DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 21 are amended. Claims 8 & 17 are canceled. Claims 1-7, 9-16 & 18-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 16 & 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilton (US 2021/0108092 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5 & 20-21, Hilton teaches an teaches a coating composition comprising: a) a film-forming component comprising a film-forming resin consisting essentially of an epoxy resin; and a crosslinker consisting essentially of a polyamine, wherein the film-forming resin and the crosslinker, react upon cure, to form a continuous film ([0062], [0068]-[0073], [0085]-[0088]); b) a phosphate source such as an ammonium phosphate present in an amount of preferably 50 wt% (Table 3; [0104]-[0106]); c) an aluminum source such as aluminum hydroxide, as a char forming aid, present in an amount of 0.5 wt% to 5 wt% (Tables 2a & 3; [0114]); d) TiO-2, as a nucleating agent, present in an amount of preferably 10 wt% (Table 3; [0112]-[0113]); and e) a gas source such as melamine, as a blowing agent, present in an amount of 0 wt% to 25 wt% (Table 3; [0107]-[0108]); f) a silica source such as fumed silica, as a rheology modifier, present in an amount of 0.02 wt% to 1 wt% ([0119]); reinforcing fibers present in an amount of preferably 3 wt% (Table 3; [0115]-[0117]); one or more additives such as a catalyst present in a total amount of 0.02 wt% to 5 wt% ([0097]-[0099]); wherein the film-forming component is preferably present in an amount of 25 wt% to 60 wt% ([0095]).
Regarding claim 7, Hilton teaches a method of coating a substrate comprising applying to at least a portion of the substrate, the coating composition according to claim 1 ([0130]).
Regarding claim 9, Hilton teaches a substrate coated to the method of claim 7 ([0130]).
Regarding claims 10 & 16, Hilton teaches an article such as steel and/or construction units comprising the substrate of claim 9 ([0130]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilton (US 2021/0108092 A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 16 & 20-21 above, and further in view of in view of Jordan (US 2022/0220320 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Hilton teaches the coating composition of claim 1 but is silent as to a self-supported film or sheet comprising the coating composition of claim 1. Jordan teaches a self-supported sheet formed from an intumescent composition which can be applied as a coating to a substrate ([0037], [0048] & [0087]-[0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide Hilton’s a self-supported sheet formed from an intumescent composition on a substrate as suitable means for providing an intumescent coating on a substrate as taught by Jordan.
Claims 11-12, 14 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilton (US 2021/0108092 A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 16 & 20-21 above, and further in view of in view of Wang (US 2020/0388810 A1).
Regarding claims 11-12, 14 & 18-19, Hilton teaches the article of claim 10 but is silent as to the article being one selected from the structures recited in claims 11-12, 14-15 & 18-19. Wang a battery pack comprising a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells comprising exterior wall elements made up of aluminum defining a housing, wherein the coating composition or film or sheet is at least partially applied to the external and/or internal side of any of the exterior wall elements (Figs. 1-4 & 6; [0020]-[0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide Hilton’s coating composition to a battery pack in order to prevent cascading thermal runaway event in a battery pack which would result in a fire as taught by Wang ([0020]-[0021]). “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”. See MPEP 2144.07. Wang also renders obvious the use of an electric vehicle battery as the presently claimed article in view of the increasing demand for energy storage device such as lithium-ion batteries in applications such as electric vehicles as disclosed in Wang ([0003]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hilton (US 2021/0108092 A1) and Wang (US 2020/0388810 A1), as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 14-16 & 18-21 above, and further in view of in view of Czech (US 2021/0143383 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Hilton as modified by Wang teaches the article of claim 12 but is silent as to the exterior wall and/or interior wall elements comprises composite steel, aluminum and/or polycarbonate. However, the use of aluminum as a material for forming exterior wall elements of battery cell housings is well-known as evidenced by Czech ([0009] & [0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that the teachings of Hilton would not be pertinent to the presently claimed subject matter because Hilton requires acetoacetoxy polyacetoacetate (AcAc) functionality in the film forming component which is excluded from the functionality of the presently claimed film forming component, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As correctly noted by applicant, Hilton discloses that the film forming component can comprise an epoxy resin along with an AcAc functional polymer, wherein the AcAc functional polymer can have a functional epoxy endcap, a functional acetate endcap or both ([0077]-[0080]). Accordingly, when epoxy endcaps or both epoxy endcaps and acetate endcaps are provided for the AcAc functional polymer, the resulting AcAc functional polymer reads on the presently claimed film forming component comprising epoxy functional groups. With regards to applicant’s argument that the combination of Hilton with Wang and Czech would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Hilton’s need for flexibility in the intumescent coatings that can withstand extremely low temperatures without cracking, the examiner respectfully disagrees. While Hilton discloses the benefits of providing flexibility to the intumescent coatings in view of withstanding cycling at low temperatures, it is noted that the primary function of the intumescent coating in Hilton is to provide fire protection such that when it is applied as a thin film, it swells many times its original thickness forming an insulation char which acts as a barrier between the fire and a substrate on which the intumescent composition is coated ([0004]). Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art readily understands that batteries/battery packs are prone to cascading thermal runaway events which can result in a fire as taught by Wang ([0020]-[0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide Hilton’s intumescent coatings on batteries/battery packs to reduce the risk of fire and, as a result, improve the safety.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-7, 9-16 & 18-21 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727