Status of Claims:
• Claims 1-6 and 10-19 are pending.
• Claims 7-9 were previously withdrawn.
• Claims 1 is amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP-3159185-A1 to Iwamura (“Iwamura”), and further in view of US-20120234445-A1 to Manesh (“Manesh”).
Regarding Claim 1, Iwamura (Figs 1-5c) discloses a non-pneumatic tire (1 “airless tire”) comprising: an annular beam (2 “tread ring”: includes 7 “shear rubber layer”, and 9i, 9o, 11i and 11o two sets of “inner and outer rubber topping portions” associated with two reinforcement layers 5, 6; Para 27, 32, 59-55 Figs 2-4) comprising a first elastomer (rubber parts 7, 9 and 11 are G , Para 32, 37-52, Fig 3, 4) and a circumferential reinforcement (two reinforcement cord layers 5 and 6, Page 4, Para 27, 29-30) extended in a circumferential direction, the annular beam being free of the circumferential reinforcement at a lateral axial extent over a width W of at least 8 mm a tire size 145/70R12, Wr tire width is 145 mm (para 60); and describes the axial width of the 2 tread ring as Wr ,tire width, Para 56, the axial width of 7 shear rubber layer is between .6 Wr to .99 Wr Para 56, shown Fig 3; and describes the axial widths of first reinforcement layer W5, and second reinforcement layer W6 “be each 0.6 – 0.99 times Wr” ; Examiner interprets this to mean widths W5, W6 are in the range of W7 as above, i.e. a range of .6Wr to .99 W; Para 56 line 3, Fig 3 shows W5 and W6 less than W7 and Wr, thus having an axial extent as a distance between outer edge of W5, or W6 and outer edge of W7. The measure of the axial extent would be calculated to be within a range of [(145-(.6(145))/2] to [(145-(.99(145))/2], which is 29mm to 0.725 mm, a range inclusive of measures 8mm [and 12mm]), the axial extent comprising said first elastomer (axial extent in 7 shear layer is rubber, Para 32, 56, Fi g 3,4); an annular support (4 “spoke”, Page 4, Para 26, lines 1-6, Page 7-8, Para 60 lines 3-5) extending radially inward from the annular beam, said support comprising a second elastomer (urethane resin/ thermosetting resin i.e. thermoplastic polyurethane material in 4 spoke, Para 40 60 ).
Iwamura does not disclose the annular beam having a profile at the axial extent which is inclined from a radial direction by an angle of at least 15 degrees, and wherein the unreinforced axial extent is configured to elastically deform under thermoplastic injection pressure to form a contact seal against a mold surface of a mold that inhibits flow of the second elastomer between the axial extent and the mold (italicized intended use, not limiting, requiring only to demonstrate the capability thereof; and italicized, underlined limits reciting specific methods considered method limit in product claim, not limiting: “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production., MPEP 2113)).
Manesh discloses a non-pneumatic tire (10) having an annular beam (Fig 19, including 74
“tread layer” [at outermost portion of tire Para 71], and ”70 “tread carrying layer”: 78a, 78b “reinforcing layers” and 76 support material) having a profile at the axial extent (inclined axially peripheral portions of 74, Fig 19) ; which is inclined from a radial direction by an angle of at least 15 degrees (Fig 19 shows the axial extend having an inclination angle of approximately 30 degrees, i.e. at least 15 degrees), and wherein the unreinforced axial extent is configured to elastically deform; Manesh describes the molding of the tread within a mold including “heating to a temperature and under pressure allowing rubber to deform and flow forcing the tread against the outer wall of the mold [the outer wall including the inclined angle of approximately 30 degrees, i.e. greater than 15 degrees at the axial extents], forming a patterned tread, to vulcanize and transform into a solid layer Para 88 and subsequent overholding the web 40 inside the tread, Para 89).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the non-pneumatic tire and the tread having an axial extent inclined at least 15 degrees of Manesh, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the non-pneumatic tire of Iwamura and the teaching of the tread having an axial extent inclined at least 15 degrees of Manesh, to modify the tread (of Iwamura) such that it includes a tread having an axial extent inclined at least 15 degrees (like Manesh), with the motivation to prevent or reduce excessive draw on the edges of the tread and shear layer, preventing wear, extending the tire life, Para 84), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 1 wherein the annular beam is free of the circumferential reinforcement at an axial extent over a width of at least 12 mm (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 2 wherein the annular beam is free of the circumferential reinforcement at an axial extent over a width of at least 16 mm (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 3 wherein the first elastomer comprises a rubber (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 4 wherein the second elastomer is a thermoplastic (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 5 wherein the second elastomer is a polyurethane thermoplastic (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 1 wherein the profile at the axial extent is inclined from a radial direction by at least 15 degrees (as described in paragraph 5 of this document).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the profile at the axial extent is inclined from a radial direction by at least 45 degrees (as described in paragraph 5 and of this document).
