DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 10/31/2025.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 14 February, 2023. Claims 1, 11, 15, and 23 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, 15, and 23 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10-11, 13-16, 20, 22-24, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0288505), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180241493), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication ([see, [0160], and Fig. 9, a terminal]), comprising:
one or more processors ([see, [0173-174], and Fig. 10, processors]),
a transceiver communicatively coupled to the one or more processors ([see, [0173-174], and Fig. 10, processors and memories]); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the one or more processors ([see, [0173-174], and Fig. 10]),
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
receive, via the transceiver, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration information message comprising an indication of a set of one or more candidate two- dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0161-0162], and Fig. 8-9, receive one or more CSI process configurations including one or more channel state information (CSI) resource sets with candidate two hypotheses mapping for CSI resources set 1 and CSI resources set 2]),
hypothesis including a first dimension (i.e., hypotheses mapping for CSI resources set 1) corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE ([see, [0020, 0170], and Fig. 9, terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets]);
measure a signal (interference measurement) received from the second UE ([see, [0022], wherein the terminal report channel state information (CSI), report the calculated CSI including interference measurement to the serving cell through a CSI process corresponding to the selected CSI resource set or the IH information]);
determine (calculate) one or more two-dimensional hypotheses from the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses, based on the measurement of the signal ([see, [0022, 0120], wherein the UE may calculate a preferred PMI and RI, calculate the interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to the selected CSI resource set based on the interference measurement (IM) resource information); and
transmit, via the transceiver, a CSI report comprising an indication of the determined one or more two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0163], and Fig. 9, terminal may report the calculated CSI to the serving cell in a CSI process corresponding to the selected CSI resource set or the IH information (S940)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: each of the one or more candidate a first dimension corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE and further including a second dimension corresponding to an uplink (UL) parameter for an UL transmission from a second UE.
However, D2 discloses each of the one or more candidate a first dimension corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE and further including a second dimension corresponding to an uplink (UL) parameter for an UL transmission from a second UE ([see, [0024, 0029], a full-duplex system would include two new interference signals that would be caused by Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR), first wireless devices (WD) - second wireless devices (WD) interference signal 108 would be observed when one WD is transmitting in an uplink signal to its home BS while the second WD would be receiving a downlink signal from its home BS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide use full-duplex transmitters and receivers that transmit and receive at same time and frequency results improve efficiency for a wireless system that reduce an interference between adjacent base stations and between proximate wireless devices (WD) (D2, 0003]).
As per Claim 23, is the method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 23 is anticipated by method being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
As per Claim 15, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communication ([see, [0160], and Fig. 9, a terminal]), comprising:
means for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration information message comprising an indication of a set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0161-0162], and Fig. 8-9, receive one or more CSI process configurations including one or more channel state information (CSI) resource sets with candidate two hypotheses mapping for CSI resources set 1 and CSI resources set 2]),
hypothesis including a first dimension (i.e., hypotheses mapping for CSI resources set 1) corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE ([see, [0020, 0170], and Fig. 9, terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets]);
means for measuring (interference measurement) received from the second UE ([see, [0022], wherein the terminal report channel state information (CSI), report the calculated CSI including interference measurement to the serving cell through a CSI process corresponding to the selected CSI resource set or the IH information]);
means for determining (calculate) one or more two-dimensional hypotheses from the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses, based on the measurement of the signal ([see, [0022, 0120], wherein the UE may calculate a preferred PMI and RI, calculate the interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to the selected CSI resource set based on the interference measurement (IM) resource information); and
means for transmitting, via the transceiver, a CSI report comprising an indication of the determined one or more two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0163], and Fig. 9, terminal may report the calculated CSI to the serving cell in a CSI process corresponding to the selected CSI resource set or the IH information (S940)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: each of the one or more candidate a first dimension corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE and further including a second dimension corresponding to an uplink (UL) parameter for an UL transmission from a second UE.
However, D2 discloses each of the one or more candidate a first dimension corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE and further including a second dimension corresponding to an uplink (UL) parameter for an UL transmission from a second UE ([see, [0024, 0029], a full-duplex system would include two new interference signals that would be caused by Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR), first wireless devices (WD) - second wireless devices (WD) interference signal 108 would be observed when one WD is transmitting in an uplink signal to its home BS while the second WD would be receiving a downlink signal from its home BS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide use full-duplex transmitters and receivers that transmit and receive at same time and frequency results improve efficiency for a wireless system that reduce an interference between adjacent base stations and between proximate wireless devices (WD) (D2, 0003]).
