “means for determining a range metric”, “means for determining whether to share”, and “means for selectively transmitting”.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, limitations “means for receiving”, “means for determining a range metric”, “means for determining whether to share”, and “means for selectively transmitting” in claim 29 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Please see Fig 2 and 7, and paragraphs 43-44 and 68-71 of the pre-grant publication. Also, “means for receiving” and “means for transmitting” have well understood structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-22, and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fodor (US 2019/0261413).
Regarding Claim 1, Fodor teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Fodor, Fig 7, UE 12):
a memory (Fodor, Fig 7, memory 22 of UE 12); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Fodor, Fig 7, memory 22 and processor(s) 20 of UE 12):
receive information identifying a shared channel occupancy for a packet transmission resource (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 UE 12-2 listens for a start transmitting message on the D2D SL, in step 202 the UE determines whether a start transmitting message has been received on the D2D SL);
determine a range metric for the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on location information (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, if the UE 12-2 has detected a start transmitting message from another UE 12-1 on the D2D SL (step 202: YES), then in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere with reception of the other UE’s 12-1 transmission and the degree/impact to which the transmission by the other UE 12-1 will interfere with reception of the UE’s 12-2 own transmission);
determine whether to share the shared channel occupancy for packet transmission using the packet transmission resource based at least in part on the range metric (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels); and
selectively transmit one or more packets in the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on a result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 2, Fodor further teaches wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy is received in a sidelink transmission from another UE (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 the UE 12-2 attempts to detect a start transmitting message on the D2D SL)
Regarding Claim 3, Fodor further teaches wherein the location information includes information identifying at least one of a location of the UE or a location of another UE that initiated the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 6, paragraph 70, other information such as positions and distance information may be used to obtain/refine the pathloss estimates).
Regarding Claim 4, Fodor further teaches wherein tie one or more processors. to determine whether to share the shared channel occupancy, are configured to:
determine whether the range metric satisfies a range threshold (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold); and
determine whether to share the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on determining whether the range metric satisfies the range threshold (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 5, Fodor further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
perform a channel sensing procedure to initiate another shared channel occupancy based at least in part on the result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 202 the UE 12-2 determines whether a start transmitting message has been received on the D2D SL, if the UE 12-2 has not receive a start transmitting message on the D2D SL (step 202: NO) then in step 204 the UE 12-2 performs a CCA for the unlicensed channel(s) on which the UE 12-2 desires to transmit).
Regarding Claim 6, Fodor further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
reduce a transmission power for transmitting the one or more packets based at least in part on the result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, if the impact is greater than the threshold (step 216: NO) then the UE 12-2 optionally may take further actions in step 114 such as requesting that the other UE 12-2 decrease its transmit power on the unlicensed channel).
Regarding Claim 7, Fodor further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine a transmission priority or congestion level (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere with reception of the other UE’s 12-1 transmission and the degree/impact to which the transmission by the other UE 12-1 will interfere with reception of the UE’s 12-2 own transmission, pathloss would be considered a congestion level); and
wherein the one or more processors. to determine whether to share the shared channel occupancy, are configured to:
determine whether to share the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on the transmission priority or the congestion level (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere, pathloss would be considered a congestion level, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 8, Fodor further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
perform a channel sensing procedure (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, if the UE 12-2 has not receive a start transmitting message on the D2D SL (step 202: NO) then in step 204 the UE 12-2 performs a CCA for the unlicensed channel(s) on which the UE 12-2 desires to transmit); and
wherein the one or more processors, to selectively transmit the one or more packets, are configured to:
determine to transmit the one or more packets based at least in part on performing the channel sensing procedure (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 67, upon determining that the channel is clear (step 206: YES), the UE 12-2 determines to start transmitting on the unlicensed channel(s)).
Regarding Claim 9, Fodor further teaches wherein the channel sensing procedure is at least one of:
a sub-band listen-before-talk procedure, a listen-before-talk procedure with random backoff. or a listen-before-talk procedure without random backoff (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, the CCA may be a LBT procedure, Fodor does not specify whether the LBT is with or without random backoff, hence the LBT would be either with or without random backoff).
Regarding Claim 12, Fodor further teaches wherein a threshold for the range metric is a pre-configured threshold (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact is less than a predefined or preconfigured threshold).
Regarding Claim 13, Fodor further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to selectively transmit one or more packets in the shared channel occupancy, are configured to:
transmit the location information associated with the shared channel occupancy in connection with transmitting the one or more packets (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, upon determining that the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES), the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channel(s) and transmits a corresponding start transmitting message on the D2D SL, paragraph 54 and 62 the start transmitting message may include position information of the transmitting UE).
