DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, 33-35, 41-54, and 71-73 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 2, 41, and 42 are amended.
Claims 16-32, 36-40, 55-70, and 74-78 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 33-35, 41-54, and 71-73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Celebi et al., (hereinafter Celebi), U.S. Publication No. 2015/0109969, in view of Park et al., (hereinafter Park), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0112355.
As per claim 1, Celebi discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [paragraphs 0006, 0030, 0073, a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (a method for providing full duplex (FD) wireless communication to an FD capable (FDC) user equipment (UE))], comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel [fig. 1, 9, paragraphs 0028, 0040, 0044, 0051, 0076, 0081, 0084, receiving, from a base station, a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel (the signals in the downlink (DL or forward link) are transmitted either in different frequency bands (e.g., by frequency domain duplexing (FDD)); UEs 150 may be assigned to different sub-bands; eNodeB 106 may include scheduling parameter determination component 136 that determines scheduling parameters)], wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)];
Celebi discloses a first resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, a first resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames; transmitting DL messages to the FDC UE during the a plurality of FD portions … e.g., a first and second portion of PDSCH4 (FDC) separated by an empty interval)]. Celebi discloses receiving information from the base station, Celebi does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a first CSI reference resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second CSI reference resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion.
However, Park teaches receiving, from the base station [fig. 22, 23, paragraphs 0057, 0073, 0125, 0437, 0604, 0605, the base station (a base station (BS) (or eNB))], a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a first CSI reference resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second CSI reference resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol [fig. 16-19, paragraphs 0010, 0225, 0226, 0228, 0354, 0427, 0429, 0437, 0483, 0553, receiving, from the base station, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a first CSI reference resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second CSI reference resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol (receiving, from a base station, CSI-RS(reference signal) resource configuration information; the CSI-RS resource configuration information includes indication information; wherein the indication information includes first indication information, and second indication information; different CSI-RS resources are not transmitted at the same time)]; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0435, 0606, transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by receiving, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 2, Celebi discloses the method of claim 1, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource.
However, Park teaches wherein the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0435, 0606, wherein the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by receiving, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 3, Celebi discloses the method of claim 2,
wherein the CSI report comprises a single channel estimation based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0070, wherein the CSI report comprises a single channel estimation based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource (a channel estimator 674; channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 650)].
As per claim 4, Celebi discloses the method of claim 2, Celebi does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving, from the base station, a report indication for a slot, wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the report indication.
However, Park teaches receiving, from the base station, a report indication for a slot, wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the report indication [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0287, 0388, 0435, 0606, receiving, from the base station, a report indication for a slot, wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the report indication (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources; RS transmissions within a slot)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 5, Celebi discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising
receiving, from the base station, a duplex status indication for a slot, wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the duplex status indication [fig. 9, table 1, paragraphs 0006, 0033, 0043, 0046, 0076, receiving, from the base station, a duplex status indication for a slot, wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the duplex status indication (the eNodeB 106 may then schedule the FD RBs amongst the UEs)].
As per claim 6, Celebi discloses the method of claim 2, Celebi does not explicitly disclose further comprising: determining to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for a slot; and transmitting, to the base station, a report indication indicating that the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot.
However, Park teaches determining to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for a slot; and transmitting, to the base station, a report indication indicating that the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0287, 0388, 0435, 0606, determining to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for a slot; and transmitting, to the base station, a report indication indicating that the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources; RS transmissions within a slot)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 7, Celebi discloses the method of claim 1, Celebi does not explicitly disclose further comprising: wherein the CSI-RS is received on a single CSI reference resource on both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the CSI report is based on the single CSI reference.
However, Park teaches wherein the CSI-RS is received on a single CSI reference resource on both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the CSI report is based on the single CSI reference [paragraphs 0192, 0222-0224, 0283, 0285, 0372, 0374, 0425, wherein the CSI-RS is received on a single CSI reference resource on both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the CSI report is based on the single CSI reference (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 8, Celebi discloses the method of claim 7,
wherein the CSI-RS is not received on resources of the single CSI reference resource on the second FD channel having the symbol [paragraphs 0038, 0039, 0043, 0051, 0081, wherein the CSI-RS is not received on resources of the single CSI reference resource on the second FD channel having the symbol (receiving UL messages from the FDC UE during the at least one FD portion when DL reference)].
