DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks and the Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, each filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Bevinakatti and Rhone-Poulenc have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Xu, further in view of Rhone-Poulenc as applied to claims 1-6, 8, 10-18, and 20; and Xu, further in view of Rhone-Poulenc and Bevinakatti as applied to claims 9 and 19.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 02/26/2026 and 04/29/2026 have been considered.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase "derived from" is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The term "derived" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Further, the recitation of "microbial/algae" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if these terms are being used interchangeably or if a microbial and an algae source are two different embodiments of the claimed hydrocarbon group.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO 2002069718 A2), further in view of Rhone-Poulenc (Translation of WO 9532942 A1; IDS reference, 10/31/2022). Rhone-Poulenc was cited previously by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize within this range, and it would be reasonable to expect such optimization would result in an alkyl group of 3 carbons as claimed. Xu teaches R1 (i.e., R as claimed) and R3 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydrogen (i.e., Z as claimed; Xu, page 43, line 5) or a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed.
Rhone-Poulenc, however, teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range.
Xu and Rhone-Poulenc are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because Xu, Rhone-Poulenc, and the instant invention are in the same field of surfactants for use in agrochemical compositions of similar general structure. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) wherein m is 1 as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 2, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Rhone-Poulenc teaches the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 3, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Rhone-Poulenc teaches the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed. Rhone-Poulenc, however, teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range. Rhone-Poulenc further teaches the substituents can be cycloalkyl, straight, or branched (Rhone-Poulenc, abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 5, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R1 (i.e., R as claimed) can be a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R1 (i.e., R as claimed) can be a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 6. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize within this range, and it would be reasonable to expect such optimization would result in an alkyl group of 3 carbons as claimed. Xu teaches R1 (i.e., R as claimed) and R3 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydrogen (i.e., Z as claimed; Xu, page 43, line 5) or a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Xu further teaches substituted hydrocarbyl moieties can comprise an amine oxide (Xu, page 94, lines 14-21). Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed.
Rhone-Poulenc, however, teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (III) wherein m is 1 as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 10, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. This claim is considered to be a product-by-process type claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP § 2113(I). As above, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach a surfactant of formula (I), which represents the claimed reaction product. Rhone-Poulenc further teaches polyglycerolated amidoamines can be prepared by condensation of an epoxidized derivative of glycerol which is preferably glycidol with an amidoamine (Rhone-Poulenc, page 12, paragraph 0009). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have synthesized the structure taught by Xu and Rhone-Poulenc by using the starting materials taught by Rhone-Poulenc as a reasonable method of preparation of polyglycerolated amine surfactants (Rhone, Poulenc, page 12, paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches a pesticidal (i.e., agrochemical) composition comprising a pesticide and a surfactant (Xu, claim 1), and teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize within this range, and it would be reasonable to expect such optimization would result in an alkyl group of 3 carbons as claimed. Xu teaches R1 (i.e., R as claimed) and R3 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydrogen (i.e., Z as claimed; Xu, page 43, line 5) or a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed.
Rhone-Poulenc, however, teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range.
As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) wherein m is 1 as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 12, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. As above, Rhone-Poulenc teaches the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 13, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. As above, Rhone-Poulenc teaches the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 14, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. As above, Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed. Rhone-Poulenc, however, teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range. Rhone-Poulenc further teaches the substituents can be cycloalkyl, straight, or branched (Rhone-Poulenc, abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (I) as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 15, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R1 (i.e., R as claimed) can be a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 16, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R1 (i.e., R as claimed) can be a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 17, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. As above, Xu teaches a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Xu further teaches a surfactant having an R group which comprises alkyl chains derived from tallow (i.e., a hydrocarbon group derived from an animal source; Xu, page 301, lines 30-31). Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize alkyl chains derived from an animal source in the di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine structure as the R2 linear alkyl group.
Regarding claim 18, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 16. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize within this range, and it would be reasonable to expect such optimization would result in an alkyl group of 3 carbons as claimed. Xu teaches R1 (i.e., R as claimed) and R3 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydrogen (i.e., Z as claimed; Xu, page 43, line 5) or a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Xu further teaches substituted hydrocarbyl moieties can comprise an amine oxide (Xu, page 94, lines 14-21). Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed.
Rhone-Poulenc, however, teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, thereby resulting in a surfactant of structure (III) wherein m is 1 as claimed, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 20, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 11. Xu teaches the pesticide comprises a herbicide (i.e., an agrochemical from the claimed list; Xu, claim 2).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (WO 2002069718 A2) and Rhone-Poulenc (Translation of WO 9532942 A1; IDS reference, 10/31/2022) as applied to claims 1-6, 8, 10-18, and 20, further in view of Bevinakatti (WO 03068377 A1). Rhone-Poulenc and Bevinakatti were cited previously by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 9, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 8. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize within this range, and it would be reasonable to expect such optimization would result in an alkyl group of 3 carbons as claimed. Xu teaches R1 (i.e., R as claimed) and R3 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydrogen (i.e., Z as claimed; Xu, page 43, line 5) or a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Xu further teaches the poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine can be a quaternary salt, wherein the anion can be an agriculturally acceptable anion (Xu, page 44, lines 13-19). Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed.
Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range.
Bevinakatti teaches a surfactant of formula (I) which is represented by R1R2X1-Link-R3 (Bevinakatti, page 1, line 6) wherein R1 (i.e., “R” as claimed) can be a hydrocarbyl (Bevinakatti, page 1, line 13) and hydrocarbyls preferably have 10-22 carbons (Bevinakatti, page 4, line 33); R2 (i.e., “Z” as claimed) is a polyhydroxy hydrocarbyl or H (Bevinakatti, page 1, lines 14-15); X1 is N+R5An- (i.e., B- or R1X- as claimed) and R5 is a C1-C6 alkyl group (i.e., R1 can be a methyl group; Bevinakatti, page 6, line 11) and An- is particularly a chloride (i.e., X-, as in the claimed structure (V); Bevinakatti, page 6, line 17); and R3 is NR7R8 (Bevinakatti, page 1, line 21), wherein R7 (i.e., “Z” as claimed) is a polyhydroxy hydrocarbyl and R8 (i.e., “Z” as claimed) is a polyhydroxy hydrocarbyl or H (Bevinakatti, page 1, lines 25-26).
Xu, Rhone-Poulenc, and Bevinakatti are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because all are in the same field of surfactants for use in agrochemical compositions of similar general structure. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023). Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Xu and Rhone-Poulenc to include an anion as taught by Bevinakatti, because Xu teaches the anion can be an agriculturally acceptable anion (Xu, page 44, lines 13-19) without specifying any particular group, while Bevinakatti teaches an anion as claimed to be known in the field for use with similar compounds.
Regarding claim 19, Xu and Rhone-Poulenc together teach all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 18. As above, Xu teaches a surfactant (Xu, page 32, lines 24-26) which is a di-poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine preferably having a formula
(Xu, page 43, formula 23), wherein R2 can be a linear alkyl group and have from 2 to about 18 carbon atoms (Xu, page 43, lines 6-10). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize within this range, and it would be reasonable to expect such optimization would result in an alkyl group of 3 carbons as claimed. Xu teaches R1 (i.e., R as claimed) and R3 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydrogen (i.e., Z as claimed; Xu, page 43, line 5) or a hydrocarbyl having from 1-22 carbon atoms, which encompasses the claimed range for R. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). Xu further teaches the poly(hydroxyalkyl)amine can be a quaternary salt, wherein the anion can be an agriculturally acceptable anion (Xu, page 44, lines 13-19). Xu teaches R4 and R5 (i.e., Z as claimed) can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), but does not specify the hydroxyalkyl to be a glyceryl group as claimed.
Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated amidoamine surface-active agents (i.e., surfactants; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract) which can be used in agrochemical formulations (Rhone-Poulenc, page 8, claim 13), wherein the linker between the two nitrogen atoms is (CH2)n and n can be equal to 3 (i.e., m is equal to 1; Rhone-Poulenc, page 105, abstract), and wherein the number of glycerols (i.e., a as claimed) is preferably 2-5 (Rhone-Poulenc, claims 2-3), which lies within the claimed range.
Bevinakatti teaches a surfactant of formula (I) which is represented by R1R2X1-Link-R3 (Bevinakatti, page 1, line 6) wherein R1 (i.e., “R” as claimed) can be a hydrocarbyl (Bevinakatti, page 1, line 13) and hydrocarbyls preferably have 10-22 carbons (Bevinakatti, page 4, line 33); R2 (i.e., “Z” as claimed) is a polyhydroxy hydrocarbyl or H (Bevinakatti, page 1, lines 14-15); X1 is N+R5An- (i.e., B- or R1X- as claimed) and R5 is a C1-C6 alkyl group (i.e., R1 can be a methyl group; Bevinakatti, page 6, line 11) and An- is particularly a chloride (i.e., X-, as in the claimed structure (V); Bevinakatti, page 6, line 17); and R3 is NR7R8 (Bevinakatti, page 1, line 21), wherein R7 (i.e., “Z” as claimed) is a polyhydroxy hydrocarbyl and R8 (i.e., “Z” as claimed) is a polyhydroxy hydrocarbyl or H (Bevinakatti, page 1, lines 25-26).
Xu, Rhone-Poulenc, and Bevinakatti are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because all are in the same field of surfactants for use in agrochemical compositions of similar general structure. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Xu to include a polyglycerol substituent as taught by Rhone-Poulenc, because Xu teaches that the substituent can be a hydroxyalkyl (Xu, page 43, lines 7-8), and that the invention is not limited to the shown embodiments and can be variously modified (Xu, page 285, 3rd paragraph), while Rhone-Poulenc teaches polyglycerolated (i.e., a specific type of hydroxyalkyl modified) surfactants are known to be very well tolerated by biological systems and exhibit beneficial properties (Rhone-Poulenc, page 9, paragraph 0023). Further, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Xu and Rhone-Poulenc to include an anion as taught by Bevinakatti, because Xu teaches the anion can be an agriculturally acceptable anion (Xu, page 44, lines 13-19) without specifying any particular group, while Bevinakatti teaches an anion as claimed to be known in the field for use with similar compounds.
Conclusion
/C.P.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613