Regarding Claim 14, Fodor teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising (Fodor, Fig 7, UE 12):
receiving information identifying a shared channel occupancy for a packet transmission resource (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 UE 12-2 listens for a start transmitting message on the D2D SL, in step 202 the UE determines whether a start transmitting message has been received on the D2D SL);
determining a range metric for the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on location information (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, if the UE 12-2 has detected a start transmitting message from another UE 12-1 on the D2D SL (step 202: YES), then in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere with reception of the other UE’s 12-1 transmission and the degree/impact to which the transmission by the other UE 12-1 will interfere with reception of the UE’s 12-2 own transmission);
determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy for packet transmission using the packet transmission resource based at least in part on the range metric (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels); and
selectively transmitting one or more packets in the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on a result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 15, Fodor further teaches wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy is received in a sidelink transmission from another UE (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 the UE 12-2 attempts to detect a start transmitting message on the D2D SL).
Regarding Claim 16, Fodor further teaches wherein the location information includes information identifying at least one of a location of the UE or a location of another UE that initiated the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 6, paragraph 70, other information such as positions and distance information may be used to obtain/refine the pathloss estimates).
Regarding Claim 17, Fodor further teaches wherein determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy comprises:
determining whether the range metric satisfies a range threshold (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold); and
determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on determining whether the range metric satisfies the range threshold (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 18, Fodor further teaches further comprising:
performing a channel sensing procedure to initiate another shared channel occupancy based at least in part on the result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 202 the UE 12-2 determines whether a start transmitting message has been received on the D2D SL, if the UE 12-2 has not receive a start transmitting message on the D2D SL (step 202: NO) then in step 204 the UE 12-2 performs a CCA for the unlicensed channel(s) on which the UE 12-2 desires to transmit).
Regarding Claim 19, Fodor further teaches further comprising:
reducing a transmission power for transmitting the one or more packets based at least in part on the result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fig 5, paragraph 69, if the impact is greater than the threshold (step 216: NO) then the UE 12-2 optionally may take further actions in step 114 such as requesting that the other UE 12-2 decrease its transmit power on the unlicensed channel).
Regarding Claim 20, Fodor further teaches further comprising:
determining a transmission priority or congestion level (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere with reception of the other UE’s 12-1 transmission and the degree/impact to which the transmission by the other UE 12-1 will interfere with reception of the UE’s 12-2 own transmission, pathloss would be considered a congestion level); and
wherein determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy comprises:
determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on the transmission priority or the congestion level (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere, pathloss would be considered a congestion level, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 21, Fodor further teaches further comprising:
performing a channel sensing procedure (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, if the UE 12-2 has not receive a start transmitting message on the D2D SL (step 202: NO) then in step 204 the UE 12-2 performs a CCA for the unlicensed channel(s) on which the UE 12-2 desires to transmit); and
wherein selectively transmitting the one or more packets comprises:
determining to transmit the one or more packets based at least in part on performing the channel sensing procedure (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 67, upon determining that the channel is clear (step 206: YES), the UE 12-2 determines to start transmitting on the unlicensed channel(s)).
Regarding Claim 22, Fodor further teaches wherein the channel sensing procedure is at least one of:
a sub-band listen-before-talk procedure, a listen-before-talk procedure with random backoff, or a listen-before-talk procedure without random backoff (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, the CCA may be a LBT procedure, Fodor does not specify whether the LBT is with or without random backoff, hence the LBT would be either with or without random backoff).
Regarding Claim 25, Fodor further teaches wherein a threshold for the range metric is a pre-configured threshold (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact is less than a predefined or preconfigured threshold).
Regarding Claim 26, Fodor further teaches wherein selectively transmitting one or more packets in the shared channel occupancy comprises:
transmitting the location information associated with the shared channel occupancy in connection with transmitting the one or more packets (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, upon determining that the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES), the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channel(s) and transmits a corresponding start transmitting message on the D2D SL, paragraph 54 and 62 the start transmitting message may include position information of the transmitting UE).
Regarding Claim 27, Fodor teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising (Fodor, Fig 7, paragraph 74, memory 22 and processor(s) 20 of UE 12, functionality of the UE 12 may be implemented in software that is stored in the memory 22 and executed by processor(s) 20):
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to (Fodor, Fig 7, paragraph 74, memory 22 and processor(s) 20 of UE 12, functionality of the UE 12 may be implemented in software that is stored in the memory 22 and executed by processor(s) 20):
receive information identifying a shared channel occupancy for a packet transmission resource (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 UE 12-2 listens for a start transmitting message on the D2D SL, in step 202 the UE determines whether a start transmitting message has been received on the D2D SL),
determine a range metric for the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on location information (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, if the UE 12-2 has detected a start transmitting message from another UE 12-1 on the D2D SL (step 202: YES), then in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere with reception of the other UE’s 12-1 transmission and the degree/impact to which the transmission by the other UE 12-1 will interfere with reception of the UE’s 12-2 own transmission),
determine whether to share the shared channel occupancy for packet transmission using the packet transmission resource based at least in part on the range metric (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels), and
selectively transmit one or more packets in the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on a result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 28, Fodor further teaches wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy is received in a sidelink transmission from another UE (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 the UE 12-2 attempts to detect a start transmitting message on the D2D SL).