The specific range of values for inclined angle of the axial extent is not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of dimensions, use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected an incline angle of the axial extent to be at least 45 degrees, with the motivation to ensure the was sufficiently designed to meet the design parameters just described, and to prevent or reduce excessive draw on the edges of the tread and shear layer, preventing wear, extending the tire life, Para 84), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 12, Iwamura (Figs 1-5c) discloses a non-pneumatic tire (1 “airless tire”) comprising: an annular beam (2 “tread ring”: includes 7 “shear rubber layer”, and 9i, 9o, 11i and 11o two sets of “inner and outer rubber topping portions” associated with two reinforcement layers 5, 6; Para 27, 32, 59-55 Figs 2-4) comprising a first elastomer (rubber parts 7, 9 and 11 are G , Para 32, 37-52, Fig 3, 4) and a circumferential reinforcement (two reinforcement cord layers 5 and 6, Page 4, Para 27, 29-30) extended in a circumferential direction, the annular beam being free of the circumferential reinforcement at a lateral axial extent over a width W of at least 8 mm to no more than 12 mm a tire size 145/70R12, Wr tire width is 145 mm (para 60); and describes the axial width of the 2 tread ring as Wr ,tire width, Para 56, the axial width of 7 shear rubber layer is between .6 Wr to .99 Wr Para 56, shown Fig 3; and describes the axial widths of first reinforcement layer W5, and second reinforcement layer W6 “be each 0.6 – 0.99 times Wr” ; Examiner interprets this to mean widths W5, W6 are in the range of W7 as above, i.e. a range of .6Wr to .99 W; Para 56 line 3, Fig 3 shows W5 and W6 less than W7 and Wr, thus having an axial extent as a distance between outer edge of W5, or W6 and outer edge of W7. The measure of the axial extent would be calculated to be within a range of [(145-(.6(145))/2] to [(145-(.99(145))/2], which is 29mm to 0.725 mm, a range inclusive of measures 8 mm [and 12mm]), the axial extent comprising said first elastomer (axial extent in 7 shear layer is rubber, Para 32, 56, Fig 3,4); an annular support (4 “spoke”, Page 4, Para 26, lines 1-6, Page 7-8, Para 60 lines 3-5) extending radially inward from the annular beam, said support comprising a second elastomer (urethane resin/ thermosetting resin i.e. thermoplastic polyurethane material in 4 spoke, Para 40 60 ).
Iwamura does not disclose the annular beam having a profile at the axial extent which is inclined from a radial direction by an angle of at least 15 degrees, nor that the lateral axial extent over a width of at least 8mm to no more than 16 mm, nor that wherein the unreinforced axial extent is configured to elastically deform under thermoplastic injection pressure to form a contact seal against a mold surface of a mold that inhibits flow of the injected second elastomer between the axial extent and the mold (italicized intended use, not limiting, requiring only to demonstrate the capability thereof; and italicized and underlined limits reciting specific methods considered method limit in product claim, not limiting: “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production., MPEP 2113)).