As per claim 9, Celebi discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising:
determining that the CSI-RS is not received on resources of the second FD channel; and muting the CSI-RS received on resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel [table 1, paragraphs 0038, 0042, 0043, 0049, determining that the CSI-RS is not received on resources of the second FD channel; and muting the CSI-RS received on resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel (the assigned FDC UE may puncture its UL transmission such that the FDC UE does not transmit data on the special resources of the FDC UE)].
Celebi does not explicitly disclose determining that the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal.
However, Park teaches determining that the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal [paragraphs 0287, 0467, determining that the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signa (a CSI-RS through the specific serving beam may be used for the purpose of an RS (e.g., tracking RS (TRS)))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by determining that the CSI-RS is a tracking reference signal as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 10, Celebi discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising
receiving a CSI resource configuration for the CSI reference resource identifying a frequency domain configuration for the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0034, 0051, 0076, 0079, receiving a CSI resource configuration for the CSI reference resource identifying a frequency domain configuration for the single CSI reference resource (a UL communication and a DL communication during the FD portion are synchronized in time and frequency domains)].
As per claim 11, Celebi discloses the method of claim 10, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI resource configuration comprises a bitmap identifying resources associated with the single CSI reference resource.
However, Park teaches wherein the CSI resource configuration comprises a bitmap identifying resources associated with the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0083, 0192, 0222-0224, 0269, 0283, 0285, 0372, 0374, 0414, 0425, 0547, wherein the CSI resource configuration comprises a bitmap identifying resources associated with the single CSI reference resource (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS; CSI-RS resource is mapped; number of available bits of a PDCCH)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by including a bitmap identifying resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 12, Celebi discloses the method of claim 11, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a resource block group of the single CSI reference resource and identifies whether the CSI-RS is received on the corresponding resource block group.
However, Park teaches wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a resource block group of the single CSI reference resource and identifies whether the CSI-RS is received on the corresponding resource block group [paragraphs 0083, 0192, 0222-0224, 0269, 0283, 0285, 0364, 0365, 0372, 0374, 0414, 0425, 0547, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a resource block group of the single CSI reference resource and identifies whether the CSI-RS is received on the corresponding resource block group (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS; CSI-RS resource is mapped; number of available bits of a PDCCH; an RB group (e.g., RBG))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by including a bitmap identifying resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 13, Celebi discloses the method of claim 12, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource bandwidths, wherein each resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths is configured with a separate resource block group configuration, wherein the FD downlink channel is associated with an active resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths, and wherein the bitmap corresponds to the resource block group of the active resource bandwidth.
However, Park teaches wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource bandwidths, wherein each resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths is configured with a separate resource block group configuration, wherein the FD downlink channel is associated with an active resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths, and wherein the bitmap corresponds to the resource block group of the active resource bandwidth [paragraphs 0083, 0192, 0222-0224, 0269, 0283, 0285, 0364, 0365, 0372, 0374, 0414, 0425, 0437, 0547, wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource bandwidths, wherein each resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths is configured with a separate resource block group configuration, wherein the FD downlink channel is associated with an active resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths, and wherein the bitmap corresponds to the resource block group of the active resource bandwidth (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS; CSI-RS resource is mapped; number of available bits of a PDCCH; an RB group (e.g., RBG); each of N activated CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by including a bitmap identifying resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 14, Celebi discloses the method of claim 7,
wherein the UE has a maximum number of disjoint allocations that can be associated with the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0081, wherein the UE has a maximum number of disjoint allocations that can be associated with the single CSI reference resource (a DL assignment of the FDC UE a first number of sub-frames prior to a corresponding DL data transmission)].
