Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Ma reference publication date is at best 6/8/2020.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Ma reference was publicly available in a preprint version April 202 (see image below), therefore Ma constitutes as prior art. Applicant has made no further arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (Microwave Photonic Imaging Radar with a Millimeter-level Resolution).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a radar system (page 2, left column, paragraph 3: “Fig. 1 shows the schematic diagram of the proposed microwave photonic radar system”) comprising: a stepped-frequency optical signal generator configured for converting an optical signal into a stepped-frequency optical signal (figure 1a, OFSL, and figure 1c, items B and E); an optical-to-electrical converter for converting the stepped-frequency optical signal into a stepped-frequency electrical signal (figure 1a, PD, and figure 1c, item F); and a transmitter for transmitting a microwave signal based on the stepped-frequency electrical signal (figure 1a, TA).
Regarding claim 2, Ma discloses the stepped-frequency optical signal generator comprises: an optical switch for modulating the optical signal into a pulse-shaped optical signal, the pulse-shaped optical signal having a pulse; and an optical frequency shifting loop for converting the pulse-shaped optical signal into the stepped-frequency optical signal (figures 1a and 1c, switch and OFSL).
Regarding claim 3, Ma discloses the optical frequency shifting loop comprises a frequency shifter to shift a frequency of the pulse (figure 1a, RF(Δf), and page 2, left column, last line – right column line 2: “Assuming that the frequency of the RF signal is Δf, the optical signal in the loop will frequency shift from the previous one by Δf in each cycle.”).
Regarding claim 4, Ma discloses the pulse-shaped optical signal iteratively travels through the optical frequency shifting loop, wherein each iteration through the optical frequency shifting loop shifts the frequency of the pulse by a frequency shift (figure 1a, RF(Δf), and page 2, left column, last line – right column line 2: “Assuming that the frequency of the RF signal is Δf, the optical signal in the loop will frequency shift from the previous one by Δf in each cycle.”).
Regarding claim 5, Ma discloses a first light source for generating the optical signal (figure 1a, LD).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses a receiver for receiving the transmitted microwave signal that is reflected by an object (figure 1a, RA); an electro-optic modulator for modulating the stepped-frequency optical signal with the received microwave signal to generate a demodulated optical signal (figure 1a, LNA and DOMZM); and an optical-to-electrical converter for converting the demodulated optical signal into an electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used to extract information regarding the object (figure 1a, BPD).
Regarding claim 7, Ma discloses a filter for filtering the received optical signal (figure 1a, BPD).
Regarding claim 10, Ma discloses the pulse-shaped optical signal iteratively travels through the optical frequency shifting loop, wherein each iteration through the optical frequency shifting loop shifts the frequency of the pulse by a frequency shift (figure 1a, RF(Δf), and page 2, left column, last line – right column line 2: “Assuming that the frequency of the RF signal is Δf, the optical signal in the loop will frequency shift from the previous one by Δf in each cycle.”).
Regarding claim 11, Ma discloses a first light source for generating the optical signal (figure 1a, LD).
Regarding claim 12, Ma discloses a first light source for generating the optical signal (figure 1a, LD).
Regarding claim 13, Ma discloses a first light source for generating the optical signal (figure 1a, LD).
Regarding claim 14, Ma discloses a receiver for receiving the transmitted microwave signal that is reflected by an object (figure 1a, RA); an electro-optic modulator for modulating the stepped-frequency optical signal with the received microwave signal to generate a demodulated optical signal (figure 1a, LNA and DOMZM); and an optical-to-electrical converter for converting the demodulated optical signal into an electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used to extract information regarding the object (figure 1a, BPD).
Regarding claim 15, Ma discloses a receiver for receiving the transmitted microwave signal that is reflected by an object (figure 1a, RA); an electro-optic modulator for modulating the stepped-frequency optical signal with the received microwave signal to generate a demodulated optical signal (figure 1a, LNA and DOMZM); and an optical-to-electrical converter for converting the demodulated optical signal into an electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used to extract information regarding the object (figure 1a, BPD).
Regarding claim 16, Ma discloses a receiver for receiving the transmitted microwave signal that is reflected by an object (figure 1a, RA); an electro-optic modulator for modulating the stepped-frequency optical signal with the received microwave signal to generate a demodulated optical signal (figure 1a, LNA and DOMZM); and an optical-to-electrical converter for converting the demodulated optical signal into an electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used to extract information regarding the object (figure 1a, BPD).
Regarding claim 17, Ma discloses a receiver for receiving the transmitted microwave signal that is reflected by an object (figure 1a, RA); an electro-optic modulator for modulating the stepped-frequency optical signal with the received microwave signal to generate a demodulated optical signal (figure 1a, LNA and DOMZM); and an optical-to-electrical converter for converting the demodulated optical signal into an electrical signal, wherein the electrical signal is used to extract information regarding the object (figure 1a, BPD).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as applied to claims 6 and 7 above, and further in view of Roberts (US 20150016824).
Regarding claim 8, Ma does not teach a second light source for generating a second optical signal, wherein the second optical signal in combination with the optical signal modify a carrier frequency of the radar system. However, Roberts teaches a second light source for generating a second optical signal, wherein the second optical signal in combination with the optical signal modify a carrier frequency of the radar system (paragraph 0123: “In some demonstrative embodiments, one or more sub-carrier signals may be added to each of the signals 218A, 218B and/or 218C, and the sub-carrier signal(s) may be phase modulated or frequency modulated.” and paragraph 0124: “In some demonstrative embodiments, the sub-carrier signals may be modulated with orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM). In one example, controller 111 (FIG. 1) may control signal sources 201A, 201B and 201C to operate in a pulsed manner, e.g., to generate high frequency ON and OFF keyed waveforms.”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma’s system with Roberts’ second light source as Ma and Robert maintain the same field of endeavor, and to modify a carrier frequency to set a carrier frequency to an advantageous value.
Regarding claim 18, Ma does not teach a second light source for generating a second optical signal, wherein the second optical signal in combination with the optical signal modify a carrier frequency of the radar system. However, Roberts teaches a second light source for generating a second optical signal, wherein the second optical signal in combination with the optical signal modify a carrier frequency of the radar system (paragraph 0123: “In some demonstrative embodiments, one or more sub-carrier signals may be added to each of the signals 218A, 218B and/or 218C, and the sub-carrier signal(s) may be phase modulated or frequency modulated.” and paragraph 0124: “In some demonstrative embodiments, the sub-carrier signals may be modulated with orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM). In one example, controller 111 (FIG. 1) may control signal sources 201A, 201B and 201C to operate in a pulsed manner, e.g., to generate high frequency ON and OFF keyed waveforms.”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma’s system with Roberts’ second light source as Ma and Robert maintain the same field of endeavor, and to modify a carrier frequency to set a carrier frequency to an advantageous value.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leabman (US 20200191945).
Regarding claim 9, Ma does not teach the radar system detects vital signs of a target, wherein the vital signals comprise respiration rate, heart rate, and blood pressure. However, Leabman teaches the radar system detects vital signs of a target, wherein the vital signals comprise respiration rate, heart rate, and blood pressure (paragraph 0002: “A stepped frequency radar system is disclosed.” and paragraph 0115: “In an embodiment, the techniques described herein are application to monitoring a health parameter of a person, for example, monitoring the blood glucose level in a person, or to monitoring other parameters of a person's health such as, for example, blood pressure and heart rate.”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ma’s system with Leabman’s detection of vital signs as Ma and Robert maintain the same field of endeavor, and to apply the system to an appropriate usage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648