As per Claims 2, 16, D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
determine one or more DL transmission parameters for the DL transmission to the UE, the one or more DL transmission parameters each corresponding to a two- dimensional hypothesis of the determined one or more two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0020, 0170], and Fig. 9, terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets]).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the UE of claim 2, and D1 further discloses wherein the one or more DL transmission parameters comprises a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and a channel quality indicator (CQI) ([see, [0075, 0119], Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the UE of claim 2, and D1 further discloses wherein the CSI report further comprises an indication of the one or more DL transmission parameters ([see, [0075, 0119], Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]).
As per Claims 8, 20, D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a following CSI report configuration information message comprising an indication of a selected two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0075, 0119], Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]); and
transmit a following CSI report comprising an indication of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the selected two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0075, 0119], Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]).
As per Claims 10, 22, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the UE is a victim UE ([see, [0024], a victim downlink user equipment]), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive the DL transmission using the same resources as the second UE's UL transmission in a network configured for full duplex ([see, [0024, 0029], a full-duplex system would include two new interference signals that would be caused by Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR), first wireless devices (WD) - second wireless devices (WD) interference signal 108 would be observed when one WD is transmitting in an uplink signal to its home BS while the second WD would be receiving a downlink signal from its home BS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide use full-duplex transmitters and receivers that transmit and receive at same time and frequency results improve efficiency for a wireless system that reduce an interference between adjacent base stations and between proximate wireless devices (WD) (D2, 0003]).
As per Claim 11, D1 discloses a scheduling entity configured for wireless communication ([see, Fig. 9, a serving cell or BS]), comprising:
one or more processors ([see, [0173-174], and Fig. 10, processors]), ; a transceiver communicatively coupled to the one or more processors; and a memory communicatively coupled to the one or more processors ([see, [0173-174], and Fig. 10, processors and memories]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the scheduling entity to:
transmit, via the transceiver, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration message to a first user equipment (UE), comprising an indication of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0161-0162], and Fig. 8-9, receive one or more CSI process configurations including one or more channel state information (CSI) resource sets with candidate two hypotheses mapping for CSI resources set 1 and CSI resources set 2]),
each of the one or more candidate two- dimensional hypothesis including a first dimension (i.e., hypotheses mapping for CSI resources set 1) corresponding to a downlink (DL) parameter for a DL transmission to the UE ([see, [0020, 0170], and Fig. 9, terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets]),
receive, via the transceiver, a CSI report from the first UE, comprising an indication of at least one two-dimensional hypothesis from the one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0013, 0163], and Fig. 9, terminal may report the calculated CSI to the serving cell in a CSI process corresponding to the selected CSI resource set or the IH information (S940). Wherein selected CSI resource set or interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to the selected CSI resource set]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: a second dimension corresponding to an uplink (UL) parameter for an UL transmission from a second UE; transmit an uplink (UL) resource assignment for the second UE and a DL parameter for a downlink transmission to the first UE.
However, D2 discloses a second dimension corresponding to an uplink (UL) parameter for an UL transmission from a second UE; transmit an uplink (UL) resource assignment for the second UE and a DL parameter for a downlink transmission to the first UE ([see, [0024, 0029], a full-duplex system would include two new interference signals that would be caused by Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR), first wireless devices (WD) - second wireless devices (WD) interference signal 108 would be observed when one WD is transmitting in an uplink signal to its home BS while the second WD would be receiving a downlink signal from its home BS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide use full-duplex transmitters and receivers that transmit and receive at same time and frequency results improve efficiency for a wireless system that reduce an interference between adjacent base stations and between proximate wireless devices (WD) (D2, 0003]).
As per Claim 13, D1 and D2 disclose the scheduling entity of claim 11, and D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the scheduling entity to:
transmit the downlink transmission to the first UE in accordance with the DL parameter ([see, [0020, 0170], and Fig. 9, terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets]).
As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 disclose the scheduling entity of claim 11, and D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the scheduling entity to:
transmit a following CSI report configuration message including the DL parameter and a UL parameter of the UL resource assignment; and receive a following CSI report including an indication of at least one sub-band CSI value determined based on the Dl parameter and the UL parameter ([see, [0075, 0119], wherein terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets, the Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 23, and D1 further discloses further comprising: determining one or more DL transmission parameters for the DL transmission to the UE ([see, [0020, 0170], and Fig. 9, terminal may receive interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to each of the CSI resource sets]), the one or more DL transmission parameters each corresponding to a two- dimensional hypothesis of the determined one or more two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0013, 0163], and Fig. 9, terminal may report the calculated CSI to the serving cell in a CSI process corresponding to the selected CSI resource set or the IH information (S940). Wherein selected CSI resource set or interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to the selected CSI resource set]).
As per Claim 28, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 23, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
receiving a following CSI report configuration information message comprising an indication of a selected two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0075, 0119], Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]); and
transmitting a following CSI report comprising an indication of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the selected two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0075, 0119], Channel State Indicator (CSI) includes transmission parameters for feedback information about a downlink channel. Feedback information regarding MIMO includes a rank indicator (RI) and a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)]).