As per claim 15, Celebi discloses the method of claim 7,
wherein the UE has a minimum number of physical resource blocks that can be associated with each disjoint allocation of the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0081, wherein the UE has a minimum number of physical resource blocks that can be associated with each disjoint allocation of the single CSI reference resource (a DL assignment of the FDC UE a first number of sub-frames prior to a corresponding DL data transmission)].
As per claim 33, Celebi discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) [paragraphs 0006, 0030, 0073, a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (a method for providing full duplex (FD) wireless communication to an FD capable (FDC) user equipment (UE))], comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel [fig. 1, 9, paragraphs 0028, 0040, 0044, 0051, 0076, 0081, 0084, receiving, from a base station, a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel (the signals in the downlink (DL or forward link) are transmitted either in different frequency bands (e.g., by frequency domain duplexing (FDD)); UEs 150 may be assigned to different sub-bands; eNodeB 106 may include scheduling parameter determination component 136 that determines scheduling parameters)], wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)];
wherein the UE is configured with a first CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel and resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, wherein the UE is configured with a first CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel and resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)];
the first CSI reference resource does not include resources of the second FD channel [paragraphs 0038, 0050, the first CSI reference resource does not include resources of the second FD channel (FDC UE 150 does not transmit UL data in RBs that are used by DL control and reference channels)], and
the UE is configured with a second CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel, resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel, and resources of the second FD channel [claim 12, paragraphs 0038, 0050, the UE is configured with a second CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel, resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel, and resources of the second FD channel (receiving UL messages from the FDC UE during the at least one FD portion when DL reference or control channels are not transmitted during the at least one FD portion)].
Celebi discloses a resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, a resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)].
Celebi does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS received on the first portion and the second portion.
However, Park teaches receiving, from the base station [fig. 22, 23, paragraphs 0057, 0073, 0125, 0437, 0604, 0605, the base station (a base station (BS) (or eNB))], a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources [fig. 16-19, paragraphs 0010, 0225, 0226, 0228, 0354, 0427, 0429, 0437, 0483, 0553, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources (receiving, from a base station, CSI-RS(reference signal) resource configuration information; the CSI-RS resource configuration information includes indication information; wherein the indication information includes first indication information, and second indication information; different CSI-RS resources are not transmitted at the same time)]; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0435, 0606, transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by receiving, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 34, Celebi discloses the method of claim 33, further comprising:
determining whether the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource or the second CSI reference resource; discarding the CSI-RS upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the second CSI reference resource [table 1, paragraphs 0038, 0042, 0043, 0049, determining whether the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource or the second CSI reference resource; discarding the CSI-RS upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the second CSI reference resource (the assigned FDC UE may puncture its UL transmission such that the FDC UE does not transmit data on the special resources of the FDC UE)]; and
transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0070, transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource (a channel estimator 674; channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 650)].
As per claim 35, Celebi discloses the method of claim 33, further comprising:
determining whether the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource or the second CSI reference resource; upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the second CSI reference resource, discarding a portion of the CSI-RS received on the resources of the second FD channel and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS received on the first portion and the second portion of the FD downlink channel [table 1, paragraphs 0038, 0042, 0043, 0049, determining whether the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource or the second CSI reference resource; upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the second CSI reference resource, discarding a portion of the CSI-RS received on the resources of the second FD channel and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS received on the first portion and the second portion of the FD downlink channel (the assigned FDC UE may puncture its UL transmission such that the FDC UE does not transmit data on the special resources of the FDC UE)]; and
upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource, transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS [paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0070, upon determining that the CSI-RS is received on the first CSI reference resource, transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS (a channel estimator 674; channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 650)].