Manesh discloses a non-pneumatic tire (10) having an annular beam (Fig 19, including 74
“tread layer” [at outermost portion of tire Para 71], and ”70 “tread carrying layer”: 78a, 78b “reinforcing layers” and 76 support material) having a profile at the axial extent (inclined axially peripheral portions of 74, Fig 19) ; which is inclined from a radial direction by an angle of at least 15 degrees (Fig 19 shown axial extend having an inclination angle of approximately 30 degrees i.e. at least 15 degrees), and wherein the unreinforced axial extent is configured to elastically deform. Manesh describes the molding of the tread within a mold including “heating to a temperature and under pressure allowing rubber to deform and flow forcing the tread against the outer wall of the mold [the outer wall including the inclined angle greater than 15 degrees at the axial extents], forming a patterned tread, to vulcanize and transform into a solid layer Para 88 and subsequent overholding the web 40 inside the tread, Para 89).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the non-pneumatic tire and the tread having an axial extent inclined at least 15 degrees of Manesh, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the non-pneumatic tire of Iwamura and the teaching of the tread having an axial extent inclined at least 15 degrees of Manesh, to modify the tread (of Iwamura) such that it includes a tread having an axial extent inclined at least 15 degrees (like Manesh), with the motivation to prevent or reduce excessive draw on the edges of the tread and shear layer, preventing wear, extending the tire life, Para 84), having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
The specific range of values for the width of the lateral axial extent is not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a range of axial extent dimensions for the tire of the combination of Iwamura and Manesh of such that the width of lateral axial extent was at least 8 mm and no more than 16 mm, with the motivation to ensure the was sufficiently designed to meet the design parameters just described. This combination/modification being done with a reasonable expectation of success and having equivalent function.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 12, but does not disclose the axial extent being at least 8mm and no more than 12 mm.
The specific range of values for the width of the lateral axial extent is not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a range of axial extent dimensions for the tire of the combination of Iwamura and Manesh of such that the width of lateral axial extent was at least 8 mm and no more than 12 mm, with the motivation to ensure the was sufficiently designed to meet the design parameters just described. This combination/modification being done with a reasonable expectation of success and having equivalent function.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 12, but does not the annular beam having a profile at the axial extent which is inclined from a radial direction by at least 15 degrees and no more than 45 degrees.
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of routine optimization, to have modified the profile of the axial extent of the tire such that it has an angle in the range of at least 15 degrees and no more than 45 degrees at with the motivation to allow the tire to effectively “easily ride over a step difference on a road” (Page 3, lines 19-21), and to have “a superior design in both aspects of stability and wandering phenomenon”, Page 3, lines 50-52, lines 14-54). It is further noted that paragraph [0037] of Applicant’s specification makes it clear that this claimed range for the angle is not critical for the practice of Applicant’s invention. The modification having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 12, but does not disclose the inclination being in the range of at least 15 degrees to no more than 30 degrees.
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of routine optimization, to have modified the profile of the axial extent of the tire such that it has an angle in the range of least 15 degrees and no more than 30 degrees, with the motivation to allow the tire to effectively “easily ride over a step difference on a road” (Page 3, lines 19-21), and to have “a superior design in both aspects of stability and wandering phenomenon”, Page 3, lines 50-52, lines 14-54). It is further noted that paragraph [0037] of Applicant’s specification makes it clear that this claimed range for the angle is not critical for the practice of Applicant’s invention. The modification having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 12, but does not disclose the axial extent being at least 8mm and no more than 12 mm, nor that the annular beam having a profile at the axial extent which is inclined from a radial direction by at least 15 degrees and no more than 30 degrees.
The specific range of values for the dimensions of the axial extent id not an inventive concept, but rather a design choice made from many possible dimensional choices, as a part of routine design optimization giving proper consideration of use, design loads, material and manufacturing requirements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a range of axial extent dimensions for the tire such that the axial extent was at least 8 mm and no more than 12 mm, with the motivation to ensure the was sufficiently designed to meet the design parameters just described. This combination/modification being done with a reasonable expectation of success and having equivalent function.
Furthermore, It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of routine optimization, to have modified the profile of the axial extent of the tire such that it has an angle in the range of at least 15 degrees and no more than 30 degrees, with the motivation to allow the tire to effectively “easily ride over a step difference on a road” (Page 3, lines 19-21), and to have “a superior design in both aspects of stability and wandering phenomenon”, Page 3, lines 50-52, lines 14-54). It is further noted that paragraph [0037] of Applicant’s specification makes it clear that this claimed range for the angle is not critical for the practice of Applicant’s invention. The modification having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 12 wherein the first elastomer comprises a rubber (as described in paragraph 13 of this document).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 12 wherein the second elastomer is a thermoplastic (as described in paragraph 13 of this document).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Iwamura and Manesh discloses the non-pneumatic tire of claim 5 wherein the second elastomer is a polyurethane (as described in paragraph 13 of this document).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/28/2026, with respect to claim 1 rejections under 35 USC § 112 (d) have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of amendments to claims 1, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 112 (d) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of Claim(s) 1-6, and 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered not persuasive:
Argument 1: Remarks on Page 2, Para 2 regarding Non Final Page 4, Para 2, lines 7-9 applicant states Manesh does not disclose the unreinforced axial extent is configured “to elastically deformunder thermoplastic injection pressure to form a contact seal against a mold surface of a mold that inhibits flow of the injected second elastomer between the axial extent and the mold”.
