DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 9 & 20 are amended. Claims 8 & 17 are canceled. Claims 1-7, 9-16 & 18-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 15-16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 2022/0220320 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5 & 20, Jordan teaches an teaches a coating composition comprising: a) a film-forming component comprising a film-forming resin comprising a silane-terminated polymer present in an amount of 10 wt% to 30 wt% and an epoxy resin present in an amount of 6 wt% to 25 wt%; and a crosslinker comprising a polyamine such as isophorone diamine, wherein the film-forming resin and the crosslinker, react upon cure, form a continuous film ([0006], [0009] & [0011]-[0014]); b) a phosphate source such as an ammonium phosphate present in an amount of 25 wt% to 65 wt% with specific embodiments using from 35.37 wt% to 41.29 wt% (Table 1; [0017]); c) a borate source such as zinc borate present in an amount of 1 wt% to 10 wt% with a specific embodiment using 5.53 wt% (Table 1; [0028]); d) TiO-2 present in an amount of 1 wt% to 15 wt% ([0020]); and e) a gas source such as melamine present in an amount of 5 wt% to 30 wt% ([0018]); f) a silica source such as fumed silica, as a rheology modifier, present in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 4 wt% with specific embodiments using from 0.25 wt% to 0.99 wt% (Table 1; [0023]); reinforcing fibers present in an amount of 1 wt% to 6 wt% with specific embodiments using less than 4 wt% (Table 1; [0021]); one or more additives such as a carbon source present in a total amount of 0.1 wt% to 15 wt% with a specific embodiment using 3.69 wt% (Table 1; [0019]); wherein the film-forming component is present in an amount of 16 wt% to 55 wt% with specific embodiments using from 28.2 wt% to 32.8 wt% (Table 1; [0009] & [0011]).
Regarding claim 6, Jordan teaches a self-supporting film or sheet formed from the coating composition of claim 1 ([0037] & [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Jordan teaches a method of coating a substrate comprising applying to at least a portion of the substrate, the coating composition according to claim 1 ([0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Jordan teaches a substrate coated to the method of claim 7 ([0038]).
Regarding claims 10 & 15-16, Jordan teaches an article such as vehicle comprising the substrate of claim 9, wherein the substrate can be an automotive component or structural member ([0066]).
Claims 11-12, 14 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan (US 2022/0220320 A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 15-16 & 20 above, and further in view of in view of Wang (US 2020/0388810 A1).
Regarding claims 11-12, 14 & 18-19, Jordan teaches the article of claim 10 but is silent as to the article being one selected from the structures recited in claims 11-12, 14-15 & 18-19. Wang a battery pack comprising a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells comprising exterior wall elements made up of aluminum defining a housing, wherein the coating composition or film or sheet is at least partially applied to the external and/or internal side of any of the exterior wall elements (Figs. 1-4 & 6; [0020]-[0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide Shepherd’s coating composition to a battery pack in order to prevent cascading thermal runaway event in a battery pack which would result in a fire as taught by Wang ([0020]-[0021]). “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”. See MPEP 2144.07. Wang also renders obvious the use of an electric vehicle battery as the presently claimed article in view of the increasing demand for energy storage device such as lithium-ion batteries in applications such as electric vehicles as disclosed in Wang ([0003]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Jordan (US 2022/0220320 A1) and Wang (US 2020/0388810 A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 14-16 & 18-20 above, and further in view of in view of Czech (US 2021/0143383 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Jordan as modified by Wang teaches the article of claim 12 but is silent as to the exterior wall and/or interior wall elements comprises composite steel, aluminum and/or polycarbonate. However, the use of aluminum as a material for forming exterior wall elements of battery cell housings is well-known as evidenced by Czech ([0009] & [0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-16 & 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As presently amended, the subject matter of claims 1-7, 9-10, 16 & 20 is found to be obvious over the teachings of Jordan with claims 11-12, 14-15 & 18-19 being obvious in view of Wang and with claim 13 being found obvious further in view of Czech.
With regards to Applicant’s assertions that Wang does not fairly teach or suggest the intumescent material being applied to an external surface of the battery, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As correctly noted by Applicant, Wang discloses that the intumescent composition can be coated on the external surfaces of the foam wherein the coated foam is placed between two batteries as illustrate in figs. 1-4 of Wang. However, it is clear from Wang that the intumescent composition on the surface of the foam contacts the external surfaces of the adjacent batteries 2 and 6 (see fig. 1). Furthermore, claim 15, as presently recited, merely requires an article comprising a vehicle which comprises a substrate coated according to the method of claim 7. Accordingly, Wang discloses electric vehicles which can comprise a battery assembly in which an intumescent composition is coated on a substrate as noted above. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the coating… or the self-supported film or sheet may be applied to the floor portion of the vehicle adjacent to the battery between battery and the vehicle body) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-7, 9-16 & 18-20 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727