As per claim 41, Celebi discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station [paragraphs 0006, 0030, 0073, a method of wireless communication at a base station (a method for providing full duplex (FD) wireless communication to an FD capable (FDC) user equipment (UE))], comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel [fig. 1, 9, paragraphs 0028, 0040, 0044, 0051, 0076, 0081, 0084, transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel (the signals in the downlink (DL or forward link) are transmitted either in different frequency bands (e.g., by frequency domain duplexing (FDD)); UEs 150 may be assigned to different sub-bands; eNodeB 106 may include scheduling parameter determination component 136 that determines scheduling parameters)], wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)];
Celebi discloses a resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, a resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)]. Celebi does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to the UE, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (CSI-RS) on a first CSI reference resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second CSI reference resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol; and receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the first portion and the second portion.
However, Park teaches transmitting, to the UE [fig. 22, 23, paragraphs 0057, 0073, 0125, 0437, 0604, 0605, the UE (User Equipment (UE))], a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a first CSI reference resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second CSI reference resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol [fig. 16-19, paragraphs 0010, 0225, 0226, 0228, 0354, 0427, 0429, 0437, 0483, 0553, transmitting, to the UE, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a first CSI reference resource on the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on a second CSI reference resource on the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol (receiving, from a base station, CSI-RS(reference signal) resource configuration information; the CSI-RS resource configuration information includes indication information; wherein the indication information includes first indication information, and second indication information; different CSI-RS resources are not transmitted at the same time)]; and receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the first portion and the second portion [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0435, 0606, receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the first portion and the second portion (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by receiving, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 42, Celebi discloses the method of claim 41, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource.
However, Park teaches wherein the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0435, 0606, wherein the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by receiving, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 43, Celebi discloses the method of claim 42,
wherein the CSI report comprises a single channel estimation based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0070, wherein the CSI report comprises a single channel estimation based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource (a channel estimator 674; channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 650)].
As per claim 44, Celebi discloses the method of claim 42, Celebi does not explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting, to the UE, a report indication for a slot, wherein the report indication indicates to the UE to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot.
However, Park teaches transmitting, to the UE, a report indication for a slot, wherein the report indication indicates to the UE to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0287, 0388, 0435, 0606, transmitting, to the UE, a report indication for a slot, wherein the report indication indicates to the UE to generate the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources; RS transmissions within a slot)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 45, Celebi discloses the method of claim 42, further comprising
transmitting, to the UE, a duplex status indication for a slot, wherein the duplex status indication indicates to the UE that the FD downlink channel is duplexed with the second FD channel, and wherein the UE generates the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the duplex status indication [fig. 9, table 1, paragraphs 0006, 0033, 0043, 0046, 0076, transmitting, to the UE, a duplex status indication for a slot, wherein the duplex status indication indicates to the UE that the FD downlink channel is duplexed with the second FD channel, and wherein the UE generates the CSI report based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot based on the duplex status indication (the eNodeB 106 may then schedule the FD RBs amongst the UEs)].
As per claim 46, Celebi discloses the method of claim 42, Celebi does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, from the UE, a report indication indicating that the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot.
However, Park teaches receiving, from the UE, a report indication indicating that the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0287, 0388, 0435, 0606, receiving, from the UE, a report indication indicating that the CSI report is based on both the first CSI reference resource and the second CSI reference resource for the slot (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources; RS transmissions within a slot)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 47, Celebi discloses the method of claim 41, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI-RS is transmitted on a single CSI reference resource on both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the CSI report is based on the single CSI reference.
However, Park teaches wherein the CSI-RS is transmitted on a single CSI reference resource on both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the CSI report is based on the single CSI reference [paragraphs 0192, 0222-0224, 0283, 0285, 0372, 0374, 0425, wherein the CSI-RS is transmitted on a single CSI reference resource on both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the CSI report is based on the single CSI reference (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by wherein the UE determines to generate the CSI report as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 48, Celebi discloses the method of claim 47,
wherein CSI-RS is not transmitted on resources of the single CSI reference resource on the second FD channel having the symbol [paragraphs 0038, 0039, 0043, 0051, 0081, wherein CSI-RS is not transmitted on resources of the single CSI reference resource on the second FD channel having the symbol (receiving UL messages from the FDC UE during the at least one FD portion when DL reference)].