Examiner responds that the underlined italicized words “under thermoplastic injection pressure to form a contact seal against a mold surface of a mold that inhibits flow of the injected second elastomer between the axial extent and the mold” appeared in error, as they were considered method limits in a product claim, as stated in Paragraph preceding it spanning bottom of page 3- page in non final. In the Final Rejection herein, the error described for Claim 1 has been corrected (as is a similar error in Claim 12) and only the words “to elastically deform” remain.
Argument 2: “Claim 1 is not a product-by-process claim. Product-by-process claims define a product in terms of the process by which it is made. Claim 1 does not recite that the non-pneumatic tire is formed by, obtained by, or produced by any particular manufacturing process. Rather, claim 1 recites a structural feature of the tire, namely an unreinforced axial extent, that is configured to elastically deform and form a contact seal under specified conditions. The claim therefore defines a structural capability of the tire rather than the process by which the tire is manufactured.
Examiner responds that the limit: ““to elastically deformunder thermoplastic injection pressure to form a contact seal against a mold surface of a mold that inhibits flow of the injected second elastomer between the axial extent and the mold”, is describing a specific method of forming a contact seal under thermoplastic injection pressure”, and as such were identified in Page 3-4 of non final to be method limits in product claim, not limiting. The seal being a result of the method of forming under injection pressure, of the preform mold, and not a structure of the finished invention. Thus argument 2 is
Argument 3 “Manesh discloses an angle of at least 15 degrees is based solely upon visual estimation from Figure 19. Manesh nowhere identifies such an angle, provides no angular measurements, and does not state that the figure is drawn to scale. Patent drawings generally may not be relied upon to establish precise dimensional relationships or numerical values absent evidence that the drawings are to scale”.
Examiner responds. The approximate angle being greater than 15 degrees, is reasonable from Figure 19, and is not a precise dimensional relationship.
Argument 4: “Manesh’s purpose is to prevent or reduce excessive drag on the edges of the tread and shear layer during steering or cornering. This is fundamentally different from an unreinforced lateral axial extent, deliberately left reinforcement free and configured to elastically deform capable of forming a shut-off seal during thermoplastic injection molding.
Examiner responds: Applicant implies that the structure of the axial extend having an angled surface is not analogous art. In response to applicant's argument that the axial extend having an angled surface is non-analogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the axial extent having an inclined surface, is in the filed of the inventors’ endeavor: a non-pneumatic tire having an inclined axial extent.
Argument 5: “Manesh does not identify that surface as Applicant's claimed axial extent, does not associate the surface with an unreinforced region”.
Examiner Responds, Figure 19 shows the surface in question is in an unreinforced region at inner and outer exterior surfaces of wheel, thus meet the definition of an axial extent.
Argument 6: “Manesh discloses a crowned tread geometry used to reduce edge drag during steering and cornering. Manesh paragraph [0084]. The cited inclination therefore serves a different structure and a different purpose than Applicant's claimed axial extent.”
See Examiners response to Argument 4, as it applies to argument 5 as well.
Argument 7: in Remarks Page 2 last paragraph, Page 3, paragraphs 2-5, applicant continues to argue regarding the seal.
Examiner responds that applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. features that are not included in any claim: “inclination participates in a sealing mechanism”, “a shut-off seal during thermoplastic injection molding”.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally , argument 87 is also are not persuasive, because the limits as to the seal, as stated above (in arguments 1 and 2), relate to a specific method of forming a contact seal under thermoplastic injection pressure”, and as such were identified to be method limits in product claim, not limiting as described above.
In summary, Examiner considers all applicants arguments 1-5 as to the rejection of Claim(s) 1-6, and 10-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, as unpersuasive, and the rejection is repeated in the Final rejection contained herein, including the amended limit of claim 1, and the Examiners correction described in Examiners response to argument 1 above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, listed on PTO-892 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, disclose tires having inclined/angled axial extents.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615