As per Claim 30, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 23, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the UE is a victim UE ([see, [0024], a victim downlink user equipment]),and wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to receive the DL transmission using the same resources as the second UE's UL transmission in a network configured for full duplex ([see, [0024, 0029], a full-duplex system would include two new interference signals that would be caused by Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR), first wireless devices (WD) - second wireless devices (WD) interference signal 108 would be observed when one WD is transmitting in an uplink signal to its home BS while the second WD would be receiving a downlink signal from its home BS]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide use full-duplex transmitters and receivers that transmit and receive at same time and frequency results improve efficiency for a wireless system that reduce an interference between adjacent base stations and between proximate wireless devices (WD) (D2, 0003]).
Claims 3, 5, 17, 18, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of HAMMARWALL et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0289484), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 3, 17, 25, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine a first DL transmission parameter of the one or more DL transmission parameters ([see, [0161-0162], and Fig. 9:S910-S920, wherein the UE receive one or more CSI process configurations including resource sets from the serving cell or BS, determine dominant interference signal from a received signal]) the first DL transmission parameter corresponding to a first two-dimensional hypothesis of the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0161-0163], and Fig. 9:S910-S930, wherein terminal may detect a dominant interference signal downlink, using the selected CSI resource set or interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to the selected CSI resource set (S930)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the determination of the first DL transmission parameter is based on a projected performance of the DL transmission, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to project the projected performance of the DL transmission based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received using the same resources as the UL transmission from the second UE.
However, D3 discloses wherein the determination of the first DL transmission parameter is based on a projected performance of the DL transmission ([see, [0049, 0053], wherein the UE estimates interference according to the specified interference hypothesis, and estimates properties of the effective channel, which is a candidate for a downlink transmission]), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to project the projected performance of the DL transmission based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received using the same resources as the UL transmission from the second UE ([see, [0049, 0053], wherein the UE, estimates interference according to the specified interference hypothesis, and estimates properties of the effective channel, which is a candidate for a downlink transmission]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide estimates interference results improving the link adaptation in a wireless communications system (D3, 0002]).
As per Claims 5, 18, 26, D1 further discloses the UE of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine a first DL transmission parameter of the one or more DL transmission parameters ([see, [0119], the CSI determine transmission parameters includes a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI)]), the first DL transmission parameter corresponding to a first two-dimensional hypothesis of the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0088, 0119, 0162], wherein the CSI resource set or interference hypothesis (IH) information corresponding to the selected CSI resource set related to channel state information (CSI) when a downlink DMRS is transmitted]),
wherein the determination of the first DL transmission parameter is based on a projected CQI for the DL transmission ([see, [0119], the CSI determine transmission parameters includes a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CQI)]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to project the projected CQI based on the DL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0132], the UE-selected CSI resource set index information together with DL parameter such as one or more of RI, PMI, and CQI among CSI elements may be reported to a serving cell]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received while the second UE transmits the UL transmission.
However, D3 discloses based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received while the second UE transmits the UL transmission ([see, [00051], one CSI report based on the interference estimation and the estimated properties of the effective channel, which is a candidate for a downlink transmission]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide estimates interference results improving the link adaptation in a wireless communications system (D3, 0002]).
Claims 6, 9, 12, 19, 21, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Frank et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0236736), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 6, 19, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine a first DL transmission parameter of the one or more DL transmission parameters, the first DL transmission parameter comprising a projected wideband signal-to-interference-and-noise ratio (SINK) or a projected wideband DL spectrum efficiency and the first DL transmission parameter corresponding to a first two-dimensional hypothesis of the set of one or more candidate two- dimensional hypotheses, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to project the projected SINK or DL spectrum efficiency based on the DL parameter of the first two- dimensional hypothesis, and based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received while the second UJE transmits the UJL transmission.
However, D4 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine a first DL transmission parameter of the one or more DL transmission parameters ([see, [0027, 0090], DL transmission parameters includes PMI disclosed), the first DL transmission parameter comprising a projected wideband signal-to-interference-and- noise ratio (SINR) or a projected wideband DL spectrum efficiency and the first DL transmission parameter corresponding to a first two-dimensional hypothesis of the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0019, 0090], wherein the victim UE are projected in time and/or adjacent frequency, the victim UE receives subframes from its serving base station and measures channel state, the subframes of its down link channels and its Channel state metrics include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) or signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR)]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to project the projected SINR or DL spectrum efficiency based on the DL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0027, 0090], DL transmission parameters includes PMI and the downlink channels and its Channel state metrics include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) disclosed), and based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received while the second UE transmits the UL transmission ([see, [0094-0095], determine the time-dependent configuration pattern of the aggressor UE, the high-low interference hypotheses are created with channel state measurements are made, the victim UE determines a high-low interference pattern based on the channel state measurements of the signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measure a signal results improving coexistence among radios operating in adjacent frequency spectrum or bands (D4, 0001]).