Regarding Claim 29, Fodor teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (Fodor, Fig 7, UE 12):
means for receiving information identifying a shared channel occupancy for a packet transmission resource (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 UE 12-2 listens for a start transmitting message on the D2D SL, in step 202 the UE determines whether a start transmitting message has been received on the D2D SL);
means for determining a range metric for the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on location information (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 68, if the UE 12-2 has detected a start transmitting message from another UE 12-1 on the D2D SL (step 202: YES), then in step 214 the UE 12-2 determines based on pathloss or distance values via SINR the degree/impact to which the UE’s 12-2 transmission will interfere with reception of the other UE’s 12-1 transmission and the degree/impact to which the transmission by the other UE 12-1 will interfere with reception of the UE’s 12-2 own transmission);
means for determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy for packet transmission using the packet transmission resource based at least in part on the range metric (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels); and
means for selectively transmitting one or more packets in the shared channel occupancy based at least in part on a result of determining whether to share the shared channel occupancy (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 69, in step 216 the UE 12-2 determines whether the determined impact in terms of SINR degradation is less than a threshold, if the impact is less than the threshold (step 216: YES) then the UE 12-2 proceeds to steps 110A and 112 where the UE 12-2 transmits on the unlicensed channels).
Regarding Claim 30, Fodor further teaches wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy is received in a sidelink transmission from another UE (Fodor, Fig 5, paragraph 66, in step 200 the UE 12-2 attempts to detect a start transmitting message on the D2D SL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Fodor (US 2019/0261413) in view of Basu Mallick (US 2020/0336872).
Regarding Claim 10, Fodor teaches all the limitations of parent claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the location information includes a zone identifier, however Basu Mallick teaches wherein the location information includes a zone identifier (Basu Mallick, paragraph 67, a transmitter UE indicates its zone ID in SCI and a receiver UE may determine which Zone ID it is in and then may calculate a distance from the transmitter UE to the receiver UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fodor by adding the location information includes a zone identifier as taught by Basu Mallick. Because Fodor and Basu Mallick teach sidelink communications, and specifically Basu Mallick teaches location information includes a zone identifier for the benefit of the analogous art of multiple zone configuration (Basu Mallick, abstract).
Regarding Claim 23, Fodor teaches all the limitations of parent claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein the location information includes a zone identifier, however Basu Mallick teaches wherein the location information includes a zone identifier (Basu Mallick, paragraph 67, a transmitter UE indicates its zone ID in SCI and a receiver UE may determine which Zone ID it is in and then may calculate a distance from the transmitter UE to the receiver UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fodor by adding the location information includes a zone identifier as taught by Basu Mallick. Because Fodor and Basu Mallick teach sidelink communications, and specifically Basu Mallick teaches location information includes a zone identifier for the benefit of the analogous art of multiple zone configuration (Basu Mallick, abstract).
Claims 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Fodor (US 2019/0261413) in view of Huang (US 2017/0230923).
Regarding Claim 11, Fodor teaches all the limitations of parent claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy includes information identifying a threshold for the range metric, however Huang teaches wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy includes information identifying a threshold for the range metric (Huang, paragraph 70, in the case that the indication signaling indicates a RSRP threshold for transmitting the D2D synchronization signal, if the RSRP received by the current D2D UE satisfies the RSRP threshold, the UE transmits the D2D synchronization signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fodor by adding the threshold for the range metric being included in the information sent to the UE as taught by Huang. Because Fodor and Huang teach D2D, and specifically Huang teaches the threshold for the range metric being included in the information sent to the UE for the benefit of the analogous art of D2D communication (Huang, abstract).
Regarding Claim 24, Fodor teaches all the limitations of parent claim 14, but does not explicitly teach wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy includes information identifying a threshold for the range metric, however Huang teaches wherein the information identifying the shared channel occupancy includes information identifying a threshold for the range metric (Huang, paragraph 70, in the case that the indication signaling indicates a RSRP threshold for transmitting the D2D synchronization signal, if the RSRP received by the current D2D UE satisfies the RSRP threshold, the UE transmits the D2D synchronization signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fodor by adding the threshold for the range metric being included in the information sent to the UE as taught by Huang. Because Fodor and Huang teach D2D, and specifically Huang teaches the threshold for the range metric being included in the information sent to the UE for the benefit of the analogous art of D2D communication (Huang, abstract).
Conclusion
/T.N.D/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412