As per claim 49, Celebi discloses the method of claim 47, further comprising
transmitting a CSI resource configuration for the CSI reference resource identifying a frequency domain configuration for the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0034, 0051, 0076, 0079, transmitting a CSI resource configuration for the CSI reference resource identifying a frequency domain configuration for the single CSI reference resource (a UL communication and a DL communication during the FD portion are synchronized in time and frequency domains)].
As per claim 50, Celebi discloses the method of claim 49, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI resource configuration comprises a bitmap identifying resources associated with the single CSI reference resource.
However, Park teaches wherein the CSI resource configuration comprises a bitmap identifying resources associated with the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0083, 0192, 0222-0224, 0269, 0283, 0285, 0372, 0374, 0414, 0425, 0547, wherein the CSI resource configuration comprises a bitmap identifying resources associated with the single CSI reference resource (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS; CSI-RS resource is mapped; number of available bits of a PDCCH)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by including a bitmap identifying resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 51, Celebi discloses the method of claim 50, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a resource block group of the single CSI reference resource and identifies whether the CSI-RS is received on the corresponding resource block group.
However, Park teaches wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a resource block group of the single CSI reference resource and identifies whether the CSI-RS is received on the corresponding resource block group [paragraphs 0083, 0192, 0222-0224, 0269, 0283, 0285, 0364, 0365, 0372, 0374, 0414, 0425, 0547, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a resource block group of the single CSI reference resource and identifies whether the CSI-RS is received on the corresponding resource block group (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS; CSI-RS resource is mapped; number of available bits of a PDCCH; an RB group (e.g., RBG))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by including a bitmap identifying resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 52, Celebi discloses the method of claim 51, Celebi does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource bandwidths, wherein each resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths is configured with a separate resource block group configuration, wherein the FD downlink channel is associated with an active resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths, and wherein the bitmap corresponds to the resource block group of the active resource bandwidth.
However, Park teaches wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource bandwidths, wherein each resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths is configured with a separate resource block group configuration, wherein the FD downlink channel is associated with an active resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths, and wherein the bitmap corresponds to the resource block group of the active resource bandwidth [paragraphs 0083, 0192, 0222-0224, 0269, 0283, 0285, 0364, 0365, 0372, 0374, 0414, 0425, 0437, 0547, wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of resource bandwidths, wherein each resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths is configured with a separate resource block group configuration, wherein the FD downlink channel is associated with an active resource bandwidth of the plurality of resource bandwidths, and wherein the bitmap corresponds to the resource block group of the active resource bandwidth (time instances with respect to specific CSI-RS; CSI-RS resource is mapped; number of available bits of a PDCCH; an RB group (e.g., RBG); each of N activated CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by including a bitmap identifying resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 53, Celebi discloses the method of claim 47,
wherein the UE has a maximum number of disjoint allocations that can be associated with the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0081, wherein the UE has a maximum number of disjoint allocations that can be associated with the single CSI reference resource (a DL assignment of the FDC UE a first number of sub-frames prior to a corresponding DL data transmission)].
As per claim 54, Celebi discloses the method of claim 47,
wherein the UE has a minimum number of physical resource blocks that can be associated with each disjoint allocation of the single CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0081, wherein the UE has a minimum number of physical resource blocks that can be associated with each disjoint allocation of the single CSI reference resource (a DL assignment of the FDC UE a first number of sub-frames prior to a corresponding DL data transmission)].