As per Claims 9, 21, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive one or more reference signals (RS) from the second UE, and wherein to measure the signal received from the second UE, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to characterize the one or more RSs received from the second UE.
However, D4 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive one or more reference signals (RS) from the second UE, and wherein to measure the signal received from the second UE ([see, [0033-0034], the victim UE 282 receives signal in downlink subframes in the unpaired TDD spectrum 130]), the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to characterize the one or more RSs received from the second UE ([see, [0049], the victim device and its network may acquire system information, a victim UE 282 estimates the dimensions in time and/or frequency of high interference level regions 341 and low interference level regions 343, wherein the System information may include the Reference Signals, such as (SRS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measure a signal results improving coexistence among radios operating in adjacent frequency spectrum or bands (D4, 0001]).
As per Claim 12, D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the DL transmission to the first UE corresponds to the same radio resources as the UJL resource assignment for the second UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the scheduling entity to determine the DL parameter for the DL transmission to the first UE, and a UL parameter for the UL resource assignment for the second UE, based on a projected combined throughput when the second UE transmits an UL configured based on the UL parameter, and the first UE receives a DL configured based on the DL parameter.
However, D4 discloses wherein the DL transmission to the first UE corresponds to the same radio resources as the UL resource assignment for the second UE ([see, [0025], he first and second transmissions may occur in precisely the same frequency band]),
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the scheduling entity to determine the DL parameter for the DL transmission to the first UE, and a UL parameter for the UL resource assignment for the second UE ([see, [0027, 0090-0092], the DL transmission parameters includes PMI and the interference patterns conditioned on the DL/UL transmission configurations]), based on a projected combined throughput when the second UE transmits an UL configured based on the UL parameter, and the first UE receives a DL configured based on the DL parameter ([see, [0019], the victim UE that are projected in time and adjacent frequency with the aggressor UE's uplink radio resources]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measure a signal results improving coexistence among radios operating in adjacent frequency spectrum or bands (D4, 0001]).
As per Claim 27, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 24, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: determining a first DL transmission parameter of the one or more DL transmission parameters, the first DL transmission parameter comprising a projected wideband signal-to- interference-and-noise ratio (SINK) or a projected wideband DL spectrum efficiency and the first DL transmission parameter corresponding to a first two-dimensional hypothesis of the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses; and projecting the projected SINK or DL spectrum efficiency based on the DL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received while the second UE transmits the UJL transmission.
However, D4 discloses further comprising: determining a first DL transmission parameter of the one or more DL transmission parameters ([see, [0027, 0090], DL transmission parameters includes PMI disclosed), the first DL transmission parameter comprising a projected wideband signal-to-interference-and- noise ratio (SINR) or a projected wideband DL spectrum efficiency and the first DL transmission parameter corresponding to a first two-dimensional hypothesis of the set of one or more candidate two-dimensional hypotheses ([see, [0019, 0090], wherein the victim UE are projected in time and/or adjacent frequency, the victim UE receives subframes from its serving base station and measures channel state, the subframes of its down link channels and its Channel state metrics include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) or signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR)]), wherein the processor and the memory are configured to project the projected SINR or DL spectrum efficiency based on the DL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis ([see, [0027, 0090], DL transmission parameters includes PMI and the downlink channels and its Channel state metrics include signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) disclosed), and based on an assumption that the second UE is configured with the UL parameter of the first two-dimensional hypothesis, and that the DL transmission is received while the second UE transmits the UL transmission ([see, [0094-0095], determine the time-dependent configuration pattern of the aggressor UE, the high-low interference hypotheses are created with channel state measurements are made, the victim UE determines a high-low interference pattern based on the channel state measurements of the signal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measure a signal results improving coexistence among radios operating in adjacent frequency spectrum or bands (D4, 0001]).
As per Claim 29, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 23, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: receiving one or more reference signals (RS) from the second UE, wherein measuring the signal comprises characterizing the one or more RSs received from the second UE.
However, D4 discloses further comprising: receiving one or more reference signals (RS) from the second UE ([see, [0033-0034], the victim UE 282 receives signal in downlink subframes in the unpaired TDD spectrum 130]), wherein measuring the signal comprises characterizing the one or more RSs received from the second UE ([see, [0049], the victim device and its network may acquire system information, a victim UE 282 estimates the dimensions in time and/or frequency of high interference level regions 341 and low interference level regions 343, wherein the System information may include the Reference Signals, such as (SRS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide measure a signal results improving coexistence among radios operating in adjacent frequency spectrum or bands (D4, 0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418