As per claim 71, Celebi discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station [paragraphs 0006, 0030, 0073, a method of wireless communication at a base station (a method for providing full duplex (FD) wireless communication to an FD capable (FDC) user equipment (UE))], comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel [fig. 1, 9, paragraphs 0028, 0040, 0044, 0051, 0076, 0081, 0084, transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a full duplex (FD) downlink channel, the FD downlink channel being duplexed with a second FD channel (the signals in the downlink (DL or forward link) are transmitted either in different frequency bands (e.g., by frequency domain duplexing (FDD)); UEs 150 may be assigned to different sub-bands; eNodeB 106 may include scheduling parameter determination component 136 that determines scheduling parameters)], wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, wherein the second FD channel has carrier frequencies between carrier frequencies of a first portion of the FD downlink channel and carrier frequencies of a second portion of the FD downlink channel (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)]; and
wherein the UE is configured with a first CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel and resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, wherein the UE is configured with a first CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel and resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)];
the first CSI reference resource does not include resources of the second FD channel [paragraphs 0038, 0050, the first CSI reference resource does not include resources of the second FD channel (FDC UE 150 does not transmit UL data in RBs that are used by DL control and reference channels)], and
the UE is configured with a second CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel, resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel, and resources of the second FD channel [claim 12, paragraphs 0038, 0050, the UE is configured with a second CSI reference resource comprising resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel, resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel, and resources of the second FD channel (receiving UL messages from the FDC UE during the at least one FD portion when DL reference or control channels are not transmitted during the at least one FD portion)].
Celebi discloses a resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol [fig. 9, paragraphs 0033, 0039, 0047, 0048, 0051, 0056, 0057, 0071, 0076, 0077, 0084, a resources of the first portion of the FD downlink channel having a first symbol and on resources of the second portion of the FD downlink channel having the first symbol (subcarriers are spaced apart at precise frequencies; one HD portion in the one or more RBs based on the FD capabilities; dynamic scheduling is employed in the downlink such that the assignment of PDCCH on a sub-frame provides data assignments (e.g., PDSCH) on the same sub-frame; the corresponding PDSCH transmissions are staggered by a number of sub-frames)]. Celebi does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS received on the first portion and the second portion.
However, Park teaches receiving, from the base station [fig. 22, 23, paragraphs 0057, 0073, 0125, 0437, 0604, 0605, the base station (a base station (BS) (or eNB))], a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources [fig. 16-19, paragraphs 0010, 0225, 0226, 0228, 0354, 0427, 0429, 0437, 0483, 0553, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources (receiving, from a base station, CSI-RS(reference signal) resource configuration information; the CSI-RS resource configuration information includes indication information; wherein the indication information includes first indication information, and second indication information; different CSI-RS resources are not transmitted at the same time)]; and transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion [fig. 22, paragraphs 0021, 0222, 0225, 0435, 0606, transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI- RS received on the first portion and the second portion (the UE may report, to the base station, CSI generated based on the (at least one) CSI-RS resource; CSI reporting operation, each CSI process may be associated with one or more CSI-RS resources)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Celebi by receiving, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on resources as taught by Park because it would provide the Celebi’s method with the enhanced capability of improving a reception performance of a reference signal [Park, paragraphs 0004, 0025].
As per claim 72, Celebi discloses the method of claim 71, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS if the CSI-RS is transmitted on the first CSI reference resource [paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0070, receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS if the CSI-RS is transmitted on the first CSI reference resource (a channel estimator 674; channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 650)].
As per claim 73, Celebi discloses the method of claim 71, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, if the CSI-RS is transmitted on the second CSI reference resource, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the first portion and the second portion of the FD downlink channel but not based on the portion of the CSI-RS transmitted on the resources of the second FD channel [table 1, paragraphs 0038, 0042, 0043, 0049, receiving, from the UE, if the CSI-RS is transmitted on the second CSI reference resource, a channel state information (CSI) report based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the first portion and the second portion of the FD downlink channel but not based on the portion of the CSI-RS transmitted on the resources of the second FD channel (the assigned FDC UE may puncture its UL transmission such that the FDC UE does not transmit data on the special resources of the FDC UE)]; and
receiving, from the UE, if the CSI-RS is transmitted on the first CSI reference resource, a CSI report based on the CSI-RS [paragraphs 0066, 0067, 0070, receiving, from the UE, if the CSI-RS is transmitted on the first CSI reference resource, a CSI report based on the CSI-RS (a channel estimator 674; channel estimate may be derived from a reference signal and/or channel condition feedback transmitted by the UE 650)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0335427 discloses wherein UEs may identify the resources of the CSI-RS from the first downlink control information.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469